Becoming

Photo:  Google Images

one love was dead
then I met you…
resurgence of feelings
brought me to life
 
my nerves were shot
from stress and strain
but my soul was soothed
when you hugged me tight
 
you listened, you cared
and heeded my boundaries
respecting my need to
take things slowly
 
but I surprised myself
when I made the move
to take things further
…I wanted you
 
no longer caring
no longer enabled
to something dead,
hurtful, despairing
 
my beliefs changed
during that time,
we’re not intended to
remain wedded to strife
 
so onward I soared
leaving madness behind
traveling happier…
becoming mine

Brian Miller invites us to tell ‘his’tory/’her’story over at dVerse Poets.   Revisit a time in our history and share a story.  http://dversepoets.com/2012/08/04/poetics-history-herstory-time-machines/

Previous Post
Leave a comment

43 Comments

  1. Difficult to trust again when it has been so badly misused and abused. So glad you fell in love once more and this time it was right for you :)
    Lovely.

    Like

    Reply
    • Yeah, it is difficult to trust again…I don’t think I’m entirely there yet…but so much better off than before. Thanks, Bren.

      Like

      Reply
  2. hedgewitch

     /  August 4, 2012

    Really like the last line…much wisdom there.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Such a lovely and uplifting message. I have a friend who is having trouble trusting again and I will definitely guide her here. I especially liked the line… we’re not intended to remain wedded to strife. Thank you.

    Like

    Reply
    • Thank you, Serena. It is hard to trust again and better to take things slow than rush into another problematic relationship. I took my marriage vows very seriously but finally I couldn’t deny that there was nothing more I could do to make things better. And, you’re welcome.

      Like

      Reply
  4. I like that you embraced change and wanted new beginnings ~ And finding oneself is the greatest journey to embark ~

    http://everydayamazin.blogspot.ca/2012/08/sunset.html

    Like

    Reply
    • It took a long time for me to get to that place..but better late than never! And, I so agree..finding oneself is the purpose of our being. Thanks, Grace.

      Like

      Reply
  5. A very wise and honest poem – I love the way you left madness at the end to simply become

    Like

    Reply
  6. smiles…i like your honesty in this and its hard to make those steps, esp once you have been burned….love the last line…hey its your story…embrace it…no matter how many time syou tell it…smiles…

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks, Brian. I had some good counseling that helped make that decision easier…some really good support. Yeah, I know…I guess when I’ve written about it enough you won’t have to read about it anymore either…hehe…

      Like

      Reply
  7. A very unique poem, one that does not sanction undying love, but that celebrates
    “so onward I soared
    leaving madness behind
    traveling happier…
    becoming mine”

    It is impossible that such soaring detracts from the past,
    impossible that the past demands to burn and smolder.

    Like

    Reply
    • Yes, definitely a celebration…it took guts to leave a controlling (and now I realize, very insecure) man. No, the soaring does not detract from anything that went before… Thanks, Susan.

      Like

      Reply
  8. moving story…love how he listened, cared, heeded your boundaries and also respected that you wanted to take things slowly..that’s what real love does…glad you found him

    Like

    Reply
  9. A lesson in how we must take that step to love again

    Like

    Reply
  10. Often when we are wounded and hurt its so easy to retract into a shell and put on the armour to protect ourselves from more pain.
    How well you have delivered these lines “you listened, you cared and heeded my boundaries”, a wonderful poem Gayle, and so well put to deliver its message that we can Love again and allow ourselves to open up to the joys of living once again..
    Excellent
    Sue Xxx

    Like

    Reply
    • Truly, it was as if I was reawakening again. Such a blessing…I had wondered if I would ever be happy again. But I still don’t ever want to be married… :) And, thank you, Sue..I’m glad you liked this.

      Like

      Reply
  11. You tell my story so beautifully and simply, Gayle. Thank you!

    Like

    Reply
  12. I enjoyed reading this poem of your personal history. I like it when poetry risks sharing a personal theme, such as this, which actually also is a universal theme. It is so true that we were not meant to be wedded to strife. It definitely, as you wrote, is better to move on than to endure…

    Like

    Reply
    • I like writings like this too and you’re so right…all our experiences have been experienced by someone else. Yes, much better to move on…so grateful I finally could. Thank you, Mary.

      Like

      Reply
  13. so onward I soared
    leaving madness behind
    traveling happier…
    becoming mine

    Wise words and good decisions. We may be disappointed but we can still overcome and lead life our own way! Nicely crafted Gayle!

    Hank

    Like

    Reply
    • Thank you, Hank. Marriage can be a wonderful, sharing partnership or a dreaded hell of one person controlling another…nothing good about it…best to soar on out of there!

      Like

      Reply
  14. it’s great to get away from an awful relationship, you become a new person

    events cocatenated

    Like

    Reply
  15. we’re not intended to
    remain wedded to strife

    True that. Good for you. Wonderful poem, thank you.

    Like

    Reply
  16. It’s like you were inside my heart writing that poem, Gayle. Amazing.

    Like

    Reply
  17. Love the intimate view of the moment’s feelings.

