Flash Fiction 140

Five flash fiction stories of 140 total characters using the words:  “exposure”, “punch”, “clothes”, “advantage” and “change”:

Capsized five days prior, a bottle of water keeps him living; exposure will soon win.  He hallucinates a tropical isle; people on the beach.

Punching his chest hard, she blows into his open mouth and continues compressing his chest and blowing–relentless, she knows aid is coming.

As she hangs clothes on the lines outdoors, a dark, shadow dives overhead.  The hawk is back, searching for its next meal at the birdfeeder.

Meditation brings clarity, focus and calm to my life.  It may not bring less trials to face but the way I handle them is of great advantage.

The transformation in her appearance was astonishing but even more so was the change in her personality.  She was now free to live and love.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. Androgoth

     /  October 1, 2011

    I like this idea of incoporating those words within your writing, I actually added a top forty chart and added all of those into a script, it is indeed a challenge and one that offers a great learning curve as one slots the words into the story and well done to you my friend as you have done an excellent job here 🙂

    In reply to your comment on
    my Script titled ‘A Study’ I will just say…

    Thank you for offering your thoughts on that one Gayle
    I was thinking of another old Script of mine when you
    mentioned ‘Time’ I think that I will find that one and pop
    it on here and see what you and others make of it? 🙂

    I do like to speculate with themes, but more often than
    not I tend to add my Gothic Horror as this is my favoured
    genre… You have a brilliant way of writing you know
    I like your Space but you know sometimes peeps are
    put off by my appearance, indeed I have had some tell
    me that from time to time…

    I am pleased that you have called in and like my other
    great friends here I welcome you into My World of Goth

    Be well my friend and enjoy your weekend 🙂

    Androgoth XXx

    Like

    Reply
  2. I had to go searching for some prompts to kick-start my brain this week. I’m glad you decided to incorporate these words into a script as well. The real challenge here, of course, was writing a “story” using a total of only 140 characters–lots of editing needed!

    I must say I don’t know much about Gothic Horror but do enjoy a “wicked” and dark write now and then–after all it is a part of the human psyche–whether people want to admit it or not.

    I can imagine that some peeps would be turned off by appearances and that is their right to not visit your world of Gothic Horror. I’m not a fan of over-the-top horror myself but I can certainly befriend someone who is as polite and well-meaning as you are, Androgoth.

    I appreciate the very generous and kind compliments of my writing–it means a lot to me.

    Enjoy the rest of your weekend… 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • Androgoth

       /  October 1, 2011

      I don’t know if you have ever visited a Space called Dreamwalker’s Sanctuary, which is a Sanctuary for Inspirational Thoughts of Light, Love and Peace by the Author Sue Dreamwalker but that is somewhere where one can find an alternative view of me through my commenting as Sue always adds some very interesting postings on a varied, indeed a wide ranging field of subjects.

      Of course I am not blowing my own trumpet by saying this, I am merely giving an opportunity to see a different aspect of my writing that is not portrayed within my Space. I think that if peeps were to see more of my comments that are not linked with my crazy to zany ‘Wicked’ this and ‘Ghoulishly’ that, which is my usual banter, or see my Space as The Darker side of Spaces then perhaps some would see me in a different light all together 🙂 lol Well I am just me I guess, what you see is what you get, but with an added insight that is sometimes obscured.

      I have no idea why I have mentioned this to you either, perhaps I am cracking up or something? lol Well do have a magical rest of evening and a wonderfully engaging rest of weekend…

      Be well my friend

      Androgoth XXx

      Like

      Reply
      • Thanks for sharing Sue Dreamwalker’s site with me–I’ve already gone over there and checked it out. I found a cool posting she did called “A Ghostly Tale” and shared my own ghost encounter.

        Her blog is very interesting to me–she seems to be a very spiritually open and aware human being–right up my alley.

        I agree with you about if peeps saw a different side to you they may be more receptive to you–but I seem to be receptive to you because you do come across as very intelligent and sensitive in spite of the other persona that you like to play with.

        Thanks again for sharing, Androgoth–my friend.
        Gayle

        Like

        Reply
        • Androgoth

           /  October 2, 2011

          *´¨)
          ¸.•´¸.•*´¨) ¸.•*¨)
          (¸.•´ (¸.•` ¤ Yes I agree with you regarding Sue’s Space she has always added some very interesting themes and is a delightful and most genuine person here in our WordPress.

