I Wish You Well

My heart stirs with compassion
as I watch the old woman carrying
her packages down the sidewalk.
Most likely many years past the
ability to drive but I surmise that
she still must use her unsteady
legs to make her way to retrieve
food and the other necessities
of sustenance. Has she no one
who can or will assist her? I think
of my own mother who is now
surrounded by family members
and others who pitch in to aid
her in all of her daily needs.
I marvel at the strength it takes
of an elderly woman (who I
judge should be relaxing and
cared for in her later years) to
trek out into the world and fend
for herself. Of course these are
all assumptions I’m making but
still I send blessings that she
be well, that she feel loved,
may she feel content, and may
all of the universe support her
soul on its singular journey.
For some reason tears appear.

Join us for Poetics hosted by Paul Dear Tuesday 3PM EST at dVerse Poets Pub where he presents Blessing poems.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

30 Comments

  1. This kind of blessing comes from the heart of compassion and the tears will carry it on. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
  2. A very moving poem and blessing Gayle, at some level she will feel the ripples of the love with which you wrote this.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Love the kind of blessing drawn from compassion… I hope she is blessing that she can handle it all without help… maybe she feels better so.

    Like

    Reply
  4. I liked the description of “singular journey” made all the more singular by her isolation.

    Like

    Reply
  5. Poignant piece Gayle. I am sure all your well wishes have found there way into this woman’s heart. Hope you are well and hope your mother is doing well also.

    Like

    Reply
    • Thank you, Renee. I’m sure they found there way to her too. I’m doing well and Mom has her ups and downs which are to be expected I suppose. I hope all is well in your world too. xo

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      • Late to reply…sorry. Glad all is doing as well as can be expected. My INR was out of wack for about six weeks but now has calmed down. Visited my son in Ritzville an hour out of Spokane. My first really long trip but enjoyed seeing their house which is on the historical register. I am trying out some new ways to do my art and still posting for Jamie Dedes. Will have to call you at some point. Enjoy your Summer.

        Like

        Reply
  6. Perhaps to offer her a ride, to learn how help might be offered would be a gift for you both. A very touching story. You plucked our heartstrings.

    Like

    Reply
    • I’ve actually given strangers rides…didn’t always turn out for the best (nothing dangerous, thank goodness!) but yes, always a gift to be able to assist someone else. Thank you, Beverly.

      Like

      Reply
  7. I agree with Renee, that your loving thoughts found her somehow and that it gave her strength. There are so many of the elderly and disabled who must somehow fend for themselves. It shouldn’t be this way in our so-called advanced society. But I see it often and my heart goes out to them, as yours did. You have a beautiful soul, Gayle.

    Like

    Reply
    • I believe my well wishes found their way to her without a doubt…I sent them to her! It’s actually a Buddhist practice that I learned called Loving-Kindness meditation where you send out loving thoughts and kindness to strangers (or to whoever). It often opens my heart and tears flow. And thank you kindly, Betty, for your compliment for me; I’m very touched. xo

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      • That would be metta? I don’t know a lot about Buddhism but all my adult life have sent out the loving thoughts to others – strangers I see out in public like doctors’ offices, parking lots, walking up the street. It seems to be an instinct and I can feel the need, and the energies being sent. Maybe I was a Buddhist in a past life. Though I think it’s not limited to any one spiritual faith. Have you read any Caroline Myss? This is also one of her practices. I guess this shows our connection, Gayle – the oneness beyond labels. With metta. 💓

        Like

        Reply
        • Yes, metta. I don’t know a lot about Buddhism either but that practice really spoke to me when I was introduced to it. Maybe you were a Buddhist in a past life…but no don’t think well wishing is limited to one belief system either. Yes, I have read some of Caroline Myss, she has much wisdom and grace. And I so love what you said here, “the oneness beyond labels.” With metta my friend. xo

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
  8. I find myself filling in details like this when I see someone seeming to be in a hard place. I like to bless homeless when I see them pushing their carts. Another thing that has helped me (wish I could remember it every time I’m driving) is to bless other drivers I pass on the road, especially those who are in such a hurry. Nicely written narrative poem, Gayle.

    Like

    Reply
  9. I encounter elderly people often at my work and it is so hard when I find they have no family nearby. That could be any one of us. You paint a picture of a strong woman, to be so independent at that stage of life. I second your beautiful prayer for her. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  10. May she be blessed with good health and energy to carry out her chores and everyday sustenance ~

    Like

    Reply
  11. You would think someone would help, I hope so. I’m also glad she still has the strength to take the walk

    Like

    Reply
  12. This is very sweet. I relate to that woman, as I hobble about doing what needs to be done on unsteady legs……it is amazing how quickly that time comes, and what a surprise it is, lol. A really beautiful poem, Gayle.

