Basho’s Neighbor

This darkening autumn: my neighbor,
how does he continue?
Epigram by Matsuo Basho, translation by Michael R. Burch

The world is spinning
and I upon it, gripping
it tight so as not to fall off.

But what would be so
bad if I were to let go,
perchance to be released?

Would I really be missed?
You soon would all dismiss
any thought you had of me.

Your lives would go on,
with one less over yon,
a speck of creation gone.

Truly, don’t you see,
that our lives are not decreed
for any length of time.

We can depart or return,
as our hearts do yearn,
and neither is better or worse.

If I’ve lived before, I have no memory
of a husband, children, family.
So what is this game that keeps replaying?

Why am I here?
There have been too many years,
and too many tears that spilt from my heart.

Life is a mystery and so is death,
our lives are like pauses to catch our breath.
And death may be the light that carries us on.

Join us at dVerse where Mary invites us to write a response to another’s poem that we’ve read:  http://dversepoets.com/2016/01/19/poetics-writing-a-poem-in-response/

Previous Post
Leave a comment

26 Comments

  1. I love Basho, and your response.
    I am particularly enamored of this phrase, and the way you’ve set it apart on its own line:
    “But what would be so”
    It is a question of its own, a pondering of life. Wonderful.

    Like

    Reply
  2. I really enjoy reflective poems such as this one, poems that reflect on the purpose of life. I think at a certain point in one life we all must reflect on whether we would be missed if we were gone. So true that our lives are not decreed for any length of time. A life, no matter how many years lived, could end tomorrow. I like the optimistic end…that death could be the light that carries us on. As we face death, that probably is the hope for many!

    Like

    Reply
    • Thank you, Mary. We never know when we may go. :) I guess I would wonder more about whether or not I had made a positive difference in those close to me.

      Like

      Reply
  3. I esp love this ending

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. Wow!! Such an emotive piece :)

    Like

    Reply
  5. I love a reflection like this.. giving perspective to ourselves… we are in many way less than a grain of sand..and afterwards we are what we believe… wonderful

    Like

    Reply
  6. As a person who serves folks for almost
    two decades in a humble job serving
    out somewhat dirty
    shoes to equal
    customer feet..
    working at a Mlitary
    Bowling Center.. after
    coming out of
    college with
    3 degrees and
    little ability still
    to either write
    or speak creatively..
    i was missed from
    there for years.. as
    customers let me
    know.. my service
    was appreciated and
    it made a difference..
    in terms of
    human
    connections..
    a value it was
    to be of service..
    but as an Administrator
    of ‘Bigger stuff’.. the end
    was not the same.. as truly
    it is the service that people
    miss the most and not
    the rules of overlords..
    by far..
    Lesson of my
    life.. to serve is truly
    to be missed at the
    end of however long
    that service lasts..
    and the other
    jobs are
    simply
    not
    worth
    it to me..:)

    Like

    Reply
  7. The epigram is intriguing.
    Your poem – so inward and reflecting. “Our lives are like pauses to catch our breath”. I especially like this line.
    Interesting – I too wrote about death. It is the equalizing mystery — not how we die – but that each of us is ultimately gone from this earth as we know it.

    Like

    Reply
    • I think everything that Basho wrote may be intriguing. And I guess because death is such a mysterious experience for us that I do like to imagine just what that may be like and try to dispel some of the fear that surrounds it. Certainly being gone from the earth as we know it could perhaps be a bit unsettling. :~)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  8. Love the reflections on life and death and ending lines give me pause ~ Such a mystery this is:

    And death may be the light that carries us on.

    Like

    Reply
    • Wouldn’t that be something? I do like to imagine ease around the death experience instead of fear. It is a mystery for sure.

      Like

      Reply
  9. Glenn Buttkus

     /  January 20, 2016

    So very Zen, bordering on New Age, which of course, predates Christianity. I loved this, which contains so much, anxiety, confusion, introspection, faith, hope & cosmic truth. Your last stanza is killer; a poem in itself. I believe I’m an old soul. I liked your lines /we can depart or return/as our hearts do yearn/–amen, smile.

