Linger

Photo by Gayle Rose; Hibiscus Bloom

Photo by Gayle Rose; Hibiscus Bloom

How quick we are
And impatient
We’ve become
So many in a hurry
Their lives in a flurry
Gone the stillness
Of a moment to be
To linger and tarry
Examine and wonder
Such a loss, such a shame
There’s so much to ponder
To see the beauty
To notice around us
Myriad small joys
Abounding among us
Take a moment, won’t you
Slow yourself down
Nature especially
Can bring us around
It’s the simplicity of life
That connects us to see

Join me this afternoon as I host Open Link Night at dVerse Poets.  Link up any one poem of your choice to share.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

64 Comments

  1. Very true. We all need to take the time to enjoy the simple things.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. I’m glad I’m one of those slow moving Southerners…snails out race me. But it certainly does give one the chance to the relax and just absorb it all. Very true in these thoughts.

    Like

    Reply
    • I’m one of those slow-moving Southerners too, Toni. I like to look for things that others might miss in their haste.

      Like

      Reply
      • I like looking at the bugs and the tiny flowers and watching hummingbirds along the way…and other stuff as well. We get to see much, don’t we?

        Like

        Reply
        • I’m the same way, Toni. I love looking at little lizards, bugs, tiny weed flowers. I wish we had hummingbirds to stare at…I would love that! They are here but not in our yard… Yes, we notice a lot.

          Like

          Reply
  3. So true, Gayle, and thanks for hosting at dVerse!

    Like

    Reply
  4. Yes Gayle, I agree and am a big offender of this. This is really inspirational and it reminds me to not miss the moment – for those are what life is made of. If we miss them, we miss life.

    Like

    Reply
    • Well, we all get busy with life, Victoria but it truly is inspiring to me to be still and really see what’s around us. Thanks for coming by.

      Like

      Reply
  5. So true.. no matter how complicated life gets.. we must strive to enjoy the simpler things in life 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  6. scotthastiepoet

     /  August 11, 2016

    Yes, yes Gayle connection is the thing, for sure and a inner stillness and openness of spirit the key to it all – thanks so much for this. With Best Wishes Scott

    Like

    Reply
  7. Very clever Gayle! The way you’ve used words and phrasing slows the reader down from the first few hectic lines to a more relaxed reading pace which almost peters out at the end. Wise words too, reminding us to take time to look around and to observe how unhurried nature is. Lovely! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • Thank you, Jacqueline! I think it was accidental how that happened with the words and phrasing…it wasn’t a conscious choice but I’m happy it worked out like it did.

      Like

      Reply
  8. Oh I do wish we could linger like that … the moment now in summer’s last days… I felt exactly the same thing.

    Like

    Reply
  9. Beautiful Truth as the season shift…though Im happy to see the change.

    Like

    Reply
    • Thank you, Morgan. We barely have any change here between the seasons although sometimes our winters can get quite chilly in contrast to our blistering summers.

      Like

      Reply
      • 😮 lol, I do enjoy our four season in Pennsylvania. I think I would miss them terribly if I lived in a climate without change.

        Like

        Reply
  10. I agree that beauty and “myriad small joys” abound, if we take time to notice! Love the photo and slowing flow of your poem, Gayle.

    Like

    Reply
  11. They surely are the smallest wonders that are the biggest gifts, Gayle! The flow and rhythm of this is appealing!

    Like

    Reply
  12. It has become such a struggle to be still in a world that seems to be trying to spin itself apart.

    Like

    Reply
  13. Interesting that we both published photos of yellow hibiscus blooms in our blogs today..

    Like

    Reply
    • Hey, I did take a moment and click to see what hibiscus you had there. Humongous! I’ve never seen them that large before. Mine is the normal garden variety but I do love that yellow.

      Like

      Reply
      • I have a regular yellow with a deep rose center as well… My favorite up until now. It is called a Spanish Dancer. Where do you live? I’m in Mexico.

        Like

        Reply
        • I live in sub-tropical Florida in a small town on the southern east coast. I was born and raised in Orlando. I’m guessing our weather is similar to each others.

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
          • We are sub-tropical, but a mile high so we don’t have Florida’s heat and humidity. The Lake Chapala area where I live is supposed to have the second best climate in the world. Temperate in all seasons. Right now we are in the rainy season and it rains most nights and some days.. Terrific thunderstorms.

            Like

            Reply
  14. Blogging has done a lot to slow me down–both in photography and in taking every morning to write. As we get older I think we learn that more time spent at fewer activities can be so rewarding. I agree with your poem, in short!!

    Like

    Reply
    • Yes, fewer activities can be rewarding. I don’t like to be overly busy, it doesn’t sit right with my nervous system. 🙂 Writing is very much conducive to my ‘speed.’ Thank you for linking up a poem at dVerse and paying me a visit too.
      Gayle ~

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  15. Yes, so true. It’s probably the reason why so many of us are overworked and stressed to the max.

    Like

    Reply
  16. I love the wisdom in this and that hibiscus is stunning. We’ve just planted one in our garden–another for an indoors pot. I should say David did the planting, I will do the enjoying.

    Like

    Reply
  17. The simple things are the best things. Wise and true.

    Like

    Reply
    • I find them soothing to the soul. Thanks very much, Ayala. I really enjoyed your poignant poem…thanks for sharing that.

      Like

      Reply
  18. Sometimes we’re running away from depression, I fear.

    Like

    Reply
    • You could be right, Nan. Maybe slowing down and communing with nature a bit could help that depression. Thanks for your visit.

      Like

      Reply
  19. I like how your opening lines evoke the very hustle and bustle you write of and then gently slow us down to ponder. So skillfully done. As I scrolled down to comment I saw the background image of the basket of shells and wanted to nothing for a moment but sit on a porch play in them.

