Frenemies

skitter, scatter
run for your lives

you’re all alone
anyway…
lies, lies, lies

beware what
surrounds you
and whispers
in your ear

the bogeyman
is lurking
right by your side

innocence wavers
as confusion
sets forth

led down
a path that
is murky with filth

you want to
believe but
you know
you can’t

lifetime
diminished
by sugar-
coated sleek

far-reaching
tentacles
shroud your
eyes

one misstep
this way
and you’ll
be
consumed
by
the
frenemy

Political musings for Meeting the Bar on dVerse Poets:  Allegory  http://dversepoets.com/2012/04/26/dverse-poets-pub-meeting-the-bar-allegory/

Previous Post
Leave a comment

40 Comments

  1. I love that you gave them tentacles, nicely done.

    Like

    Reply
  2. they are out there…and def beware the whispers, they are insideous…sucks too when the close ones stick you…takes a bit of your heart on the end of their knives…

    Like

    Reply
  3. Gayle, I’m so glad to see you here. This reads like a very timely poem, to me. It’s going to be an interesting few months….arrrgh. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    Reply
    • Nice to have you visit too, Victoria. The past few years, I seem to have become aware of more and more of the ugliness of politicians and their disguises…does not sit well with me!

      Like

      Reply
  4. ugh…so hard when the real enemies are the friends…those you trust most..

    Like

    Reply
  5. rosemary mint

     /  April 27, 2012

    Nice: “lifetime diminished by sugar-coated sleek”

    Like

    Reply
  6. Yes Gayle, I have had one or two of those same Frenemies.. With knives at the ready.. but its aways turned around on them.. What goes around comes around my friend..
    Lovely to read your poem, Hope you have a relaxing weekend.. Hugs to you.. Sue x

    Like

    Reply
    • I totally believe in what you put forth will come back to you…that knowledge doesn’t always soothe my hurt though. So nice to have you come by, Sue…thank you. I had taken a breather from my blog for awhile.

      Enjoy your weekend as well. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  7. Interesting viewpoint, excellent treatment! I actually do feel tension in my stomach and revulsion for the odious two-faced creatures your words conjure up – so well done! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • There seems to be a heavy onslaught of them in our politicians…makes me sad…and mad! Definitely gets my blood boiling…. Thanks for coming by!

      Like

      Reply
  8. A warning well expressed. That’s what really happens: they whisper in your ear, and are good at sowing discord, and you’re led down a dark road by this so-called friend, indeed somewhat like being blindsided. Suddenly it’s just you and this creature.

    Nice to see a poem from you after quite some time.

    Like

    Reply
  9. I’ve been betrayed by several friends who turned out to be anything but. You describe the pain and resulting suspicion quite well. Lead me to believe you have some experience in this department…

    Like

    Reply
    • It’s a very painful situation for sure. I think most people have been taken advantage in this way…our government is setting a very bad example in this department.

      Like

      Reply
  10. “by sugar-
    coated sleek” love that. Thanks for the warning. (looks over shoulder)

    Like

    Reply
  11. Nicely done! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  12. Have to watch out for those who might befriend us but only for their own purposes. I like the biting satire in many of the lines. You skewer so many foibles nicely!

    Like

    Reply
  13. Sometimes exercising caution is the best thing. You have certainly captured irony here too. Well written.

    Like

    Reply
  14. It’s good to see you back, Gayle. I know how it is to need a blogging break and hope that yours was enough for you, as I miss your posts! 🙂 As for the frenemies, you’re soooo right about them being everywhere in govt. – two-faced, talking out of two sides of their mouths, lies, deceptions, smoke and mirrors…it’s hard to know whom to believe. Discernment and awareness, and always look at sources and any possible “spin” or agendas…it doesn’t always work, but it sure beats a knife in the back, eh? Or, in the case of politicians, casting your vote only to realize you were duped…

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks, Corina, for taking note of my absence. 🙂 I’m not quite sure if I’m quite back all the way or not…I’ll see how it goes. I’ve gotten so suspicious of all politicians…you definitely know where I’m coming from! I’m so turned off by all the rhetoric…somehow we’ve got to take back our power from them.

      Like

      Reply
  15. Oh my – so many thoughts about this but a great many have been said. I will say what I believe – you are soooo very, very talented in everything you write. I have missed visiting but am back from my vaca and ready to catch up. It was nice to be without internet service. It was a real awakening to see how much it is a part of our lives. Glad to see you are still blogging away, Gayle.
    Hugs,
    Izzy xoxox

    Like

    Reply
    • Well, welcome home, Izzy. I’ve actually taken a break from my blog lately too. This was the first posting in a long while and I still don’t feel “back” yet! 🙂 We’ll see how it goes.

      Hugs and smiles!

