Perched on the Curb (of Portobello Road)

Portobello Road/London by Claudia Schoenfeld

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I want to shop at Portobello Market
and peruse and meander and hit
the hot spots. I want to squeeze
through the crowds and feel the
sights and smell the flavors.
I want to explore the arcades
of antiques and have coffee
and pastry at a local café. I adore
the Kasbah Bazaar with
its flair for Moroccan goods
and that ceramics shop and all
the unique, fine linens offered,
beautifully rendered in the
most pleasing designs of
delicate embroidery and pintucks
in the softest of cottons and
highest thread counts.
And I want to eat lunch at the
Notting Hill Café but which
way is it? I’ll ask for
directions from this petite,
dark-haired woman with the
quick, spirited, bright eyes and
the friendly, humming grin
(smiling even as she sketches)
perched on the curb of Portobello Road.

Mary is our hostess at dVerse Poets and invites us to use Claudia Schoenfeld’s wonderful sketches as inspiration: http://dversepoets.com/2014/09/02/poetics-sketch-it-out/

Previous Post
Leave a comment

42 Comments

  1. I want to get lost in the sights and smells of that market ~ Those fine linens sure look tempting ~

    How lovely to ask directions from the artist herself, smiles ~ Good one Gayle ~

    Like

    Reply
    • I can tell that Portobello Road is a place that I would love to explore…and I have a thing for fine linens…smiles. Thanks so much, Grace.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Ha, Gayle, I think I would like to shop there too! Your poem has made me want this even more. Really, it seems there would be so much to do. And, yes, when I am done shopping I would like to eat at the Notting Hill Café too. Perhaps we could meet? Smiles.

    Like

    Reply
  3. ha. i bet she would give you directions….smiles….you bring the market alive…i love them…all bustling with people…and so many treasures to take in with the eyes….so much to see…to paint…to write….

    Like

    Reply
    • Yes, of course she would, Brian…smiles. I could just picture her there among the throng of people with her sweet smiling face…sketching as she hums. Markets like that are very appealing to me…

      Like

      Reply
  4. You have made me want to go there too! I love the way you entice us to go to Portobello and how you included Claudia into your poem.

    Like

    Reply
  5. very charming… I’ll join you 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  6. smiles… portobello road is a cool place… all the people and scent and flair…and i would def. smile if you asked me for directions and happily joined you for a cup of coffee… smiles

    Like

    Reply
    • I know I would love to explore that place, Claudia…have heard of it through the years…and just love your sketch of it. Yes, it would be fun to join you in a cup of coffee…or lunch…smiles.

      Like

      Reply
  7. What a great feeling of being there.. To breath the scents and indulge in a city like that, and yes asking the artist for directions what a great way to weave in Claudia in this..

    Like

    Reply
    • It sounds like a place I would love to visit and Claudia’s piece brought it to life in my mind. And thanks so much, Bjorn…always appreciate your visits.

      Like

      Reply
  8. I am happy to see that you used the same image as myself – this one is getting too popular, smiles – such rich and intimate details you blend in your poetry – absolutely lovable.

    Like

    Reply
  9. I love how you asked directions from the artist, clever 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  10. Behold, she hums and comes alive in your poem! I used to love meandering through Portobello Market when I lived in London, and you brought it all back to me.

    Like

    Reply
    • When I read about her humming I just thought that it was the cutest thing so of course had to have her humming. I know I would love that place. Thanks for coming by, MarinaSofia.

      Like

      Reply
  11. “the Kasbah Bazaar with / its flair for Moroccan goods”…love the exotic feel here..very much atmospheric…

    Like

    Reply
  12. Oh what a lovely stroll your poem took us on. I love the way your brought it back to the artist at the end. Classic!

    Like

    Reply
  13. Glenn Buttkus

     /  September 3, 2014

    Your poem, deep & lovely, is a perfect take on the oft chosen image of Claudia’s; how nice so many of us have connected completely with Claudia, feel that we know her, want to celebrate her as a person as well as poet & artist; though for me, the crowds are too dense. I would come early or late to have some elbow room.

    Like

    Reply
    • Yes, it was an oft chosen image and fun to see how each of us interpreted it. Claudia is easy to like and want to know…and celebrate…you are so right. I may want to come later too, Glenn…crowds can be a bit much to deal with. I so appreciate your wonderful comments…you are so generous with them…thank you much.

