Lineage of Pain

You were easy to vilify
with your detached and selfish ways
and your clenched jaw and eyes ablaze,
but your life was your own deny,
Dad.   Years of pain were amplified
by you; no soft place was offered.
But my worth totally shattered
because you also had been hurt
by a man detached, cold and curt,
alone where no love was proffered.

Join me at dVerse Poets for Meeting the Bar, Thursday 3PM EST where we try a Latin American poetry form called the décima.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

56 Comments

  1. Heartfelt poem Gayle.. So often that pain is passed on.. Love and Blessings your way Gayle.. xxx Sue

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Anonymous

     /  April 20, 2016

    Wow! Chains of pain. Glad you have broken it.

    Like

    Reply
  3. I can’t wait to try this form, though I am uncertain if it will be in time for the prompt. We are preparing for our desert exodus which happens soon after I host OLN so I’m trying to get ready to leave, take care of a couple of things before Thursday. But then, there is OLN. Thanks for being such a good teammate. Heartbreaking poem that illustrates so well the horror of pain passed on from generation to generation. We watched Unbroken last night–there I picked up on that same theme.

    Like

    Reply
    • I haven’t seen that movie yet but would like to. Some people have such a strong and resilient spirit don’t they…such an inspiration. I know that even my teammates have lives and other things to attend to besides prompts. I’ll look forward to reading your decima when you’re able to write it and share, Victoria…perhaps for OLN. I appreciate you as a fellow teammate and friend too, and thank you. xoxo

      Like

      Reply
  4. Good insight into the ways “hurt people hurt people”…sorry for your pain, seems you’ve overcome!

    Like

    Reply
  5. I found this very insightful too. you’ve turned you pain into a well crafted piece.

    Like

    Reply
  6. I have always wanted to be born at 21 because I would rather have no childhood More porridge please?

    Like

    Reply
  7. This one touched my heart, how painful when that hurt is passed through generations ( I did get my part too.. though in less amount my father did)

    Like

    Reply
    • Thank you, Bjorn, and I know you experienced some of this too…so hard to grow up with the disconnect. Alcoholism was a big factor in the picture too. There were a lot of alcoholics in my father’s family.

      Like

      Reply
  8. Whew, so often pain and hurtful relationships transfer from one generation to another, doesn’t it? Someone has to break the cycle; and I trust, Gayle, that you are one who has! Good prompt. It got me writing. Thank you.

    Like

    Reply
    • Yes, they sure can, Mary, and I think I did break that cycle in caring for my own daughters. And I’m thrilled that this prompt has you inspired to write, Mary, you’re welcome!

      Like

      Reply
  9. There’s that pain that feeds our strength. The passion is intense.

    Like

    Reply
  10. Glenn Buttkus

     /  April 21, 2016

    Heartfelt & insightful, this one touches us all. The form is well illustrated as well. I never knew my father, but my three stepfathers believed in the law of the hairy fist & the belt. I chose, as do you, not to pas on this misplaced rage.

    Like

    Reply
    • Thank you, Glenn. I commend you for your choice to behave otherwise and also for your positive spirit and enthusiasm that you exhibit. It’s wonderful. I’m glad that you persevered in spite of that missing father and three raging, bully stepfathers…ugh!

      Like

      Reply
  11. This is so sad, and yet there is hope in the recognition of the pattern, and hopefully forgiveness and understanding.

    Like

    Reply
    • Being aware of the pattern is helpful and I think it brought me more compassion and understanding toward my father. And that is a good thing. :) Thank you for sharing, Linda.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  12. Wonderfully skillful the way you worked in this song of childhood pain and its source. There were always routes back and forth, weren’t there. There never was a golden age, just glossed over memories. Excellent piece.

    Like

    Reply
  13. PS. Thanks for the great article. I didn’t know this form!

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks so much, Gay, I appreciate your kind compliment. Yes, there’s always a way to track those traits and so true about the “golden age”…not so sparkle-y for some of us. It’s still hard for me to gloss over the memories but I’ve tried to put it in perspective. I’m glad I came up with a form that was new to you. :~)

      Like

      Reply
  14. This is such a beautifully heartfelt poem.. I can sense the pain and resentment here… hope that you have overcome.. sending you love and hugs!

    Like

    Reply
    • I’m glad you liked it, Sanaa. Sometimes it’s good to share some of the darker experiences in our lives so others know that they aren’t alone. It can serve as a comfort sometimes. That’s what I hope anyway. Thanks for coming by…hugs.

      Like

      Reply
  15. This is very strong. It’s wonderful to break those chains. I must tell you that you captured the feel of the decima with a little tinge of defiance. Great!

    Like

    Reply
  16. Oh, Gayle. This is heartbreaking. The isolation of the word “Dad” is spot on. So well done.

