Poetical Contender

A thought inspired gives birth to form
Images follow and the pen begins to quiver
Writing flows forth with rhyming transform
Sonnet, villanelle or a couplet sliver
 
A need for expression with lyrical feel
Profound emotions in succinct detail
Straight from the heart it emerges real
From strong and savage to delicate and frail
 
Well-chosen words describe topic best
Without superfluous syllables making a mess
Supportive of getting things off of my chest
Of politics, beliefs and myriad thoughts of distress
 
Accommodating too of my love of earth’s scenery
Words take their places for describing its splendor
And of love, hate, death…life, growing and greenery
Endless, limitless…I’m a poetical contender

Google Images

Sharing this with Poets United:  Poetry Pantry # 111: http://poetryblogroll.blogspot.com/2012/08/poetry-pantry-111.html

Gay Reiser Cannon invites us to write a poem on poetry at dVerse Poets:  http://dversepoets.com/2012/07/12/poetry-on-poetry/

Previous Post
Leave a comment

63 Comments

  1. yes you are…love the rhyme scheme in this…straight from the heart it emerges real…nice…mine may take a rewrite or two but…haha…poetry makes for a great vehicle…

    Like

    Reply
    • Oh, for heaven’s sake…I spelled “emerge” wrong! Thanks for using the word here, Brian and bringing it to my attention. Geez… 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  2. A poetical contender, indeed. Some really vivid imagery and lovely lines all through this. A thought inspires, then travels to the quivering pen.. nice !

    Like

    Reply
  3. In whatever form and shape, I like that it is endless, limitless ~ Lovely share ~

    http://a-sweetlust.blogspot.ca/2012/07/like-river.html

    Like

    Reply
  4. Simply beautiful!

    Like

    Reply
  5. How about a quivering quill ‘?
    Just happened to try out a red kite feather yesterday. The sharpening is what I find hard to accomplish, but they can be nice for calligraphy, especially on handmade paper.
    I liked your generous sonnet.

    Like

    Reply
    • I’ve always been curious about quills but never have given one a try..very cool that you are using one for calligraphy, Aprille..I’ll bet it’s lovely. And thank you!

      Like

      Reply
  6. Nice detailed process and sense of victory, worthiness clearly shown. I loved thinking of a marching parade with floats–a mummers parade– at “Words take their places for describing its splendor” which reminded me that your Ars poetica does not exclude humor.
    Great!

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks so much for a very thoughtful comment..I appreciate that. And I do love a sense of humor in my poetry.

      Like

      Reply
  7. “Profound emotions in succinct detail” that’s where I feel most comfortable.

    Like

    Reply
  8. brilliant!

    Like

    Reply
  9. Splendid this. Thoroughly enjoyable!

    Like

    Reply
  10. Lyrical and lovely 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  11. Nice flow and expression of poetry’s creative process and outlet for our internal voice. I also liked the “contender” viewpoint. It made me think of a boxer fighting up the ranks, though I don’t think you have violent intent 😛

    Like

    Reply
  12. A wonderfully apt metaphor and I have to admit a soft spot for those ‘superfluous syllables’ 🙂 as polysyllabic words get me all a flutter.

    Like

    Reply
  13. Yes, poetry is a wonderful outlet… beautifully expressed!

    Like

    Reply
  14. Love the rhyme and metre

    Like

    Reply
  15. Thank you, Marousia

    Like

    Reply
  16. The rhyme and flow is so smooth and I read you loud and clear in the words and spaces!

    Like

    Reply
  17. ecology is powerful

    Like

    Reply
  18. I love it! And, yes, you are!

    Like

    Reply
  19. I so agree with every line and you write them so well. I have been fighting fatigue lately but hope to get back to more writing soon. The minute you wane your visitors seem to all but disappear. Your post is a ‘feel good’ thing to read. Thank You!

