Shopping Extravaganza

Okay, the plan is for a
shopping “lollapalooza”
today at the mall; I’ll
meet you at Macy’s.
They’re having a great
sale on underwear and
from there we’ll hit
The Body Shop where
there’s a fantastic
“buy three, get three free”
promotion on everything
in the store.  Next, it’s on
to The Limited where
they’re handing out cards
with your own personal
percentage off on your
entire purchase!  Whoo
hoo!  Then on to the store
that doesn’t even need
sale prices because their
everyday prices are so
affordable, H & M.  Time
for a breather and lunch
at The Cheesecake Factory.

Whew, I needed that rest!

Hey, there’s Sephora, let’s stop
there and browse awhile.
We have to go to Zara’s;
I know that’s one of your
favorites but how about
we skip Forever 21 this
trip–it’s packed with
teenyboppers!  We wanted
to stop by Nordstrom’s for
their great shoe selection
and then on to Teavana to have
a sample of their hot tea
and wind down our day.
Well by all the bulging bags
in your arms, I would say
this has been a successful
operation.  Did you girls
remember where you parked?
I always park at the same place
so I won’t forget where–
straight through Macy’s,
up to the second level and out
through ladies’ sportswear
where the lot faces Maguire St.
That one time that I lost my car
at this mall was the last.  I never
want to go through that again!

My entry for A Word With Laurie–List:   http://withrealtoads.blogspot.com

Previous Post
Leave a comment

33 Comments

  1. Oh Gayle, I do the same thing with my car. Always loose track of it otherwise. Never realized before how many small gray cars are out there.

    Wonderful fun poem: a shopping trip in a post. Wonderful!

    Gayle, thanks for all your visits and kind comments. I hope you and your sisters have a wonderful visit. We’ll miss you on line and look forward to more from you when you get back.

    Keep safe and happy.

    In metta,
    Jamie

    Like

    Reply
    • Isn’t that the worst feeling when you go looking for your car and you can’t find it! Well, this was pretty much the itinerary with my two daughters last weekend when they came to Orlando to hit the malls. I must say, I do a pretty good job of keeping up with them.

      You are very welcome, Jamie. We sisters always have a great time when we get together. We’re going to St. George Island to a beach house for a week. It’s in the Panhandle of Florida on the Gulf. We’re excited.

      I appreciate your kindness for me, Jamie.

      Peace,
      Gayle

      Like

      Reply
      • I have read about St. George Island. It sounds like a lovely place. Hope you will post some pics when you get back.

        Your “Peacock” post will go up on 10/29 at “Into the Bardo.” Thank you so much. I know all the nature-lover readers and birders will enjoy it.

        Hugs!

        Like

        Reply
        • I’m very happy to share the story, Jamie.

          My sisters and I are all “bird freaks” so I hope we will see some unusual birds and maybe I’ll have something fun to write about when I get back.

          Hugs…

          Like

          Reply
  2. Ha- I really enjoyed this one. Sounds exhausting… thank goodness for The Cheesecake Factory. We won’t even discuss the forgetting where I parked dilemma…

    Like

    Reply
    • Shopping with daughters–very exhausting but so much fun to hang out with them. Losing your car is such a nightmare–thus, always parking at the same entrance–good for reducing panic!

      Like

      Reply
  3. This is fun to read and makes me want to get some friends together and go shopping. It’s been a while since I’ve done that. I love the lines about remembering where you park the car, because it’s not fun when you’ve done all your shopping and have all your bags and then you can’t find your car!

    Like

    Reply
    • I only do these “extravaganzas” with my daughters. They go nuts wanting to hit all their favorite stores here–they don’t have access to such good shopping where they live.

      I never want to lose my car ever, ever again!! Thanks for coming by. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  4. Androgoth

     /  October 22, 2011

    A very exciting shopping
    experience this one Gayle 🙂

    Have a lovely weekend now 🙂

    Androgoth XXx

    Like

    Reply
    • It was more “crazed” than exciting. 🙂

      You have a good weekend too, Androgoth.

      Gayle xo

      Like

      Reply
      • Androgoth

         /  October 24, 2011

        Thank you for calling into my Space and offering me such lovely thoughts on my scripts Gayle 🙂 Have a really nice evening and equally an exciting Tuesday my wickedly sweet friend 🙂

        Androgoth XXx

        Like

        Reply
  5. Well, that was quite a shopping trip. I try to avoid shopping centers as much as possible, but LOVE The Cheesecake Factory. And yes, losing one’s car in a parking lot is always a dread of mine. I’ve come close! Nice write.

    Like

    Reply
    • I do a pretty good job of avoiding them–even do some online shopping to avoid having to go anywhere. So not only do I avoid the crowds but I can’t lose my car either! 🙂

      I love The Cheesecake Factory too–their huge menu is like reading a book!

      Like

      Reply
  6. A great list. I got to shop vicariously through you, which was nice because I’m out of my allotted funds for the month. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • I shopped vicariously through my two daughters the other weekend too–I didn’t buy anything, just went to hang out with them.

      Thanks for coming by Cosmos Cami.

      Like

      Reply
  7. I’m not a “shopper” and you articulated why! 😉

    Like

    Reply
  8. i used to shop alot but just don’t anymore. I find it too exhausting and can get bargains at local small shops once they get to know you. It seems so much more personal. I do like on-line shopping for gifts. It goes right to the person. How convenient is that?
    I park my car in the same place, too, so it can easily be found. I park at the end of the lane. No on wants to walk from there. It makes it easy to see the car and you get a little more walking in.
    Hey … thanks for the shopping trip.
    Toodles,
    Izzy xoxo

    Like

    Reply
    • Lately, these types of trips are all about wanting to spend time with the girls. I would never do this on my own–not my idea of fun anymore. I like online shopping too, especially if there’s free shipping!

