The Battle of Puebla

This day starts like any other as if
not knowing what transpired this
triumphant, historical day in May. Is
the victory over France ours or your(s)?
Why do you celebrate as if it’s your birthday?
You Americans will take any excuse to party and
carry on. This is not even a holiday for us; you
don’t take a moment to consider what are
our thoughts. The Battle of Puebla left many dead,
but we are thankful that we prevailed.  Do
you want to rejoice with us? Then join as we
observe our independence in September and stay
by our side in honor of the voices that went silent
throughout our history to bring us freedom . As
we mark that date with festivals, we entertain the
gatherings in joy and a sheet
gently spreads over us with gratitude.  You
are invited to share as we remember those who died
so that we now live in liberty, and out from under.

Click here to see where my inspiration came from for the prompt today:  PBS’s Weekly Poem for May 7, 2012 by Naomi Shihab Nye “Cinco de Mayo”

De is our host at dVerse’s Meeting the Bar and shares a poetic form called The Golden Shovel.  Come by and see her instructions on this interesting prompt!

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

44 Comments

  1. I wonder how many of us really grasp what Cinco de Mayo is really all about. Sadly, not many I suspect.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. I did read about it.. And that it means something beyond a party… I just googled it today and yes it’s a victory to celebrate, but it’s a day to mourn the dead.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Gayle, this is simply STUNNING. Your message, the line you chose. One of my favorite things about the Golden Shovel is reading that right margin to find the original line. Yours stopped me in my tracks. And then the poem…WOW.

    Like

    Reply
    • Thank you, De, high praise coming from you! I love reading down that right margin too…in fact I found myself reading that first. I’m so pleased that you liked my poem…wow.

      Like

      Reply
  4. Glenn Buttkus

     /  May 5, 2016

    Very clever & insightful; terrific use of the form, & as De said, in your case you doubled our pleasure. I attempted that too, but ended up rambling a bit.

    Like

    Reply
  5. Great writing, yes, I agree. But it has prompted me to make a decision. I think I’m going to start keeping a file on each time something that I relate to being is lumped into a derogatory comment – such as a woman, a Christian, or an American, to name a few. It is becoming apparent to me that I have been ignorant to a large degree of the person I am presumed to be because I am one of these three, again – to name a few.

    Like

    Reply
    • Thank you for your comment and compliment although I believe your time may be better spent if you kept a file on all the positive comments made on those things that you identify with. Why increase your negative feelings by mulling over comments that make you unhappy?

      Like

      Reply
  6. So nice to see you talking about this specific day in history… and especially the idea of how much is lost to memory…

    Like

    Reply
  7. Very striking, and the end line words are stunning.

    Like

    Reply
  8. Excellent! I enjoyed the way you wrote in response to Cinco de Mayo. We have to remember the reason behind these days!

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks, Mary. I’ve never celebrated it but when I looked it up to see what it was about the article mentioned the fact that Americans in particular really took to the “holiday” with lots of partying. Most have no idea I’m sure of the story behind it.

      Like

      Reply
  9. So clever to use the words to create this poem in honour of the voices that went silent.

    Like

    Reply
  10. I agree, this is absolutely stunning execution of the form 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  11. This explains it so well. The news was all about Cinco de Mayo this morning, and I had to look it up. I did think it was Mexico’s Independence Day. Thank you for this.

    Like

    Reply
    • I really didn’t know what it was myself until I looked it up to write my poem. I was surprised to learn that most Mexicans consider it a minor holiday. And thank you too, Barbara. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  12. Yes, Americans will use any excuse to have a party, or in this case to drink tequila. The Mexican restaurants in the US love Cinco de Mayo as well because they get a boost in sales. Very nice take on the prompt with a good message for the day.

    Like

    Reply
    • Thank you, Linda, yes, I’m sure it boosts alcohol sales. I’m glad I learned what it was although I’ve never celebrated it myself.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  13. A needed smack on the wrist. Great job with the message and with the chosen lines.

    Like

    Reply
  14. Oh how you brought truth to us. Even the several Mexican families I know are all about the party. Like July 4, we have forgotten the true meaning of that. I am humbled by the truth behind Cinco de Mayo and the sacrifice. your poem lays it all out and spares us nothing.

    Like

    Reply
    • Well, the article I read about it talked about it really being a minor “holiday” to most Mexican’s and not the big deal that it’s become. Their independence day is much more of a celebratory day for them.

      Like

      Reply
  15. You tell the history well. There is much that we have taken up as ritual without ever understanding the origins.

    Like

    Reply
  16. I read down the last words first and had to stop a moment. And then to read your poem – wow. I suspect there are many “holidays” that are “celebrated” with days off from work, happy picnics etc by many when, in reality, the original purpose of the day was to mourn the dead – or perhaps we choose to celebrate their lives and their cause? This was a timely piece, thoughtful and thought provoking.

    Like

    Reply
    • I really think that most of the ones “celebrating” have no clue as to what or whom they’re celebrating. I would be interested to know for sure though. Thanks, Lillian.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      • Well….I will fess up. I was not really aware of the originations of Cinco de Mayo. I am now and am thankful I now know.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
  17. This is a powerful presentation of Mexican history. Your poem is thought-provoking, though my best friend’s family is from the state of Puebla, and she tells me they do celebrate the Cinco de Mayo Mexican victory there.