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks so much, Renee..and sorry to hear of your fatigue. I’m facing more muscle aches and pain lately…being on the computer too much makes it worse. And how right you are, if you don’t keep up with consistent posting…bye, bye blogging friends. Oh well, we do what we can, right? And I’m especially happy if this post left you feeling good…a nice bonus.

      Like

      Reply
  20. Poetic ballad here – spot on and so encompassing. I loved the way it sang and sang of singing and singing of all aspects in our life, within and without. Wonderful.

    Like

    Reply
  21. Androgoth

     /  July 16, 2012

    It is always a pleasure
    to read your work Gayle 🙂
    Have a truly awesome
    Tuesday and be good 😉

    If you want to I mean? 🙂 😉
    BTW – I like your new pic 🙂

    Androgoth XXx

    Like

    Reply
    • Haha..yeah, I’m being good. I usually mind my manners pretty well. Thanks for the lovely compliments, Androgoth…for the poem and photo…and of course for paying me a visit…always love to have you drop by. xoxo

      Like

      Reply
      • Androgoth

         /  July 17, 2012

        You know, when I wrote this I hadn’t realised that I had made an absolutely ridiculous blunder on my own Space and I apologise sincerely for my error, I can’t explain it as it is not like me to mix up with my friends like that, perhaps I really should invest in some quality reading glasses, I do have some from over the counter but rarely wear them…

        To be honest I am long sighted and only use the spectacles for close up use when reading very small print, such as ingredients on a label when shopping and such. Do have a lovely afternoon and evening Gayle and again I am really sorry for my earlier mistake…

        Androgoth XXx

        Like

        Reply
        • Please don’t feel bad…that was not my intention, Androgoth. When having to respond to so many comments, it’s quite easy to mix names up…I did not take it personally and perhaps I should have not brought it to your attention. You are a dear…thanks so much. I have to use glasses for reading and work on the computer too…I’m far-sighted like you are. 🙂

          Gayle xoxo

          Like

          Reply
          • Androgoth

             /  July 17, 2012

            I know that you were not meaning anything wrong by mentioning it but I am pleased that you told me and that I was able to call into your Space to add my apology. Yes I do comment on a lot of Spaces but I am so far behind these days that it is a wonder that anyone visits my Space. I wouldn’t blame them either as I am getting too far behind on everyone’s now and my Space is Private so no idea how everyone copes when the Spaces are open to the Internet? 😦 Hey have a lovely evening Gayle and thank you for replying to this one my great friend 🙂

            Androgoth XXx

            Like

            Reply
          • I’m behind too…I don’t know what’s happened to my posting and visiting energy…it’s sadly lacking. I’m glad you understand…you seem to be in the same boat that I am. 🙂 Enjoy your evening too…and the rest of your week. I’m glad I didn’t embarrass you. Thanks for coming by again, Androgoth. xoxo

            Like

            Reply
  22. Quite beautiful, Gayle. I would like to put this on my FB author page, as it so lyrically and truly describes what it is like to be a ‘poetical contender’ … even in prose.

    Like

    Reply
    • Well thank you, Diane. I’m flattered that you would like to share this on your author page…go ahead if you would like. It’s posted on my FB page..you could share it from there or however you prefer.

      Like

      Reply
  23. You are definitely a contender, my friend. This was simply delightful to read. As one who also has a love of words, I am sure you have a terrific time writing it, too, yes? 😉

    Like

    Reply
    • Much gratitude to you, Corina, for your sweet words…I’m glad this delighted you. 🙂 And yes, you’re right, I did have fun writing this. 😉

      Like

      Reply
  24. What a pleasure to read this. In fact I read it twice… Wonderful! … I’m sitting here chuckling with it. What fun.

    Like

    Reply
    • Well it seems especially gratifying when someone reads something you’ve written twice…unless they just can’t wrap their brains around it! 🙂 Thank you, Jamie…that’s nice.

      Like

      Reply
  25. You are a contender indeed. This poem definitely defines the poetic process very well. Poetry serves SO many purposes for the writer and hopefully brings enjoyment or enlightenment (or both) to the reader!

