Barlow

Perhaps it was in his pocket
among all that change that
clinked when he would nervously
play with the contents.

(There was something comforting
to me about that habit of his.
It was decidedly him.)

The black leather handle
looks almost stone like,
as if petrified like a piece of wood.
It’s lost all suppleness maybe from
no longer having the oil from those
fingers, rubbing, toying,
worrying it over and over.

BARLOW is spelled out across
both sides of the silver
portion on the handle.
There are two blades
enclosed in the metal casings.
I’ve pulled them open at times,
examining them for any
hint of their use.
They look used.
Spots, scrapings and a hint
of some debris left behind.
How long had he owned this?
Was it of value to him?
Had it been gifted…by whom?
Or just utilitarian?
Picked up at some drugstore,
he needing something to clean
under his fingernails,
cut a piece of twine or open a box.

I found it after he died
when going through his
things. I asked Mom if I could
have it along with the
silver matchbook cover,
with our last name engraved on it,
that still held a tiny, yellowed
photo of the two of them back
in the forties…both
smiling broadly…happy.

Mom said yes, take them,
I don’t want any of it.

Victoria C. Slotto is hostess at dVerse Poets encouraging us to write about an artifact or someTHING: http://dversepoets.com/2014/02/20/theres-something-i-want-to-tell-you-dverse-meeting-the-bar/

Previous Post
Leave a comment

28 Comments

  1. ugh that last line hit hard… and it’s sad that you cannot ask him even more about the pocket knife – i bet if it could talk it could many a story of what they did and discovered together – i have a swiss army knife – victorinox – it’s a practical little tool

    Like

    Reply
    • Didn’t really know what he had until after he was gone. It was almost like my mother didn’t want any reminder of him left behind…not a happy union for those two. Yeah, sad…

      Claudia…let your kids know any story of you and your victorinox…smiles.

      Like

      Reply
  2. This reminded me of my own dad, and some of the mementos he gave me the last time I saw him before he died. Nice response to the prompt. Peace, Linda

    Like

    Reply
  3. it is interesting the relics that we choose to keep and what we choose get rid of….the little picture of them happy…my father in law always has a pocketknife in his pocket…there are so many stories in these relics

    Like

    Reply
    • Yes, that photos was proof that they had indeed once been happy…love it. Many men of that era carried pocket knives…maybe men still do today.

      Like

      Reply
  4. You will never know the secret of the history of the knife..but every time you look at it you will think of him.

    Like

    Reply
  5. A family relic, I like to keep them too ~ Perhaps there are memories that your mother would not like to keep, I can understand this too ~ Good to see you Gayle ~

    Like

    Reply
  6. This is very moving. Family treasures / relics are really so valuable. Nice to have something that was important and used to keep as a remembrance. Your poem was written with much feeling.

    Like

    Reply
  7. This one got to me, too. I have my dad’s pen knife somewhere, I think in my desk drawer at home. He loved to sharpen blades. And, similarly, he carried it in his pocket. As my husband carries his. It’s a guy thing, perhaps. :0) Very touching.

    Like

    Reply
  8. I have my dad’s old backpack hanging by the TV.. it’s worn and thick cotton.. and I recall him wearing it.. next object to write poetry about.. what a wonderful memento.. and I think how you caught the wear is what hit me most.

    Like

    Reply
  9. Anna

     /  February 21, 2014

    Wow, I really get it… <3

    Like

    Reply
  10. there are always stories left untold…for any number of reasons. this is a stunning piece; pulled me all the way through.

    Like

    Reply
    • You’re so right…we’ll never know the innermost secrets of those close to us. And thank you for your generous comment…I’m humbled.

      Like

      Reply
  11. You can find out so much bout a man by what he keeps in his pockets… Beautifully written.

