Sacred Music

     Sacred music has taken different forms throughout my life.  First through the Christian church of my parents, I learned hymns that I was taught as a child in Sunday school–many of those ancient songs touching my heart more deeply as I grew older.

     But as a teenager, I made a different choice for my spiritual path and with that came learning mantra chanting, especially kirtan (devotional chanting).  Much of this music that I learned was sung in Gurmukhi, the Sanskrit-based language of the Sikh scriptures written hundreds of years ago.  It is said that if you chant the verses in their original written form, the specific tones can actually raise the vibration of the different energy centers in the body and can promote healing and stability.

     There is a vibratory frequency that corresponds to everything in the universe. Happiness or sorrow, joy or regret are vibratory frequencies in the mind. When we chant a mantra we are choosing to invoke the positive power contained in those particular syllables. Whether it’s for prosperity, peace of mind, increasing intuition, or any other possible benefits inherent in mantras, simply by chanting them, we are setting vibrations into motion that shall have an effect. It doesn’t actually matter if we understand the meaning of the sounds or not.

     Learning to chant had a profound effect on my life.  Still to this day, many years after I have left the ashram life where I learned so much about spirituality, I can chant along with the sacred songs written by ancient masters and be propelled into a space of heart opening and gratitude.

My entry for Monday Morning Writing Prompt–Sacred Music:  http://liv2write2day.wordpress.com/2011/11/14/monday-morning-writing-prompt-sacred-music/

Previous Post
Leave a comment

18 Comments

  1. I have a CD of the Dali Lama chanting Om. You can feel the effects of the vibrations…both calming and energizing. Also have a couple of CD’s by Deva Premal (I think that’s her name) who chants in Sanskrit. They definitely affect one’s spirit. Thank you, Gayle, for sharing this.

    Like

    Reply
    • I have a CD where he chants Om too. His voice is so deep and powerful isn’t it. I’ve heard of Deva Premal but don’t have any of her music but have a lot of chanting music from singers of my ashram days in both Sanskrit and English. This type of music moves me deeply and does raise my vibration for sure. I’m very happy to share, Victoria.

      A wonderful prompt.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Tino

     /  November 14, 2011

    Never known anyone, to the best of my knowledge, who chanted. Its an interesting thought though. Thanks for piquing my interest though, its always good to have certain thoughts challenged.

    Like

    Reply
    • Chanting has a very long history and isn’t necessarily connected to any religious beliefs–that’s why I especially like it.

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Tino.

      Like

      Reply
  3. I really enjoyed your post. I believe prayer and chanting can reach the same spiritual goal, a soul’s connection to something greater than itself. Music is a sure path to reaching that. Thank you for this post.

    Like

    Reply
    • I’m very glad that you enjoyed this, Yousei–thank you. Music has always felt like a “religion” for me throughout my life. It’s been very uplifting to my soul–chanting is another way to do this too.

      Like

      Reply
  4. some divine words,

    the whole world is energy that is vibrating,
    cheers.

    Like

    Reply
  5. I’ve tried chanting and, while it is soothing, I can’t seem to get into a regular practice. I guess everyone had their own path to spiritual serenity.

    Like

    Reply
    • Absolutely, we all have a particular practice that resonates with us. Chanting may not be your thing. I do it very irregularly now but in the past it had been a very powerful and uplifting means of spiritual growth–especially when it was done in a large group!

      Like

      Reply
  6. Oh, thank you for sharing this. It’s all so true. I love chant too …

    Like

    Reply
  7. I too very deeply appreciate these music/songs they have a very beautiful effect on human soul.

