I Nodded Off

I nodded off while reading
I nodded off while reading
The words they started a dream
The words they started a dream
A dream the words they started
While reading, I nodded off

The story became a mystery
The story became a mystery
Sleuthing I went to discover
Sleuthing I went to discover
I went to discover the story
Sleuthing became a mystery

Was nothing like Nancy Drew
Was nothing like Nancy Drew
No answers were uncovered
No answers were uncovered
Nothing like Nancy Drew was
Uncovered…no answers were

I went sleuthing a mystery story,
became a dream while reading.
The words they started…
nothing like Nancy Drew was.
Uncovered were no answers;
I nodded off to discover.

Brian Miller is hosting at dVerse today and invites us to try a new form…yes, Brian! See below for the rules of the Paradelle. http://dversepoets.com/2014/07/31/meetingthebar-formforall-paradelles-i-have-obviously-lost-my-mind/

The paradelle is a 4-stanza poem, where each stanza consists of 6 lines.
For the first 3 stanzas, the 1st and 2nd lines should be the same; the 3rd and 4th lines should also be the same; and the 5th and 6th lines should be composed of all the words from the 1st and 3rd lines and only the words from the 1st and 3rd lines. The final stanza should be composed of all the words in the 5th and 6th lines of the first three stanzas and only the words from the 5th and 6th lines of the first three stanzas.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

36 Comments

  1. ha. i am glad you tried it…you pulled it off…and it even made sense…smiles…i used to read hardy boys growing up..but i know some nancy drew…and hey, nodding off you figured it out…i need a good sleep at times to figure out my mysteries….smiles.

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks, Brian, I read some of those Hardy Boys books as well but especially loved that girl sleuth, Nancy Drew. The form was actually fun and I went with short lines…thought it would be easier on my psyche…ha!

      Like

      Reply
  2. I like it! smiles…..I nod off after almost every page these days! I enjoyed your paradelle.

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks, Sherry! I have my moments of nodding off while reading for sure. Hope your spinning has finally come to a stop.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Nicely done, Gayle! 🙂 And the subject matter so appeals. Such a spirit of fun and play here.

    Like

    Reply
    • Hi Jamie! I don’t know how Nancy Drew came to my mind after all of these years (loved those books!) but she helped me with this challenging form that Brian cooked up for us. And thank you! :~)

      Like

      Reply
  4. Nancy Drew. I must confess, I never read her mysteries. But I sure like your poem. You did a great job with the form

    Like

    Reply
  5. I’m sure that nodding off is the best way to be the Nancy Drew.. Well worked form

    Like

    Reply
  6. a delightful read written in the true spirit of Paradelle…

    Like

    Reply
  7. When I was a kid, I was fascinated by these child sleuths. Your paradelle sent me right back. And yes, they always solved the mysteries! If only …

    Like

    Reply
    • I was too, Gabriella. I’m surprised that the memory of reading those books came back to me to help with this form. Yes, if only…

      Like

      Reply
  8. I loved what you did with this! Actually I could picture the scenario. I remember nodding off while reading, and in my mind the story moved on….smiles. You managed to tell a complete story in your paradelle, and (what’s more) it made sense! Good work.

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks for your generous compliment, Mary. Yours was the first one I read and it was just beautiful…you managed it perfectly!

      Like

      Reply
  9. Glenn Buttkus

     /  August 2, 2014

    Hardy Boys for me as a kid; them and the Adventures of Tin Tin, not to be confused with Rin Tin Tin; You did have fun with the faux form, & it became infectious. You ain’t afraid of no paradelle! Your last line was killer /I nodded off to discover/. Don’t we all?

    Like

    Reply
    • I never read the Adventures of Tin Tin but I’m sure I would have loved them as a kid. If I remember correctly there was a movie made about Tin Tin not too many years ago. No, I’m not afraid of no paradelle and neither are you…loved your journey into the darkness of camping.

      Like

      Reply
  10. oh, this is perfect. I love the idea of falling asleep and the words from the page coming to life in your dreams…. I’m sorry you were not as successful as Nancy Drew, but I doubt she could have weaved such a lovely paradelle.

    Like

    Reply
    • You are too kind, rmp…thanks so much. I went easy on myself with short lines. It did seem to flow pretty easily…thank goodness! :~)

      Like

      Reply
  11. Excellent poem, you explored the form so very well.

    Like

    Reply
  12. Interesting for sure and you definitely met the challenge.

