I Miss That Time

There is no one
that I miss.
No one who has
passed on or moved
through my life do
I wish would return.
No, I am at peace
with the time we
spent, however
short or long.

There is a wistful-
ness though of times
long ago of when I
was young and
content, happy and
secure with being a
new mother and
feeling a purpose
that was profound
and real.  I was
needed, and savored
each moment of
tending and caring.
There was no sacrifice
within my delight.

Love flowed freely
from me to you,
my heart open wide
to intuit your needs.
Holding you gently,
warmly to my breast,
keeping you close
and safe from harm.
Teaching and showing,
listening and giving,
rejoicing in your
perfection, fed my soul.
Looking into your eyes,
I marveled at your
preciousness and the light
that glowed around.
It was grace that brought
us together, our energies
aligned within a universal
harmony.

So it’s those times that
I miss more than anything
else.  Those early days
of motherhood were
truly some of the best.

Mary at dVerse Poets invites us to reflect on what or who do we miss:  http://dversepoets.com/2015/11/17/poetics-who-what-do-you-miss/

Previous Post
Leave a comment

23 Comments

  1. That is such a precious time…………beautiful writing, Gayle.Lovely memories.

    Like

    Reply
  2. I felt nostalgic about those early days ~ The bonding was great but I don’t missed those sleepless nights ~ I prefer the children a little bit older, when I would read them stories or teach them words ~ Now that they are grown up, I can’t wait to become a grandmother some day ~

    Like

    Reply
  3. This motherhood time is very sweetly expressed, Gayle. Did you share this poem with your children?

    Like

    Reply
  4. Oh those warm and wonderful times of young motherhood…I think for many people those are the best of times. Today I was just thinking as well very nostalgically about the time when my grandchildren were young(er)… My youngest turns 8 next week. Sigh. There just is something about being in the presence of young kids, I think…children or grandchildren bring so much joy.

    Like

    Reply
  5. Victoria

     /  November 18, 2015

    I loved those times too, the early mother days. You describe so well many of the aspects I most sweetly remember.

    Like

    Reply
  6. This is so sweet.. That bond has to be something so truly special… I also hope you share it with their children..

    Like

    Reply
  7. Oh, Gayle, I hear you! I miss those times too, when all was still well with the world, disappointments were sharp but brief, and Mummy could kiss everything better. I particularly like those lines which convey the sense of wonder and miracle of a separate little human nevertheless with a strong bond to you:
    Looking into your eyes,
    I marveled at your
    preciousness and the light
    that glowed around.
    It was grace that brought
    us together, our energies
    aligned within a universal
    harmony.

    Like

    Reply
  8. what a priceless poem Gayle!

    Like

    Reply
  9. Beautiful sentiments! You sound like a wonderful mom 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  10. The moments of early motherhood are beautiful & precious indeed 🙂 thanks for sharing!

    Like

    Reply
  11. Those early days
    of motherhood were
    truly some of the best.

    It follows therefore by extension so also those early days of sharing and caring of early fatherhood. The joys and hurts were non-replaceable experiences. Truly said, Gayle!

    Hank

    Like

    Reply
  12. This is just beautiful, Gayle.
    Mine are teens now, so I feel this, so deeply.

    Like

    Reply
  13. Glenn Buttkus

     /  November 18, 2015

    My middle daughter has 4 children under five, & though at some time in the future she may reflect wistfully about motherhood, right now she is pretty frazzled. Strange to hear there are no loved ones that have passed on that do not haunt or come to mind during the holidays, but we all travel paths differently. We fathers & grandfathers can only marvel at motherhood; yours is a marvelous testament & reflection.

    Like

    Reply
  14. What a great outlook–to be grateful for the time we had with loved ones rather than dwelling on the fact they are no longer with us. Makes me reflect.

    Like

    Reply
  15. How sweet this is! I hope you give this to your children to read for they know how much you love them but this a wonderful thing to share.

    Like

    Reply
  16. So heart felt and lovely. It’s how I feel about my niece.

    Like

    Reply
  17. A Nurture of
    Love.. a giving
    one.. a Love
    that need
    not never
    end.. as long
    as there is now
    need for Love..:)

    Like

    Reply
  18. Early days of motherhood so sweet.

