I See It All Now

Weeding through my possessions;
weeding out all that is un-needed,
accumulations seem to have breed-ed.
 
Surely I had no reason to save these
multiple scraps of paper found or applied
importance to a broken pen spied.
 
But still, it’s all here, covered in dust.
I stop to sneeze…as it wings on the breeze
and gathers momentum up my itching nose.
 
Out go handfuls of old receipts of
an iron purchased, a phone, medications,
a hair dryer, printer, clothing, shoes
and a French press from Amazon.com.
 
Now here is a treasure that I should
share a write about too…the last photo taken of
me with my longest, oldest (literally) dear friend.
She died last week at one hundred and two.
(It was taken when she was just 100.)
 
Oh, geez, look at these…assorted
cards that I have received (and kept)
for birthdays, Mother’s Day and a
Christmas or two…still tug at my heart
and I’m not willing to part with…just yet.
 
A newspaper-run obituary of my best
friend in school…gone too young,
of what, I can’t guess.  We had drifted
apart as lives took diverse paths.
 
Here’s a letter from the guy at Rutgers
who led the sociology study on our
commune in the 70s.  They’ve
followed our members for decades
wherever our lives moved us…even gave
us a stipend once for filling out
their lengthy 25th year questionnaire.
I even found you on Facebook, Ben,
and became one of your friends.
 
50th anniversary photo of Mom and Dad,
divorce letter to me from daughter at age 11
(I already wrote about that one), Save Tibet
decals from the International Campaign for
Tibet…I should go stick one on my car.
 
Gosh, this was only one small basket on
my bedside table…so much was here
that covered so many years.  And it took
a half hour to muse and to study and decide
what could go…and what still remains…
deeply attached…

I

see

it

all

now.

In following in Schiller’s footsteps, we’re invited to write about what we “see” or observe.  http://dversepoets.com/2012/07/21/poetics-in-schillers-footsteps-the-reading-of-our-collaborative-poem/

This concludes our week of celebration of the first anniversary of dVerse Poets.  A wonderful reading was recorded by multiple members of dVerse…it was fabulous.  Go have a listen.  What great fun and thanks to everyone!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

38 Comments

  1. smiles…i have a bowl on my table as well…lots of memories condensed down into it and treasures along the way…enjoyed the look into your bowl as well…and just a glimpse at some of the memories behind them…i am sorry for the loss of your friend recently…you were real in this…the good with the uncomfortable…

    Like

    Reply
    • Yes, so many memories in just that small space…something we all seem to have in common. My friend had voiced so many times, beginning years before, that she was ready to go…she waited patiently…

      Like

      Reply
  2. The things we cannot part with because they bind us in memories of love-

    Like

    Reply
  3. Nice. I have a drawer where all the keepsakes go. And a place where reciepts and such go — which I like to think I would clear it regularly. :)

    I enjoy reading a poem like this. It’s personal, reminds one that one has such things in store somewhere, maybe to take it out, brush away the dust and remember.

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks. I’m glad you enjoyed this.

      Yes, as you can tell from the other comments…we all seem to have this type of accumulation of our lives in common. I’ve been doing a lot of “weeding” lately…it feels good to let go of a lot of it. It was weighing me down…

      Like

      Reply
  4. At the times these keepsakes seem so important. It’s fun to go through them later. I’m a sentimental gal, but my husband thinks differently. I especially like this vivid detail:

    But still, it’s all here, covered in dust.
    I stop to sneeze…as it wings on the breeze
    and gathers momentum up my itching nose.

    Like

    Reply
    • I seem to be more sentimental with things that my two daughters have given me. What’s interesting is that I part with things at different times…I have to hold on for awhile and then later can see that I no longer need/want to. It is a process.

      Like

      Reply
  5. Not the time for decluttering then, Gayle? What astute and acute observations you have made not only about the things but about your feelings for them – good stuff :)

    Like

    Reply
    • Actually was able to throw a lot away in spite of hanging on to some things. Thank goodness! I’m glad you enjoyed this, Polly, thanks so much.

