Clerihew; dVerse Form For All

 

genewilder

Gene Wilder in “Young Frankenstein”; Photo Bing Images

Gene Wilder
comic supreme no wiser
just watch “Young Frankenstein”
as he continues his bloodline
 
Tropical Storm Julia
you danced around us with a hula
Just another fews days of rain
Florida shakes it off with no pain

jackbenny                                                             Jack Benny;  Photo on Pinterest
 
Do ya’ll remember Jack Benny?
He was a man who loved to pinch a penny.
Perpetually thirty nine
he was a master of the pause…and punchline.

Join me today over at dVerse where I present another new form to play with.  The pub’s doors open at 3PM EST.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

56 Comments

  1. At the train station–Gene Wilder, Dr. Frankenstein, says to Igor, Marty Feldman: “Okay, let’s get the bags.”

    Igor responds: “Okay you take the blonde–I’ll take the brunette.”

    Like

    Reply
  2. Fun form, Gayle. Young Frankenstein, Gene Wilder, Jack Benny–love to turn to them for a spirit lift,

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Fun fun fun! I grew up in Waukegan, Illinois…the home of Jack Benny. My nose was really out of joint when I was assigned to go to Thomas Jefferson Junior High instead of the new (at that time) Jack Benny Junior High! Chuckling I am……

    Like

    Reply
    • I’m so glad you had so much fun, Lillian. I loved yours today. Jack Benny was one of my favorite comedians. I can so see why your nose went out of joint! :~)

      Like

      Reply
  4. Love those, though I have to admit I never watched the movie… and I somehow missed Jack Benny…. really great play here… Like Limericks almost, but more fun.

    Like

    Reply
    • “Young Frankenstein” is one of the funniest movies ever made and was directed by Mel Brooks. Jack Benny was maybe before your time, Bjorn…I’m old. ;~) I think the Clerihew has turned out to be great fun.

      Like

      Reply
  5. Glenn Buttkus

     /  September 15, 2016

    I really get the Limerick vibe off this form too; grandiose fun. Like you, I wrote several of them; could hardly stop myself; smile.

    Like

    Reply
    • Yes, it does have that limerick vibe with the rhyming and brevity of it. It was hard to stop…we might have to do this one again some time!

      Like

      Reply
  6. Wonderful, all three! I especially like your tribute to Wilder. He was quite funny, indeed.

    Like

    Reply
  7. Gene Wilder was pretty good. I saw The Woman in Red recently. It was a funny as the first time.

    Like

    Reply
  8. ‘Were wolves?’ ‘No, there wolves.’
    He was one of a kind.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  9. I went whoo-whoo
    reading the Benny clerihew.
    It’s true.
    Thank you.

    :-)

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
  10. Loved that film Young Frankenstein too.. Jack Benny not so well known over here in the UK although I do know of him and have seen clips of him in the past..
    Lovely to catch this post Gayle in the reader.. Love and warm hugs your way xx Sue x

    Like

    Reply
  11. Man, I love this:

    “Tropical Storm Julia
    you danced around us with a hula”

    Like

    Reply
    • She just blew across the state and brought lots of rain and wind…nothing we couldn’t handle! Thank you for your visit…so glad you liked my poem.

      Like

      Reply
  12. Good poems, both! So sad to hear of Gene Wilder’s passing recently. Thanks for hosting! Fun form to try!

    Like

    Reply
  13. thanks for the memories (oh, wait, that’s Bob Hope)
    really thanks for the chuckles – what fun

    Like

    Reply
  14. These are fun to read, So sad about Gene Wilder – rip

    Like

    Reply
  15. Young Frankenstein is superb! Benny was an idol of Johnny Carson…tropical storms are hard to make fun of but you make it light. Enjoyed all.

    Like

    Reply
    • I agree, Kathy, one of the funniest movies of all time. I didn’t know that Jack Benny was an idol of Johnny Carson…I loved Johnny too! Thank you for coming by and joining in with the fun.

      Like

      Reply
  16. you write flawlessly, Gayle! :) Thank you for introducing us to a form. ;)

    Like

    Reply
  17. Great choices! Gene Wilder was such an unique character. All you had to do is look at him and he made you laugh. This is a fun and light-heated form for us to play with, Gayle. Thanks! :)

    Like

    Reply
    • That’s what I felt about Gene Wilder…just his face alone could crack you up. I needed some levity and I’m glad this form was so well received by everyone. You’re welcome! :)

      Like

      Reply
  18. Whoever can forget comic Gene Wilder and Jack Benny. They were hilarious during their times. Nearer home we are not really aware or are affected by ‘Julia’.right now though. Great cleri set Gayle! Thanks for this new form. It looks to be good for a few more times on our own in the near future.