          Do have a lovely rest of weekend and
          a wondrously excellent start to your week also 🙂

          Androgoth XXx

          Like

          Reply
  3. Quite imaginative–so brief yet so full of imagery. You are quite the wordsmith!

    Like

    Reply
  4. so much said in so little space. amazing.

    Like

    Reply
  5. Nicely done,Gayle. These challenges are the most difficult for me. Limiting words is my problem although I have done a few of these and managed well. I will have to check them out again.
    In the meantime, very interesting, this had a lot of hidden messages.
    Hugs,
    Izzy

    Like

    Reply
    • I suppose it’s a good lesson in editing. Getting rid of superfluous words–it’s a fun challenge.

      Thanks, Izzy

      Hugs,
      Gayle xoxo

      Like

      Reply
  6. Hey, I’m impressed. Well done and all are engaging. For some reason I seem to like the one with the hawk???? You’d think it would be the meditation one. They are all excellent and I know these take patience. Good for you … 😉

    Like

    Reply
    • Well thank you. I’m glad you liked them. I liked that one too–we have hawks that occasionally show up at our backyard birdfeeder. They’re so ominous–the Blue Jays go nuts screaming at them and trying to warn everyone in earshot!

      Like

      Reply

Please share your thoughts...

Wightrabbit's Blog

Words and Pictures from my Kaboodle on The Isle of Wight

writing in north norfolk

Writer of children's literature, short stories and poetry

Lady Nyo's Weblog

A woman writer's blog with invitations to other writers

Poetry Breakfast

Beginning March 20th, 2016 Poetry Breakfast will once again serve a little poetic nourishment every morning. Start your day with our new expanded menu. Poems, of course, are our specialty. But we will also be serving a fuller menu that includes poetry related creative non-fiction such as letters to and from poets, essays on poetry, and anything else that might feed a poet and poetry lover’s soul.

Mithai Mumblezz

Thinks and again mumbles!!

findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing...

mindlovemisery

"We're all out there, somewhere, waiting to happen."

NavasolaNature

Nature needs Nurture

Whimsygizmo's Blog

poetic ponderings...parenting...procrastination...

Tao of Scrumble

A freeform way of life, love and everything

Sharp Little Pencil

Amy Barlow Liberatore... stories of lost years, wild times, mental variety, faith, and lots of jazz

silentlyheardonce

A Silent poet shouting to be heard

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

kanzen sakura

South meets East: Poetry and Musings - words of the seasons

Poems, stories, paintings and more by Sharmishtha Basu

(Agnijaat, Agnishatdal, Agnijashatadalama, Indie Adda)

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

jaywalking the moon

poetry by claudia schoenfeld

She's Writing

Poetry and Prose

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

everyday amazing

spreading good cheer, fun & love for life

Michael's Lair

Just Write WordPress.com site

Björn Rudbergs writings

Poetry and fiction by a physicist from the dark side

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

THE BeZINE

Be inspired...Be creative...Be peace...Be

bardessdmdenton - author- artist

Historical and Literary Fiction / Essays / Poetry / Reviews /Book Cover and Interior Illustrations / Pet Portraits and Other Commissioned Artwork ... "Handle a book as a bee does a flower, extract its sweetness but do not damage it.” ~ John Muir, naturalist, author, 1838 - 1914

Soul Dipper

Spirit Builder by Design

Contemplative Moorings

The official blog of unofficial author Michael Marsters.

Ramblings From A Mum

This is my journey, my thoughts, my views, plain and simple and from my heart. Please travel with me and share, hopefully it will be an interesting trip.

bwthoughts

copyright 2013 - no reuse without permission ( see bwfiction.wordpress.com for fiction and fantasy )

"On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea"

All Is One With Our Creator

MyHeartBlog

Take Control of Your Health

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Wanjiku

poetic inspiration from life's simplicity

k8edid

Mumblings of a Middle Aged Madwoman

IN MY NEXT LIFE

if I go around more than once then ...

I Rhyme Without Reason

I live in words

Soul Speak

'You may say I'm a Dreamer, but I'm not the only one' ~ John Lennon

~ Dragon's Dreams ~

Carpe Noctem Quod Tempus Fugit!

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Lafemmeroar

laughing at the malfunction of the universe is better than crying about it

Lorna's Voice

Finding ways to make words sparkle

Olivia's In- Mind Whirls..

"It's all in my mind"

dVerse

Poets Pub

Leslie White

View artwork by Leslie White

jgavinallan

The best time to love...is when it is impossible///Stories of the heart-broken/shattered and sometimes mended

