I Miss You

Royalty free image from Bing

Royalty free image from Bing

I miss you. I miss your colors, sights, smells and sounds, your breath and lively energy.  Even your grittiness, those dark places that were avoided, added depth and meaning to my stay there.  I was advised, don’t wear your fine jewelry on the subway, at least where it can be seen…you’re setting yourself up to be robbed.  Once, a desperate, gun-wielding madman invaded our restaurant on Mass Ave. and demanded money.  While everyone else froze, my husband was the only one with the presence of mind to follow his orders.  My friends told stories of being mugged in your dank, piss-smelling alleys but somehow you always held me safely among your teeming citizens, your seasons, your unrest or calm.

delicate petals
emerge from unlikely
source, contrast sings

Bjorn is our host for Haibun Monday at dVerse Poets.  The pub opens Monday at 3PM EST.    Read his presentation for all the details and join us.

Leave a comment

23 Comments

  1. bobellal

     /  October 17, 2016

    Okay, I admit it–I’ve pissed in some of those alleys!!!

    Like

    Reply
  2. This is lovely!~ I live in Atlanta and could write something similar but I just couldn’t get my head around the prompt. But you did,….and Brava! This is an evocative haibun….there is a universality to it. And the haiku at the end is superb!
    You go, girl!

    Like

    Reply
  3. I finally pulled it together, and posted of the prompt. But it’s depressing.

    Like

    Reply
  4. There is something to be said of city living but I truly can’t say I miss it. But how well you’ve captured its essence, its perils. And there is something special, though different, about a city.

    Like

    Reply
  5. Sounds like you are missing home.

    Like

    Reply
  6. You certainly gave a good description of the city, which I do not miss, not in the least. I enjoyed the tale about the robbery..truth is often the key to a great haibun. Excellent haiku at the end. Nice to see you kept the traditional form and filled it full of grit and realism.

    Like

    Reply
  7. Marvelous!

    Like

    Reply
  8. lovely descriptions, Gayle! and the haiku made me smile. <3

    Like

    Reply
  9. So far i have been lucky and have never witnessed gun-wielding criminals, but you have conveyed the experience in a few words, Gayle, and I never want to! Scary stuff. but then you still miss it – as I do London! The haiku explains why.

    Like

    Reply
  10. Sounds like Boston maybe or D.C. Anyway, the danger and adrenaline of cities is a constant pulse.

    Like

    Reply
  11. I have felt safe in the city too but I think its knowing what places to avoid (dank piss smelling alleys) and what places to enjoy. A lovely haibun Gayle ~

    Like

    Reply
  12. It helps to know where not to go in the city. It says a lot that you miss it.

    Like

    Reply
  13. You wrote a tribute, a thanks. Loved it.

    Like

    Reply
  14. Love the way the haiku condenses the haibun, yet providing a totally different message…

    Like

    Reply
  15. the grittiness of the city — dank, violent at time….then juxtaposed to the petals that emerge.

    I cannot imagine being in a place that is robbed by gunpoint — sadly that is an everyday occurrence in areas of the city — sadly there are “areas” of a city.

    Like

    Reply
  16. I do not miss city living but I can relate to how the city protecected you against its own dangers and you show this so beautifully here.

    Like

    Reply
  17. The city has so much to offer…though it often comes with the price of vulnerability and peace of mind. I really like the way you talk to the city in your prose, almost thanking it for keeping you safe so far.

    Like

    Reply
  18. I love the sentimental picture you’ve painted of those who have deep attachments to their city of residence or former residence, warts and all. The haiku is superb. Really beautiful in its expression of surprise gifts among city grit. ❤️

    Like

    Reply
  19. I think you captured the highs and lows of city life. Well done.

    Like

    Reply
  20. Hi again Gayle. Sorry I meant to put this under the one above it. Perhaps you can move it there for me by copying and pasting? The above post is really well written but of course does not have you describing your change of season in Florida. I thought I had clicked on the correct comments. :(

    Like

    Reply
  21. Gayle, I moved the one comment above this one to “Florida’s Fall” where it should be so you can delete the one above this comment. Thanks!

    Like

    Reply

Please share your thoughts...

Wightrabbit's Blog

Words and Pictures from my Kaboodle on The Isle of Wight

writing in north norfolk

Writer of children's literature, short stories and poetry

Lady Nyo's Weblog

A woman writer's blog with invitations to other writers

Poetry Breakfast

Beginning March 20th, 2016 Poetry Breakfast will once again serve a little poetic nourishment every morning. Start your day with our new expanded menu. Poems, of course, are our specialty. But we will also be serving a fuller menu that includes poetry related creative non-fiction such as letters to and from poets, essays on poetry, and anything else that might feed a poet and poetry lover’s soul.

Mithai Mumblezz

Thinks and again mumbles!!

findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing...

mindlovemisery

"We're all out there, somewhere, waiting to happen."

NavasolaNature

Nature needs Nurture

Whimsygizmo's Blog

poetic ponderings...parenting...procrastination...

Tao of Scrumble

A freeform way of life, love and everything

Sharp Little Pencil

Amy Barlow Liberatore... stories of lost years, wild times, mental variety, faith, and lots of jazz

silentlyheardonce

A Silent poet shouting to be heard

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

kanzen sakura

South meets East: Poetry and Musings - words of the seasons

Poems, stories, paintings and more by Sharmishtha Basu

(Agnijaat, Agnishatdal, Agnijashatadalama, Indie Adda)

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

jaywalking the moon

poetry by claudia schoenfeld

She's Writing

Poetry and Prose

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

everyday amazing

spreading good cheer, fun & love for life

Michael's Lair

Just Write WordPress.com site

Björn Rudbergs writings

Poetry and fiction by a physicist from the dark side

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

THE BeZINE

Be inspired...Be creative...Be peace...Be

bardessdmdenton - author- artist

Historical and Literary Fiction / Essays / Poetry / Reviews /Book Cover and Interior Illustrations / Pet Portraits and Other Commissioned Artwork ... "Handle a book as a bee does a flower, extract its sweetness but do not damage it.” ~ John Muir, naturalist, author, 1838 - 1914

Soul Dipper

Spirit Builder by Design

Contemplative Moorings

The official blog of unofficial author Michael Marsters.

Ramblings From A Mum

This is my journey, my thoughts, my views, plain and simple and from my heart. Please travel with me and share, hopefully it will be an interesting trip.

bwthoughts

copyright 2013 - no reuse without permission ( see bwfiction.wordpress.com for fiction and fantasy )

"On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea"

All Is One With Our Creator

MyHeartBlog

Take Control of Your Health

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Wanjiku

poetic inspiration from life's simplicity

k8edid

Mumblings of a Middle Aged Madwoman

IN MY NEXT LIFE

if I go around more than once then ...

I Rhyme Without Reason

I live in words

Soul Speak

'You may say I'm a Dreamer, but I'm not the only one' ~ John Lennon

~ Dragon's Dreams ~

Carpe Noctem Quod Tempus Fugit!

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Lafemmeroar

laughing at the malfunction of the universe is better than crying about it

Lorna's Voice

Finding ways to make words sparkle

Olivia's In- Mind Whirls..

"It's all in my mind"

dVerse

Poets Pub

Leslie White

View artwork by Leslie White

