Birthright: Graffiti Poetry

Google Images

Remember as a child
when you didn’t
think better…or
worse about yourself?
You just let yourself
be and you were
perfection personified.
You had a space in the
world and you innately
knew that yours was as
important…and not less
than…anyone else’s.

That was your birthright.
If you’ve lost it, only
you can find it again.

Anna Montgomery introduces Graffiti poetry today at dVerse Poets:  http://dversepoets.com/

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

32 Comments

  1. oh dang…so true…and out respoinsibility in letting someone or ourselves take it too…
    cool pic as well gayle…

    hey shoot me an email at btm2007(at)yahoo.com

    Like

    Reply
    • Our self esteem sure does take a beating through the years doesn’t it. But bottom line…it truly is up to us whether we want to regain it or not. Tough, yes…but so worth it to take our power back.

      Will send you an email, Brian…

      Like

      Reply
  2. Lovely pic here, gayle. So many beautiful things have been drawn/written in chalk. As permanent as those 10-year-old selves, unfortunately. However, I do think that 10-year-old self of mine is still in there, wanting to be let loose.

    Like

    Reply
    • I loved chalking on our nice, smooth black-top road in front of our house as a kid…such fun playing chalked hopscotch and other games out there. Yes, I believe that 10 year old is healthy and happy inside of me too. She does make an appearance now and then. Thanks, Susan.

      Like

      Reply
  3. made me think.. i think i lost that birthright very early to some unhappy circumstances..trying to find it now as a grown up again…smiles

    Like

    Reply
    • I lost that birthright at an early age too, Claudia…but know it is mine to regain whenever I’m ready…or able. From outward appearances, you seem to be doing very well. You have a very bright and positive spirit.

      Like

      Reply
  4. truth and nicely drawn

    Like

    Reply
  5. Very true.

    Like

    Reply
  6. I like the remembrance of the birth right ~ If only we know where and how to find it again and again ~ Good one Gayle ~

    Like

    Reply
    • It seems to come and go throughout my life…self-esteem rising and falling. Self acceptance is so important to our lives though. Thank you, Grace.

      Like

      Reply
  7. Oh so true. The child in me remains and I let her out to play sometimes…

    Anna :o]

    Like

    Reply
    • So glad you can tap into that little girl within. I definitely can still be childlike…I love that side of me…feels good.

      Like

      Reply
  8. True and touching. I needed to hear this today, thank you.

    Like

    Reply
  9. kkkkaty1

     /  February 22, 2013

    ..I like the message and a kind of hop scotch graffiti to go with..;)

    Like

    Reply
  10. The thought of being judged by my 10-year-old self is frightening. The challenge of being/becoming someone he would be proud of and want to know is huge, but perhaps it’s something we could all aspire to. Certainly got me thinking.

    Like

    Reply
    • It is huge…children with their honesty tell it like it is and know instinctively whether they like someone or not. I think my 10 year old self would like me!

      Like

      Reply
  11. Spot on Gayle! It matters not how long it takes but the getting there will happen. It did for me and it will for others. Nice write.

    Like

    Reply
    • That’s right, Renee…it doesn’t matter how long it takes but if you have an intention set forth it will happen. Thanks my friend.

      Like

      Reply
  12. If only we could teach kids to never lose it — it wouldn’t take a lifetime to find! Great write, Gayle!!

    Like

    Reply
    • I think that very same thing, Becca. The trick is to never have them lose themselves in the first place. I look at my granddaughter and these thoughts surface…

      Like

      Reply
  13. What a brilliant concept, Gayle! My 10 year old self found such spontaneous joy in innocent pastimes ~ I loved playing hopscotch, too! Your words have made me realise how long it has been, since I touched that place where …oh, you know! Thank you for setting this thought train in motion, it’s just what I could do with focusing on right now! :)

    Like

    Reply
  14. Such good advice. And your image makes me want to move downtown so I can hit the streets early morning and write a tiny poem for the working world to walk upon and wonder about. You have inspired me, Gayle.

    http://www.kimnelsonwrites.com/2013/02/22/it-is-written-vehicles-of-the-word/

    Like

    Reply
    • Wouldn’t that be fun…to leave messages on the street…really like that idea. So glad to have inspired you, Kim…thanks for coming by.

