“Life of Pi”–Erasure Poetry

I could see the sea…
and down the road a long ways
 
I suddenly felt I was in heaven.
The feeling, a mix of pulsing energy
and profound peace
 
The road, the sea, the trees,
the air, the sun all spoke
one language of unity
 
All was kith and kin.
 
One other time
out alone on a walk
after a night of snowfall,
coming up to the house,
I turned my head.
 
There was a wood
and in that wood,
a small clearing.
 
A breeze had shaken a branch
fine snow was falling,
glittering in the sunlight
 
In that sun-splashed clearing,
I saw the Virgin Mary.
 
She was smiling at me with loving kindness.

Anna Montgomergy introduces us to Erasure Poetry over at dVerse Poets; Meeting the Bar:  http://dversepoets.com/2012/11/29/meeting-the-bar-erasure-poetry/

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

29 Comments

  1. Hmmm, didn’t know that book had a Catholic spin. “I saw the Virgin Mary.”

    Like

    Reply
    • I’m just getting started on this book. It’s about a Hindu boy who wants to be a Christian and Muslim as well. Don’t know what else happens beyond that at this point.

      Like

      Reply
  2. dang this is thick with mystical feel….almost a dream, or somewhere between it and reality….really you have put together and enchanting piece…well played…

    Like

    Reply
  3. I’m reading that book now… still at beginning but can’t wait. This is mystifying…

    Like

    Reply
  4. You are in for a real treat throughout the development of the book. I really enjoyed what you did with this, you achieve a sparkling clarity and poetic sensibility. Thanks so much for joining us today.

    Like

    Reply
    • I can’t wait. I passed on going to see the movie with friends because I wanted to finish the book first. And thank you for your generous comment, Anna..I appreciate that. It was a great challenge.

      Like

      Reply
  5. Eloquent and beautiful. You managed something splendidly poetic!

    Like

    Reply
  6. nice…you take us by the hand with the images you paint and erased and make us see what happens..nice

    Like

    Reply
  7. This is dreamy :) (And thanks for saying what the source was.)

    Like

    Reply
  8. Very beautiful…fantastic feeling….

    Like

    Reply
  9. I like your poem. Just from seeing clips of the movie, I like what you’ve written. I wish there was a universal religion… but there is one really…it’s called… love.

    Like

    Reply
    • I share your wish, Bren…and know that it is love too. Or, like the Dalai Lama says, “My religion is kindness.” I love that…

      Like

      Reply
  10. I can’t praise this enough–absolutely beautiful, and makes me want to read the book!

    Like

    Reply
    • Well, I’m so very glad you liked this so much, Nico…high praise…I’m very grateful. I would recommend the book…even though haven’t finished it yet.

      Like

      Reply
  11. Love “All was kith and kin.” You captured some important parts of the book here. I read the book a while ago, but saw the movie two days ago. You ‘erased’ well!

    Like

    Reply
    • I love that phrase too..very sweet. Thank you, Mary…still working on the book. Pi is now floating on the Pacific with his animal “companions”…gulp.

      Like

      Reply
  12. This is one of my all-time favorite contemporary novels and I just love how you’ve worked it. Wonderful. Makes me want to read it a third time.

    Like

    Reply
    • I’ve had books like this one too, Victoria…that make you want to re-read them. I love it so far..I know there’s something very important to come.

      Like

      Reply
  13. I loved this novel and am excited to see the film. Your erasure poem gives a pretty good sense of the powerful and life-altering questions and emotions tackled in the book.

    Like

    Reply
    • It seems that this part I “erased” is an integral part to the feel of the entire story. I’m glad I zeroed in on that portion…it was very powerful to me when I read it.

