Sapphire Sky

Born under a sapphire sky in early September,
fresh wash hung drying by a light, fall breeze that day,
birds vied for seeds from a feeder and a cat laid curled in the sun.
 
The house kept five of us now and the backyard was our playground.
Two of us would sit on the back steps, perusing the loftiness of the
Australian Pine, the shapes in the clouds and the back woods.
 
This beauty was in deep contrast to the darkening, indigo storm within.

De is our host for Poetics over at dVerse Poets Pub…come join us for a mid summer prompt.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

59 Comments

  1. WOW, Gayle. There is such a tumble of foreboding in this. And such gorgeous phrasings. Your images took me there. Wonderful.

    Like

    Reply
  2. PS: Love love love the Sevenling, as you know. 🙂 Great use of the form!

    Like

    Reply
  3. That last line is a clincher! Great work!

    Like

    Reply
    • That’s part of the Sevenling…the last line has to have a twist in it. I’m so glad it worked for you…thank you!

      Like

      Reply
  4. That line about pondering the Australian Pine is very nice… adds a new dimension to the poem.

    Like

    Reply
    • That Australian Pine lived in the far left corner of our backyard when I was growing up. When the wind blew, the top would sway back and forth. 🙂 Thanks very much for your compliment, Doc.

      Like

      Reply
  5. This is absolutely gorgeous writing Gayle 😀 love that closing line… 😀

    Like

    Reply
  6. Wow. That final line gob-smacked me, Gayle. So very well written–you drew me into the unfolding of the scene.

    Like

    Reply
  7. I thought the final line in the sevenling was a great twist, so unexpected too. This is a great contrast to the sapphire sky. You made me curious of the coming darkening, an indigo storm. A lovely sevenling Gayle.

    Like

    Reply
  8. The twist resonated with me. Sometimes even the most beautiful setting fails to influence the tangle of our lives as much as we would like.

    Like

    Reply
  9. “the darkening indigo storm within” suggests a story to come. This poem leaves the reader wanting more. Smiles. Always a good thing.

    Like

    Reply
    • I’ve told many a story/poem on that ‘darkening, indigo storm.’ I sure could write more…there were a lot of years of storms. Yes, a good thing to have more to write about. 🙂 Thanks, Sherry.

      Like

      Reply
  10. The contrast of a lovely day, children playing outside. Then we find there’s a storm brewing within. You’ve got us with a blue skies and dark blue skies

    Like

    Reply
  11. Rosemary Nissen-Wade

     /  August 9, 2016

    You create a wonderful, enviable scene – and then the last line is so powerfully doom-laden.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  12. Good sense of place. Ominous. My heart was heavy after reading the last line.

    Like

    Reply
    • Sorry for your heavy heart, Imelda. Some of my memories are heavy. I always appreciate your visits.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      • You have nothing to be sorry for. Your poem was moving and if I can help you carry the weight of your memories by reading your poem and feeling what they express, I am more than glad to read and emphatize. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        • I really appreciate your kind heart, Imelda…thanks very much. I think that writing about some of my difficult memories has helped me process the emotions that were pent up when I was growing up. I’m very grateful that you read my words…and for your empathy. 🙂

          Like

          Reply
  13. Glenn Buttkus

     /  August 9, 2016

    A great peek into an imperfect life in perfect word smithing. Man, you ain’t afraid of no sevenling; so cool.

    Like

    Reply
  14. Geez! A beauty slowly unfolding into a darkening, indigo storm within…
    Clever, clever take. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  15. Wonderful sevenling. Taking us to a birth under a saphire sky (a brilliant color) — to children sitting on the stoop (such a wonderfully naive thing that children do) to the last line — that juxtapositioning — the approaching indigo storm within (that black blue). This is a story in and of itself. Thank you for posting.

    Like

    Reply
  16. Yikes! I was awash in the gentle images and then that last line. It certainly splits this poem in two and you want to know the impending doom….what would have happened. I find this writing….to be some of the best ways to grab a reader and make them think beyond the words. Brava!
    Jane

    Like

    Reply
    • That twist at the end is the requirement of this form called the Sevenling, Jane. Plus I was writing my memories as a girl. I really appreciate your generous comment and love getting a ‘Brava’ too…thank you!

