Despair

Moldering now
as my soul
goes dark,
no light shines
here, all is
empty and stark.
No frivolous fun
(or smile)
brightens my face,
feelings of joy
have seeped
down a crevasse.

Utter despair
has taken
its toll, ravaged
me bleak and
slashed my
whole.  Fear
and quaking
fill my days
as no hope
arrives to ease
this aching.

Abject loneliness
has wrung me
weak–pale
and spent
no one seeks.
Entirely devoid
of sweetness
and care, no
one sees this
walking nightmare.

Photo:  Google Images

dVerse Poetics:  Nightmare Verse http://dversepoets.com/2012/03/31/poetics-nightmare-verse/#comments

Leave a comment

39 Comments

  1. Hi Gayle, I hope this isnt how you are feeling.. ?.. but your words here send my heart out to anyone who is feeling such deep Despair..
    Your words capture such Deep hurt and loneliness… and so deep do they echo I felt them within my own heart as the sadness spilled onto the page…

    A very emotional poem… brilliant in its capturing the meaning of Despair..
    Sending you Blessings and A Hug ~Sue xxx

    Like

    Reply
    • Hi Sue…no not me just the topic of nightmares over there at dVerse…pretty nightmarish place to be. I have been there though and wondered if I would ever smile again. I wouldn’t wish that pain on anyone.

      Thanks for the generous review…I’m glad the feeling was conveyed clearly.

      Peace and hugs,
      Gayle xo

      Like

      Reply
  2. whew…the loneliness is the palpable…and the despair….def an evocative one…empty is a word that comes to mind….

    Like

    Reply
  3. Bleak, bleak, bleak- I love it – as you can probably tell I’m a lover of poetry that is spilled straight forom the guts, and this definately feels like it. There isn’t an ounce of light in this piece – it is dense, claustrophobic and relentless. I sincerely hope you aren’t feeling like this right now- and that maybe this is a write about past feelings. either way- my heart goes out to you – I’ve been in this place- still go back their from time to time- but I firmly believe that words and poetry are healing, almost medicinal. Thank you for bravely sharing this…I think the picture you put with I suited it perfectly.

    Like

    Reply
    • No, I’m not feeling this way now but I have felt depression and anxiety and the alienation that they bring. It still does me good to let those feelings be expressed…I don’t seem to have a hard time expressing them. And, like you, I can still return to those feelings on occasion…yet not as bleak as they once had been.

      Thank you, Stu for a very interesting prompt to get people to tap into their dark sides in some form or fashion…we all have them…right? 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  4. This is a walking nightmare…to be devoid of light, joy and love ~

    Hope all is well with you ~

    Like

    Reply
    • Yes it is…such a lonely place to be. I’m doing well…life has interrupted my play here recently but so be it! Thank you, Heaven…I appreciate that.

      Like

      Reply
  5. You’ve captured the agonizing loneliness of depression so well!

    Like

    Reply
  6. strong stuff. Evocative and certainly nighhtmarish

    Like

    Reply
  7. No one sees or no one wants to see. It’s tough even to be kind to oneself when one is like that sometimes, that’s what I observed. A heartwrenching write.

    Like

    Reply
    • You’re so right…it seems to bring a fear up in people when they witness someone suffering in this way. Too bad about that. Thanks for coming by.

      Like

      Reply
  8. You portray overwhelming bleakness and deep despair so eloquently, in this piece, Gayle. The use of short lines and the image of the wraith-like weeping willow, add to the feeling of insubstantiality, haltingly expressed. Powerful poetry!

    Like

    Reply
  9. Nightmarish indeed. Good job!

    Like

    Reply
  10. To have no hope is the worst feeling of all. I’ve been there too – and your words have captured the bleak emptiness of it so well.

    Like

    Reply
    • I would agree…so devoid of all peace and happiness. I hope these feelings are well into the past, Tony…thanks for sharing.

      Like

      Reply
  11. Well, if a truly depressed person could find the wherewithal to write a poem, it would have the feel of this one. Wow, this one was bleak.

    Like

    Reply
  12. true, nightmares are devoid of sweetness, but we can get it back when we wake up.

    semantic feeling

    Like

    Reply
    • Yes, sleeping nightmares are easier coped with once we awaken….it’s our waking nightmares that can be the extreme challenge.

      Like

      Reply
  13. hobgoblin2011

     /  April 2, 2012

    Really like how each stanza has an entirely different feel in the way I read it. The last is absolutely fantastic with this cool little rhyme scheme in there. Great atmosphere built up as well. Terrific use of the prompt. All this made for an enjoyable read. Thanks

    Like

    Reply
  14. Excellent picture choice to go with your words. I can tell that they came from the soul and heart. Only one who has lived through it and come out the other side can draw on that kind of depth. I’m glad you’re not there now, as I agree that it is one of the most hellish places to be. xox

    Like

    Reply
  15. Androgoth

     /  April 2, 2012

    Your dark edge to poetry is definitely a wicked treat,
    well you know how I like a dark posting Gayle, and
    this one has no Vampires in it either, but that doesn’t
    stop me from admiring your versatility in writing your
    poems, which is always excellent 🙂

    Have a lovely rest of evening now and be wicked 😉

    Androgoth XXx

    Like

    Reply
    • You are so very generous with sharing your thoughts with me on my writing. I really appreciate the kindness you give, Androgoth. Thank you.

