You Are Loved

Holding you close,
we approach the
swaying stand of bamboo.
The wind rises
and falls in gentle,
gusty waves.  Our hair
lifts slightly from
our heads…mine
swirling across
my eyes.
 
It’s cool beneath the
shaded chapel of
canes and we both
listen with reverence
and peace as the towering
grasses clatter and clank
the notes of nature’s wind chime.
 
You relax in my arms, relax
into the knowing that all is
well; you are loved.
 
The next day we sit beside
the Ganga, meditating
on the gentle breezes and
lily pads undulating by
tiny swells while a chorus
hums from a fountain
voices blending of those passed on
  
a turtle crawls on the bank
and rests at our feet.

I’m finally back online and writing my first post after moving to Sebastian to help watch my first grandchild, Mira, while her Mom and Dad return to work.  We’ve been taking walks daily (she loves to be outside) and visit a large stand of bamboo nearby and love listening to it as it moves with the wind.  I’m so enjoying my new role…and blessing.

Joining with Hedgewitch today who is hostessing for us at dVerse Poets Open Link Night #69:  Thanks, Joy! http://dversepoets.com/2012/11/06/open-link-night-week-69/

Leave a comment

59 Comments

  1. what a lovely new role/time – for you and your granddaughter…

    Like

    Reply
  2. Welcome back ~ so good to see you 🙂 Lovely poem x

    Like

    Reply
  3. I just knew this one was about Mira without needing to look at your footnote!!

    Beautiful poem and so pleased to see you back. 🙂

    Christine x

    Like

    Reply
    • You guessed right, Christine! Yes, a tribute to her and our lovely walks together… Thanks for the lovely welcome back. 🙂 xo

      Like

      Reply
  4. Welcome back and how lovely to be able to spend this time with your grandchild. A beautiful, peaceful poem.

    Like

    Reply
  5. beautiful!

    Like

    Reply
  6. I am there – at peace – on the Ganga – and also enjoy the vision of you and Mira out-and-about in Sebastian. What a blessing …

    Like

    Reply
  7. Wonderful capture of the sweetness between you and her. A blessing indeed.

    Like

    Reply
  8. love the sounds in this…so peaceful…and how peaceful as well to know you are loved…a beautiful intimate moment captured here…love it

    Like

    Reply
  9. I had wondered where you were, how you were. So happy to see that all is well for you and for your family too. It sounds as if you are having some wonderful days. Knowing she is loved, really made me smile. If we have that, we can conquer the world. Wishing you so much good luck, and happiness in your new home and many happy walks with your little granddaughter.

    Like

    Reply
    • It took me a while to get back online…but I wasn’t too terribly eager. You are so right about knowing you are loved…a very peace-giving and empowering way to be. Thanks for the kind wishes, Bren…my time with her is so fulfilling.

      Like

      Reply
  10. Dear Bodhirose
    So glad to see you back and what a joy with your grandchild,

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks so very much for the warm welcome…that’s the perfect word…joy…describes my feelings wonderfully…it’s the best.

      Like

      Reply
  11. Ah, the Ganga. I have swam in here, hiked to her source and seen dead babies float up after ropes broke lose because parents could not afford word for cremation. Ah, the Ganga. Om Shiva

    Like

    Reply
  12. Can tell you love your new role and are at peace, great capture of the moment with your verse, sure your granddaughter likes having you around too.

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks, Pat…I’m glad that feeling came through…I am very happy spending my time with that tiny girl…and I think it’s mutual..

      Like

      Reply
  13. Ah. Lucky you and her. Pretty Poem. K.

    Like

    Reply
  14. What a beautiful poem of love for your granddaughter. There is nothing like it. Enjoy every moment Time passes way too fast.

    Like

    Reply
  15. This is so lovely! It really made me smile.

    Like

    Reply
  16. The grandmother of a vibrant little boy, I knew immediately from where this sprang, immediately where it would go; and I LOVE IT!

    Like

    Reply
  17. we all need time to meditate on the breezes… great thoughts

    Like

    Reply
  18. What a wonderful poem! Enjoy your granddaughter.

    Like

    Reply
  19. Lovely. “You are loved” – she will grow up so secure and happy. What a lovely time you are having, sharing her first months.

    Like

    Reply
  20. hedgewitch

     /  November 7, 2012

    Love is a gentle soothing here in the voice of the wind, the chimes of the bamboo–how important that weaving of love into the world is for us, especially as young ones, so unformed and so in need of love. A beautiful poem, Bodhirose–enjoy your new role!

    Like

    Reply
    • Love shows up everywhere between us…in the simplest ways… I’m so happy to be able to share these times with her. Thanks so much, Joy.

      Like

      Reply
  21. I get the sense that being in this role has inspired your poetry. It’s beautiful in it’s gentle warm glow.

    Like

    Reply
  22. Your inner peace and joy you have in the moments you spend with your little one shine through in this, Gayle. I think it is wonderful that you can spend time with her in peaceful places. 🙂 Good to see you again here, but I also know you are cherishing the moments you get to spend with Mira.