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks for your generous comment, Raivenne. I collected those shells many summers ago and I did that very thing with them when I got them home…played with them and then cleaned them up to put in that basket. I love those shells!

      Like

      Reply
  20. When we make haste
    We lose grace

    Like

    Reply
  21. Trying to catch the details and even the nuances of those details I believe is what makes life beautiful. Lovely post.

    Like

    Reply
  22. Ah, just what I really needed today. Thanks for a dash of motivation, Gayle. I love every bit of this piece. ❤

    Like

    Reply
  23. ah those still quiet moments are to be cherished!

    Like

    Reply
  24. a wonderful invitation to slow down!

    Like

    Reply
  25. How true. We are so lost in the bustle of instant everything that we have no patience to process the things that are happening within us.

    Like

    Reply
  26. Beautiful photo! Wonderful words reminding us to slow down indeed. So much beauty around us, ours to see should we just take a breath and pause. My daughter has a book on simplicity — less “stuff” — more appreciation for the natural and the simple things.

    Like

    Reply
  27. So true. Too busy doing the urgent to see the important.

    Like

    Reply
  28. And this is what my weekends are for – being in the moment, soaking up the true stillness of life. You reflected this so well.

    Like

    Reply
  29. I feel this especially right now, as I watch young people around me spinning like tops………..no time to gaze at the sky, too much busy-ness. Loved this, Gayle.

    Like

    Reply
  30. You got it right…and you said it well, too.

    Like

    Reply
  31. So true, as I found out over the past few days!

    Like

    Reply
  32. This has a wonderful cadence to it. Very much like the act of contemplation where thoughts cascade one after the other and create a focus and an insight. I enjoyed reading this!

    Like

    Reply
  33. This is a beautiful reminder to stop and smell the roses. Loved it.

    Like

    Reply
  34. I have always loved nature… the world is moving pretty fast. I’m sure a lot of people feel like they don’t have a chance to take a breather.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Seems like the world is moving faster and faster. I’m fortunate that I have the time and desire to notice the small things around me. Thanks again for being our host and letting us get to know you a little better, Sean.

      Like

      Reply
  1. Pandemonium – Doodles and Scribbles

Please share your thoughts...

Wightrabbit's Blog

Words and Pictures from my Kaboodle on The Isle of Wight

writing in north norfolk

Writer of children's literature, short stories and poetry

Lady Nyo's Weblog

A woman writer's blog with invitations to other writers

Poetry Breakfast

Beginning March 20th, 2016 Poetry Breakfast will once again serve a little poetic nourishment every morning. Start your day with our new expanded menu. Poems, of course, are our specialty. But we will also be serving a fuller menu that includes poetry related creative non-fiction such as letters to and from poets, essays on poetry, and anything else that might feed a poet and poetry lover’s soul.

Mithai Mumblezz

Thinks and again mumbles!!

findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing...

mindlovemisery

"We're all out there, somewhere, waiting to happen."

NavasolaNature

Nature needs Nurture

Whimsygizmo's Blog

poetic ponderings...parenting...procrastination...

Tao of Scrumble

A freeform way of life, love and everything

Sharp Little Pencil

Amy Barlow Liberatore... stories of lost years, wild times, mental variety, faith, and lots of jazz

silentlyheardonce

A Silent poet shouting to be heard

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

kanzen sakura

South meets East: Poetry and Musings - words of the seasons

Poems, stories, paintings and more by Sharmishtha Basu

(Agnijaat, Agnishatdal, Agnijashatadalama, Indie Adda)

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

jaywalking the moon

poetry by claudia schoenfeld

She's Writing

Poetry and Prose

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

everyday amazing

spreading good cheer, fun & love for life

Michael's Lair

Just Write WordPress.com site

Björn Rudbergs writings

Poetry and fiction by a physicist from the dark side

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

THE BeZINE

Be inspired...Be creative...Be peace...Be

bardessdmdenton - author- artist

Historical and Literary Fiction / Essays / Poetry / Reviews /Book Cover and Interior Illustrations / Pet Portraits and Other Commissioned Artwork ... "Life can't ever really defeat a writer who is in love with writing, for life itself is a writer's lover until death - fascinating, cruel, lavish, warm, cold, treacherous, constant." ~ Edna Ferber, 1885-1968, American novelist, short story writer and playwright

Soul Dipper

Spirit Builder by Design

Contemplative Moorings

The official blog of unofficial author Michael Marsters.

Ramblings From A Mum

This is my journey, my thoughts, my views, plain and simple and from my heart. Please travel with me and share, hopefully it will be an interesting trip.

bwthoughts

copyright 2013 - no reuse without permission ( see bwfiction.wordpress.com for fiction and fantasy )

"On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea"

All Is One With Our Creator

MyHeartBlog

Take Control of Your Health

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Wanjiku

poetic inspiration from life's simplicity

k8edid

Mumblings of a Middle Aged Madwoman

IN MY NEXT LIFE

if I go around more than once then ...

I Rhyme Without Reason

I live in words

Soul Speak

'You may say I'm a Dreamer, but I'm not the only one' ~ John Lennon

~ Dragon's Dreams ~

Carpe Noctem Quod Tempus Fugit!

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Lafemmeroar

laughing at the malfunction of the universe is better than crying about it

Lorna's Voice

Finding ways to make words sparkle

Olivia's In- Mind Whirls..

"It's all in my mind"

dVerse

Poets Pub

Leslie White

View artwork by Leslie White

jgavinallan

The best time to love...is when it is impossible///Stories of the heart-broken/shattered and sometimes mended