      Like

      Reply
  6. If I have to do some spring cleaning I have to close my eyes. Some things are hard to part with (sorry about your friend’s death) ~ Nice one ~

    http://a-sweetlust.blogspot.ca/2012/07/on-growing-roots.html

    Like

    Reply
    • Haha…I know what you mean, Grace. Yes, some things are hard to part with…but in time we often can. My friend was so ready to go…she’s at peace now. Thank you.

      Like

      Reply
  7. so nice going through all these old letters and pics and memories…102..wow…how awesome is that..your poem made me wanna sit down with my own memory basket..smiles

    Like

    Reply
    • It feels good to me to let go of the junk that I have accumulated…a lot of old papers especially. I will always keep the memories though. Yeah…102..pretty amazing…

      Like

      Reply
  8. Reminds me of these baskets left for children when a parent has a terminal illness – how would we sum up our life for others?

    Like

    Reply
    • I don’t think the ones I leave behind need to be bothered with old receipts and meaningless papers…then it becomes a burden. I do have some journals..perhaps those would be interesting… Thanks, John.

      Like

      Reply
  9. lucychili

     /  July 22, 2012

    wow special memories.
    i very much need to clear my things too

    Like

    Reply
    • Yes, so many memories in one small basket. It’s kind of fun when you have the time to do it without hurry. Thanks for coming by, Lucy.

      Like

      Reply
  10. I felt the process here… bitter sweet

    Like

    Reply
    • Hi Patricia…I find it interesting that I wasn’t ready before to let go of some items but then later I was…it is a process…life is a process.

      Like

      Reply
  11. I know what you mean! I am constantly looking at the accumulation and wondering, where did all this come from. It does seem to breed and multiply, doesn’t it? I find stories in much of it, too.
    Wonderful write. I enjoyed it!

    Like

    Reply
  12. Applause! Especially for all the details and your ordering of them so meaningfully!

    But listen to all of you– A basket here, a drawer there! I have several baskets and drawers and a file closet and an entire closet and half an attic of boxes I have carted from place to place and actually fear opening–though I keep telling myself I will put a month aside to luxuriate in it all. In fact, the locked closet is a character in the novel that I keep NOT finishing while I am writing poetry these first few months of retirement. (And no, if you are my folks listening in, you may not come and help me throw some things away!)

    Like

    Reply
    • Wow…you do seem to have quite a bit to “contend” with! I’m a more streamlined kind of person. I don’t much like a lot of clutter and things around me that I don’t use. It’s a very personal thing it seems…whether we collect or not. But I do enjoy going through “stuff” and seeing what I’m now ready to let go of…it feels freeing to me!

      And thank you for the applause…I appreciate that!

      Like

      Reply
  13. What a wonderful poem. I’m almost afraid to look at the stuff I’ve accumulated, let alone write about it. :)

    Like

    Reply
  14. This was a great read, Gayle. :) I think most people can identify with saving things for sentimental reasons, and even the things we save that we later go, “What was I thinking?”. One of the most important things my mom ever taught me was that “Space will fill.” It will accumulate “stuff” if you’re not vigilant about what goes into it. I’m sorry about your friend but wow, hope I can live to see 102! And I’m glad that you feel “lighter” now, after having gotten rid of some of the unnecessary “stuff”.

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks, Corina. Your Mom was right…space will fill even though we may try hard to keep the “mole hill” from becoming a “mountain.” It’s almost a constant maintenance job. :)
      My friend had talked about being ready to go many years before she finally did…102 is a good run…can’t deny that! She was a dear…

      Like

      Reply
  15. Very nice … I am in the midst of major cleaning and reorganizing of bedroom and bath … I wonder — just why have I kept all of this? And, for some I have to just close my eyes and dispose. I swear I must have ADD — one scrap takes me somewhere else to somewhere else to somewhere else — EVENTUALLY — I return to the beginning!! No wonder it’s seems like forever since I started. :D Thank you for sharing!

    Like

    Reply
    • Becca, you’re still cleaning?! My goodness…you must be like a whirlwind around your house. You’ll feel so good when you get it all organized and weeded out won’t you. I asked myself the same question…why did I ever keep this…repeatedly! I’ve just done a little lately and I already feel lighter. Thanks, Becca.

      Like

      Reply
  16. Going through the detritus of our lives can be an eye-opener in a way … but then some precious momentoes are had to part with.