    Like

    Reply
  18. Beautifully written description of a transitional journey, Gayle. I love the way you developed it to a peaceful climax. You have that gift of creating a story with visual words.
    Namaste,
    Izzy

    Like

    Reply
    • Well thank you, Izzy. What I admire are couples like you and your long-time husband who manage to retain trust and faith in one another…very inspiring.
      Namaste…and hugs too…

      Like

      Reply
  19. Yes, once the heart closes up to the possibilities of love, it is difficult to trust and open up again. I love the progression of this poem, a little story here that is actually very large in the scheme of things. That …
    ‘we’re not intended to
    remain wedded to strife’
    (actually, those lines can apply to any hurt another inflicts on us. I was hurt by someone I thought was a good friend …a very stinging and scolding remark in public, just yesterday. I had picked up a little book I have by the Dalai Lama on being happy. There is much in it about anger … and how we should not hang onto it. And I think your poem, and especially those lines, speak that wisdom too.)

    Like

    Reply
    • Yes, Diane, my words can speak to relationships other than marriage…any strife that continues to come from someone (or some situation) who may repeatedly inflict harm to us…well…we have a choice…and don’t have to remain “wedded” to them. I’m very sorry to hear that someone spoke harshly to you…and in public too..not very considerate. I wonder if I have the same book you do by the Dalai Lama (and Dr. Howard Cutler)…it’s called “The Art of Happiness.” I love the Dalai Lama..what an inspiration. I’m glad this poem spoke wisdom to you, Diane..thanks very much.

      Like

      Reply
  20. I truly love that last line. That’s what it’s all about, in the end. You have to be able to love yourself and belong to YOU, first and foremost. The irony is that we all belong to the Universe, and yet as much a part of that never-ending flame as each of us is, we all burn separately, too. I’m sorry that you had to experience such a hard thing, but I can also tell that you learned a valuable lesson from it. Having talked with you some about that horrible time, I wish I could say “Be thankful for what it taught you”, but I, too, have trouble being thankful for things like that, so I can’t say that to you. Anyway, You did a good job showing how this changed you…and I am very glad you “became yours”. :) Very glad.

    Like

    Reply
    • Yes, that last line says it all really. Yeah, that’s a hard thing for me to process too…that even harsh experiences are for our benefit. I do know it intellectually but in my heart…that’s still a little “smushed”…I still have a ways to go yet. I’m still ‘becoming’…but so happy I am…and very thankful for the support and kindness you show me…really appreciate that about you Corina. Love and hugs…

      Like

      Reply

Please share your thoughts...

Wightrabbit's Blog

Words and Pictures from my Kaboodle on The Isle of Wight

writing in north norfolk

Writer of children's literature, short stories and poetry

Lady Nyo's Weblog

A woman writer's blog with invitations to other writers

Poetry Breakfast

Beginning March 20th, 2016 Poetry Breakfast will once again serve a little poetic nourishment every morning. Start your day with our new expanded menu. Poems, of course, are our specialty. But we will also be serving a fuller menu that includes poetry related creative non-fiction such as letters to and from poets, essays on poetry, and anything else that might feed a poet and poetry lover’s soul.

Mithai Mumblezz

Thinks and again mumbles!!

findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing...

mindlovemisery

"We're all out there, somewhere, waiting to happen."

NavasolaNature

Nature needs Nurture

Whimsygizmo's Blog

poetic ponderings...parenting...procrastination...

Tao of Scrumble

A freeform way of life, love and everything

Sharp Little Pencil

Amy Barlow Liberatore... stories of lost years, wild times, mental variety, faith, and lots of jazz

silentlyheardonce

A Silent poet shouting to be heard

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

kanzen sakura

South meets East: Poetry and Musings - words of the seasons

Poems, stories, paintings and more by Sharmishtha Basu

(Agnijaat, Agnishatdal, Agnijashatadalama, Indie Adda)

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

jaywalking the moon

poetry by claudia schoenfeld

She's Writing

Poetry and Prose

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

everyday amazing

spreading good cheer, fun & love for life

Michael's Lair

Just Write WordPress.com site

Björn Rudbergs writings

Poetry and fiction by a physicist from the dark side

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

THE BeZINE

Be inspired...Be creative...Be peace...Be

bardessdmdenton - author- artist

Historical and Literary Fiction / Essays / Poetry / Reviews /Book Cover and Interior Illustrations / Pet Portraits and Other Commissioned Artwork ... "Handle a book as a bee does a flower, extract its sweetness but do not damage it.” ~ John Muir, naturalist, author, 1838 - 1914

Soul Dipper

Spirit Builder by Design

Contemplative Moorings

The official blog of unofficial author Michael Marsters.

Ramblings From A Mum

This is my journey, my thoughts, my views, plain and simple and from my heart. Please travel with me and share, hopefully it will be an interesting trip.

bwthoughts

copyright 2013 - no reuse without permission ( see bwfiction.wordpress.com for fiction and fantasy )

"On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea"

All Is One With Our Creator

MyHeartBlog

Take Control of Your Health

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Wanjiku

poetic inspiration from life's simplicity

k8edid

Mumblings of a Middle Aged Madwoman

IN MY NEXT LIFE

if I go around more than once then ...

I Rhyme Without Reason

I live in words

Soul Speak

'You may say I'm a Dreamer, but I'm not the only one' ~ John Lennon

~ Dragon's Dreams ~

Carpe Noctem Quod Tempus Fugit!

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Lafemmeroar

laughing at the malfunction of the universe is better than crying about it

Lorna's Voice

Finding ways to make words sparkle

Olivia's In- Mind Whirls..

"It's all in my mind"

dVerse

Poets Pub

Leslie White

View artwork by Leslie White