    Like

    Reply
  26. Contender, yes!!! Poetry can release many things. I really like this

    Like

    Reply
    • Poetry has been a really nice way for me to share feelings, ideas, etc…and thanks for being one of my readers and enjoying this…I appreciate it.

      Like

      Reply
  27. Beautiful, beautiful line—

    Like

    Reply
  28. Love the rhyming style of this! And the title is quite clever 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  1. Bloomings Are Taking Two Today | Two Voices, One Song
  2. Poetic Bloomings Begins Memoir Series | Two Voices, One Song

Please share your thoughts...

Wightrabbit's Blog

Words and Pictures from my Kaboodle on The Isle of Wight

writing in north norfolk

Writer of children's literature, short stories and poetry

Lady Nyo's Weblog

A woman writer's blog with invitations to other writers

Poetry Breakfast

Beginning March 20th, 2016 Poetry Breakfast will once again serve a little poetic nourishment every morning. Start your day with our new expanded menu. Poems, of course, are our specialty. But we will also be serving a fuller menu that includes poetry related creative non-fiction such as letters to and from poets, essays on poetry, and anything else that might feed a poet and poetry lover’s soul.

Mithai Mumblezz

Thinks and again mumbles!!

findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing...

mindlovemisery

"We're all out there, somewhere, waiting to happen."

NavasolaNature

Nature needs Nurture

Whimsygizmo's Blog

poetic ponderings...parenting...procrastination...

Tao of Scrumble

A freeform way of life, love and everything

Sharp Little Pencil

Amy Barlow Liberatore... stories of lost years, wild times, mental variety, faith, and lots of jazz

silentlyheardonce

A Silent poet shouting to be heard

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

kanzen sakura

South meets East: Poetry and Musings - words of the seasons

Poems, stories, paintings and more by Sharmishtha Basu

(Agnijaat, Agnishatdal, Agnijashatadalama, Indie Adda)

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

jaywalking the moon

poetry by claudia schoenfeld

She's Writing

Poetry and Prose

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

everyday amazing

spreading good cheer, fun & love for life

Michael's Lair

Just Write WordPress.com site

Björn Rudbergs writings

Poetry and fiction by a physicist from the dark side

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

THE BeZINE

Be inspired...Be creative...Be peace...Be

bardessdmdenton - author- artist

Historical and Literary Fiction / Essays / Poetry / Reviews /Book Cover and Interior Illustrations / Pet Portraits and Other Commissioned Artwork ... "Handle a book as a bee does a flower, extract its sweetness but do not damage it.” ~ John Muir, naturalist, author, 1838 - 1914

Soul Dipper

Spirit Builder by Design

Contemplative Moorings

The official blog of unofficial author Michael Marsters.

Ramblings From A Mum

This is my journey, my thoughts, my views, plain and simple and from my heart. Please travel with me and share, hopefully it will be an interesting trip.

bwthoughts

copyright 2013 - no reuse without permission ( see bwfiction.wordpress.com for fiction and fantasy )

"On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea"

All Is One With Our Creator

MyHeartBlog

Take Control of Your Health

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Wanjiku

poetic inspiration from life's simplicity

k8edid

Mumblings of a Middle Aged Madwoman

IN MY NEXT LIFE

if I go around more than once then ...

I Rhyme Without Reason

I live in words

Soul Speak

'You may say I'm a Dreamer, but I'm not the only one' ~ John Lennon

~ Dragon's Dreams ~

Carpe Noctem Quod Tempus Fugit!

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Lafemmeroar

laughing at the malfunction of the universe is better than crying about it

Lorna's Voice

Finding ways to make words sparkle

Olivia's In- Mind Whirls..

"It's all in my mind"

dVerse

Poets Pub

Leslie White

View artwork by Leslie White

jgavinallan

The best time to love...is when it is impossible///Stories of the heart-broken/shattered and sometimes mended

