No Lover Have I

No lover have I to claim, please nor boast
This worldly pathway alone is my stead
Feet fly lightly; I’m free to wildly coast
My mind clear of another’s wringing dread
 
Although attracted by masculine silhouette
In his heart and mind lay my discontent
No matter tall, dark, handsome or brunet
Lecturing discourse soon brings grave dissent
 
Self-centered pride..tiresome monotony
No beau of mine will seek to grieve mislead
Be gone if share not love of botany
Stiff deportment serves to stay me freed
 
Line up if you will; I’ll yield you a chance
Turn my mind with a wild, whirling romance

Shakespeare

Shakespeare (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

My first attempt at a Shakespearean Sonnet…critique welcome…I hope I had a clue..

Previous Post
Leave a comment

23 Comments

  1. It sounds Grand to me Gayle.. and Im no expert on poems… I just write from my heart and see what comes.. ITs great to try different styles though.. I have only one.. so Hats off to you.. 🙂 Sue

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks so much, Sue. I do like to try my hand at form poetry once in a while…stretches my intellect a bit…even though I may end up skewering it! A sense of humor helps, that’s for sure.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Well…I admire you attempting this form, Gayle. I have not written many of these because I find them difficult. The form is pretty structured on Shakespearean Sonnets. They have to have 14 lines (which you have) and the lines all need to be in iambic pentameter (which you don’t have). The lines go: unstressed syllable, then stressed syllable, totaling 10 – you have the ten, but the stressed syllables are off in your lines. eg.
    baBOOM / baBOOM / baBOOM / baBOOM / baBOOM.
    As an example from the Bard, Himself: “Shall I / com PARE/ thee TO / a SUM / mer’s DAY?”
    * * * * *
    Using your first line, this is how it scans: “No LOVer HAVE I to CLAIM, PLEASE nor BOAST”
    * * * * * *
    (the * = stressed, since I’m not good at making the diacritic marks in typing)
    You got the rhyme scheme down, and there is sort of a “resolution” with the end couplet, so that part is also successful, although it might be even better if the woman in question fell madly in love at the end (more resolution, less “possibility”, if that makes sense).

    Anyway, I mean no offense, and am no expert. You asked for critique, so these are just my two cents. I think you have the basics, just work on the iambic pentameter stressed and unstressed. You didn’t “skewer” it, which says a LOT in your favor – most attempts I see (and those I have tried, myself) end up MUCH worse than this. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks so much for your help, Corina! Very kind of you to go into such detail for my benefit. I did ask and I’m very grateful to you. Ok so my stresses are landing on the wrong syllable..I can work on that. I’ve never studied writing poetry and mostly try and self-teach myself..but have shied away from the iambic pentameter because I really didn’t understand it. Nor do I understand when “feet” are mentioned..and so much more for that matter. It’s like a foreign language to me but I’m willing to learn…I want to know how to do it! Thanks again, my friend…I appreciate your help immensely! xoxo

      Like

      Reply
  3. And of course WordPress screwed up my attempts at showing the stressed syllables with the * astericks. Ugh. Don’t you love formatting? lol

    Like

    Reply
  4. Wow, I just learned a lot from that comment. It’s yet another reason why I dread forms! I applaud your trying your hand at the sonnet, Gayle. Even the title has that feel of the Elizabethan period! No lover have I… there’s a song that starts, “I Had Myself A True Love,” and Streisand’s version ROCKS. Check it out!

    I guess I’ll be free verse til I die… or bop… or become a haiku honey (that last, nah, don’t think so!). Peace, Amy

    Like

    Reply
    • Well maybe we can both venture into the dreaded iambic pentameter waters together, Amy! I did try and give it an old world feel…thanks for your support and sharing that song with me..I think I know the one you’re talking about..I’ll look it up on Youtube.

      Like

      Reply
  5. No matter that it’s not quite a Shakespearean sonnet, Gayle, i really enjoyed it because I so relate (am much in the same place on the poem’s ‘message’). I don’t try specific forms very often either…but it is fun to experiment and always to learn something!

    Like

    Reply
    • Well thanks for that, Diane..and glad you enjoyed it too. I did like writing it and perhaps I can work on tweaking it a bit and make it become what it’s supposed to be. Anyway, I do like to try and write the “old world” sounding types of form.

      Like

      Reply
  6. So much fun to play around with such, isn’t it?

    See your comment above: we are constantly tweaking … even the Bard must have done that.

    Like

    Reply
    • Now, I know I replied here to your comment previously..but where did it go?! Yes, it is fun to play around..and it helps to have a sense of humor and not take this all too seriously..at least for me. And yes, I’m sure the Bard himself had to do plenty of tweaking!