    Like

    Reply
  17. I recognise and feel that pain, so well conveyed in your decima, Gayle.

    Like

    Reply
  18. So much pain in this. The enjambment in this prevented the rhyme scheme from detracting from the serious nature of the poem. Nicely done.

    Like

    Reply
  19. Such pain is generational, but thankfully you have broken the chain.

    Like

    Reply
  20. I had problems with my father too Gayle. He was proud and always right and back then I didn’t think about how it must have been for him. Great insight and sadness. I’m sorry to hear you had a hard time too. Big hug! Bekkie

    Like

    Reply
    • Big hug back to you, Bekkie. I’m sorry for your difficulty too and thank you for sharing your thoughts with me. It took me a long time to consider that he being abandoned by his father created his pain that he then passed on to us. He didn’t have the awareness or skill to do otherwise. It did help me soften my heart towards him.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  21. That really hits me where I live. The cycle of estrangement and abuse, passed on… painfully sad. Skillfully written too

    Like

    Reply
    • I’m sorry that this issue has affected you too, Barry…too many people seem to experience this. And I appreciate your compliment, thank you.

      Like

      Reply
  22. Rosemary Nissen-Wade

     /  April 23, 2016

    Painful subject, excellent poetry!

    Like

    Reply
  23. Your poem is heart-breaking, Gayle, and at the same time, deep, wise, full of insight and kindness. And yet, there’s that endless pain that you have to endure, which you’ve converted into a beautiful poem.

    Like

    Reply

Please share your thoughts...

Wightrabbit's Blog

Words and Pictures from my Kaboodle on The Isle of Wight

writing in north norfolk

Writer of children's literature, short stories and poetry

Lady Nyo's Weblog

A woman writer's blog with invitations to other writers

Poetry Breakfast

Beginning March 20th, 2016 Poetry Breakfast will once again serve a little poetic nourishment every morning. Start your day with our new expanded menu. Poems, of course, are our specialty. But we will also be serving a fuller menu that includes poetry related creative non-fiction such as letters to and from poets, essays on poetry, and anything else that might feed a poet and poetry lover’s soul.

Mithai Mumblezz

Thinks and again mumbles!!

findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing...

mindlovemisery

"We're all out there, somewhere, waiting to happen."

NavasolaNature

Nature needs Nurture

Whimsygizmo's Blog

poetic ponderings...parenting...procrastination...

Tao of Scrumble

A freeform way of life, love and everything

Sharp Little Pencil

Amy Barlow Liberatore... stories of lost years, wild times, mental variety, faith, and lots of jazz

silentlyheardonce

A Silent poet shouting to be heard

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

kanzen sakura

South meets East: Poetry and Musings - words of the seasons

Poems, stories, paintings and more by Sharmishtha Basu

(Agnijaat, Agnishatdal, Agnijashatadalama, Indie Adda)

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

jaywalking the moon

poetry by claudia schoenfeld

She's Writing

Poetry and Prose

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

everyday amazing

spreading good cheer, fun & love for life

Michael's Lair

Just Write WordPress.com site

Björn Rudbergs writings

Poetry and fiction by a physicist from the dark side

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

THE BeZINE

Be inspired...Be creative...Be peace...Be

bardessdmdenton - author- artist

Historical and Literary Fiction / Essays / Poetry / Reviews /Book Cover and Interior Illustrations / Pet Portraits and Other Commissioned Artwork ... "Handle a book as a bee does a flower, extract its sweetness but do not damage it.” ~ John Muir, naturalist, author, 1838 - 1914

Soul Dipper

Spirit Builder by Design

Contemplative Moorings

The official blog of unofficial author Michael Marsters.

Ramblings From A Mum

This is my journey, my thoughts, my views, plain and simple and from my heart. Please travel with me and share, hopefully it will be an interesting trip.

bwthoughts

copyright 2013 - no reuse without permission ( see bwfiction.wordpress.com for fiction and fantasy )

"On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea"

All Is One With Our Creator

MyHeartBlog

Take Control of Your Health

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Wanjiku

poetic inspiration from life's simplicity

k8edid

Mumblings of a Middle Aged Madwoman

IN MY NEXT LIFE

if I go around more than once then ...

I Rhyme Without Reason

I live in words

Soul Speak

'You may say I'm a Dreamer, but I'm not the only one' ~ John Lennon

~ Dragon's Dreams ~

Carpe Noctem Quod Tempus Fugit!

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Lafemmeroar

laughing at the malfunction of the universe is better than crying about it

Lorna's Voice

Finding ways to make words sparkle

Olivia's In- Mind Whirls..

"It's all in my mind"

dVerse

Poets Pub

Leslie White

View artwork by Leslie White