      Like

      Reply
  14. I like the image and the images your words left me homesick for large city markets.

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks so much, Seasideauthor. I now live in a small town and have to travel a distance to find good shopping and restaurants. I know how you feel.

      Like

      Reply
  15. a cool poem and tribute to Claudia 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  16. I love how you wrapped this up with a glimpse of Claudia sketching.

    Like

    Reply
  17. You have captured the busy delights of this place so well….and I love that you included the smiling humming artist!!

    Like

    Reply
  18. So much to see and hear and do and notice, and you captured so much of it, as did Claudia. I also wrote in a nod to Claudia’s humming. (http://bostonpoetry.wordpress.com/2014/09/03/kaleidoscope/)

    Like

    Reply
  19. I want to explore the arcades
    of antiques and have coffee
    and pastry at a local café

    How we love the freedom to do our own thing. So much more one can savor when it does happen! Great write Bodhirose!

    Hank

    Like

    Reply
  20. Aw…I’d really have liked to be there too, Gayle – wonderful write 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Please share your thoughts...

Wightrabbit's Blog

Words and Pictures from my Kaboodle on The Isle of Wight

writing in north norfolk

Writer of children's literature, short stories and poetry

Lady Nyo's Weblog

A woman writer's blog with invitations to other writers

Poetry Breakfast

Beginning March 20th, 2016 Poetry Breakfast will once again serve a little poetic nourishment every morning. Start your day with our new expanded menu. Poems, of course, are our specialty. But we will also be serving a fuller menu that includes poetry related creative non-fiction such as letters to and from poets, essays on poetry, and anything else that might feed a poet and poetry lover’s soul.

Mithai Mumblezz

Thinks and again mumbles!!

findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing...

mindlovemisery

"We're all out there, somewhere, waiting to happen."

NavasolaNature

Nature needs Nurture

Whimsygizmo's Blog

poetic ponderings...parenting...procrastination...

Tao of Scrumble

A freeform way of life, love and everything

Sharp Little Pencil

Amy Barlow Liberatore... stories of lost years, wild times, mental variety, faith, and lots of jazz

silentlyheardonce

A Silent poet shouting to be heard

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

kanzen sakura

South meets East: Poetry and Musings - words of the seasons

Poems, stories, paintings and more by Sharmishtha Basu

(Agnijaat, Agnishatdal, Agnijashatadalama, Indie Adda)

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

jaywalking the moon

poetry by claudia schoenfeld

She's Writing

Poetry and Prose

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

everyday amazing

spreading good cheer, fun & love for life

Michael's Lair

Just Write WordPress.com site

Björn Rudbergs writings

Poetry and fiction by a physicist from the dark side

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

THE BeZINE

Be inspired...Be creative...Be peace...Be

bardessdmdenton - author- artist

Historical and Literary Fiction / Essays / Poetry / Reviews /Book Cover and Interior Illustrations / Pet Portraits and Other Commissioned Artwork ... "Handle a book as a bee does a flower, extract its sweetness but do not damage it.” ~ John Muir, naturalist, author, 1838 - 1914

Soul Dipper

Spirit Builder by Design

Contemplative Moorings

The official blog of unofficial author Michael Marsters.

Ramblings From A Mum

This is my journey, my thoughts, my views, plain and simple and from my heart. Please travel with me and share, hopefully it will be an interesting trip.

bwthoughts

copyright 2013 - no reuse without permission ( see bwfiction.wordpress.com for fiction and fantasy )

"On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea"

All Is One With Our Creator

MyHeartBlog

Take Control of Your Health

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Wanjiku

poetic inspiration from life's simplicity

k8edid

Mumblings of a Middle Aged Madwoman

IN MY NEXT LIFE

if I go around more than once then ...

I Rhyme Without Reason

I live in words

Soul Speak

'You may say I'm a Dreamer, but I'm not the only one' ~ John Lennon

~ Dragon's Dreams ~

Carpe Noctem Quod Tempus Fugit!

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Lafemmeroar

laughing at the malfunction of the universe is better than crying about it

Lorna's Voice

Finding ways to make words sparkle

Olivia's In- Mind Whirls..

"It's all in my mind"

dVerse

Poets Pub

Leslie White

View artwork by Leslie White

jgavinallan

The best time to love...is when it is impossible///Stories of the heart-broken/shattered and sometimes mended