      Enjoy your evening! 🙂

      Like

      Reply
      • Androgoth

         /  April 3, 2012

        I will always tell you the truth Gayle, as anything else would not be right and besides you really are a very talented writer…

        I am sure that everyone that visits your Space instinctively knows that from the very first reading of your fine work 🙂 Believe me you are brilliant my great friend and I always enjoy your poems, stories and… Well everything really 🙂

        Have a lovely evening now and be good too 🙂

        Androgoth XXx

        Like

        Reply
        • I’m so grateful for the wonderful compliment you have paid me, Androgoth and am very happy you have enjoyed my writing…your words mean a lot to me.

          Thanks so much my friend…enjoy your evening too. 🙂 xo

          Like

          Reply
          • Androgoth

             /  April 4, 2012

            You are very welcome Gayle and I must try catching up with your wonderful postings, I am behind with everyone at the moment my great friend but when I do call by I always know that it will be an adventure worth savouring as you always write with such finesse 🙂

            The word excellent describes your abilities much better I think 🙂 Have a lovely rest of evening Gayle 🙂

            Androgoth XXx

            Like

            Reply
  16. For much of my years as a young woman I dealt with depression and am fortunate now to only have some ‘blue’ times but not the cloud that clung to me every day and for that I am grateful. Thanks for the post.

    Like

    Reply
    • I’ve dealt with those feelings too, Renee, off and on throughout my life…anxiety and panic joins in as well. I’m glad to hear that you aren’t experiencing those very low, bleak times any longer. I wouldn’t wish that agony on anyone.

      Like

      Reply
  17. I have dealt with deep depression too, Gayle, and often to explore it is to discover its remedy. This is quite dark but very well done! Hope you feeling brighter on this day–May day–as I write this. Blessings!

    Like

    Reply
  18. Thanks for sharing your personal experience with me. I’ve done a lot of exploring and have discovered much of what causes this pain in me….it is helpful to know somehow. I’m not in this dark place at this time…getting divorced years ago helped immensely! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  1. •ρ• Never Missed « Reflections on Reality

Please share your thoughts...

Wightrabbit

Words and Pictures from The Isle of Wight

writing in north norfolk

Writer of children's literature, short stories and poetry

Lady Nyo's Weblog

A woman writer's blog with invitations to other writers

Poetry Breakfast

Beginning March 20th, 2016 Poetry Breakfast will once again serve a little poetic nourishment every morning. Start your day with our new expanded menu. Poems, of course, are our specialty. But we will also be serving a fuller menu that includes poetry related creative non-fiction such as letters to and from poets, essays on poetry, and anything else that might feed a poet and poetry lover’s soul.

Mithai Mumblezz

Thinks and again mumbles!!

findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing...

mindlovemisery

"We're all out there, somewhere, waiting to happen."

NavasolaNature

Nature needs Nurture

Whimsygizmo's Blog

poetic ponderings...parenting...procrastination...

Tao of Scrumble

A freeform way of life, love and everything

Sharp Little Pencil

Amy Barlow Liberatore... stories of lost years, wild times, mental variety, faith, and lots of jazz

silentlyheardonce

A Silent poet shouting to be heard

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

kanzen sakura

South meets East: Poetry and Musings - words of the seasons

Poems, stories, paintings and more by Sharmishtha Basu

(Agnijaat, Agnishatdal, Agnijashatadalama, Indie Adda)

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

jaywalking the moon

poetry by claudia schoenfeld

She's Writing

Poetry and Prose

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

everyday amazing

spreading good cheer, fun & love for life

Michael's Lair

Just Write WordPress.com site

Björn Rudbergs writings

Poetry and fiction by a physicist from the dark side

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

THE BeZINE

Be inspired...Be creative...Be peace...Be

bardessdmdenton - author- artist

Historical and Literary Fiction / Essays / Poetry / Reviews /Book Cover and Interior Illustrations / Pet Portraits and Other Commissioned Artwork ... "Life can't ever really defeat a writer who is in love with writing, for life itself is a writer's lover until death - fascinating, cruel, lavish, warm, cold, treacherous, constant." ~ Edna Ferber, 1885-1968, American novelist, short story writer and playwright

Soul Dipper

Spirit Builder by Design

Contemplative Moorings

The official blog of unofficial author Michael Marsters.

Ramblings From A Mum

This is my journey, my thoughts, my views, plain and simple and from my heart. Please travel with me and share, hopefully it will be an interesting trip.

bwthoughts

copyright 2013 - no reuse without permission ( see bwfiction.wordpress.com for fiction and fantasy )

"On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea"

All Is One With Our Creator

MyHeartBlog

Take Control of Your Health

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Wanjiku

poetic inspiration from life's simplicity

k8edid

Mumblings of a Middle Aged Madwoman

IN MY NEXT LIFE

if I go around more than once then ...

I Rhyme Without Reason

I live in words

Soul Speak

'You may say I'm a Dreamer, but I'm not the only one' ~ John Lennon

~ Dragon's Dreams ~

Carpe Noctem Quod Tempus Fugit!

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Lafemmeroar

laughing at the malfunction of the universe is better than crying about it

Lorna's Voice

Finding ways to make words sparkle

Olivia's In- Mind Whirls..

"It's all in my mind"

dVerse

Poets Pub

Leslie White

View artwork by Leslie White

jgavinallan

The best time to love...is when it is impossible///Stories of the heart-broken/shattered and sometimes mended