    Like

    Reply
  19. My niece just had a baby. I’m going to send this to her. Last time we spoke, she was in “baby love.” I wonder if exhaustion has rubbed the glow off of motherhood for her. This should make things shine again! 🙂 ❤

    Like

    Reply
    • Nice, Lorna. I hope it gives her a boost! I was really young when I had my babies, didn’t have to work and didn’t seem to have that exhausted feeling that others go through. I think my kids were more trying for me as they got older and could give me some “lip.” :~)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      • I was the reverse–found it tough to not know what every cry meant. When my son got older and we could talk to each other, things got so much easier and he never gave me the old “lip” thing! By the way, I sent your poem to my niece she read it and as she was nursing she son, she cried and hugged him a bit tighter–her words! You made her day! 🙂 ❤

        Like

        Reply
  20. This is such an unusual twist and reminds us of those very special and close days with our babies. It seems a long time ago but you recognise the importance of that.

    Like

    Reply

Please share your thoughts...

Wightrabbit's Blog

Words and Pictures from my Kaboodle on The Isle of Wight

writing in north norfolk

Writer of children's literature, short stories and poetry

Lady Nyo's Weblog

A woman writer's blog with invitations to other writers

Poetry Breakfast

Beginning March 20th, 2016 Poetry Breakfast will once again serve a little poetic nourishment every morning. Start your day with our new expanded menu. Poems, of course, are our specialty. But we will also be serving a fuller menu that includes poetry related creative non-fiction such as letters to and from poets, essays on poetry, and anything else that might feed a poet and poetry lover’s soul.

Mithai Mumblezz

Thinks and again mumbles!!

findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing...

mindlovemisery

"We're all out there, somewhere, waiting to happen."

NavasolaNature

Nature needs Nurture

Whimsygizmo's Blog

poetic ponderings...parenting...procrastination...

Tao of Scrumble

A freeform way of life, love and everything

Sharp Little Pencil

Amy Barlow Liberatore... stories of lost years, wild times, mental variety, faith, and lots of jazz

silentlyheardonce

A Silent poet shouting to be heard

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

kanzen sakura

South meets East: Poetry and Musings - words of the seasons

Poems, stories, paintings and more by Sharmishtha Basu

(Agnijaat, Agnishatdal, Agnijashatadalama, Indie Adda)

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

jaywalking the moon

poetry by claudia schoenfeld

She's Writing

Poetry and Prose

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

everyday amazing

spreading good cheer, fun & love for life

Michael's Lair

Just Write WordPress.com site

Björn Rudbergs writings

Poetry and fiction by a physicist from the dark side

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

THE BeZINE

Be inspired...Be creative...Be peace...Be

bardessdmdenton - author- artist

Historical and Literary Fiction / Essays / Poetry / Reviews /Book Cover and Interior Illustrations / Pet Portraits and Other Commissioned Artwork ... "Handle a book as a bee does a flower, extract its sweetness but do not damage it.” ~ John Muir, naturalist, author, 1838 - 1914

Soul Dipper

Spirit Builder by Design

Contemplative Moorings

The official blog of unofficial author Michael Marsters.

Ramblings From A Mum

This is my journey, my thoughts, my views, plain and simple and from my heart. Please travel with me and share, hopefully it will be an interesting trip.

bwthoughts

copyright 2013 - no reuse without permission ( see bwfiction.wordpress.com for fiction and fantasy )

"On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea"

All Is One With Our Creator

MyHeartBlog

Take Control of Your Health

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Wanjiku

poetic inspiration from life's simplicity

k8edid

Mumblings of a Middle Aged Madwoman

IN MY NEXT LIFE

if I go around more than once then ...

I Rhyme Without Reason

I live in words

Soul Speak

'You may say I'm a Dreamer, but I'm not the only one' ~ John Lennon

~ Dragon's Dreams ~

Carpe Noctem Quod Tempus Fugit!

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Lafemmeroar

laughing at the malfunction of the universe is better than crying about it

Lorna's Voice

Finding ways to make words sparkle

Olivia's In- Mind Whirls..

"It's all in my mind"

dVerse

Poets Pub

Leslie White

View artwork by Leslie White

jgavinallan

The best time to love...is when it is impossible///Stories of the heart-broken/shattered and sometimes mended

