Down, Dark, Deep

Down, dark, deep

below earth’s light,

live creatures unseen

by our innocent eyes.

They’re inhuman,

obscene and incredibly

shrewd to the ways

of cruelty and anguished pain.

Their eyes squint with

an otherworldly gleam,

flashing with a thrill

to hurt and maim.

Lips curled in merciless

glee, they intone mantras

of depravity.  From chasms

beneath, they wander alone,

banished from existence forevermore.

In limbo they’re sentenced,

no victims they claim;

the hell that they know

is wholly their blame.

Many thanks to the Thursday Poet’s Rally for this honorable award.

To be a Perfect Poet is quite an honor I see;

I appreciate the acknowledgement

And the love bestowed on me.

I nominate Renee Espriu
http://reneejustturtleflight.wordpress.com/

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

51 Comments

  1. oooo…getting ready for All Hallow’s are we? 😉 lol j/k

    Like

    Reply
  2. Murky … shadowy … gloomy … so very creepy. It is fab …!!!!
    I love the line “they intone mantras of depravity” … outstanding.
    Spooky …!!!!
    Happy Hallow’s … to come
    Izzy

    Like

    Reply
  3. Very eerie, indeed. The idea of limbo has always frightened me; the being trapped there forever. Well written, Gayle.

    Like

    Reply
  4. a haunting poem. very well written, you portrayed the scene in front of eyes.

    Like

    Reply
  5. Love this line: “Lips curled in merciless

    glee, they intone mantras

    of depravity.”

    I can think of a few people like that.

    Like

    Reply
  6. Androgoth

     /  September 30, 2011

    How dark and incredibly wicked of you 🙂
    In other words I really like this one Gayle
    indeed it is a wondrously offered piece of
    ghoulish poetry from the darker recesses
    where fiends of all descriptions lurk…

    Have a delightfully
    wicked weekend Gayle 🙂

    Androgoth Xx

    Like

    Reply
  7. I must admit, I’ve been feeling a bit dark lately–perhaps in preparation for Halloween’s arrival. I don’t usually “do” wicked though. I’m glad you enjoyed this–thanks so much, Androgoth. 🙂

    Gayle

    Like

    Reply
    • Androgoth

       /  October 1, 2011

      Halloween or not it is all the same for me, and I certainly do like your darker attempts on poetry, and remember darker is not always dark if you know what I mean? 🙂

      Have a very nice rest of day and a superb weekend 🙂

      Androgoth Xx

      Like

      Reply
  8. Tleigh

     /  October 1, 2011

    Could this be a description of ones own most deep and dark subconscious, too hideous to share, we must keep this dark place a secret, hidden from all? Love the poem Gayle!

    Like

    Reply
    • T Leigh! You came by–how cool. Yes, absolutely you could interpret this in that way. We must bring out this hideous side into the light though–go get your high-beam flashlight! I’ll hold you if you start screaming…hehe!

      Like

      Reply
  9. Darkly done … another shadow side poem. Gayle, you get better all the time. I had to read this over, so much in it. Thank you!

    Like

    Reply
    • Yes, a dark mood struck me suddenly–gotta let it out! I’m happy to hear I’m getting better–thank you for that, Jamie.

      Like

      Reply
  10. Good one!

    Like

    Reply
  11. Oh creepy, made me want to turn a light on, maybe in my soul!

    Like

    Reply
  12. all hallows eve is coming… i can feel it through this poem… nicely done well penned poem! please check my entry too: “A Sudden Rush”

    ———
    check my collection of poems @ “A Murder of Poems”

    Like

    Reply
    • Yes, somehow I got into the spirit of the darkness early this year. Thanks so much for your kind comment, Julian. I’ll check your posting out.

      Like

      Reply
  13. Oh i love the dark imagery – Hallowe’en is coming and I am so excited! This is wonderful, thanks for sharing!

    Heres mine: http://cursemymetalbody.wordpress.com/2011/10/06/poetry-thursday-68/

    Like

    Reply
  14. Dark, and imagery used to portray something more than ghouls. I like that I can read more into this poem.
    Rosie

    Like

    Reply
    • Yes, there is more that you could read into this–however you wish, is fine with me.

      Thank you for coming by and sharing your thoughts with me, Rosie.

      Like

      Reply
  15. powerful story on creatures or animals living under the earth.

    Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    Reply
  16. Incredibly dark… I like it!