      Like

      Reply
  14. Wow! I haven’t read the book or seen the movie, but your poem makes me want to! I have a poem in mind for the challenge of an erasure poem, but the time passed and it’s too late to enter it now. I haven’t written mine, but maybe I still will anyway – it looks like yours turned out amazingly! It’s a very tightly written piece and I love the flow and imagery in it. This will sound silly, maybe, but it’s very “you”, Gayle. :)

    Like

    Reply
    • Well thank you for the lovely compliments, Corina…I like that it’s very “me”. It’s a unique story and very powerful. I’ve now finished the book. If you read it, let me know what you think. xo

      Like

      Reply
  15. A lovely job of it, Gayle. A sweet lyric sensibility results. I like it. Bravo!

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks, Jamie. An unusual story to say the least. I’m glad you liked what I came up with. That erasure poetry is an interesting exercise.

      Like

      Reply

Please share your thoughts...

Wightrabbit's Blog

Words and Pictures from my Kaboodle on The Isle of Wight

writing in north norfolk

Writer of children's literature, short stories and poetry

Lady Nyo's Weblog

A woman writer's blog with invitations to other writers

Poetry Breakfast

Beginning March 20th, 2016 Poetry Breakfast will once again serve a little poetic nourishment every morning. Start your day with our new expanded menu. Poems, of course, are our specialty. But we will also be serving a fuller menu that includes poetry related creative non-fiction such as letters to and from poets, essays on poetry, and anything else that might feed a poet and poetry lover’s soul.

Mithai Mumblezz

Thinks and again mumbles!!

findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing...

mindlovemisery

"We're all out there, somewhere, waiting to happen."

NavasolaNature

Nature needs Nurture

Whimsygizmo's Blog

poetic ponderings...parenting...procrastination...

Tao of Scrumble

A freeform way of life, love and everything

Sharp Little Pencil

Amy Barlow Liberatore... stories of lost years, wild times, mental variety, faith, and lots of jazz

silentlyheardonce

A Silent poet shouting to be heard

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

kanzen sakura

South meets East: Poetry and Musings - words of the seasons

Poems, stories, paintings and more by Sharmishtha Basu

(Agnijaat, Agnishatdal, Agnijashatadalama, Indie Adda)

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

jaywalking the moon

poetry by claudia schoenfeld

She's Writing

Poetry and Prose

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

everyday amazing

spreading good cheer, fun & love for life

Michael's Lair

Just Write WordPress.com site

Björn Rudbergs writings

Poetry and fiction by a physicist from the dark side

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

THE BeZINE

Be inspired...Be creative...Be peace...Be

bardessdmdenton - author- artist

Historical and Literary Fiction / Essays / Poetry / Reviews /Book Cover and Interior Illustrations / Pet Portraits and Other Commissioned Artwork ... "Handle a book as a bee does a flower, extract its sweetness but do not damage it.” ~ John Muir, naturalist, author, 1838 - 1914

Soul Dipper

Spirit Builder by Design

Contemplative Moorings

The official blog of unofficial author Michael Marsters.

Ramblings From A Mum

This is my journey, my thoughts, my views, plain and simple and from my heart. Please travel with me and share, hopefully it will be an interesting trip.

bwthoughts

copyright 2013 - no reuse without permission ( see bwfiction.wordpress.com for fiction and fantasy )

"On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea"

All Is One With Our Creator

MyHeartBlog

Take Control of Your Health

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Wanjiku

poetic inspiration from life's simplicity

k8edid

Mumblings of a Middle Aged Madwoman

IN MY NEXT LIFE

if I go around more than once then ...

I Rhyme Without Reason

I live in words

Soul Speak

'You may say I'm a Dreamer, but I'm not the only one' ~ John Lennon

~ Dragon's Dreams ~

Carpe Noctem Quod Tempus Fugit!

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Lafemmeroar

laughing at the malfunction of the universe is better than crying about it

Lorna's Voice

Finding ways to make words sparkle

Olivia's In- Mind Whirls..

"It's all in my mind"

dVerse

Poets Pub

Leslie White

View artwork by Leslie White

jgavinallan

The best time to love...is when it is impossible///Stories of the heart-broken/shattered and sometimes mended

