Travels In My Mind (an Acrostic)

Taking the first thought out, I go with it as far as I’m able–winging amongst the ethers;
Reminding myself that there are no unauthorized areas that I’m unable to explore.
Asleep, I astral travel, unfettered by time or space.
Veering off into the causal planes, I visit the highest spiritual spheres where Masters of
Everything reside continuing their teachings and assisting all beings to merge in love.

Love or peace, that place within that holds the space of everlasting pure tranquility.
Senses expand and dissolve as I move beyond the confines of the ego.

It dwells inside, our Buddha nature, as the world spins around us in chaos and anarchy;
Nothing can disturb its stability and steadfast oneness and my mind rests in this truth.

Many paths we can journey.  Take your pick–mix them up–enjoy the ride.
You’re in command of your flow’s direction.

Moving at the speed of light, I project my way to higher realms and see what IS.
Immobile I sit in this space while my mind’s intention moves me away from my body.
Nothing inhibits me, nothing obscures my sight.   I merge with the sound current and
Delight in the truth, the light, the love, the peaceful perfection of the no-self.

PD - artwork. Illustration from Chinese book o...

Image via Wikipedia

My entry for dVerse Poets:   http://dversepoets.com/2011/11/15/open-link-night-week-18/  Open Link Night

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

32 Comments

  1. I wish I could achieve this state! It sounds wonderful.

    Like

    Reply
  2. I can go deep and get a bit close to this but, it takes a lot of time and practice and most of all patience to simply not think of a thing. Almost impossible in this day and age.
    Lovely!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Such a state to achieve would be quite interesting, but it would prob take a ton of work, great verse.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Tino

     /  November 15, 2011

    I have been toying with Acrostics recently, but none are a patch on this.
    Astral travel is one fantastic experience. When I smoked [herb] it came easily, since I quit, I cannot reach it at all. I come close, listening to music sometimes.
    Loved reading this, right up my street [ageing hippy 😉 ]

    Like

    Reply
    • I’ve always been fascinated with the experience of astral travel and have known of some who have “traveled” this way. Smoking “herb” allowed me some really amazing experiences and music too has had the ability to help me “transcend”.

      I’m an aging hippie too! I remember those days fondly. 🙂

      Thanks for sharing, Tino.

      Like

      Reply
  5. I like the idea of astral travelling and making the journey to see the light… hopefully we get to see the wisdom that we hold the keys of our journey in our hands ~

    Like

    Reply
    • I do too. Yes, we hold the wisdom within ourselves–that’s what is so very cool–it’s all our choice and in our hands. Thanks for sharing with me, Heaven.

      Like

      Reply
  6. first the verse is just fascinating to me…what you did with the acrostic is very nice and does not take away from what you are trying to convey..second how cool would this be…i wanna get there…

    Like

    Reply
  7. Never written in this manner before and this is very nicely done, Gayle. I have an eclectic belief system and many of these beliefs are those which I have, amongst others.

    Like

    Reply
    • This is my second acrostic–thank you, Renee.

      I too have a very eclectic belief system. It’s thrilling to me to know of these possibilities. Thank you for sharing with me.

      Like

      Reply
  8. Oh, how I wish I could experience such state of mind, out of curiosity, just to see if it’s possible to reach peace and freedom of your mind and to still remain who I truly am … Lovely Gayle! Thanks for this delight!

    Like

    Reply
    • I think it’s possible, Blaga. Wouldn’t it be amazing to be in that peaceful state no matter what comes our way? So very happy you enjoyed this–thank you!

      Like

      Reply
  9. You are so creative! And prolific… 😉

    Like

    Reply
  10. Absolutely beautiful. This flows so seemlessly like a beautiful meditation.

    Like

    Reply
  11. An interesting use of acrostics. I always thought this form was only suitable for light verse. I see I was wrong!

    Like

    Reply
  12. It’s always like opening a box of spiritual candies to come here, Gayle. I love this and love that special state. I love the spirit of the special acrostic. Well done and thanks for the gift.

    Hugs,
    Jamie

    Like

    Reply
    • What a sweetest, kindest thing to say, Jamie, that means a lot to me. Sometimes, I feel compelled to reach out into the “beyond” and project as to how it may be to exist in a realm of true freedom. I think it would be delightful!

      Hugs…

      Like

      Reply
  13. I loved this as I can relate to your words deeply… it gives me a sense of meditation and your style is perfect. Thanks for sharing…

    Shashi
    ॐ नमः शिवाय
    Om Namah Shivaya
    http://shadowdancingwithmind.blogspot.com/2011/11/whispers-where-you-will-go.html

    Like

    Reply
    • I think I was in a meditative state when this flowed forth, Shashi. I’m glad you could relate to this–but of course you can!

      I have left a comment on your review of my favorite book that you have reviewed so beautifully, “Autobiography of a Yogi”. You did an amazing job on that.

      Like

      Reply
  14. What a work of art! I mean it. acros are never my pot of soup but i truly adore when one writes one right, like you always do.

