Tending Thoughts (A Sestina)

To tend my thoughts and focus on all that’s good
will surely serve me best and bring me peace.
Attention given to pain and all world woes
only takes my happiness and swings it low.
For me to feel its grief makes two that suffer,
I will instead beam love to make that grow.

The ripples will go forth and all will grow
in love, steadiness, happiness and good.
The world will begin to heal from all it suffers,
no ills can escape the mend; it will know peace.
No peoples, nor air, nor lands…high or low,
will no longer be affected by any woe.

I firmly believe that this will cure our woes,
to focus on the affirmative and watch it grow.
Keep light, laugh, enjoy…play high and low
and reap that energy that sustains all that’s good.
The world and you and I will revel in joyous peace.
Life’s sorrow will be but a memory suffered.

Delighted freedom from ills is all we’ll suffer.
Start now to train your thoughts to forego woe,
and see how quickly fear is replaced by peace.
Give up worry, allow the good to grow.
Our thoughts impart power to make things good,
energy reacts around us to elevate or lower.

Keep to a state of allowing the higher…not low
into your conscious thought to abate any suffer.
Practice feeling happy, relaxed and good.
All things can be returned from a place of woe
through expansion of loving thoughts that grow.
Pay attention to your feelings…follow those of peace.

Calm, harmony, stillness, silence, peace
instill us with the strength to accept the low
yet not react and give it feed to grow.
You and I, this planet, need not suffer
by wallowing, dwelling, and grieving in the woe.
Contemplate only on thoughts of good.

Enlighten yourselves to ease all suffering.
As a whole we can transmute life’s woe
and increase a thousand-fold the good.

Claudia is our hostess at dVerse Poets for Open Link Night: http://dversepoets.com/2014/03/29/openlinknight-march-2014/

Previous Post
Leave a comment

30 Comments

  1. Sorry to be lax in visiting but trying to find a balance. I did get your email. Thank You! I am so glad to see you writing again.

    Like

    Reply
    • I’m in the same boat as you are, Renee. You never have to apologize…never! 🙂 Glad you got the email…I like staying in touch. My life is busier than it has been in years and I’m trying to find that balance too…and thank you!

      Like

      Reply
  2. yes – it’s true… so much of our happiness depends on how we look at things… focusing on the good things in life will make us thankful and help us react better to things we have to deal with… it’s an upward spiral..

    Like

    Reply
    • Think if everyone got on board with that…our world would be so different. I like that…an upward spiral. Yes!

      Like

      Reply
  3. Lots of work in this poem, Gayle, sestinas can be tricky – nice one 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  4. Hi Gail! Havent ‘seen’ you for a while. Dont know if you havent been posting or if WP has included you in its latest trick of unfollowing me from some peoples’ blogs without me knowing!

    Anyway its good to see you. Im getting more and more sonnets, sestinas and all sorts in my inbox lately; I may rise to the challenge one day 😊. This is lovely and given to me at the right time, like many things are; synchronicity I think. Sestinas look challenging; Im not sure I could! Your poetry is as beautiful as ever.

    How’s that gorgeous granddaughter of yours? We have a new addition now, Solomon 8 months old, a grand total so far of five grandchildren all 5 and under! 😊 X

    Like

    Reply
    • Hi Christine, I took an extended break when I ended up moving but have been back writing for several weeks now I guess…not regularly like I was when I first started my blog…but trying.

      Very nice to have you visit and glad that this poem showed up at the right time for you. Sestinas are challenging…at least for me, and take a lot of concentration but I like the challenge. Thank you for your very generous compliment too…so appreciate that.

      That gorgeous little girl is 19 months old…just the sweetest little thing and so much fun to hang out with. I’m totally infatuated! And congratulations on your new addition to the family…fun! Five under five…sounds good to me! 🙂 I’m hoping for at least one more…fingers crossed…

      Thanks for coming by and the update, Christine…will be by to visit soon…I promise. I was out of town all weekend and it messed up my blogging plans… xoxo

      Like

      Reply
  5. I love the sestina… but time consuming to do:) They always have that dreamy quality about them. Well done.

    Like

    Reply
  6. so true on not getting stuck in the moment…stuck in the woe…we can choose to be happy often in what we choose to focus on….nice use of form

    Like

    Reply
  7. So true, I think. And EXCELLENT sestina. As one who has tried them, I appreciate all of your hard work here. I do think that if one focuses more on good things it does make one feel better than always finding the negative in one’s life or the world. Yes, think ‘higher’ rather than ‘lower.’

    Like

    Reply
    • Appreciate all those capital letters there, Mary…thank you! It’s one reason I opted out of watching the local news…awful.

      Like

      Reply
  8. Laurie Kolp

     /  March 30, 2014

    One of the best sestinas I’ve ever read… and with such a strong message. I couldn’t agree more, an attitude of gratitude and joy is something I always strive for. Thank you for this, Gayle.

    Like

    Reply
    • I take your compliment as high praise, Laurie…thank you very much. I’m really trying to focus more on the good around me rather than the negative…it does make a difference for sure.