    Like

    Reply
  8. Well …. well…. well … I could have written the first paragraph … it’s as if I have taken the same path with you. Perhaps, our steps have been in the same foot prints. I migrated into all types of religion and eventualy decided I would do all and non … it is a version of what I think I want to practice. It works for me. My husband is Buddist so I have lots of meditation chants Cd’s but decided to post my story on an experience I had with Benedictine Monks. I have a great Cd called ” Sacred Healing Chants of Tibet”. I love it. I would be lost without my daily meditation. I must empty my mind and soothe my spirit.
    Namaste,
    Izzy xoxo

    Like

    Reply
    • Very interesting, Izzy–I think we probably do have a lot in common. I have investigated many religions too and just find myself very eclectic in my thinking–because it’s hard for me to choose just one! But for many years now, I have been very attracted to Buddhism and love the tenets. Most of the chanting that I do today is what I learned from my ashram days–it never fails to lift me up.

      Namaste… xoxo

      Like

      Reply
  9. An inspirational post. Thank you.

    Like

    Reply

Please share your thoughts...

Wightrabbit's Blog

Words and Pictures from my Kaboodle on The Isle of Wight

writing in north norfolk

Writer of children's literature, short stories and poetry

Lady Nyo's Weblog

A woman writer's blog with invitations to other writers

Poetry Breakfast

Beginning March 20th, 2016 Poetry Breakfast will once again serve a little poetic nourishment every morning. Start your day with our new expanded menu. Poems, of course, are our specialty. But we will also be serving a fuller menu that includes poetry related creative non-fiction such as letters to and from poets, essays on poetry, and anything else that might feed a poet and poetry lover’s soul.

Mithai Mumblezz

Thinks and again mumbles!!

findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing...

mindlovemisery

"We're all out there, somewhere, waiting to happen."

NavasolaNature

Nature needs Nurture

Whimsygizmo's Blog

poetic ponderings...parenting...procrastination...

Tao of Scrumble

A freeform way of life, love and everything

Sharp Little Pencil

Amy Barlow Liberatore... stories of lost years, wild times, mental variety, faith, and lots of jazz

silentlyheardonce

A Silent poet shouting to be heard

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

kanzen sakura

South meets East: Poetry and Musings - words of the seasons

Poems, stories, paintings and more by Sharmishtha Basu

(Agnijaat, Agnishatdal, Agnijashatadalama, Indie Adda)

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

jaywalking the moon

poetry by claudia schoenfeld

She's Writing

Poetry and Prose

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

everyday amazing

spreading good cheer, fun & love for life

Michael's Lair

Just Write WordPress.com site

Björn Rudbergs writings

Poetry and fiction by a physicist from the dark side

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

THE BeZINE

Be inspired...Be creative...Be peace...Be

bardessdmdenton - author- artist

Historical and Literary Fiction / Essays / Poetry / Reviews /Book Cover and Interior Illustrations / Pet Portraits and Other Commissioned Artwork ... "Handle a book as a bee does a flower, extract its sweetness but do not damage it.” ~ John Muir, naturalist, author, 1838 - 1914

Soul Dipper

Spirit Builder by Design

Contemplative Moorings

The official blog of unofficial author Michael Marsters.

Ramblings From A Mum

This is my journey, my thoughts, my views, plain and simple and from my heart. Please travel with me and share, hopefully it will be an interesting trip.

bwthoughts

copyright 2013 - no reuse without permission ( see bwfiction.wordpress.com for fiction and fantasy )

"On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea"

All Is One With Our Creator

MyHeartBlog

Take Control of Your Health

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Wanjiku

poetic inspiration from life's simplicity

k8edid

Mumblings of a Middle Aged Madwoman

IN MY NEXT LIFE

if I go around more than once then ...

I Rhyme Without Reason

I live in words

Soul Speak

'You may say I'm a Dreamer, but I'm not the only one' ~ John Lennon

~ Dragon's Dreams ~

Carpe Noctem Quod Tempus Fugit!

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Lafemmeroar

laughing at the malfunction of the universe is better than crying about it

Lorna's Voice

Finding ways to make words sparkle

Olivia's In- Mind Whirls..

"It's all in my mind"

dVerse

Poets Pub

Leslie White

View artwork by Leslie White

jgavinallan

The best time to love...is when it is impossible///Stories of the heart-broken/shattered and sometimes mended