    Hank

    Like

    Reply
    • I’m so glad you enjoyed the form, Hank, and even want to revisit it in the future. We’ll keep that in mind. Will never forget the great comics that I grew up with…so many talented ones. That storm had just blown over Florida and I just decided to add her to the mix. Thank you for coming by.

      Like

      Reply
  19. I love the way you’ve included a tropical storm in your clerihews, Gayle!

    Like

    Reply
  20. You’ve just made me want to check out “Young Frankenstein” fun pieces!

    Like

    Reply
  21. Love that pause…and punchline, especially.

    Like

    Reply
  22. Ah! Gene Wilder! I just finished reading “Charlie and the Chocolate Factory” with my Grade 3 class and then we watched the movie. The very next day, we learned of his death! End of an era. Thanks for your great Clerihews and the fun prompt!

    Like

    Reply
    • I bet the kids loved the story and the movie. Gene Wilder’s version was wonderful. I was so surprised to learn of his death too. I’m happy that the Clerihew was fun for everyone…and you’re welcome!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  23. All great foils for your clerihew poems, Gayle! Loved Benny’s deadpan glance!

    Like

    Reply
  24. Loved both of these comics and was sad to hear of the death of Gene Wilder. Great writes!

    Like

    Reply
  25. I don’t know what I was doing instead of watching Young Frankensein! I’ll have to catch up. I can I do remember Jack Benny, Yes, thanks for the memories…

    Like

    Reply
    • Hi Nan, I think you’ll enjoy the movie. It’s a very funny take on the Frankenstein story. Jack Benny was one of my favorite comedians.

      Like

      Reply
  26. Very fun. Thanks for sharing the form.

    Like

    Reply

Please share your thoughts...

Wightrabbit's Blog

Words and Pictures from my Kaboodle on The Isle of Wight

writing in north norfolk

Writer of children's literature, short stories and poetry

Lady Nyo's Weblog

A woman writer's blog with invitations to other writers

Poetry Breakfast

Beginning March 20th, 2016 Poetry Breakfast will once again serve a little poetic nourishment every morning. Start your day with our new expanded menu. Poems, of course, are our specialty. But we will also be serving a fuller menu that includes poetry related creative non-fiction such as letters to and from poets, essays on poetry, and anything else that might feed a poet and poetry lover’s soul.

Mithai Mumblezz

Thinks and again mumbles!!

findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing...

mindlovemisery

"We're all out there, somewhere, waiting to happen."

NavasolaNature

Nature needs Nurture

Whimsygizmo's Blog

poetic ponderings...parenting...procrastination...

Tao of Scrumble

A freeform way of life, love and everything

Sharp Little Pencil

Amy Barlow Liberatore... stories of lost years, wild times, mental variety, faith, and lots of jazz

silentlyheardonce

A Silent poet shouting to be heard

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

kanzen sakura

South meets East: Poetry and Musings - words of the seasons

Poems, stories, paintings and more by Sharmishtha Basu

(Agnijaat, Agnishatdal, Agnijashatadalama, Indie Adda)

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

jaywalking the moon

poetry by claudia schoenfeld

She's Writing

Poetry and Prose

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

everyday amazing

spreading good cheer, fun & love for life

Michael's Lair

Just Write WordPress.com site

Björn Rudbergs writings

Poetry and fiction by a physicist from the dark side

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

THE BeZINE

Be inspired...Be creative...Be peace...Be

bardessdmdenton - author- artist

Historical and Literary Fiction / Essays / Poetry / Reviews /Book Cover and Interior Illustrations / Pet Portraits and Other Commissioned Artwork ... "Handle a book as a bee does a flower, extract its sweetness but do not damage it.” ~ John Muir, naturalist, author, 1838 - 1914

Soul Dipper

Spirit Builder by Design

Contemplative Moorings

The official blog of unofficial author Michael Marsters.

Ramblings From A Mum

This is my journey, my thoughts, my views, plain and simple and from my heart. Please travel with me and share, hopefully it will be an interesting trip.

bwthoughts

copyright 2013 - no reuse without permission ( see bwfiction.wordpress.com for fiction and fantasy )

"On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea"

All Is One With Our Creator

MyHeartBlog

Take Control of Your Health

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Wanjiku

poetic inspiration from life's simplicity

k8edid

Mumblings of a Middle Aged Madwoman

IN MY NEXT LIFE

if I go around more than once then ...

I Rhyme Without Reason

I live in words

Soul Speak

'You may say I'm a Dreamer, but I'm not the only one' ~ John Lennon

~ Dragon's Dreams ~

Carpe Noctem Quod Tempus Fugit!

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Lafemmeroar

laughing at the malfunction of the universe is better than crying about it

Lorna's Voice

Finding ways to make words sparkle

Olivia's In- Mind Whirls..

"It's all in my mind"

dVerse

Poets Pub

Leslie White

View artwork by Leslie White

jgavinallan

The best time to love...is when it is impossible///Stories of the heart-broken/shattered and sometimes mended