    Like

    Reply
  12. My dear friend, this is a lovely story that you tell and written with a loving edge, I guess some mysteries are never truly solved, but still it is a nice keepsake nevertheless :) Have a sweet rest of day Gayle :)

    Andro xxxx

    Like

    Reply
    • Thank you for your visit and lovely comment for me, Andro. I wished I had asked my father more questions…mostly though about his life and feelings. He wasn’t very forthcoming about those things… Yes, a nice keepsake. :)

      Enjoy the rest of your weekend my friend. xoxo

      Like

      Reply
      • In hindsight I guess that we all wish that we had asked more questions but he will always have a place in your heart and mind, and that is really special my dear friend.

        Have a lovely Monday Gayle :)

        Andro xxxx

        Like

        Reply
  13. A keepsake to cherish, even if you don’t have the whole story.

    The closing tugs at the heart. Sad, after spending a lifetime with someone, making a family with them. Probably the same with many people, a story often lived but not as often told. I’m sorry.

    Like

    Reply
  14. Yes, the ending tugged at me too…because that is how it was with her. A mystery there too…like you said, not as often told.

    Like

    Reply

Please share your thoughts...

Wightrabbit's Blog

Words and Pictures from my Kaboodle on The Isle of Wight

writing in north norfolk

Writer of children's literature, short stories and poetry

Lady Nyo's Weblog

A woman writer's blog with invitations to other writers

Poetry Breakfast

Beginning March 20th, 2016 Poetry Breakfast will once again serve a little poetic nourishment every morning. Start your day with our new expanded menu. Poems, of course, are our specialty. But we will also be serving a fuller menu that includes poetry related creative non-fiction such as letters to and from poets, essays on poetry, and anything else that might feed a poet and poetry lover’s soul.

Mithai Mumblezz

Thinks and again mumbles!!

findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing...

mindlovemisery

"We're all out there, somewhere, waiting to happen."

NavasolaNature

Nature needs Nurture

Whimsygizmo's Blog

poetic ponderings...parenting...procrastination...

Tao of Scrumble

A freeform way of life, love and everything

Sharp Little Pencil

Amy Barlow Liberatore... stories of lost years, wild times, mental variety, faith, and lots of jazz

silentlyheardonce

A Silent poet shouting to be heard

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

kanzen sakura

South meets East: Poetry and Musings - words of the seasons

Poems, stories, paintings and more by Sharmishtha Basu

(Agnijaat, Agnishatdal, Agnijashatadalama, Indie Adda)

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

jaywalking the moon

poetry by claudia schoenfeld

She's Writing

Poetry and Prose

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

everyday amazing

spreading good cheer, fun & love for life

Michael's Lair

Just Write WordPress.com site

Björn Rudbergs writings

Poetry and fiction by a physicist from the dark side

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

THE BeZINE

Be inspired...Be creative...Be peace...Be

bardessdmdenton - author- artist

Historical and Literary Fiction / Essays / Poetry / Reviews /Book Cover and Interior Illustrations / Pet Portraits and Other Commissioned Artwork ... "Handle a book as a bee does a flower, extract its sweetness but do not damage it.” ~ John Muir, naturalist, author, 1838 - 1914

Soul Dipper

Spirit Builder by Design

Contemplative Moorings

The official blog of unofficial author Michael Marsters.

Ramblings From A Mum

This is my journey, my thoughts, my views, plain and simple and from my heart. Please travel with me and share, hopefully it will be an interesting trip.

bwthoughts

copyright 2013 - no reuse without permission ( see bwfiction.wordpress.com for fiction and fantasy )

"On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea"

All Is One With Our Creator

MyHeartBlog

Take Control of Your Health

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Wanjiku

poetic inspiration from life's simplicity

k8edid

Mumblings of a Middle Aged Madwoman

IN MY NEXT LIFE

if I go around more than once then ...

I Rhyme Without Reason

I live in words

Soul Speak

'You may say I'm a Dreamer, but I'm not the only one' ~ John Lennon

~ Dragon's Dreams ~

Carpe Noctem Quod Tempus Fugit!

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Lafemmeroar

laughing at the malfunction of the universe is better than crying about it

Lorna's Voice

Finding ways to make words sparkle

Olivia's In- Mind Whirls..

"It's all in my mind"

dVerse

Poets Pub

Leslie White

View artwork by Leslie White