      Hugs,
      Gayle xoxo

      Like

      Reply
  9. shopaholic on a buying spree. 🙂

    its a really dangerous addiction, i too have its mild syndrome. i try to control it but it always gives a little slip.

    Like

    Reply
    • My girls only do this once in a while and I certainly don’t have this “addiction” any longer. It’s no longer that fun for me to go from store to store. I prefer online shopping where it’s delivered right to your door. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  10. lol I felt all shopped out after reading 🙂 I could just picture you inside a mall 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • It’s a good thing my daughters don’t come to town that often and want to do this–it’s exhausting. But “in the old days” my girls and I were shopping divas! 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  11. Good poem describing my nightmare of a day. I hate shopping! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  12. Omgoodness, remind me not to go shopping with you 🙂 I HATE shopping.. next to cooking it is my least fav thing to do. Unless it’s for new gadgets or electronics, then I may be tempted 😉
    Glad you had such a fun time though.

    Like

    Reply
  13. Olsonomics

     /  October 25, 2011

    this is great – you really take the reader on a journey

    Like

    Reply
  14. *smile* Thank you for the reminder of why I avoid the Mall like the plague! Never, ever. I don’t care what shops they have, it is absolutely not worth it, esp. when I can shop online! Now, it might be totally different, if like you, I had some wonderful daughters to share it with! I’m glad you had a good time, G. 🙂 OH, and I saw Jamie’s comment about a “peacock” and didn’t know if you had ever seen this…

    and

    he looks like a giant, fluffy snowflake! lol 😀

    Like

    Reply
    • Wow, that peacock is incredible! Yes, he looks like a gigantic, beautifully formed snowflake. I’ve never seen a white one before–I mean in real life.

      Yes, shopping with the girls makes it much more fun.

      Like

      Reply
  15. Sounds like the shopping trip I did with my brother in CA on his visit here from New Zealand. Whew! That man can sure shop.

    Like

    Reply
  16. I would totally be exhausted, Gayle! 🙂 The thing about the car? I have to do that, too. It is nice to know that there are others. FUN POEM!

    Like

    Reply

Please share your thoughts...

Wightrabbit's Blog

Words and Pictures from my Kaboodle on The Isle of Wight

writing in north norfolk

Writer of children's literature, short stories and poetry

Lady Nyo's Weblog

A woman writer's blog with invitations to other writers

Poetry Breakfast

Beginning March 20th, 2016 Poetry Breakfast will once again serve a little poetic nourishment every morning. Start your day with our new expanded menu. Poems, of course, are our specialty. But we will also be serving a fuller menu that includes poetry related creative non-fiction such as letters to and from poets, essays on poetry, and anything else that might feed a poet and poetry lover’s soul.

Mithai Mumblezz

Thinks and again mumbles!!

findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing...

mindlovemisery

"We're all out there, somewhere, waiting to happen."

NavasolaNature

Nature needs Nurture

Whimsygizmo's Blog

poetic ponderings...parenting...procrastination...

Tao of Scrumble

A freeform way of life, love and everything

Sharp Little Pencil

Amy Barlow Liberatore... stories of lost years, wild times, mental variety, faith, and lots of jazz

silentlyheardonce

A Silent poet shouting to be heard

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

kanzen sakura

South meets East: Poetry and Musings - words of the seasons

Poems, stories, paintings and more by Sharmishtha Basu

(Agnijaat, Agnishatdal, Agnijashatadalama, Indie Adda)

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

jaywalking the moon

poetry by claudia schoenfeld

She's Writing

Poetry and Prose

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

everyday amazing

spreading good cheer, fun & love for life

Michael's Lair

Just Write WordPress.com site

Björn Rudbergs writings

Poetry and fiction by a physicist from the dark side

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

THE BeZINE

Be inspired...Be creative...Be peace...Be

bardessdmdenton - author- artist

Historical and Literary Fiction / Essays / Poetry / Reviews /Book Cover and Interior Illustrations / Pet Portraits and Other Commissioned Artwork ... "Handle a book as a bee does a flower, extract its sweetness but do not damage it.” ~ John Muir, naturalist, author, 1838 - 1914

Soul Dipper

Spirit Builder by Design

Contemplative Moorings

The official blog of unofficial author Michael Marsters.

Ramblings From A Mum

This is my journey, my thoughts, my views, plain and simple and from my heart. Please travel with me and share, hopefully it will be an interesting trip.

bwthoughts

copyright 2013 - no reuse without permission ( see bwfiction.wordpress.com for fiction and fantasy )

"On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea"

All Is One With Our Creator

MyHeartBlog

Take Control of Your Health

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Wanjiku

poetic inspiration from life's simplicity

k8edid

Mumblings of a Middle Aged Madwoman

IN MY NEXT LIFE

if I go around more than once then ...

I Rhyme Without Reason

I live in words

Soul Speak

'You may say I'm a Dreamer, but I'm not the only one' ~ John Lennon

~ Dragon's Dreams ~

Carpe Noctem Quod Tempus Fugit!

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Lafemmeroar

laughing at the malfunction of the universe is better than crying about it

Lorna's Voice

Finding ways to make words sparkle

Olivia's In- Mind Whirls..

"It's all in my mind"

dVerse

Poets Pub

Leslie White

View artwork by Leslie White

jgavinallan

The best time to love...is when it is impossible///Stories of the heart-broken/shattered and sometimes mended