      Like

      Reply
  15. I fear I don’t remember ever being like that. But I enjoyed your poem.

    Like

    Reply
  16. How true, Gayle. I heard somewhere that you are your most authentic self when around 10-12 years of age … I think your poem speaks beautifully to that concept. And it made me think how sad that too often children’s innate level sense of themselves can be destroyed by bullying and comparison and too much pressure put on them to succeed.

    Like

    Reply
    • It’s something that I feel very strongly about having grown up in a household with an alcoholic father who set a tone of chaos for the family. My sensitive nature did not do well in those conditions…I was very unhappy. But still I realize that those days are gone and it’s up to me to heal and move on. Wouldn’t it be wonderful if every child grew up with a strong sense of self… Thanks for your thoughts, Diane.

      Like

      Reply

Please share your thoughts...

Wightrabbit's Blog

Words and Pictures from my Kaboodle on The Isle of Wight

writing in north norfolk

Writer of children's literature, short stories and poetry

Lady Nyo's Weblog

A woman writer's blog with invitations to other writers

Poetry Breakfast

Beginning March 20th, 2016 Poetry Breakfast will once again serve a little poetic nourishment every morning. Start your day with our new expanded menu. Poems, of course, are our specialty. But we will also be serving a fuller menu that includes poetry related creative non-fiction such as letters to and from poets, essays on poetry, and anything else that might feed a poet and poetry lover’s soul.

Mithai Mumblezz

Thinks and again mumbles!!

findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing...

mindlovemisery

"We're all out there, somewhere, waiting to happen."

NavasolaNature

Nature needs Nurture

Whimsygizmo's Blog

poetic ponderings...parenting...procrastination...

Tao of Scrumble

A freeform way of life, love and everything

Sharp Little Pencil

Amy Barlow Liberatore... stories of lost years, wild times, mental variety, faith, and lots of jazz

silentlyheardonce

A Silent poet shouting to be heard

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

kanzen sakura

South meets East: Poetry and Musings - words of the seasons

Poems, stories, paintings and more by Sharmishtha Basu

(Agnijaat, Agnishatdal, Agnijashatadalama, Indie Adda)

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

jaywalking the moon

poetry by claudia schoenfeld

She's Writing

Poetry and Prose

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

everyday amazing

spreading good cheer, fun & love for life

Michael's Lair

Just Write WordPress.com site

Björn Rudbergs writings

Poetry and fiction by a physicist from the dark side

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

THE BeZINE

Be inspired...Be creative...Be peace...Be

bardessdmdenton - author- artist

Historical and Literary Fiction / Essays / Poetry / Reviews /Book Cover and Interior Illustrations / Pet Portraits and Other Commissioned Artwork ... "Handle a book as a bee does a flower, extract its sweetness but do not damage it.” ~ John Muir, naturalist, author, 1838 - 1914

Soul Dipper

Spirit Builder by Design

Contemplative Moorings

The official blog of unofficial author Michael Marsters.

Ramblings From A Mum

This is my journey, my thoughts, my views, plain and simple and from my heart. Please travel with me and share, hopefully it will be an interesting trip.

bwthoughts

copyright 2013 - no reuse without permission ( see bwfiction.wordpress.com for fiction and fantasy )

"On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea"

All Is One With Our Creator

MyHeartBlog

Take Control of Your Health

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Wanjiku

poetic inspiration from life's simplicity

k8edid

Mumblings of a Middle Aged Madwoman

IN MY NEXT LIFE

if I go around more than once then ...

I Rhyme Without Reason

I live in words

Soul Speak

'You may say I'm a Dreamer, but I'm not the only one' ~ John Lennon

~ Dragon's Dreams ~

Carpe Noctem Quod Tempus Fugit!

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Lafemmeroar

laughing at the malfunction of the universe is better than crying about it

Lorna's Voice

Finding ways to make words sparkle

Olivia's In- Mind Whirls..

"It's all in my mind"

dVerse

Poets Pub

Leslie White

View artwork by Leslie White