      Like

      Reply
  16. Androgoth

     /  April 30, 2012

    A very nice posting Gayle 🙂
    I hope that you are enjoying
    yourself my great friend 🙂 😉

    Androgoth XXx

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks so much, Androgoth. There’s a certain sense of freedom to not being “shackled” to the old blog day in and day out! 🙂 But I sure do appreciate you still coming by and checking in on me…what a sweetheart you are… xoxo

      Like

      Reply
  17. Beautifully done!

    Like

    Reply
  18. Perhaps politicians, etc reflect what is far too acceptable generally…even encouraged to get ahead no matter what. That being said, there is hope as I’ve found, in those who prefer truth over lies, compassion over self-aggrandizement.

    I like the bite in this, Gayle!

    Like

    Reply
    • You are so right…I think they do reflect popular thinking and behavior. Gosh that makes me shudder to think of it… And there are many of us who do prefer truth over lies…if we band together and make a strong alliance, we just might bring about the change we want/need to see.

      Thanks so much for sharing your views with me…I value your opinion! xo

      Like

      Reply
  19. Creative and well articulated. I like

    Like

    Reply
  20. very imaginative!! :0

    don quixote limerick

    Like

    Reply
  21. Androgoth

     /  May 13, 2012

    Have a really lovely
    start to your week Gayle 🙂 😉

    I hope that you are enjoying
    your time away from the computer 🙂

    Be very well dear 🙂

    Androgoth XXx

    Like

    Reply

Please share your thoughts...

Wightrabbit

Words and Pictures from The Isle of Wight

writing in north norfolk

Writer of children's literature, short stories and poetry

Lady Nyo's Weblog

A woman writer's blog with invitations to other writers

Poetry Breakfast

Beginning March 20th, 2016 Poetry Breakfast will once again serve a little poetic nourishment every morning. Start your day with our new expanded menu. Poems, of course, are our specialty. But we will also be serving a fuller menu that includes poetry related creative non-fiction such as letters to and from poets, essays on poetry, and anything else that might feed a poet and poetry lover’s soul.

Mithai Mumblezz

Thinks and again mumbles!!

findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing...

mindlovemisery

"We're all out there, somewhere, waiting to happen."

NavasolaNature

Nature needs Nurture

Whimsygizmo's Blog

poetic ponderings...parenting...procrastination...

Tao of Scrumble

A freeform way of life, love and everything

Tournesol dans un Jardin - Waka

Haiku * Troiku * Micropoetry

Sharp Little Pencil

Amy Barlow Liberatore... stories of lost years, wild times, mental variety, faith, and lots of jazz

silentlyheardonce

A Silent poet shouting to be heard

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

kanzen sakura

South meets East: Poetry and Musings - words of the seasons

Poems, stories, paintings and more by Sharmishtha Basu

(Agnijaat, Agnishatdal, Agnijashatadalama, Indie Adda)

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

jaywalking the moon

poetry by claudia schoenfeld

She's Writing

Poetry and Prose

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

everyday amazing

spreading good cheer, fun & love for life

Michael's Lair

Just Write WordPress.com site

Björn Rudbergs writings

Poetry and fiction by a physicist from the dark side

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

THE BeZINE

Be inspired...Be creative...Be peace...Be

bardessdmdenton - author- artist

Historical and Literary Fiction / Essays / Poetry / Reviews /Book Cover and Interior Illustrations / Pet Portraits and Other Commissioned Artwork ... "Life can't ever really defeat a writer who is in love with writing, for life itself is a writer's lover until death - fascinating, cruel, lavish, warm, cold, treacherous, constant." ~ Edna Ferber, 1885-1968, American novelist, short story writer and playwright

Soul Dipper

Spirit Builder by Design

Contemplative Moorings

The official blog of unofficial author Michael Marsters.

Ramblings From A Mum

This is my journey, my thoughts, my views, plain and simple and from my heart. Please travel with me and share, hopefully it will be an interesting trip.

bwthoughts

copyright 2013 - no reuse without permission ( see bwfiction.wordpress.com for fiction and fantasy )

"On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea"

All Is One With Our Creator

MyHeartBlog

Take Control of Your Health

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Wanjiku

poetic inspiration from life's simplicity

k8edid

Mumblings of a Middle Aged Madwoman

IN MY NEXT LIFE

if I go around more than once then ...

I Rhyme Without Reason

I live in words

Soul Speak

'You may say I'm a Dreamer, but I'm not the only one' ~ John Lennon

~ Dragon's Dreams ~

Carpe Noctem Quod Tempus Fugit!

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Lafemmeroar

laughing at the malfunction of the universe is better than crying about it

Lorna's Voice

Finding ways to make words sparkle

Olivia's In- Mind Whirls..

"It's all in my mind"

dVerse

Poets Pub

Leslie White

View artwork by Leslie White

jgavinallan

The best time to love...is when it is impossible///Stories of the heart-broken/shattered and sometimes mended

