Birds of a Feather Flock Together

Photo by:  Karl E. Holland, 1975; Peacock crossing on Genius Drive, Winter Park, FL

Photo by: Karl E. Holland, 1975; Peacock crossing on Genius Drive, Winter Park, FL

I seem to have a connection to peacocks. They’ve been a part of my life since I was a small girl and my mother would drive us kids to a neighborhood in Winter Park to a dirt road where Hugh and Jeanette McKean had made their home on Genius Drive.  Hugh had been a former president of nearby Rollins College and Jeanette was the granddaughter of the founder of the Morse Museum.  They brought the first pair of peacocks to their property and as the numbers grew, they allowed the public to drive slowly along the winding road through an old orange grove that was their home.  At their peak they numbered into the 100s.  Eventually the property became Genius Reserve, a preservation area.

Many years later when I moved to Coconut Grove in Miami, I again landed in a neighborhood where peacocks roamed freely. I wrote a humorous story on an intimate relationship that I had with one of those birds.  You can read it here.  They’re very loud and their cries could be heard throughout the area.  The males are the beauties of course and when they spread their tail feathers out in full array, they are astonishing to behold.  Colors of iridescent green, turquoise, dark and light blues, browns and yellows add up to a brilliant display.

Later, after I had divorced, my youngest daughter and I shared an apartment not far from the wildlife preserve of my youth. And much to my surprise, I again had encounters with these astounding animals…even, on occasion, having to brake and wait as they crossed the road in front of my car.  I’ve marveled at my association with these birds throughout the years and somehow feel some sort of synchronicity in it all.

an air of sameness
blows gently through the orange grove
birds and human dance

Peacock display; Bing Photos

Peacock display; Bing Photos

Victoria is our Poetics host over at dVerse and asks us to write on the topic of feathers.  Head over there to read her full presentation and to add your link!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

36 Comments

  1. To live in their proximity must have influenced you. Or maybe you were chosen by them. They sound fantastic except in their noise.

    Like

    Reply
  2. What a lovely bird. We don’t have peacocks in Scandinavia, and I have never seen one. I understand quite a lot of symbolism has been attached to them. Being hope and pride I suggest they are … charming. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • They are very lovely birds and I believe they prefer warm climates to the cold of Scandinavia. I’m going to look up their symbolism and see how they may have been an influence somehow on my life…or just for fun! Thanks for coming by Anders. :~)

      Like

      Reply
  3. Oh wow. Thank you for sharing the chapters of your life, Gayle, with this majestic feathered bird. 🙂 I so love than haiku. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  4. LOL! This is lovely, this memory. And yes, they are loud! I wanted one but our front yard is too small, and the dogs probably would kill it in the back. I don’t know though….Husband said that the neighbors would tar and feather me. The haiku at the end is wonderful. I am so glad poets are using haiku to end their writings….and not just for haibun.

    Like

    Reply
    • Yes, your neighbors would want to tar and feather you, Jane! This was so supposed to be a haibun but it may have turned out to be too long…oh well. I’m glad you liked it…thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      • Well, the current fashion is to mess with haiku, so I guess the top prose can be expanded. I don’t know. Just started writing haibun. Don’t know why I missed all this fun before! But yours was great.

        Like

        Reply
  5. I also lived near a peacock inhabited neighborhood when I was growing up–they really are quite something. That final line of your haiku…superb!

    Like

    Reply
    • I remember when you mentioned this before, Victoria, when I first posted my original peacock story. They do make an impression on you! Thank you!

      Like

      Reply
  6. Beautiful, Gayle. LOVE your haiku, especially.

    Like

    Reply
  7. This is truly phenomenal, Gayle 💖 Love the haiku!

    Like

    Reply
  8. So fascinating and no coincidence I’m sure. Thank you for sharing this, Gayle!

    Like

    Reply
  9. I went back and read your story. Beauty is attracted to beauty. It’s that simple. 🙂 ❤

    Like

    Reply
  10. When I was a kid we had a neighbor with a large fenced lot who had peacocks. We used to go see them and could hear them from my house. We moved away when I was 13, but I still remember their cries and their beautiful feathers. Thanks for sharing your relationship with these lovely birds.

    Like

    Reply
    • Peacocks are especially attractive to children…they seem somewhat magical I think. And you never forget their cries, right? And thank you for visiting and commenting, Linda.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  11. Interesting birds, Peacocks. In CA where I use to live, when I visited some time back, my sister took me by a very large property that is close to a Target store, where you could hear the many Peacocks and their very loud calls. I also had a friend at one time that had a male and female Peacock and the male use to proudly roost atop his house. Like your post. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • Seems a few people have peacock stories, Renee. They are such striking birds and you sure can’t escape their loud cries if they’re nearby. Thanks for sharing and I’m glad you liked this. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  12. Love your haiku and peacock memories. They are really something spectacular to see up close.