    Like

    Reply
  13. What a brilliant way to interpret such complicated rules, Gayle ~ that’s exactly how it is, when you fall asleep reading. Well done! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • Hi Jacqueline…how nice to see you and thank you for the nice compliment. Yes, your mind starts to get dreamy doesn’t it, no telling where it will take us…haha! :~)

      Like

      Reply
  14. Wow! You attempted a Paradelle Gayle and its a fabulous one! That’s two Ive read in two days; I may just have to try one! Id never heard of it before. The other I read was by Polly Robinson, called Paradelle in Prague, I don’t know if you follow her, shes a very good poet, and worth checking out. Im hopeless at putting links in especially from my iPad but if you google her you will find her. .
    Love and hugs xxx

    Like

    Reply
    • You could read a whole lot more paradelles if you go to the poetics group that Polly and I are participants in together. If you look on my sidebar, you’ll see a link to dVerse Poets, our group that gives us all kinds of interesting prompts and information on writing, poets, and much more. You might like to join us sometime, Christine, if you haven’t already. It’s a group of wonderfully supportive and generous poets. And thank you, Christine…it was an interesting form. Love and hugs…

      Like

      Reply
  15. Thanks very much Gayle, I will check it out! Xx

    Like

    Reply
  16. This is ace, Gayle, I really enjoyed it 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks, Polly! I’ve just myself gotten back with dVerse and doing a little posting. Was pretty dry there for awhile…my attention was pulling me elsewhere. Nice to have you visit! 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  17. Fascinating structure to this piece. You always amaze me, Gayle!

    Like

    Reply
    • My first reaction to the rules of this form was…what?! But I actually enjoyed giving it a try…I shouldn’t have been so hasty in my initial reaction perhaps. Well thank you, Lorna…and sometimes I amaze myself! 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  18. You captured this challenge with a playful flair. Your always so good at poetry. Loved it … And … The reminder of Nancy Drew. : )

    Like

    Reply

Please share your thoughts...

Wightrabbit's Blog

Words and Pictures from my Kaboodle on The Isle of Wight

writing in north norfolk

Writer of children's literature, short stories and poetry

Lady Nyo's Weblog

A woman writer's blog with invitations to other writers

Poetry Breakfast

Beginning March 20th, 2016 Poetry Breakfast will once again serve a little poetic nourishment every morning. Start your day with our new expanded menu. Poems, of course, are our specialty. But we will also be serving a fuller menu that includes poetry related creative non-fiction such as letters to and from poets, essays on poetry, and anything else that might feed a poet and poetry lover’s soul.

Mithai Mumblezz

Thinks and again mumbles!!

findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing...

mindlovemisery

"We're all out there, somewhere, waiting to happen."

NavasolaNature

Nature needs Nurture

Whimsygizmo's Blog

poetic ponderings...parenting...procrastination...

Tao of Scrumble

A freeform way of life, love and everything

Sharp Little Pencil

Amy Barlow Liberatore... stories of lost years, wild times, mental variety, faith, and lots of jazz

silentlyheardonce

A Silent poet shouting to be heard

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

kanzen sakura

South meets East: Poetry and Musings - words of the seasons

Poems, stories, paintings and more by Sharmishtha Basu

(Agnijaat, Agnishatdal, Agnijashatadalama, Indie Adda)

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

jaywalking the moon

poetry by claudia schoenfeld

She's Writing

Poetry and Prose

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

everyday amazing

spreading good cheer, fun & love for life

Michael's Lair

Just Write WordPress.com site

Björn Rudbergs writings

Poetry and fiction by a physicist from the dark side

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

THE BeZINE

Be inspired...Be creative...Be peace...Be

bardessdmdenton - author- artist

Historical and Literary Fiction / Essays / Poetry / Reviews /Book Cover and Interior Illustrations / Pet Portraits and Other Commissioned Artwork ... "Handle a book as a bee does a flower, extract its sweetness but do not damage it.” ~ John Muir, naturalist, author, 1838 - 1914

Soul Dipper

Spirit Builder by Design

Contemplative Moorings

The official blog of unofficial author Michael Marsters.

Ramblings From A Mum

This is my journey, my thoughts, my views, plain and simple and from my heart. Please travel with me and share, hopefully it will be an interesting trip.

bwthoughts

copyright 2013 - no reuse without permission ( see bwfiction.wordpress.com for fiction and fantasy )

"On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea"

All Is One With Our Creator

MyHeartBlog

Take Control of Your Health

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Wanjiku

poetic inspiration from life's simplicity

k8edid

Mumblings of a Middle Aged Madwoman

IN MY NEXT LIFE

if I go around more than once then ...

I Rhyme Without Reason

I live in words

Soul Speak

'You may say I'm a Dreamer, but I'm not the only one' ~ John Lennon

~ Dragon's Dreams ~

Carpe Noctem Quod Tempus Fugit!

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Lafemmeroar

laughing at the malfunction of the universe is better than crying about it

Lorna's Voice

Finding ways to make words sparkle

Olivia's In- Mind Whirls..

"It's all in my mind"

dVerse

Poets Pub

Leslie White

View artwork by Leslie White

jgavinallan

The best time to love...is when it is impossible///Stories of the heart-broken/shattered and sometimes mended

