Sweet Dreams

Caught in a haze (not sure if it was purple)
my mind soft…floating…dreamy,
cascades smooooothly.
Colors ping and I hear them as notes
on a scale of 1 to 10 and they spontaneously
create an orchestra of enraptured awareness,
the music composed of streaming images.
I watch from outside of myself but am deeply
curious in the film being played within my
consciousness. Feelings arise, a smile plays
across my face, and a deep longing for my brother.
He appears and sits by my side and love pours
back and forth between us, our eyes beaming
light into infinity…the third spins a mandala.

Playing in a field of dreams with Anthony Desmond at dVerse Poets: http://dversepoets.com/2014/07/29/poetics-on-dmt/

Next Post
Leave a comment

21 Comments

  1. intriguing write.. Watching from outside yourself – something we all need to do at one point or another. Effortless weave of colors and music too. And, I loved that you mentioned a mandala; not long ago, I watched a very cool documentary on monks and how they make sand mandalas.

    Like

    Reply
    • Thank you, Anthony…enjoyed your prompt. I once saw Tibetan Buddhist monks creating sand mandalas while on a trip to Washington, D.C. It is amazing to watch and then as soon as it is complete they ceremoniously destroy it to illustrate the impermanence of the world.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Such a beautiful visit with your brother………..you swooped me into the dreamscape. Today would be a good day for me to write to this prompt. My head is very woozy and spinny…….half the job already done, smiles.

    Like

    Reply
    • Thank you, Sherry. So sorry you are spinning and woozy today. I can’t imagine trying to write something in that state though… Feel better!

      Like

      Reply
  3. ha. fun….the eyes beaming into each other and the third spinning the mandala…cool close…and nice homage in the beginning to hendrix…hey if love comes out of it, i am all for it….

    Like

    Reply
    • The idea for those beaming eyes came from that video that Anthony posted…those eye-lights were cool! Thanks, Brian.

      Like

      Reply
  4. Love the Jimi Hendrix reference in the beginning…Such a beautiful meeting with your brother…Yours was a far sweeter dream than mine.

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks, Susie. Yes, it was a beautiful meeting with him. I thought yours was pretty sweet too with all those references through the years.

      Like

      Reply
  5. Nice to share your dream journey.

    Like

    Reply
  6. I can relate to been in a dream and watching the “film” from outside myself while participating in it. I often get that feeling when it comes to the way I dream. You put that feeling into words.

    Like

    Reply
  7. To meet someone in a dream like that.. What a way to connect… A little scary too.

    Like

    Reply
    • It actually happened after I had smoked a little weed…so I was in a different type of “dream” state at the time. But profound and the memory has stayed with me for all of these years.

      Like

      Reply
  8. I love the inclusion of music in this, Gayle. I’ve had dreams where my sister was very present to me, including the day she died. What a gift.

    Like

    Reply
    • I’ve had very profound experiences through dreaming and I tend to look at them as very different than those types of dreams where you forget them immediately upon awakening. There’s something very “real” about them…like when your sister makes her presence known. Yes, a gift. Thanks, Victoria.

      Like

      Reply
  9. Watching ourselves. Nothing quite so surreal and you captured it well.

    Like

    Reply
  10. Maybe watching ourselves from outside is part of the process of unattachment…I like that idea. I like that closing too…based on a true experience. Thanks, Jamie, always love your visits and input.

    Like

    Reply
  11. His is such a lovely poem Gayle; you seem to follow prompts effortlessly, well they appear so on the page.Im not too good at following prompts but I guess the only way is practice.
    I loved what you said above about the monks ceremoniously destroying all their work on mandalas to illustrate impermanence. That is something Im working on but being human gets in the way! 😄 love and hugs xxx

    Like

    Reply
    • Thank you, Christine. Well I’m glad my work shows up seemingly effortlessly. Some prompts are way more difficult than others, of course. But I love when people tell me that the forms seem to disappear and the message of the write comes through.

      My humanity gets in my way too, Christine! Hugs…

      Like

      Reply

Please share your thoughts...

Wightrabbit's Blog

Words and Pictures from my Kaboodle on The Isle of Wight

writing in north norfolk

Writer of children's literature, short stories and poetry

Lady Nyo's Weblog

A woman writer's blog with invitations to other writers

Poetry Breakfast

Beginning March 20th, 2016 Poetry Breakfast will once again serve a little poetic nourishment every morning. Start your day with our new expanded menu. Poems, of course, are our specialty. But we will also be serving a fuller menu that includes poetry related creative non-fiction such as letters to and from poets, essays on poetry, and anything else that might feed a poet and poetry lover’s soul.

Mithai Mumblezz

Thinks and again mumbles!!

findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing...

mindlovemisery

"We're all out there, somewhere, waiting to happen."

NavasolaNature

Nature needs Nurture

Whimsygizmo's Blog

poetic ponderings...parenting...procrastination...

Tao of Scrumble

A freeform way of life, love and everything

Sharp Little Pencil

Amy Barlow Liberatore... stories of lost years, wild times, mental variety, faith, and lots of jazz

silentlyheardonce

A Silent poet shouting to be heard

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

kanzen sakura

South meets East: Poetry and Musings - words of the seasons

Poems, stories, paintings and more by Sharmishtha Basu

(Agnijaat, Agnishatdal, Agnijashatadalama, Indie Adda)

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

jaywalking the moon

poetry by claudia schoenfeld

She's Writing

Poetry and Prose

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

everyday amazing

spreading good cheer, fun & love for life

Michael's Lair

Just Write WordPress.com site

Björn Rudbergs writings

Poetry and fiction by a physicist from the dark side

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

THE BeZINE

Be inspired...Be creative...Be peace...Be

bardessdmdenton - author- artist

Historical and Literary Fiction / Essays / Poetry / Reviews /Book Cover and Interior Illustrations / Pet Portraits and Other Commissioned Artwork ... "Handle a book as a bee does a flower, extract its sweetness but do not damage it.” ~ John Muir, naturalist, author, 1838 - 1914

Soul Dipper

Spirit Builder by Design

Contemplative Moorings

The official blog of unofficial author Michael Marsters.

Ramblings From A Mum

This is my journey, my thoughts, my views, plain and simple and from my heart. Please travel with me and share, hopefully it will be an interesting trip.

bwthoughts

copyright 2013 - no reuse without permission ( see bwfiction.wordpress.com for fiction and fantasy )

"On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea"

All Is One With Our Creator

MyHeartBlog

Take Control of Your Health

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Wanjiku

poetic inspiration from life's simplicity

k8edid

Mumblings of a Middle Aged Madwoman

IN MY NEXT LIFE

if I go around more than once then ...

I Rhyme Without Reason

I live in words

Soul Speak

'You may say I'm a Dreamer, but I'm not the only one' ~ John Lennon

~ Dragon's Dreams ~

Carpe Noctem Quod Tempus Fugit!

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Lafemmeroar

laughing at the malfunction of the universe is better than crying about it

Lorna's Voice

Finding ways to make words sparkle

Olivia's In- Mind Whirls..

"It's all in my mind"

dVerse

Poets Pub

Leslie White

View artwork by Leslie White

jgavinallan

The best time to love...is when it is impossible///Stories of the heart-broken/shattered and sometimes mended