    Like

    Reply
  13. Oh my — smiling I am. First to read both pieces of your writing here; second to learn more about the very intersting person you are; and third to picture that magnificent male “shimmying” his fan for you. Yep! That was a courting dance and I can’t help but think, perhaps that male peacock finally left you because he thought you were deaf — as in, that shimmy emits a mating sound that only peahens can hear! 🙂 This really has me smiling! Perhaps the peacock is your “totem”? I think that’s the word….
    and how serendipity that we both chose to write of peacocks here! But mine were much more aloof — and those I’ve seen have never been “attracted” to me! 🙂
    REALLY enjoyed this read this AM with my morning cup. We leave Ptown on Saturday — this morning, I’m “sitting” for two portrait artists who are living in the rental next door to us for the month of September. Have never done that — should be a new experience!
    I shall have a hard time now smiling as I see you running away from your admiring peacock!

    Like

    Reply
    • So glad you enjoyed my peacock stories, Lillian. Perhaps the peacock is my personal totem. I’ll have to look that up and see what the meaning of that might be. Maybe that was our trouble, I couldn’t hear those important sounds that that peacock was making. 🙂 I did have an unusual and interesting life back in the day. Coconut Grove was a fun place to live and supported our lifestyle well. Well, it sounds like you shook off that infection pretty quick and was able to enjoy your time there in Ptown. Sitting for a portrait sounds fun. I’ve never had that done either but I did have an artist sketch me once when I was having lunch out one day. He just started drawing me and then showed it to me. That was interesting and it looked pretty good too! Enjoy your travel home on Saturday, Lillian. Your comment made my day!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  14. The peacock truly does have beautiful plumage! His wife, the peahen is not so fortunate.

    Like

    Reply
  15. I only saw peacocks once and they are quite a beauty. 😊

    Like

    Reply

Please share your thoughts...

Wightrabbit

Words and Pictures from The Isle of Wight

writing in north norfolk

Writer of children's literature, short stories and poetry

Lady Nyo's Weblog

A woman writer's blog with invitations to other writers

Poetry Breakfast

Beginning March 20th, 2016 Poetry Breakfast will once again serve a little poetic nourishment every morning. Start your day with our new expanded menu. Poems, of course, are our specialty. But we will also be serving a fuller menu that includes poetry related creative non-fiction such as letters to and from poets, essays on poetry, and anything else that might feed a poet and poetry lover’s soul.

Mithai Mumblezz

Thinks and again mumbles!!

findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing...

mindlovemisery

"We're all out there, somewhere, waiting to happen."

NavasolaNature

Nature needs Nurture

Whimsygizmo's Blog

poetic ponderings...parenting...procrastination...

Tao of Scrumble

A freeform way of life, love and everything

Sharp Little Pencil

Amy Barlow Liberatore... stories of lost years, wild times, mental variety, faith, and lots of jazz

silentlyheardonce

A Silent poet shouting to be heard

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

kanzen sakura

South meets East: Poetry and Musings - words of the seasons

Poems, stories, paintings and more by Sharmishtha Basu

(Agnijaat, Agnishatdal, Agnijashatadalama, Indie Adda)

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

jaywalking the moon

poetry by claudia schoenfeld

She's Writing

Poetry and Prose

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

everyday amazing

spreading good cheer, fun & love for life

Michael's Lair

Just Write WordPress.com site

Björn Rudbergs writings

Poetry and fiction by a physicist from the dark side

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

THE BeZINE

Be inspired...Be creative...Be peace...Be

bardessdmdenton - author- artist

Historical and Literary Fiction / Essays / Poetry / Reviews /Book Cover and Interior Illustrations / Pet Portraits and Other Commissioned Artwork ... "Life can't ever really defeat a writer who is in love with writing, for life itself is a writer's lover until death - fascinating, cruel, lavish, warm, cold, treacherous, constant." ~ Edna Ferber, 1885-1968, American novelist, short story writer and playwright

Soul Dipper

Spirit Builder by Design

Contemplative Moorings

The official blog of unofficial author Michael Marsters.

Ramblings From A Mum

This is my journey, my thoughts, my views, plain and simple and from my heart. Please travel with me and share, hopefully it will be an interesting trip.

bwthoughts

copyright 2013 - no reuse without permission ( see bwfiction.wordpress.com for fiction and fantasy )

"On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea"

All Is One With Our Creator

MyHeartBlog

Take Control of Your Health

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Wanjiku

poetic inspiration from life's simplicity

k8edid

Mumblings of a Middle Aged Madwoman

IN MY NEXT LIFE

if I go around more than once then ...

I Rhyme Without Reason

I live in words

Soul Speak

'You may say I'm a Dreamer, but I'm not the only one' ~ John Lennon

~ Dragon's Dreams ~

Carpe Noctem Quod Tempus Fugit!

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Lafemmeroar

laughing at the malfunction of the universe is better than crying about it

Lorna's Voice

Finding ways to make words sparkle

Olivia's In- Mind Whirls..

"It's all in my mind"

dVerse

Poets Pub

Leslie White

View artwork by Leslie White

jgavinallan

The best time to love...is when it is impossible///Stories of the heart-broken/shattered and sometimes mended