    Like

    Reply
  17. Here’s to hoping none of us never meet these goblins you speak of 🙂
    Enjoyed reading. Very good.

    Check out my entry: http://wp.me/p1LMFk-ck

    Like

    Reply
  18. strong writing, well done.
    bless those and hope life is better for all.

    😉

    Like

    Reply
  19. Intense poem. i pray that all souls attain the Light of Truth one day. Thanks for sharing

    Like

    Reply
  20. Gayle is in Halloween mood.. Creeepy! Don’t wanna go thad deep down alive! 🙂

    Leo @ I Rhyme Without Reason

    Like

    Reply
  21. I agree a certain sense of darkness seems to pervade the change of seasons at this time of year. This is perfect for the mood.

    Like

    Reply
  22. its that time of the year for the dark to overshadow
    And the nights draw in.. … Loved your spooky poem.. It will not be long before the be-witching Night.. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • Yes, it seems to have shown up early for me this year. I’m letting it flow!

      Thank you, Sue Dreamwalker, for your visit. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  23. Whoah!!! Simply awesome!
    It sent shivers down my spine..
    Are they lurking all around?

    Like

    Reply

Please share your thoughts...

Wightrabbit's Blog

Words and Pictures from my Kaboodle on The Isle of Wight

writing in north norfolk

Writer of children's literature, short stories and poetry

Lady Nyo's Weblog

A woman writer's blog with invitations to other writers

Poetry Breakfast

Beginning March 20th, 2016 Poetry Breakfast will once again serve a little poetic nourishment every morning. Start your day with our new expanded menu. Poems, of course, are our specialty. But we will also be serving a fuller menu that includes poetry related creative non-fiction such as letters to and from poets, essays on poetry, and anything else that might feed a poet and poetry lover’s soul.

Mithai Mumblezz

Thinks and again mumbles!!

findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing...

mindlovemisery

"We're all out there, somewhere, waiting to happen."

NavasolaNature

Nature needs Nurture

Whimsygizmo's Blog

poetic ponderings...parenting...procrastination...

Tao of Scrumble

A freeform way of life, love and everything

Sharp Little Pencil

Amy Barlow Liberatore... stories of lost years, wild times, mental variety, faith, and lots of jazz

silentlyheardonce

A Silent poet shouting to be heard

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

kanzen sakura

South meets East: Poetry and Musings - words of the seasons

Poems, stories, paintings and more by Sharmishtha Basu

(Agnijaat, Agnishatdal, Agnijashatadalama, Indie Adda)

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

jaywalking the moon

poetry by claudia schoenfeld

She's Writing

Poetry and Prose

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

everyday amazing

spreading good cheer, fun & love for life

Michael's Lair

Just Write WordPress.com site

Björn Rudbergs writings

Poetry and fiction by a physicist from the dark side

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

THE BeZINE

Be inspired...Be creative...Be peace...Be

bardessdmdenton - author- artist

Historical and Literary Fiction / Essays / Poetry / Reviews /Book Cover and Interior Illustrations / Pet Portraits and Other Commissioned Artwork ... "Handle a book as a bee does a flower, extract its sweetness but do not damage it.” ~ John Muir, naturalist, author, 1838 - 1914

Soul Dipper

Spirit Builder by Design

Contemplative Moorings

The official blog of unofficial author Michael Marsters.

Ramblings From A Mum

This is my journey, my thoughts, my views, plain and simple and from my heart. Please travel with me and share, hopefully it will be an interesting trip.

bwthoughts

copyright 2013 - no reuse without permission ( see bwfiction.wordpress.com for fiction and fantasy )

"On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea"

All Is One With Our Creator

MyHeartBlog

Take Control of Your Health

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Wanjiku

poetic inspiration from life's simplicity

k8edid

Mumblings of a Middle Aged Madwoman

IN MY NEXT LIFE

if I go around more than once then ...

I Rhyme Without Reason

I live in words

Soul Speak

'You may say I'm a Dreamer, but I'm not the only one' ~ John Lennon

~ Dragon's Dreams ~

Carpe Noctem Quod Tempus Fugit!

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Lafemmeroar

laughing at the malfunction of the universe is better than crying about it

Lorna's Voice

Finding ways to make words sparkle

Olivia's In- Mind Whirls..

"It's all in my mind"

dVerse

Poets Pub

Leslie White

View artwork by Leslie White

jgavinallan

The best time to love...is when it is impossible///Stories of the heart-broken/shattered and sometimes mended