    Like

    Reply
  15. Androgoth

     /  November 17, 2011

    Gayle you are on a roll again, and I didn’t see these last two postings in my updates either so it makes no wonder that I am getting so far behind these days and not just with your fine offerings, I am behind on everyone’s Space at the moment so I am extremely sorry about not getting to you sooner 😦

    You seem to be able to turn any genre of writing to your own hand and what a wonderful post this one is also, I think that you have a never-ending stream of thought processes, well if you haven’t then you are most definitely on a roll like I said earlier 🙂

    Keep adding to your lovely postings Gayle and I will try harder to keep up-to-date and read them as they are posted, well I will if I get all the updates? 😦 lol

    Have a great rest of evening
    and a truly superb Friday too 🙂

    Androgoth XXx

    Like

    Reply
    • Yeah, I think I got on another roll for sure! No, my brain can certainly “dry up” and nothing will come forth for days at a time–I’m uninspired at times. But prompts do seem to help me quite a bit.

      I’ve had that happen too where I won’t receive notifications for postings–please don’t worry yourself about it, Androgoth. But I do appreciate your faithful visits. 🙂

      Have a wonderful upcoming weekend–relaxing and rejuvenating! 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  16. Love this! It is possible, I know it is, to get there. I guess it’s just a matter of persistence and maybe sooner or later we can achieve it. I like the peaceful yet curious tone of this piece. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks, Corina.

      It was a total fantasy write–I have achieved nothing like this. But I would be content to achieve day-to-day peace within–that would be quite enough for me! 🙂

      Like

      Reply

Please share your thoughts...

Wightrabbit's Blog

Words and Pictures from my Kaboodle on The Isle of Wight

writing in north norfolk

Writer of children's literature, short stories and poetry

Lady Nyo's Weblog

A woman writer's blog with invitations to other writers

Poetry Breakfast

Beginning March 20th, 2016 Poetry Breakfast will once again serve a little poetic nourishment every morning. Start your day with our new expanded menu. Poems, of course, are our specialty. But we will also be serving a fuller menu that includes poetry related creative non-fiction such as letters to and from poets, essays on poetry, and anything else that might feed a poet and poetry lover’s soul.

Mithai Mumblezz

Thinks and again mumbles!!

findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing...

mindlovemisery

"We're all out there, somewhere, waiting to happen."

NavasolaNature

Nature needs Nurture

Whimsygizmo's Blog

poetic ponderings...parenting...procrastination...

Tao of Scrumble

A freeform way of life, love and everything

Sharp Little Pencil

Amy Barlow Liberatore... stories of lost years, wild times, mental variety, faith, and lots of jazz

silentlyheardonce

A Silent poet shouting to be heard

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

kanzen sakura

South meets East: Poetry and Musings - words of the seasons

Poems, stories, paintings and more by Sharmishtha Basu

(Agnijaat, Agnishatdal, Agnijashatadalama, Indie Adda)

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

jaywalking the moon

poetry by claudia schoenfeld

She's Writing

Poetry and Prose

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

everyday amazing

spreading good cheer, fun & love for life

Michael's Lair

Just Write WordPress.com site

Björn Rudbergs writings

Poetry and fiction by a physicist from the dark side

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

THE BeZINE

Be inspired...Be creative...Be peace...Be

bardessdmdenton - author- artist

Historical and Literary Fiction / Essays / Poetry / Reviews /Book Cover and Interior Illustrations / Pet Portraits and Other Commissioned Artwork ... "Handle a book as a bee does a flower, extract its sweetness but do not damage it.” ~ John Muir, naturalist, author, 1838 - 1914

Soul Dipper

Spirit Builder by Design

Contemplative Moorings

The official blog of unofficial author Michael Marsters.

Ramblings From A Mum

This is my journey, my thoughts, my views, plain and simple and from my heart. Please travel with me and share, hopefully it will be an interesting trip.

bwthoughts

copyright 2013 - no reuse without permission ( see bwfiction.wordpress.com for fiction and fantasy )

"On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea"

All Is One With Our Creator

MyHeartBlog

Take Control of Your Health

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Wanjiku

poetic inspiration from life's simplicity

k8edid

Mumblings of a Middle Aged Madwoman

IN MY NEXT LIFE

if I go around more than once then ...

I Rhyme Without Reason

I live in words

Soul Speak

'You may say I'm a Dreamer, but I'm not the only one' ~ John Lennon

~ Dragon's Dreams ~

Carpe Noctem Quod Tempus Fugit!

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Lafemmeroar

laughing at the malfunction of the universe is better than crying about it

Lorna's Voice

Finding ways to make words sparkle

Olivia's In- Mind Whirls..

"It's all in my mind"

dVerse

Poets Pub

Leslie White

View artwork by Leslie White

jgavinallan

The best time to love...is when it is impossible///Stories of the heart-broken/shattered and sometimes mended