      Like

      Reply
  7. Bodhirose, i noticed you in David’s blog and wondering would you like to join other authors in my poetry blog, you could visit below, Harry.

    http://poetscornerblog.wordpress.com/

    Like

    Reply
    • Hi Harry, I believe I’ve seen you comment on our friend Lorna’s blog as well. I think I would like to join your poetry blog. My name is Gayle, the name of my blog is Bodhirose’s Blog and here is a link: https://bodhirose.wordpress.com. I’ll leave you a message on your blog too. Also, let me know how to participate and if you need any other info. Thanks, Harry…I appreciate the invitation!

      Like

      Reply
  8. Thanks Gayle, you can start posting any time, Harry.

    Like

    Reply
  9. Gayle, which city / country are you from, its for the authors page.

    Like

    Reply
  10. You can start, your in the authors page already 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  11. Gayle thanks for posting. On tags, all tags should be woods contained in the post, if i wrote a poem about a car and tagged it crash the poem would not be found by a search.

    Like

    Reply

Please share your thoughts...

Wightrabbit's Blog

Words and Pictures from my Kaboodle on The Isle of Wight

writing in north norfolk

Writer of children's literature, short stories and poetry

Lady Nyo's Weblog

A woman writer's blog with invitations to other writers

Poetry Breakfast

Beginning March 20th, 2016 Poetry Breakfast will once again serve a little poetic nourishment every morning. Start your day with our new expanded menu. Poems, of course, are our specialty. But we will also be serving a fuller menu that includes poetry related creative non-fiction such as letters to and from poets, essays on poetry, and anything else that might feed a poet and poetry lover’s soul.

Mithai Mumblezz

Thinks and again mumbles!!

findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing...

mindlovemisery

"We're all out there, somewhere, waiting to happen."

NavasolaNature

Nature needs Nurture

Whimsygizmo's Blog

poetic ponderings...parenting...procrastination...

Tao of Scrumble

A freeform way of life, love and everything

Sharp Little Pencil

Amy Barlow Liberatore... stories of lost years, wild times, mental variety, faith, and lots of jazz

silentlyheardonce

A Silent poet shouting to be heard

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

kanzen sakura

South meets East: Poetry and Musings - words of the seasons

Poems, stories, paintings and more by Sharmishtha Basu

(Agnijaat, Agnishatdal, Agnijashatadalama, Indie Adda)

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

jaywalking the moon

poetry by claudia schoenfeld

She's Writing

Poetry and Prose

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

everyday amazing

spreading good cheer, fun & love for life

Michael's Lair

Just Write WordPress.com site

Björn Rudbergs writings

Poetry and fiction by a physicist from the dark side

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

THE BeZINE

Be inspired...Be creative...Be peace...Be

bardessdmdenton - author- artist

Historical and Literary Fiction / Essays / Poetry / Reviews /Book Cover and Interior Illustrations / Pet Portraits and Other Commissioned Artwork ... "Life can't ever really defeat a writer who is in love with writing, for life itself is a writer's lover until death - fascinating, cruel, lavish, warm, cold, treacherous, constant." ~ Edna Ferber, 1885-1968, American novelist, short story writer and playwright

Soul Dipper

Spirit Builder by Design

Contemplative Moorings

The official blog of unofficial author Michael Marsters.

Ramblings From A Mum

This is my journey, my thoughts, my views, plain and simple and from my heart. Please travel with me and share, hopefully it will be an interesting trip.

bwthoughts

copyright 2013 - no reuse without permission ( see bwfiction.wordpress.com for fiction and fantasy )

"On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea"

All Is One With Our Creator

MyHeartBlog

Take Control of Your Health

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Wanjiku

poetic inspiration from life's simplicity

k8edid

Mumblings of a Middle Aged Madwoman

IN MY NEXT LIFE

if I go around more than once then ...

I Rhyme Without Reason

I live in words

Soul Speak

'You may say I'm a Dreamer, but I'm not the only one' ~ John Lennon

~ Dragon's Dreams ~

Carpe Noctem Quod Tempus Fugit!

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Lafemmeroar

laughing at the malfunction of the universe is better than crying about it

Lorna's Voice

Finding ways to make words sparkle

Olivia's In- Mind Whirls..

"It's all in my mind"

dVerse

Poets Pub

Leslie White

View artwork by Leslie White

jgavinallan

The best time to love...is when it is impossible///Stories of the heart-broken/shattered and sometimes mended