    Like

    Reply
    • Thank you, Patti. I think the celebrating by Americans of Cinco de Mayo is out of proportion to the minor holiday that I understood it to be when I read up on it. I didn’t know what it was having never celebrated it myself or read about it either. I’m glad I did.

      Like

      Reply
  18. Most holidays are memores of those who died for some kind of freedom. Though 911 isn’t a holiday they gather to remember the fallen. I guess sowe won’t forget.

    Like

    Reply
    • Some are, that’s true. Our Memorial Day and Veteran’s Day are celebrated respectfully and seriously not usually with drunken parties. I guess that’s the point I was trying to make. Thanks, Kim.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  19. You are invited to share as we remember those who died
    so that we now live in liberty, and out from under.

    Forget what had happened. Instead, we rejoice on the good things that come our way for to be at peace is a tolerable choice! Very true Gayle!

    Hank

    Like

    Reply
  20. You are invited to share as we remember those who died
    so that we now live in liberty, and out from under.

    Forget what had happened. Instead, we rejoice on the good things that come our way for to be at peace is a tolerable choice! Very true Gayle!

    Hank

    Like

    Reply
  21. Oooh, yes — excellent! You built on the inspiration piece beautifully.

    Like

    Reply
  22. What? Cinco de Mayo isn’t an American holiday we celebrate for the Mexicans? 😉 What? The world doesn’t revolve around America, food, and alcohol? All this truth makes a lot of people’s heads hurt (or is it the tequila they had way too much of?)! Great poem, message, and post, Gayle!

    Like

    Reply

Please share your thoughts...

Wightrabbit's Blog

Words and Pictures from my Kaboodle on The Isle of Wight

writing in north norfolk

Writer of children's literature, short stories and poetry

Lady Nyo's Weblog

A woman writer's blog with invitations to other writers

Poetry Breakfast

Beginning March 20th, 2016 Poetry Breakfast will once again serve a little poetic nourishment every morning. Start your day with our new expanded menu. Poems, of course, are our specialty. But we will also be serving a fuller menu that includes poetry related creative non-fiction such as letters to and from poets, essays on poetry, and anything else that might feed a poet and poetry lover’s soul.

Mithai Mumblezz

Thinks and again mumbles!!

findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing...

mindlovemisery

"We're all out there, somewhere, waiting to happen."

NavasolaNature

Nature needs Nurture

Whimsygizmo's Blog

poetic ponderings...parenting...procrastination...

Tao of Scrumble

A freeform way of life, love and everything

Sharp Little Pencil

Amy Barlow Liberatore... stories of lost years, wild times, mental variety, faith, and lots of jazz

silentlyheardonce

A Silent poet shouting to be heard

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

kanzen sakura

South meets East: Poetry and Musings - words of the seasons

Poems, stories, paintings and more by Sharmishtha Basu

(Agnijaat, Agnishatdal, Agnijashatadalama, Indie Adda)

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

jaywalking the moon

poetry by claudia schoenfeld

She's Writing

Poetry and Prose

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

everyday amazing

spreading good cheer, fun & love for life

Michael's Lair

Just Write WordPress.com site

Björn Rudbergs writings

Poetry and fiction by a physicist from the dark side

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

THE BeZINE

Be inspired...Be creative...Be peace...Be

bardessdmdenton - author- artist

Historical and Literary Fiction / Essays / Poetry / Reviews /Book Cover and Interior Illustrations / Pet Portraits and Other Commissioned Artwork ... "Handle a book as a bee does a flower, extract its sweetness but do not damage it.” ~ John Muir, naturalist, author, 1838 - 1914

Soul Dipper

Spirit Builder by Design

Contemplative Moorings

The official blog of unofficial author Michael Marsters.

Ramblings From A Mum

This is my journey, my thoughts, my views, plain and simple and from my heart. Please travel with me and share, hopefully it will be an interesting trip.

bwthoughts

copyright 2013 - no reuse without permission ( see bwfiction.wordpress.com for fiction and fantasy )

"On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea"

All Is One With Our Creator

MyHeartBlog

Take Control of Your Health

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Wanjiku

poetic inspiration from life's simplicity

k8edid

Mumblings of a Middle Aged Madwoman

IN MY NEXT LIFE

if I go around more than once then ...

I Rhyme Without Reason

I live in words

Soul Speak

'You may say I'm a Dreamer, but I'm not the only one' ~ John Lennon

~ Dragon's Dreams ~

Carpe Noctem Quod Tempus Fugit!

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Lafemmeroar

laughing at the malfunction of the universe is better than crying about it

Lorna's Voice

Finding ways to make words sparkle

Olivia's In- Mind Whirls..

"It's all in my mind"

dVerse

Poets Pub

Leslie White

View artwork by Leslie White

jgavinallan

The best time to love...is when it is impossible///Stories of the heart-broken/shattered and sometimes mended