    Like

    Reply
    • I like the idea of Zen but New Age made me cringe a little. :~) I believe I’m an old soul too otherwise I wouldn’t be thinking about all this stuff! Many thanks for your generous comments, Glenn.

      Like

      Reply
  10. You seem to have responded to Basho’s question, “how does he continue?” by pondering the mysteries of life and I love the possibility of a conclusion that you came to in the end: “And death may be the light that carries us on”—what a lovely thought :-)

    Like

    Reply
  11. This is so poignant and there is for me that feeling of being caught in an endless cycle. For some too much suffering.

    Like

    Reply
  12. Your closing in particular:

    “Life is a mystery and so is death,
    our lives are like pauses to catch our breath.
    And death may be the light that carries us on.”

    What a powerful way to complete this poem.

    Thank you, for visiting me…sorry it took so long to get back to you!

    Like

    Reply

Please share your thoughts...

Wightrabbit's Blog

Words and Pictures from my Kaboodle on The Isle of Wight

writing in north norfolk

Writer of children's literature, short stories and poetry

Lady Nyo's Weblog

A woman writer's blog with invitations to other writers

Poetry Breakfast

Beginning March 20th, 2016 Poetry Breakfast will once again serve a little poetic nourishment every morning. Start your day with our new expanded menu. Poems, of course, are our specialty. But we will also be serving a fuller menu that includes poetry related creative non-fiction such as letters to and from poets, essays on poetry, and anything else that might feed a poet and poetry lover’s soul.

Mithai Mumblezz

Thinks and again mumbles!!

findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing...

mindlovemisery

"We're all out there, somewhere, waiting to happen."

NavasolaNature

Nature needs Nurture

Whimsygizmo's Blog

poetic ponderings...parenting...procrastination...

Tao of Scrumble

A freeform way of life, love and everything

Sharp Little Pencil

Amy Barlow Liberatore... stories of lost years, wild times, mental variety, faith, and lots of jazz

silentlyheardonce

A Silent poet shouting to be heard

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

kanzen sakura

South meets East: Poetry and Musings - words of the seasons

Poems, stories, paintings and more by Sharmishtha Basu

(Agnijaat, Agnishatdal, Agnijashatadalama, Indie Adda)

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

jaywalking the moon

poetry by claudia schoenfeld

She's Writing

Poetry and Prose

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

everyday amazing

spreading good cheer, fun & love for life

Michael's Lair

Just Write WordPress.com site

Björn Rudbergs writings

Poetry and fiction by a physicist from the dark side

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

THE BeZINE

Be inspired...Be creative...Be peace...Be

bardessdmdenton - author- artist

Historical and Literary Fiction / Essays / Poetry / Reviews /Book Cover and Interior Illustrations / Pet Portraits and Other Commissioned Artwork ... "Handle a book as a bee does a flower, extract its sweetness but do not damage it.” ~ John Muir, naturalist, author, 1838 - 1914

Soul Dipper

Spirit Builder by Design

Contemplative Moorings

The official blog of unofficial author Michael Marsters.

Ramblings From A Mum

This is my journey, my thoughts, my views, plain and simple and from my heart. Please travel with me and share, hopefully it will be an interesting trip.

bwthoughts

copyright 2013 - no reuse without permission ( see bwfiction.wordpress.com for fiction and fantasy )

"On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea"

All Is One With Our Creator

MyHeartBlog

Take Control of Your Health

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Wanjiku

poetic inspiration from life's simplicity

k8edid

Mumblings of a Middle Aged Madwoman

IN MY NEXT LIFE

if I go around more than once then ...

I Rhyme Without Reason

I live in words

Soul Speak

'You may say I'm a Dreamer, but I'm not the only one' ~ John Lennon

~ Dragon's Dreams ~

Carpe Noctem Quod Tempus Fugit!

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Lafemmeroar

laughing at the malfunction of the universe is better than crying about it

Lorna's Voice

Finding ways to make words sparkle

Olivia's In- Mind Whirls..

"It's all in my mind"

dVerse

Poets Pub

Leslie White

View artwork by Leslie White