      Like

      Reply
  17. Thoughtful reflections in a blue sky and childhood… The backwoods and indigo approaching…bkm

    Like

    Reply
  18. Didn’t expect that twist at the end, but that’s what you wanted, right? 😉

    Like

    Reply
  19. Another sapphire sky! Beautiful! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  20. Yes, foreboding there at the end… Sapphire is my birthstone too.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  21. Spectacular sevenling. The perfect scene, the sapphire sky…the indigo storm. Excellent work in this. no, you take the sevenling and ink it into shape.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  22. Engaging descriptive words of a child-hood time with a powerful ending to bring it all back to reality. As always, Gayle, very well done.
    Hope all is going well with you. Peace … Namaste … Isadora 🙏

    Like

    Reply
    • Hi Izzy! Of course it’s another form that requires that twist in the last line. A fun challenge. Thank you…namaste and peace to you. 🙏 😘

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      • I’ve been visiting with family so I’m a bit late to respond, Gayle. You’re so talented with your poetry that you could write about the yellow pages. Do we still have yellow pages??? LOL
        I wish I could get my mind to get back into competing in poetry challenges. I’m having too much fun with my story writing and photography. Keep the talent flowing, dear friend.
        Namaste 🙏

        Like

        Reply
        • I hope you’ve been enjoying your summer, Izzy. I spent last weekend with the family at Sanibel Island…I just love it over there. I don’t know if we still have yellow pages…probably do. And I bet I could come up with something! LOL! I think you’ve found your niche, Izzy, with your wonderful stories and photography. I actually would like to do more memoir writing…something to aspire too. Thanks for your note; I so appreciate it. xoxo Namaste

          Like

          Reply
  23. You created quite an atmosphere with your words. Well done.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  24. Gayle, I love this! Beautiful!

    Like

    Reply
  25. Such an image rendered here, Gayle! Great memory!

    Like

    Reply

Please share your thoughts...

Wightrabbit's Blog

Words and Pictures from my Kaboodle on The Isle of Wight

writing in north norfolk

Writer of children's literature, short stories and poetry

Lady Nyo's Weblog

A woman writer's blog with invitations to other writers

Poetry Breakfast

Beginning March 20th, 2016 Poetry Breakfast will once again serve a little poetic nourishment every morning. Start your day with our new expanded menu. Poems, of course, are our specialty. But we will also be serving a fuller menu that includes poetry related creative non-fiction such as letters to and from poets, essays on poetry, and anything else that might feed a poet and poetry lover’s soul.

Mithai Mumblezz

Thinks and again mumbles!!

findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing...

mindlovemisery

"We're all out there, somewhere, waiting to happen."

NavasolaNature

Nature needs Nurture

Whimsygizmo's Blog

poetic ponderings...parenting...procrastination...

Tao of Scrumble

A freeform way of life, love and everything

Sharp Little Pencil

Amy Barlow Liberatore... stories of lost years, wild times, mental variety, faith, and lots of jazz

silentlyheardonce

A Silent poet shouting to be heard

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

kanzen sakura

South meets East: Poetry and Musings - words of the seasons

Poems, stories, paintings and more by Sharmishtha Basu

(Agnijaat, Agnishatdal, Agnijashatadalama, Indie Adda)

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

jaywalking the moon

poetry by claudia schoenfeld

She's Writing

Poetry and Prose

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

everyday amazing

spreading good cheer, fun & love for life

Michael's Lair

Just Write WordPress.com site

Björn Rudbergs writings

Poetry and fiction by a physicist from the dark side

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

THE BeZINE

Be inspired...Be creative...Be peace...Be

bardessdmdenton - author- artist

Historical and Literary Fiction / Essays / Poetry / Reviews /Book Cover and Interior Illustrations / Pet Portraits and Other Commissioned Artwork ... "Handle a book as a bee does a flower, extract its sweetness but do not damage it.” ~ John Muir, naturalist, author, 1838 - 1914

Soul Dipper

Spirit Builder by Design

Contemplative Moorings

The official blog of unofficial author Michael Marsters.

Ramblings From A Mum

This is my journey, my thoughts, my views, plain and simple and from my heart. Please travel with me and share, hopefully it will be an interesting trip.

bwthoughts

copyright 2013 - no reuse without permission ( see bwfiction.wordpress.com for fiction and fantasy )

"On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea"

All Is One With Our Creator

MyHeartBlog

Take Control of Your Health

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Wanjiku

poetic inspiration from life's simplicity

k8edid

Mumblings of a Middle Aged Madwoman

IN MY NEXT LIFE

if I go around more than once then ...

I Rhyme Without Reason

I live in words

Soul Speak

'You may say I'm a Dreamer, but I'm not the only one' ~ John Lennon

~ Dragon's Dreams ~

Carpe Noctem Quod Tempus Fugit!

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Lafemmeroar

laughing at the malfunction of the universe is better than crying about it

Lorna's Voice

Finding ways to make words sparkle

Olivia's In- Mind Whirls..

"It's all in my mind"

dVerse

Poets Pub

Leslie White

View artwork by Leslie White

jgavinallan

The best time to love...is when it is impossible///Stories of the heart-broken/shattered and sometimes mended

