Miami Night; a Haibun

I was living in Miami during my ashram days in the early 70s. After having dinner out one evening my husband and I decided to take a walk down on the beach by Biscayne Bay.  The moon was out and it was a balmy, breezy night in summer.  We reached the beach and walked hand-in-hand along the shallow tide.  There didn’t appear to be any other people along that stretch of beach and it was especially nice to have it to ourselves.  We walked further along when we made out a large, dark shape about mid way between the dunes and the water’s edge.  As we drew closer we realized that it was an enormous sea turtle who was returning to the water after laying her eggs in the fine, white sand.  She lumbered along and soon met with the lapping waves that took her out to sea.  We watched as she disappeared.  I’ve never forgotten my first encounter with one of those amazing animals.

the depths harbor life
dunes provide incubators
sea oats sway greetings

Join us at dVerse Poets where Toni presents our latest Haibun Monday beginning at 3PM.

Leave a comment

39 Comments

  1. I enjoyed the walk with you,Gayle. It’s a beauiftul location in Miami.
    Just watched a few months ago the turtles on Manasota Beach laid their eggs.
    It a marvel to see.
    Your Haibun describes it perfectly. Lovely words ….
    Isadora 😎

    Like

    Reply
    • So glad you did, Isadora, thank you. Miami was a cool place to live back then…really enjoyed it. I’ve had a few encounters now with those sea turtles and even managed to touch one on her way back into the sea. (You’re not supposed to interfere with them in any way though.)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      • YIKES … my friend lives on the beach so I know about the strict rules. She has to keep her porch lights off during those times when the turtle are nesting and when the babies are going out to see. But, you were giving it your spiritual guidance so let’s say, ‘It’s okay’.
        Happy Holidays to you and your family.
        May ‘2017’ be filled with more love than your heart can hold. 😍❤️😍
        Blessings of the Season
        Isadora 😎

        Like

        Reply
        • We visited Sanibel Island over the summer and at checkout were told it was nesting season and to keep our porch light off at night and to draw our curtains tight so as not to confuse any hatchlings trying to find the water. I do understand the seriousness but could not help myself to reach out to a mother turtle on her way back into the sea. Just one small touch…I hope it was ‘okay.’ Happy Holidays to you and your family as well, Izzy. May blessings of peace and abundance flow freely! Love, Gayle xo

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
          • With your positive energy emiting, the turtle must have floated happpily away. 🐢Thank you for the holiday blessings. Our blog friendship has been a blessing from the beginning. To have it lasted so thing is a miracle to our commitment to touch hearts from time to time. Namaste 🙏🏻

            Like

            Reply
            • I’m hoping that I didn’t deter that turtle in any way. I don’t think I did. She probably didn’t even feel my touch on her hard shell. I feel the same way about our connection beginning those many years ago at Belief.net at our little writing group. And now look at us, blogging away and we’ve stayed in touch and made many new friends. We’ve been blessed for sure. Namaste, Izzy! xo 🙂

              Liked by 1 person

              Reply
  2. What a wonderful encounter! My husband comes from Miami, and we have taken that walk down the ocean. But we never saw….or I never saw, a sea turtle. I can see how it would be memorable. Great ending haiku!
    Hugs!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Powerful memory beautifully shared. I swam with Sea Turtles in Hawaii and their presence is incredible.So humbling.

    Like

    Reply
  4. What an incredible experience! Such wondrous and amazing creautures. I so enjoyed this walk with you. And the haiku…so gentle and full of peace.

    Like

    Reply
    • Yes, it really was and I’ve seen others since that first time…different beaches. You will never forget it once you’ve seen them. Thank you, too.

      Like

      Reply
  5. An amazing experience well told, Gayle. I love the last line of the haiku!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  6. Oh wow! That just sounds like an amazing encounter. Thank you so much for letting me share it.

    Like

    Reply
  7. Cool! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  8. What a great memory to treasure Gayle, thanks for sharing that one..

    Like

    Reply
  9. The creatures who share this Earth with us are amazing, as you mentioned, even when we take them for granted.

    Like

    Reply
  10. I’m smiling ear to ear, Gayle, as I had a very similar experience in Lake Worth FL when I was a bridesmaid for a cousin. I was still in High School, having fun with the rest of the wedding party (all college grads) on the beach at night when I went to sit on what I thought was a rock. Thankfully, one of the guys grabbed me.

    Like

    Reply
  11. What a magical encounter Gayle ~ I would love to see those giant turtles in the sands and going out to the water ~ Indeed the depths habor life ~

    Like

    Reply
  12. Glenn Buttkus

     /  December 12, 2016

    My wife & I saw the great sea turtles on the black sand beaches of the big island–Hawaii. Loved your evening’s stroll, but it was so romantic in its opening, I thought you & Hubs would make love on the beach; silly me.