    I’ve been doing the same thing. I’ll tell you one thing though, I will never buy anything ever again. !!! ;-)

    A fine poem, Gayle. I like it a lot. Very human.

    Like

    Reply
    • Haha…yes, it does make us wonder if we ever need to purchase another thing. But really I do like to live pretty streamlined…I routinely get rid of “stuff” that I’m not wearing or using. It’s the paperwork that seems the worst for me. I’m glad you liked this, Jamie.

      Like

      Reply
  17. You know Gayle my own draws and cupboards are full of the same. Cards etc I still hang onto.. I have a clearing out spree every so often,, and feel pleased with myself for letting GO .. :-)

    Like

    Reply
    • Everyone seems to have one (or more) of those drawers, Sue. I always feel pleased too for letting go of yet more. So nice to see you.

      Like

      Reply
  18. It feels good to clear out and lighten up, but so hard and this poem expresses that well.

    Like

    Reply

Please share your thoughts...

Wightrabbit's Blog

Words and Pictures from my Kaboodle on The Isle of Wight

writing in north norfolk

Writer of children's literature, short stories and poetry

Lady Nyo's Weblog

A woman writer's blog with invitations to other writers

Poetry Breakfast

Beginning March 20th, 2016 Poetry Breakfast will once again serve a little poetic nourishment every morning. Start your day with our new expanded menu. Poems, of course, are our specialty. But we will also be serving a fuller menu that includes poetry related creative non-fiction such as letters to and from poets, essays on poetry, and anything else that might feed a poet and poetry lover’s soul.

Mithai Mumblezz

Thinks and again mumbles!!

findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing...

mindlovemisery

"We're all out there, somewhere, waiting to happen."

NavasolaNature

Nature needs Nurture

Whimsygizmo's Blog

poetic ponderings...parenting...procrastination...

Tao of Scrumble

A freeform way of life, love and everything

Sharp Little Pencil

Amy Barlow Liberatore... stories of lost years, wild times, mental variety, faith, and lots of jazz

silentlyheardonce

A Silent poet shouting to be heard

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

kanzen sakura

South meets East: Poetry and Musings - words of the seasons

Poems, stories, paintings and more by Sharmishtha Basu

(Agnijaat, Agnishatdal, Agnijashatadalama, Indie Adda)

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

jaywalking the moon

poetry by claudia schoenfeld

She's Writing

Poetry and Prose

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

everyday amazing

spreading good cheer, fun & love for life

Michael's Lair

Just Write WordPress.com site

Björn Rudbergs writings

Poetry and fiction by a physicist from the dark side

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

THE BeZINE

Be inspired...Be creative...Be peace...Be

bardessdmdenton - author- artist

Historical and Literary Fiction / Essays / Poetry / Reviews /Book Cover and Interior Illustrations / Pet Portraits and Other Commissioned Artwork ... "Handle a book as a bee does a flower, extract its sweetness but do not damage it.” ~ John Muir, naturalist, author, 1838 - 1914

Soul Dipper

Spirit Builder by Design

Contemplative Moorings

The official blog of unofficial author Michael Marsters.

Ramblings From A Mum

This is my journey, my thoughts, my views, plain and simple and from my heart. Please travel with me and share, hopefully it will be an interesting trip.

bwthoughts

copyright 2013 - no reuse without permission ( see bwfiction.wordpress.com for fiction and fantasy )

"On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea"

All Is One With Our Creator

MyHeartBlog

Take Control of Your Health

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Wanjiku

poetic inspiration from life's simplicity

k8edid

Mumblings of a Middle Aged Madwoman

IN MY NEXT LIFE

if I go around more than once then ...

I Rhyme Without Reason

I live in words

Soul Speak

'You may say I'm a Dreamer, but I'm not the only one' ~ John Lennon

~ Dragon's Dreams ~

Carpe Noctem Quod Tempus Fugit!

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Lafemmeroar

laughing at the malfunction of the universe is better than crying about it

Lorna's Voice

Finding ways to make words sparkle

Olivia's In- Mind Whirls..

"It's all in my mind"

dVerse

Poets Pub

Leslie White

View artwork by Leslie White

jgavinallan

The best time to love...is when it is impossible///Stories of the heart-broken/shattered and sometimes mended