    Like

    Reply
  13. Lovely. I can feel the compassion.

    Like

    Reply
  14. I wish her well too!

    Like

    Reply
  15. Lovely. So much I see and want to help. It is a blessing to be able to help others, even if it is only a prayer.

    Like

    Reply
  16. Oh I am totally with you….such thoughts come to mind whenever I see old people going alone….beautiful blessing….I too am praying!

    Like

    Reply
  17. Yes, it is compassion that offers her blessings. I love this, especially these lines:
    still I send blessings that she
    be well, that she feel loved,
    may she feel content, and may
    all of the universe support her
    soul on its singular journey.

    Like

    Reply
  18. Beautiful, Gayle.

    Like

    Reply
  19. This is beautiful and kind.

    Like

    Reply
  20. Glenn Buttkus

     /  June 28, 2017

    I’m now in the unsteady legs club myself–thank God I can still drive–my disability has worsened slowly over 20 years; makes life challenging. Love your poem & your heart.

    Like

    Reply
  21. A tender piece…someday that may be us. I hope someone helps her!

    Like

    Reply
  22. Miy god….this made my own tears come. recently I saw a couple of different women on the street, struggling to get back from wherever they came, and carrying groceries. They were old, and probably in facilities for the homeless….of which, there are not enough. or safe enough. There but the grace of my husband would possibly be me. My heart goes out to these women….and my heart goes out to you, Gayle….for your own compassionate heart. Bless you with the gifts of the Universe!

    Like

    Reply

Please share your thoughts...

Wightrabbit's Blog

Words and Pictures from my Kaboodle on The Isle of Wight

writing in north norfolk

Writer of children's literature, short stories and poetry

Lady Nyo's Weblog

A woman writer's blog with invitations to other writers

Poetry Breakfast

Beginning March 20th, 2016 Poetry Breakfast will once again serve a little poetic nourishment every morning. Start your day with our new expanded menu. Poems, of course, are our specialty. But we will also be serving a fuller menu that includes poetry related creative non-fiction such as letters to and from poets, essays on poetry, and anything else that might feed a poet and poetry lover’s soul.

Mithai Mumblezz

Thinks and again mumbles!!

findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing...

mindlovemisery

"We're all out there, somewhere, waiting to happen."

NavasolaNature

Nature needs Nurture

Whimsygizmo's Blog

poetic ponderings...parenting...procrastination...

Tao of Scrumble

A freeform way of life, love and everything

Sharp Little Pencil

Amy Barlow Liberatore... stories of lost years, wild times, mental variety, faith, and lots of jazz

silentlyheardonce

A Silent poet shouting to be heard

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

kanzen sakura

South meets East: Poetry and Musings - words of the seasons

Poems, stories, paintings and more by Sharmishtha Basu

(Agnijaat, Agnishatdal, Agnijashatadalama, Indie Adda)

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

jaywalking the moon

poetry by claudia schoenfeld

She's Writing

Poetry and Prose

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

everyday amazing

spreading good cheer, fun & love for life

Michael's Lair

Just Write WordPress.com site

Björn Rudbergs writings

Poetry and fiction by a physicist from the dark side

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

THE BeZINE

Be inspired...Be creative...Be peace...Be

bardessdmdenton - author- artist

Historical and Literary Fiction / Essays / Poetry / Reviews /Book Cover and Interior Illustrations / Pet Portraits and Other Commissioned Artwork ... "Handle a book as a bee does a flower, extract its sweetness but do not damage it.” ~ John Muir, naturalist, author, 1838 - 1914

Soul Dipper

Spirit Builder by Design

Contemplative Moorings

The official blog of unofficial author Michael Marsters.

Ramblings From A Mum

This is my journey, my thoughts, my views, plain and simple and from my heart. Please travel with me and share, hopefully it will be an interesting trip.

bwthoughts

copyright 2013 - no reuse without permission ( see bwfiction.wordpress.com for fiction and fantasy )

"On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea"

All Is One With Our Creator

MyHeartBlog

Take Control of Your Health

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Wanjiku

poetic inspiration from life's simplicity

k8edid

Mumblings of a Middle Aged Madwoman

IN MY NEXT LIFE

if I go around more than once then ...

I Rhyme Without Reason

I live in words

Soul Speak

'You may say I'm a Dreamer, but I'm not the only one' ~ John Lennon

~ Dragon's Dreams ~

Carpe Noctem Quod Tempus Fugit!

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Lafemmeroar

laughing at the malfunction of the universe is better than crying about it

Lorna's Voice

Finding ways to make words sparkle

Olivia's In- Mind Whirls..

"It's all in my mind"

dVerse

Poets Pub

Leslie White

View artwork by Leslie White

jgavinallan

The best time to love...is when it is impossible///Stories of the heart-broken/shattered and sometimes mended