    Like

    Reply
    • It’s such a blessing, Corina…sharing that peace with her is the best gift I can offer. Now I need to get back into the swing of blogging again…nice to be back, thanks…

      Like

      Reply
  23. Most lovely, Gayle. I could feel the warmth, the love, the satisfaction of the scene, the joy in your heart as you embrace your granddaughter. Lovely also to have you back. So glad you are enjoying your new role. XO

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks so much, Diane…you are coming up soon on my long list of people to visit. So much catching up to do…in time… I appreciate you being here on my return…it’s nice to have such a warm welcome. I’m so enjoying that tiny girl…she’s pure joy to me. xoxo

      Like

      Reply
  24. Beautifully written, Gayle. She is so fortunate to have you there. Reminds me of a time when I held my own granddaughter and we bonded as though there was more.

    Like

    Reply
    • She’s giving to me as much as I’m giving to her…much more, I’m sure. What a delight it is to spend time with her. Well…I don’t have to tell you what I’m feeling.

      Like

      Reply
      • Something that can never have a comparison and even now all these years later (as you will some day find) Samantha and I have such good times. She lovingly calls me ‘granny’ and I so let her. None of the other grandkids do but her. We are so very close. Enjoy every minute of it as it will pass so very quickly.

        Like

        Reply
        • I’m so happy that you have that sweet relationship with your granddaughter, Renee. It’s priceless. I’m treasuring every moment spent with Mira.

          Like

          Reply
  25. How is Mira doing, Gayle? She must be growing so quickly … any chance of a photo of her?
    Hope all is well with you ~ Polly x

    Like

    Reply
    • She’s doing great…so cute. I just posted a photo of her…thanks for reminding me. I’m enjoying my time with her so much.

      Like

      Reply
  26. A nice visit to your site. I’ve been popping through because I thought I must have missed more than I apparently did – only two – and glad to have found them.

    If I don’t get back here before New Year: Have a wonderful day and fabulous 2013 to you and your family, Gayle.

    Like

    Reply
  27. I went to leave you a New Years greeting on your blog..but forgot…no more comments. So will leave one here in hopes you see it, Jamie. I so appreciate your faithful visits to my blog and wish you a new year filled with blessings for your well being. Hugs…

    Like

    Reply
  28. Beautiful and enjoy your grandbaby.

    Like

    Reply
  29. Love!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Please share your thoughts...

Wightrabbit

Words and Pictures from The Isle of Wight

writing in north norfolk

Writer of children's literature, short stories and poetry

Lady Nyo's Weblog

A woman writer's blog with invitations to other writers

Poetry Breakfast

Beginning March 20th, 2016 Poetry Breakfast will once again serve a little poetic nourishment every morning. Start your day with our new expanded menu. Poems, of course, are our specialty. But we will also be serving a fuller menu that includes poetry related creative non-fiction such as letters to and from poets, essays on poetry, and anything else that might feed a poet and poetry lover’s soul.

Mithai Mumblezz

Thinks and again mumbles!!

findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing...

mindlovemisery

"We're all out there, somewhere, waiting to happen."

NavasolaNature

Nature needs Nurture

Whimsygizmo's Blog

poetic ponderings...parenting...procrastination...

Tao of Scrumble

A freeform way of life, love and everything

Tournesol dans un Jardin

Waka & Micro Poetry

Sharp Little Pencil

Amy Barlow Liberatore... stories of lost years, wild times, mental variety, faith, and lots of jazz

silentlyheardonce

A Silent poet shouting to be heard

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

kanzen sakura

South meets East: Poetry and Musings - words of the seasons

Poems, stories, paintings and more by Sharmishtha Basu

(Agnijaat, Agnishatdal, Agnijashatadalama, Indie Adda)

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

jaywalking the moon

poetry by claudia schoenfeld

She's Writing

Poetry and Prose

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

everyday amazing

spreading good cheer, fun & love for life

Michael's Lair

Just Write WordPress.com site

Björn Rudbergs writings

Poetry and fiction by a physicist from the dark side

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

THE BeZINE

Be inspired...Be creative...Be peace...Be

bardessdmdenton - author- artist

Historical and Literary Fiction / Essays / Poetry / Reviews /Book Cover and Interior Illustrations / Pet Portraits and Other Commissioned Artwork ... "Life can't ever really defeat a writer who is in love with writing, for life itself is a writer's lover until death - fascinating, cruel, lavish, warm, cold, treacherous, constant." ~ Edna Ferber, 1885-1968, American novelist, short story writer and playwright

Soul Dipper

Spirit Builder by Design

Contemplative Moorings

The official blog of unofficial author Michael Marsters.

Ramblings From A Mum

This is my journey, my thoughts, my views, plain and simple and from my heart. Please travel with me and share, hopefully it will be an interesting trip.

bwthoughts

copyright 2013 - no reuse without permission ( see bwfiction.wordpress.com for fiction and fantasy )

"On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea"

All Is One With Our Creator

MyHeartBlog

Take Control of Your Health

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Wanjiku

poetic inspiration from life's simplicity

k8edid

Mumblings of a Middle Aged Madwoman

IN MY NEXT LIFE

if I go around more than once then ...

I Rhyme Without Reason

I live in words

Soul Speak

'You may say I'm a Dreamer, but I'm not the only one' ~ John Lennon

~ Dragon's Dreams ~

Carpe Noctem Quod Tempus Fugit!

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Lafemmeroar

laughing at the malfunction of the universe is better than crying about it

Lorna's Voice

Finding ways to make words sparkle

Olivia's In- Mind Whirls..

"It's all in my mind"

dVerse

Poets Pub

Leslie White

View artwork by Leslie White

jgavinallan

The best time to love...is when it is impossible///Stories of the heart-broken/shattered and sometimes mended

