Paisley Park

It rained last night at Paisley Park,
tears fell too when the lightning struck.
Your time cut short, too quickly plucked,
a Princely man whose life went dark.
You colored us purple in stark
relief of the grief we’re feeling–
colorless, bleak, muted keening.
You reigned supreme, a gentle soul
of brilliant talent, eyes of coal.
It rained last night at Paisley Park.

Join me at dVerse Poets as we learn the decima, a Latin American form.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

24 Comments

  1. Great tribute… how I love that you used the same line to begin and end… wonderful

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Thanks, Bjorn. I felt compelled to write something in his memory. Watching Barry’s video of him made me miss him even more… But what an amazingly talented human being!

      Like

      Reply
  2. Anonymous

     /  April 22, 2016

    Nicely done. A nice remembrance for Prince. I forget the form but I recognized right away.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Beautiful tribute Gayle.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Oh, this is excellent, Gayle. A fitting farewell to Prince….

    Like

    Reply
    • Thank you, Mary. It was done quickly so I think I could have done better. But I would like to play around with this form again…like you do.

      Like

      Reply
  5. Touching, genuine and well-written, Gayle.

    Like

    Reply
  6. Rosemary Nissen-Wade

     /  April 23, 2016

    A great loss, sweetly penned.

    Like

    Reply
  7. So beautiful.

    Like

    Reply
  8. Beautiful tribute, and once again, thanks for giving us the prompt for this delightful form!

    Like

    Reply
  9. Every word a testiment to the greatness of his being.
    Touching and heartfelt words, Gayle. So sad …
    Isadora 😎

    Like

    Reply
    • Oh, Isadora, how nice to see your smiling face over here. I had just read your apology to your followers on your blog…luckily I was one that didn’t see that you had mistakenly made your blog private or it would have freaked me out too! 🙂

      I’m so very saddened by Prince’s untimely passing. I wrote this second decima to the prompt rather quickly to honor him. I’m glad you liked it.

      I hope your time away was restorative and fun. Hugs for you my friend. xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      • It’s always a pleasure to see you, Gayle. Since we go way back, I’m sure, you would have found the privacy setting a bit unnerving. I’ve written so much about myself, for so long, why on earth would I hide myself now. I’ve grown since those first days of posting. I hope to continue on my journey of self-discovery and better writing. You’ve always been an inspiration for my words. Thank you for your long-time friendship.
        Namaste 🙏🏻

        Like

        Reply
        • I would have found it unnerving, Izzy! Haha, and you’ve got a point there about making your writings private at this point. I’m so glad that we both found this venue to express ourselves…it’s been very rewarding. And it’s been especially nice that we’ve stayed connected for all of these years. I value our friendship too. Namaste. I always wish you well. xoxo

          Like

          Reply
  10. This is such a tribute in such a short form. It really emphasises the loss and the lines so simple but so poetic, it rained last night in Paisley Park. Tried to also get on your haibun but the link didn’t seem to work. I love the lacework of nature in decay.

    Like

    Reply
    • Hi Georgia, I added a second decima for my prompt in honor of Prince’s passing. It’s limited to 10 lines so I had to make it brief but I’m glad you like it…thanks for that. My haibun will be published tomorrow when the prompt goes up at 3PM EST. I mistakenly published it several minutes ago and then quickly changed it. Sorry about that…it was my mistake! Nice to see you.
      Gayle ~

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Please share your thoughts...

Wightrabbit's Blog

Words and Pictures from my Kaboodle on The Isle of Wight

writing in north norfolk

Writer of children's literature, short stories and poetry

Lady Nyo's Weblog

A woman writer's blog with invitations to other writers

Poetry Breakfast

Beginning March 20th, 2016 Poetry Breakfast will once again serve a little poetic nourishment every morning. Start your day with our new expanded menu. Poems, of course, are our specialty. But we will also be serving a fuller menu that includes poetry related creative non-fiction such as letters to and from poets, essays on poetry, and anything else that might feed a poet and poetry lover’s soul.

Mithai Mumblezz

Thinks and again mumbles!!

findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing...

mindlovemisery

"We're all out there, somewhere, waiting to happen."

NavasolaNature

Nature needs Nurture

Whimsygizmo's Blog

poetic ponderings...parenting...procrastination...

Tao of Scrumble

A freeform way of life, love and everything

Sharp Little Pencil

Amy Barlow Liberatore... stories of lost years, wild times, mental variety, faith, and lots of jazz

silentlyheardonce

A Silent poet shouting to be heard

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

kanzen sakura

South meets East: Poetry and Musings - words of the seasons

Poems, stories, paintings and more by Sharmishtha Basu

(Agnijaat, Agnishatdal, Agnijashatadalama, Indie Adda)

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

jaywalking the moon

poetry by claudia schoenfeld

She's Writing

Poetry and Prose

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

everyday amazing

spreading good cheer, fun & love for life

Michael's Lair

Just Write WordPress.com site

Björn Rudbergs writings

Poetry and fiction by a physicist from the dark side

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

THE BeZINE

Be inspired...Be creative...Be peace...Be

bardessdmdenton - author- artist

Historical and Literary Fiction / Essays / Poetry / Reviews /Book Cover and Interior Illustrations / Pet Portraits and Other Commissioned Artwork ... "Handle a book as a bee does a flower, extract its sweetness but do not damage it.” ~ John Muir, naturalist, author, 1838 - 1914

Soul Dipper

Spirit Builder by Design

Contemplative Moorings

The official blog of unofficial author Michael Marsters.

Ramblings From A Mum

This is my journey, my thoughts, my views, plain and simple and from my heart. Please travel with me and share, hopefully it will be an interesting trip.

bwthoughts

copyright 2013 - no reuse without permission ( see bwfiction.wordpress.com for fiction and fantasy )

"On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea"

All Is One With Our Creator

MyHeartBlog

Take Control of Your Health

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Wanjiku

poetic inspiration from life's simplicity

k8edid

Mumblings of a Middle Aged Madwoman

IN MY NEXT LIFE

if I go around more than once then ...

I Rhyme Without Reason

I live in words

Soul Speak

'You may say I'm a Dreamer, but I'm not the only one' ~ John Lennon

~ Dragon's Dreams ~

Carpe Noctem Quod Tempus Fugit!

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Lafemmeroar

laughing at the malfunction of the universe is better than crying about it

Lorna's Voice

Finding ways to make words sparkle

Olivia's In- Mind Whirls..

"It's all in my mind"

dVerse

Poets Pub

Leslie White

View artwork by Leslie White

jgavinallan

The best time to love...is when it is impossible///Stories of the heart-broken/shattered and sometimes mended

