Flash and Bull

I bit off more than I could chew
when I met you.  Your syrupy
tongue soon turned harsh and bitter.
I give up, you’ve won,
now let me walk away clean.
I should have known;
you were too good to be true.

All flash and bull
you caught my attention
but I fault myself
for being reeled.
You were out there
fishing with smooth,
cold cunning.  I was
naïve and trusting,
didn’t see the hook coming. 

Outward appearance
all cool and fun
but in the eleventh
hour, I cut and run.

Mean and high-handed,
but held me to blame,
your delusional rants
brought me shame.
Cutting me down,
(I fell to my knees),
planting doubts,
creating destruction. 

Your madness a loose cannon,
unchecked, unstable.
I’m no longer willing,
to be your mark,
my turning back is the end of this story.

It’s all about you.
It’s all about you. 

I bit off more than I could chew
when I met you.  Your syrupy
tongue soon turned harsh and bitter.
I give up, you’ve won,
now let me walk away clean.
I should have known;
you were too good to be true.

Packing up my splintered but mending heart…
I’m keeping it safe from the likes of you.
Sometimes we need to know
when to close an open door.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. Androgoth

     /  May 18, 2012

    A very good posting Gayle
    I hope that you are having
    a much better May than it
    is here in the UK 😦

    Cold wet and horrible it is 😦 lol
    Okay grab a hot water bottle, a
    fluffy dressing gown, a skeletons
    hand, nooooo he can stay out
    there, and I will pour you a nice
    glass of the Red stuff 🙂 🙂

    Have a very happy weekend Gayle 😉

    Androgoth XXx

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks so much. Perhaps I’m slowly getting back into the writing game again…no promises though. 🙂 It’s the opposite here in Florida…hot, hot and more hot…also beginnings of some afternoon showers which really help to cool things off. Not even summer quite yet and we’ve already hit 90 degrees F! I do like getting cozy when the weather is chilly…a skeleton’s hand, huh???

      Have a wonderful weekend, Androgoth! xoxo

      Like

      Reply
      • Androgoth

         /  May 22, 2012

        Hey it was a very hot day today and the same is forecast
        for tomorrow so how about that for a nice turn around? 🙂
        i do hope that you are enjoying your return to posting my
        great friend, and you always have something exquisitely
        fine to add here in your Space so you have been missed 🙂

        Be well Gayle and have a lovely day today 🙂

        Androgoth XXx

        Like

        Reply
        • Well now it’s a couple of days later…maybe the weather’s back to being cold and drizzley again..hope not though. Yes, I’m enjoying my posting again and so glad you are enjoying them too..thank you!

          Like

          Reply
  2. A poem of strength and determination, Gayle – insightful and true to my own past experience. Encouraging and hopeful – make a clean break, walk away, don’t look back and preserve your trusting heart for one who deserves it!

    Like

    Reply
    • Yes, it does sometimes take a lot of strength to walk away…but how rewarding when you finally realize it’s the best thing for you. Aaaah… I’m glad it’s a “past” experience with you too!

      Like

      Reply
  3. Bad encounters and friends who turn can only cause one to be wary, especially of those that are “too good to be true”. Painful is the lost. Felt this piece.

    Like

    Reply
    • Yes, best run if someone seems “too good to be true!” My pain was more when I was with the person….after I left there was mostly a huge sigh of relief. 🙂 Thanks for coming by, Ravenblack.

      Like

      Reply
  4. this has a very interesting lyrical quality to it….the repetition works well…i agree with rabbit, its hard but there are def times we have to preserve ourselves…

    Like

    Reply
    • When I was writing this, it almost felt like I was writing a song…this was a new experience for me. Thanks, Brian…yes, first and foremost we must preserve ourselves.

      Like

      Reply
  5. Been there. Ouch.

    Like

    Reply
  6. ‘Sometimes we need to know
    when to close an open door.’

    Absolutely, Gayle. When one door closes….even if we do it ourselves!

    Like

    Reply
  7. That last line really says it all, although the entire piece resonates. So glad you made the choice to get away from that toxicity! The lessons are painful, but at least now you can see the red flags before getting involved. Narcissists are such assholes.

    Like

    Reply
    • Oh, they’re the worst…impossible to have a relationship with them…on any level.

      Repeat of above response: It took me so long to figure that out! 🙂

      Like

      Reply

Please share your thoughts...

Wightrabbit's Blog

Words and Pictures from my Kaboodle on The Isle of Wight

writing in north norfolk

Writer of children's literature, short stories and poetry

Lady Nyo's Weblog

A woman writer's blog with invitations to other writers

Poetry Breakfast

Beginning March 20th, 2016 Poetry Breakfast will once again serve a little poetic nourishment every morning. Start your day with our new expanded menu. Poems, of course, are our specialty. But we will also be serving a fuller menu that includes poetry related creative non-fiction such as letters to and from poets, essays on poetry, and anything else that might feed a poet and poetry lover’s soul.

Mithai Mumblezz

Thinks and again mumbles!!

findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing...

mindlovemisery

"We're all out there, somewhere, waiting to happen."

NavasolaNature

Nature needs Nurture

Whimsygizmo's Blog

poetic ponderings...parenting...procrastination...

Tao of Scrumble

A freeform way of life, love and everything

Sharp Little Pencil

Amy Barlow Liberatore... stories of lost years, wild times, mental variety, faith, and lots of jazz

silentlyheardonce

A Silent poet shouting to be heard

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

kanzen sakura

South meets East: Poetry and Musings - words of the seasons

Poems, stories, paintings and more by Sharmishtha Basu

(Agnijaat, Agnishatdal, Agnijashatadalama, Indie Adda)

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

jaywalking the moon

poetry by claudia schoenfeld

She's Writing

Poetry and Prose

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

everyday amazing

spreading good cheer, fun & love for life

Michael's Lair

Just Write WordPress.com site

Björn Rudbergs writings

Poetry and fiction by a physicist from the dark side

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

THE BeZINE

Be inspired...Be creative...Be peace...Be

bardessdmdenton - author- artist

Historical and Literary Fiction / Essays / Poetry / Reviews /Book Cover and Interior Illustrations / Pet Portraits and Other Commissioned Artwork ... "Handle a book as a bee does a flower, extract its sweetness but do not damage it.” ~ John Muir, naturalist, author, 1838 - 1914

Soul Dipper

Spirit Builder by Design

Contemplative Moorings

The official blog of unofficial author Michael Marsters.

Ramblings From A Mum

This is my journey, my thoughts, my views, plain and simple and from my heart. Please travel with me and share, hopefully it will be an interesting trip.

bwthoughts

copyright 2013 - no reuse without permission ( see bwfiction.wordpress.com for fiction and fantasy )

"On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea"

All Is One With Our Creator

MyHeartBlog

Take Control of Your Health

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Wanjiku

poetic inspiration from life's simplicity

k8edid

Mumblings of a Middle Aged Madwoman

IN MY NEXT LIFE

if I go around more than once then ...

I Rhyme Without Reason

I live in words

Soul Speak

'You may say I'm a Dreamer, but I'm not the only one' ~ John Lennon

~ Dragon's Dreams ~

Carpe Noctem Quod Tempus Fugit!

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Lafemmeroar

laughing at the malfunction of the universe is better than crying about it

Lorna's Voice

Finding ways to make words sparkle

Olivia's In- Mind Whirls..

"It's all in my mind"

dVerse

Poets Pub

Leslie White

View artwork by Leslie White

jgavinallan

The best time to love...is when it is impossible///Stories of the heart-broken/shattered and sometimes mended

