This Pillow I Need to Punch!

This pillow I need to punch!
It’s puffed itself up in a bunch.
It’s no longer a rectangle
and I feel I could strangle
this pillow that’s gone out of shape.
A cushion that needs adhesive tape,
isn’t something your head upon can rest
with one side being far too compressed.
So I shake it and prod it, mold it and beg it,
please conform to my head and befit it!
But a lump now has appeared in the middle
and I fear I can no longer fiddle
with this pillow that’s become so un-fine,
and refuses to support my recline.
So in my angry reproach, my temper now reaches a boil,
I drop-kick it down the hall, screaming “You’re no longer my foil!”
And the cat thinking that it’s some prey,
pounces quickly and bats it away.
But I remove the dead thing,
and with a great swing
I toss it out with the trash,
and my calm I regain in a flash.

Victoria invites us to try our hand at humor (oh my goodness!) over at dVerse Poets pub at 3PM EST:  http://dversepoets.com/

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

34 Comments

  1. Love the humor of the poor punched pillow ~ Your rhyming verses are wonderful to read too ~ Time to buy a new pillow !!!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Ha.. nothing can be worse than a fight with the pillow.. (actually lots of nice anapests and rhymes here too)… I saw the cat wanting to take part in the fight… finally a new pillow.

    Like

    Reply
  3. If those were my dogs instead of a cat, the pillow would have been eviscerated in no time at all. It’s so hard to find cooperative pillows, isn’t it? Mine is on its way out…flat.

    Like

    Reply
    • I’m sure you’re right, Victoria! It is hard to find a “cooperative” pillow. They really have to be just right or they can be torturous. I think I may need a replacement too.

      Like

      Reply
  4. This did make me smile! Reminds me of those pillows one sometimes keeps a bit TOO long. No matter what you do you just can’t get it to shape up! Ha, I think the cat had the right idea.

    Like

    Reply
  5. A fight with a pillow instead of a fight using a pillow. Excellent rhymes that added to the fun of this. My cat would have had that thing in shreds the minute I started with it. he hates to have his sleep disturbed.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  6. This made me giggle. One of my kids always told me he could not control his temper, and I always told him to take it out on his pillow

    Like

    Reply
  7. Couch pillows sing a song
    refrains upon strains
    of human neck..
    oh.. discomfort..
    oh.. a Life..
    just get
    away
    from
    pillow
    and move song
    and dance of Life..:)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  8. Haha poor pillow! I ll bet a lot of us can relate to this 😀

    this pillow that’s gone out of shape.
    A cushion that needs adhesive tape

    Brilliant write 😀

    Like

    Reply
  9. I love it. It’s also the story of my nights (except that I no longer have a cat).

    Like

    Reply
  10. Delightful ditty, Gayle…loved the drop-kicking and cat-pouncing down the hall!

    Like

    Reply
  11. Ha! YES! I have me one o’ those! 😉 Love this.

    Like

    Reply
  12. Anonymous

     /  October 23, 2015

    Love this, have felt this way a few times. If you ever feel the need to let off some steam, I have a few pillows you can work over!

    Like

    Reply
  13. Talk about a stress reliever. I may have to drop kick some things down my hall. hehe.

    Like

    Reply
  14. Kitty may find it tough
    But nice call, nice laugh
    My eye waters, what a ‘wail’
    Brilliantly Gayle

    Hank

    Like

    Reply
  15. Something we all have experienced, for sure. Great response to the prompt.

    Like

    Reply

Please share your thoughts...

Wightrabbit

Words and Pictures from The Isle of Wight

writing in north norfolk

Writer of children's literature, short stories and poetry

Lady Nyo's Weblog

A woman writer's blog with invitations to other writers

Poetry Breakfast

Beginning March 20th, 2016 Poetry Breakfast will once again serve a little poetic nourishment every morning. Start your day with our new expanded menu. Poems, of course, are our specialty. But we will also be serving a fuller menu that includes poetry related creative non-fiction such as letters to and from poets, essays on poetry, and anything else that might feed a poet and poetry lover’s soul.

Mithai Mumblezz

Thinks and again mumbles!!

findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing...

mindlovemisery

"We're all out there, somewhere, waiting to happen."

NavasolaNature

Nature needs Nurture

Whimsygizmo's Blog

poetic ponderings...parenting...procrastination...

Tao of Scrumble

A freeform way of life, love and everything

Tournesol dans un Jardin - Waka

Haiku * Troiku * Micropoetry

Sharp Little Pencil

Amy Barlow Liberatore... stories of lost years, wild times, mental variety, faith, and lots of jazz

silentlyheardonce

A Silent poet shouting to be heard

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

kanzen sakura

South meets East: Poetry and Musings - words of the seasons

Poems, stories, paintings and more by Sharmishtha Basu

(Agnijaat, Agnishatdal, Agnijashatadalama, Indie Adda)

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

jaywalking the moon

poetry by claudia schoenfeld

She's Writing

Poetry and Prose

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

everyday amazing

spreading good cheer, fun & love for life

Michael's Lair

Just Write WordPress.com site

Björn Rudbergs writings

Poetry and fiction by a physicist from the dark side

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

THE BeZINE

Be inspired...Be creative...Be peace...Be

bardessdmdenton - author- artist

Historical and Literary Fiction / Essays / Poetry / Reviews /Book Cover and Interior Illustrations / Pet Portraits and Other Commissioned Artwork ... "Life can't ever really defeat a writer who is in love with writing, for life itself is a writer's lover until death - fascinating, cruel, lavish, warm, cold, treacherous, constant." ~ Edna Ferber, 1885-1968, American novelist, short story writer and playwright

Soul Dipper

Spirit Builder by Design

Contemplative Moorings

The official blog of unofficial author Michael Marsters.

Ramblings From A Mum

This is my journey, my thoughts, my views, plain and simple and from my heart. Please travel with me and share, hopefully it will be an interesting trip.

bwthoughts

copyright 2013 - no reuse without permission ( see bwfiction.wordpress.com for fiction and fantasy )

"On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea"

All Is One With Our Creator

MyHeartBlog

Take Control of Your Health

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Wanjiku

poetic inspiration from life's simplicity

k8edid

Mumblings of a Middle Aged Madwoman

IN MY NEXT LIFE

if I go around more than once then ...

I Rhyme Without Reason

I live in words

Soul Speak

'You may say I'm a Dreamer, but I'm not the only one' ~ John Lennon

~ Dragon's Dreams ~

Carpe Noctem Quod Tempus Fugit!

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Lafemmeroar

laughing at the malfunction of the universe is better than crying about it

Lorna's Voice

Finding ways to make words sparkle

Olivia's In- Mind Whirls..

"It's all in my mind"

dVerse

Poets Pub

Leslie White

View artwork by Leslie White

jgavinallan

The best time to love...is when it is impossible///Stories of the heart-broken/shattered and sometimes mended