      Like

      Reply
  9. I like how you start with changing your own thoughts and move toward encouraging others to do the same. and kudos on the sestina; not any easy form to employ with its cycling end-words. but you made this work perfectly throughout the six sestets.

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks so much, rmp. I appreciate your comment. No, they’re not so easy but I’m happy when the subject matter shows up for me pretty easily…helps to get it rolling along.

      Like

      Reply
  10. hypercryptical

     /  March 30, 2014

    Oh if only your thoughts would inspire a world wide movement…
    (Love your words.)
    Anna :o]

    Like

    Reply
  11. kudos to the hard work and uplifting message…

    Like

    Reply
  12. Ah.. sestina.. such a challenge to do well, but if they are there is a certain quality of soft reasoning quality.. this is truly excellent.. and yes so much truth in your reasoning.

    Like

    Reply
  13. I love this form and how it seems to spin off themes. Sometimes the sestina can distract from the subject if the writing is labored. Not so with yours, Gayle.

    Like

    Reply
    • I’m not sure why I like this form but it’s been both maddening and greatly fulfilling to accomplish it. Gratitude for your kind words, Victoria.

      Like

      Reply
  14. A lot of things the world needs more of…for sure 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  15. This is a beautiful philosophy, wonderfully written, Gayle. A joy to read. This poem alone puts such positive peaceful loving thoughts into the universe……..may it be a balm to all who read it.

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks so much for your generous words, Sherry. I’ve realized more and more lately that it makes no sense for me to get upset about all the tragedy in the world. If I can maintain a positive attitude, that is the best thing I can do for this world to help lift it up.

      Like

      Reply

Please share your thoughts...

Wightrabbit's Blog

Words and Pictures from my Kaboodle on The Isle of Wight

writing in north norfolk

Writer of children's literature, short stories and poetry

Lady Nyo's Weblog

A woman writer's blog with invitations to other writers

Poetry Breakfast

Beginning March 20th, 2016 Poetry Breakfast will once again serve a little poetic nourishment every morning. Start your day with our new expanded menu. Poems, of course, are our specialty. But we will also be serving a fuller menu that includes poetry related creative non-fiction such as letters to and from poets, essays on poetry, and anything else that might feed a poet and poetry lover’s soul.

Mithai Mumblezz

Thinks and again mumbles!!

findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing...

mindlovemisery

"We're all out there, somewhere, waiting to happen."

NavasolaNature

Nature needs Nurture

Whimsygizmo's Blog

poetic ponderings...parenting...procrastination...

Tao of Scrumble

A freeform way of life, love and everything

Sharp Little Pencil

Amy Barlow Liberatore... stories of lost years, wild times, mental variety, faith, and lots of jazz

silentlyheardonce

A Silent poet shouting to be heard

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

kanzen sakura

South meets East: Poetry and Musings - words of the seasons

Poems, stories, paintings and more by Sharmishtha Basu

(Agnijaat, Agnishatdal, Agnijashatadalama, Indie Adda)

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

jaywalking the moon

poetry by claudia schoenfeld

She's Writing

Poetry and Prose

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

everyday amazing

spreading good cheer, fun & love for life

Michael's Lair

Just Write WordPress.com site

Björn Rudbergs writings

Poetry and fiction by a physicist from the dark side

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

THE BeZINE

Be inspired...Be creative...Be peace...Be

bardessdmdenton - author- artist

Historical and Literary Fiction / Essays / Poetry / Reviews /Book Cover and Interior Illustrations / Pet Portraits and Other Commissioned Artwork ... "Handle a book as a bee does a flower, extract its sweetness but do not damage it.” ~ John Muir, naturalist, author, 1838 - 1914

Soul Dipper

Spirit Builder by Design

Contemplative Moorings

The official blog of unofficial author Michael Marsters.

Ramblings From A Mum

This is my journey, my thoughts, my views, plain and simple and from my heart. Please travel with me and share, hopefully it will be an interesting trip.

bwthoughts

copyright 2013 - no reuse without permission ( see bwfiction.wordpress.com for fiction and fantasy )

"On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea"

All Is One With Our Creator

MyHeartBlog

Take Control of Your Health

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Wanjiku

poetic inspiration from life's simplicity

k8edid

Mumblings of a Middle Aged Madwoman

IN MY NEXT LIFE

if I go around more than once then ...

I Rhyme Without Reason

I live in words

Soul Speak

'You may say I'm a Dreamer, but I'm not the only one' ~ John Lennon

~ Dragon's Dreams ~

Carpe Noctem Quod Tempus Fugit!

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Lafemmeroar

laughing at the malfunction of the universe is better than crying about it

Lorna's Voice

Finding ways to make words sparkle

Olivia's In- Mind Whirls..

"It's all in my mind"

dVerse

Poets Pub

Leslie White

View artwork by Leslie White

jgavinallan

The best time to love...is when it is impossible///Stories of the heart-broken/shattered and sometimes mended

