The Art of Imagism

I.
Pond frozen solid,
wildlife hibernates.
Bright, blue day
of golden rays
glisten off the ice.
Wildly colored scarves
flash and pirouette
across the surface.

II.
White, pintucked
embroidered duvet
cover with dainty
ruffled edges, lies
rumpled on my bed.
After a year of
admiration and desire
it arrived in the mail.

III.
The potter’s wheel
is still. Clay, dried
and chipping, clings.
March was a long month.

Join us today at dVerse Poets at 3PM EST where Victoria instructs us on Imagism: http://dversepoets.com/2016/01/28/image-ine-dverse-meeting-the-bar/

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

54 Comments

  1. So enjoyed these, Gail, especially the potter’s wheel. I could smell the clay thanks to the crisp image you painted.

    Like

    Reply
  2. I love the thoughts of those bed-sheets.. but what I really liked is the sense of smell throughout your poetry.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Three beautiful snapshots from life. I especially liked the second, but I’m a big fan of lazy days curled up with a book in bed beneath a snugly duvet.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Oh, I especially like the one about the duvet…..sometimes I think it would be nice to have one instead of a bedspread. Yours sounds beautiful! I like the 3rd one…..so often projects lay fallow for a while, but hopefully eventually they are picked up on again. I have a few such projects!

    Like

    Reply
    • That duvet was worth the wait. I had looked at hundreds, lol. It went on sale after Christmas so I went for it. So glad you like my offerings, Mary, thanks.

      Like

      Reply
  5. It felt like I was peeking around the items in someone’s home! Brilliant.

    Like

    Reply
  6. This is absolutely gorgeous!!

    Like

    Reply
  7. The third one brings images of loss to me. The still wheel and the dried clay. I lost my father and grandparents in March in the same year. Odd how your clay image brings that to mind – the last line, March was a long month – yes it was. And those beautiful fluttering scarves on the surface of the frozen pond – oh my heart how it skipped when seeing that beautiful image in my mind. and indulging in that duvet….made me smile because of the image of it being unwrapped and touched for the first time.

    Like

    Reply
    • I actually had death in mind as I wrote this. I’m so sorry for your loss, Toni, three close family members gone in one month is just too much. You picked up on my excitement when I got that duvet cover, smiles. And I’m happy for that leap of your heart. Thank you!

      Like

      Reply
      • I lusted after a Le Cresuet oval baker for a year before I finally dipped into my special savings jar and bought it….lovely sunny yellow. I happy danced when I got home and pulled it from the box….March is coming up. I always face it with a sense of dread but my three words for this year, Happy.New.Year. may give me different thoughts! Hope springs eternal….

        Like

        Reply
  8. All three did the things they’re supposed to – take you inside the image and where the image lies. The last one resonates the most because it brings that sense of loss. However, the first one is the classic image with the classic symbols used by all the imagists. Birds are universal – all varieties. Reading Mary Oliver, her birds and other animals always describe the center of the human condition and of course, use the animals of a way of looking out and realizing that we are one with nature and it is who we are as well. The second is colorful, whimsical, and conveys warmth as a duvet should and speaks to the idea of waiting and yearning. So all I think are quite successful and in their music too. One of the tools I also use to get music is to repeat sounds not necessarily end sounds but keeping them consistent throughout as though they were like bird calls.

    Like

    Reply
    • Thank you, Gay, for this comprehensive comment. It’s interesting that you mention birds in the first poem when I didn’t refer to birds but wildlife. I like your idea of using sound and that too, of course, can be used to conjure images.

      Like

      Reply
      • Gay, do you have an example of something you’ve written with the repeated sounds throughout? I would love a link to something to read if you would be so kind.

        Like

        Reply
  9. For me, all three poems conjured up visions of white and the sensation of cold: the white of winter ice; the warmth associated with the white duvet cover on a cold winter day, and white clay being worked in March. Each stands successfully on its own.

    Like

    Reply
  10. Such fulsome images, I could picture every one. The duvet sounds beautiful. Mine is covered with wolves, LOL. I sleep better under them. Smiles.

    Like

    Reply
    • Thank you, Sherry. It is a beautiful duvet cover and I’m happy to have one at last. My down duvet had been “naked” for too long. 🙂 Of course, yours is covered with wolves, I can’t imagine otherwise! Smiles.

      Like

      Reply
  11. Glenn Buttkus

     /  January 28, 2016

    Several of us got so pumped up with poetic passion that we did several poems in order tok exorcise the Imagist demons rumbling stark & nearly naked, without a descriptive mantle to adorn them. I adored III because it popped in my lobe.

    Like

    Reply
  12. I like all three of these very much, Gail, but that third one just touches me so deeply. Art abandoned. Its sadness, along with that of the artist. There is longing here, and loss. I’m also reminded of the biblical reference of the Potter and the Clay. Wonderful.

    Like

    Reply
    • I did have the death of the potter in mind as I wrote this, De. I’m glad that the image came through. Thank you for your generous comment.