    Like

    Reply
    • Well, we may have ended up making love out there but perhaps we were interrupted by that gigantic sea turtle! Actually not such a silly idea, Glenn.

      Like

      Reply
  13. Sounds so deliciously warm.

    Like

    Reply
  14. Bless – what a lovely encounter with nature – and I hope her babies survived and went out to sea!

    Like

    Reply
    • It really was amazing, Marina. That’s one thing I’ve never seen though, the hatchlings heading for the water. I hope to one day.

      Like

      Reply
      • Speaking of which, I just saw last night a heartbreaking episode of Planet Earth 2, where the hatchlings get confused by all the bright lights and head for the city instead of the water and get crushed by cars instead.

        Like

        Reply
        • It’s sadly true. We were on the west coast of Florida this summer during nesting (and hatching) season and at check in at our hotel were told to keep our porch lights turned off after dark and keep our curtains closed so the lights wouldn’t create a problem. It’s serious business on the beaches during this time.

          Like

          Reply
  15. A wonderful encounter, a moment I have only seen on TV, I can only imagine what it is for real with such an encounter.

    Like

    Reply
    • It’s pretty astounding, Bjorn, they’re just so big and they have to pull themselves so far up on the beach to lay their eggs and then return to the water. No easy task with only flippers.

      Like

      Reply
  16. What a special moment of nature to witness. I have never seen a sea turtle. These haibuns this week are lengthening my bucket list!

    Like

    Reply
  17. Anonymous

     /  December 15, 2016

    Such simple things bring delights. Your writing is beautiful.

    Like

    Reply

Please share your thoughts...

Wightrabbit's Blog

Words and Pictures from my Kaboodle on The Isle of Wight

writing in north norfolk

Writer of children's literature, short stories and poetry

Lady Nyo's Weblog

A woman writer's blog with invitations to other writers

Poetry Breakfast

Beginning March 20th, 2016 Poetry Breakfast will once again serve a little poetic nourishment every morning. Start your day with our new expanded menu. Poems, of course, are our specialty. But we will also be serving a fuller menu that includes poetry related creative non-fiction such as letters to and from poets, essays on poetry, and anything else that might feed a poet and poetry lover’s soul.

Mithai Mumblezz

Thinks and again mumbles!!

findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing...

mindlovemisery

"We're all out there, somewhere, waiting to happen."

NavasolaNature

Nature needs Nurture

Whimsygizmo's Blog

poetic ponderings...parenting...procrastination...

Tao of Scrumble

A freeform way of life, love and everything

Sharp Little Pencil

Amy Barlow Liberatore... stories of lost years, wild times, mental variety, faith, and lots of jazz

silentlyheardonce

A Silent poet shouting to be heard

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

kanzen sakura

South meets East: Poetry and Musings - words of the seasons

Poems, stories, paintings and more by Sharmishtha Basu

(Agnijaat, Agnishatdal, Agnijashatadalama, Indie Adda)

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

jaywalking the moon

poetry by claudia schoenfeld

She's Writing

Poetry and Prose

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

everyday amazing

spreading good cheer, fun & love for life

Michael's Lair

Just Write WordPress.com site

Björn Rudbergs writings

Poetry and fiction by a physicist from the dark side

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

THE BeZINE

Be inspired...Be creative...Be peace...Be

bardessdmdenton - author- artist

Historical and Literary Fiction / Essays / Poetry / Reviews /Book Cover and Interior Illustrations / Pet Portraits and Other Commissioned Artwork ... "Handle a book as a bee does a flower, extract its sweetness but do not damage it.” ~ John Muir, naturalist, author, 1838 - 1914

Soul Dipper

Spirit Builder by Design

Contemplative Moorings

The official blog of unofficial author Michael Marsters.

Ramblings From A Mum

This is my journey, my thoughts, my views, plain and simple and from my heart. Please travel with me and share, hopefully it will be an interesting trip.

bwthoughts

copyright 2013 - no reuse without permission ( see bwfiction.wordpress.com for fiction and fantasy )

"On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea"

All Is One With Our Creator

MyHeartBlog

Take Control of Your Health

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Wanjiku

poetic inspiration from life's simplicity

k8edid

Mumblings of a Middle Aged Madwoman

IN MY NEXT LIFE

if I go around more than once then ...

I Rhyme Without Reason

I live in words

Soul Speak

'You may say I'm a Dreamer, but I'm not the only one' ~ John Lennon

~ Dragon's Dreams ~

Carpe Noctem Quod Tempus Fugit!

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Lafemmeroar

laughing at the malfunction of the universe is better than crying about it

Lorna's Voice

Finding ways to make words sparkle

Olivia's In- Mind Whirls..

"It's all in my mind"

dVerse

Poets Pub

Leslie White

View artwork by Leslie White

jgavinallan

The best time to love...is when it is impossible///Stories of the heart-broken/shattered and sometimes mended