      Like

      Reply
  13. such pretty images

    Like

    Reply
  14. I think the 3rd was my favourite. I can just see that clay that has hardened on its own due to a far too busy schedule of the potter.

    Like

    Reply
  15. I enjoyed the three distinct images that you brought to life here. The first one took me to a conservation area that I frequent often.

    Like

    Reply
  16. Great responses to the prompt…you’ve got it down; loved the colors in the scarf while ice skating and warm feeling from reading about the duvet, the month of March.

    Like

    Reply
  17. Love them all, the second one’s my favorite…

    Like

    Reply
  18. Wonderful vignettes! Can’t pick a favorite…..I can see the ice skaters, their scarves whipping behind them in the wind. I can picture this exquisite duvet. And most interesting to me, the dry clay chippings lead me to directly to the long March….I FEEL the long March rather than see the potters wheel.
    Really enjoyed these!

    Like

    Reply
  19. ShirleyB

     /  January 29, 2016

    I’m head over heels in love with no. 1. A crispy, frosty morning glistening with scarves. Yummy. Loved the others, too, but no. 1 is no. 1 is no.1!

    Like

    Reply
  20. Oh wow! You have encapsulated the essence of imagism

    Like

    Reply
  21. SKating SpiRaLinG
    ice cuts
    pond
    sheds
    silver
    duSt..:)

    Like

    Reply
  22. All three are fabulous images, Gayle…enjoyed reading!

    Like

    Reply
  23. You’ve stirred our senses with these!

    Like

    Reply

Please share your thoughts...

Wightrabbit

Words and Pictures from The Isle of Wight

writing in north norfolk

Writer of children's literature, short stories and poetry

Lady Nyo's Weblog

A woman writer's blog with invitations to other writers

Poetry Breakfast

Beginning March 20th, 2016 Poetry Breakfast will once again serve a little poetic nourishment every morning. Start your day with our new expanded menu. Poems, of course, are our specialty. But we will also be serving a fuller menu that includes poetry related creative non-fiction such as letters to and from poets, essays on poetry, and anything else that might feed a poet and poetry lover’s soul.

Mithai Mumblezz

Thinks and again mumbles!!

findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing...

mindlovemisery

"We're all out there, somewhere, waiting to happen."

NavasolaNature

Nature needs Nurture

Whimsygizmo's Blog

poetic ponderings...parenting...procrastination...

Tao of Scrumble

A freeform way of life, love and everything

Sharp Little Pencil

Amy Barlow Liberatore... stories of lost years, wild times, mental variety, faith, and lots of jazz

silentlyheardonce

A Silent poet shouting to be heard

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

kanzen sakura

South meets East: Poetry and Musings - words of the seasons

Poems, stories, paintings and more by Sharmishtha Basu

(Agnijaat, Agnishatdal, Agnijashatadalama, Indie Adda)

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

jaywalking the moon

poetry by claudia schoenfeld

She's Writing

Poetry and Prose

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

everyday amazing

spreading good cheer, fun & love for life

Michael's Lair

Just Write WordPress.com site

Björn Rudbergs writings

Poetry and fiction by a physicist from the dark side

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

THE BeZINE

Be inspired...Be creative...Be peace...Be

bardessdmdenton - author- artist

Historical and Literary Fiction / Essays / Poetry / Reviews /Book Cover and Interior Illustrations / Pet Portraits and Other Commissioned Artwork ... "Life can't ever really defeat a writer who is in love with writing, for life itself is a writer's lover until death - fascinating, cruel, lavish, warm, cold, treacherous, constant." ~ Edna Ferber, 1885-1968, American novelist, short story writer and playwright

Soul Dipper

Spirit Builder by Design

Contemplative Moorings

The official blog of unofficial author Michael Marsters.

Ramblings From A Mum

This is my journey, my thoughts, my views, plain and simple and from my heart. Please travel with me and share, hopefully it will be an interesting trip.

bwthoughts

copyright 2013 - no reuse without permission ( see bwfiction.wordpress.com for fiction and fantasy )

"On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea"

All Is One With Our Creator

MyHeartBlog

Take Control of Your Health

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Wanjiku

poetic inspiration from life's simplicity

k8edid

Mumblings of a Middle Aged Madwoman

IN MY NEXT LIFE

if I go around more than once then ...

I Rhyme Without Reason

I live in words

Soul Speak

'You may say I'm a Dreamer, but I'm not the only one' ~ John Lennon

~ Dragon's Dreams ~

Carpe Noctem Quod Tempus Fugit!

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Lafemmeroar

laughing at the malfunction of the universe is better than crying about it

Lorna's Voice

Finding ways to make words sparkle

Olivia's In- Mind Whirls..

"It's all in my mind"

dVerse

Poets Pub

Leslie White

View artwork by Leslie White

jgavinallan

The best time to love...is when it is impossible///Stories of the heart-broken/shattered and sometimes mended

