Padmini

It was dark.  The sky was already twinkling with stars in the lavender-hued sky.

Padmini was lost.  Padmini was a young Asian elephant.  She could not find her mother, Noor, or the rest of her herd.  She had already looked in the bamboo grove.  There were only a few monkeys scampering about.  “Have you seen any elephants?” she had asked hopefully.

“No, there are no elephants in here,” one small monkey had replied.

“Thank you,” Padmini said.  She moved down the trail.  Let me try looking in the grasslands, she thought to herself.

The grasslands were a favorite gathering place for the herd.  Her grandmother, Amala, the Pure One, was the herd’s leader.  Perhaps she had led them there to have an evening meal.  Padmini’s favorite mango fruit could also be found there.

She rounded the bend that the path took towards the grassy plain and came face to face with Minnie, the Mynah bird.  She and Minnie were great friends.

Padmini was so happy to see a familiar face.

“Minnie!” she exclaimed, “Have you seen my herd?”

 Minnie smiled warmly at her friend but answered that she had not.  “I’m sorry, Padmini,” she said.  “I can’t stop and help you look for your herd; I have an important flight to make.”  And with that, she quickly flew off.

 Padmini felt even more lost now–and alone.  She walked on with her head held down.  Not even the lovely, full moon and the cool breeze of the night could lift her spirits.

 She could clearly see the outline of the grassy plain ahead with the shining brightness of the moon’s light.  She could not see her family.  Now, she began to feel quite worried.

Padmini continued on for a short distance, feeling very glum.  But then, from the dark shadows under the stand of banana trees, the outline of a massive animal caught her attention.  As it moved slowly into the moonlit edge of the forest, she recognized it as Kanja, the Water Buffalo.   He too was known to her family–she knew she could trust him.

She began to tell her story of being separated from her family and how frightened she was but then stopped suddenly as she spotted something in the distance.   A small, white, fluffy object was bounding towards her.  It was Misha!  Misha was the puppy that lived at the nearby wildlife camp with the nice humans.  She and Misha had recently become friends.

“Padmini!” Misha cried, “Your herd has been looking all over for you!”  “Where have you been?”  “They’re all just over the hill at the watering hole!” she continued.  “Come on, I’ll show you the way!”

Padmini was filled with delight!  She threw her trunk high in the air and gave a long, relieved trumpet!  She could hear her entire family as they answered back with their own joyful trumpeting and low rumbles in response.  As she ran to join them, she vowed that she would never let them out of her sight again!

 

My entry for Bluebell Books:  Short Story Slam Week Six–Children’s Literature  http://bluebellbooks.blogspot.com/2011/07/short-story-slam-week-6-childrens.html

Next Post
Leave a comment

52 Comments

  1. Nice one. A well written and entertaining story!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Aw, very sweet! So glad it had a happy ending! 🙂 This was written very well – I was thinking as I read that it would make a good children’s book.

    Like

    Reply
    • It was for that Children’s Literature prompt over there at Bluebell Books. So I hope it was suitable for children! I don’t know what age though.

      That’s a nice thing to say–thank you.

      Like

      Reply
  3. What a nice story!

    Like

    Reply
  4. Gayle: Are you kidding…you think I will not love this story…Up until the 50s elephants were all over the highlands…even the 70s…they have begun to repopulate them…
    I loved this story…sooooooooooooooo cute.
    Sometimes I feel like Padmini
    hugs and plenty of big hugs for VOI! (elephant in Viet)

    Jaye

    Like

    Reply
    • Well, I’m so glad you do love it. I love elephants!

      I’m glad that the population is making a comeback on the Central Highlands. That is good news!

      Lots of hugs,
      Gayle

      Like

      Reply
  5. Excellent! I just came from another writer’s blog and he had an elephant story, too! Then I noticed the link at the bottom, Gayle. This would make and awesome children’s book. The imagery is strong and the travels from animal to animal are interesting.

    Like

    Reply
    • That picture was the prompt to write about–so there must be several elephant stories floating around out there. I do love elephants. Maybe I should try my hand at writing for children. That really sounds appealing to me.

      Thank you, Leslie–for your lovely comment for me.

      Like

      Reply
  6. Gayle, this was a very entertaining story, just right for children. There are several lessons embedded that children could learn while being entertained.

    Like

    Reply
  7. Lovely story and it ends well 🙂 Happy rally!

    Like

    Reply
  8. Wonderful just wonderful 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  9. This is such a lovely story for children ~ and it was so appropriate to include the mynah bird and water buffalo too … showing that all these different creatures are friends !

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks so much, Mish. I’ve seen so many true-life stories of different animal species being friends–I just love those stories myself. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  10. A lovely entry. You are very versatile as a writer. I can’t write stories yet but you do a good job of sharing the innocence of her journey and her adventure ~

    Like

    Reply
    • I’m trying to branch out and use some of the great writing prompts out there to get my creativity working–it does help.

      I started out writing some memoir stories of my life and then went from there. Still so much to learn…

      Thanks for your kind words–I really appreciate them.

      Like

      Reply
  11. Before I read this was for the Children’s Lit prompt – I thought this would make a great story for kids … very engaging … you pulled me into the story from the beginning. 🙂 Great job, Gayle!!

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks so much, Becca–that’s so nice of you to say. It seems to be easier for me to use a prompt for a story than to try and pull one out of my own head! 🙂

      Thank you, again. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  12. Kids will love this story 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  13. You are not alone … but I consider whatever works as fuel for the creativity fires! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  14. Awww what a lovely story and a beautiful happy ending!

    Like

    Reply
    • I just thought that I couldn’t leave that poor, little elephant all alone out there in the world–now could I? 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  15. wow…

    you truly got talent here, very well told story.
    it sounds real natural yet exciting…love the happy ending.

    Like

    Reply
    • Thank you, Jingle. I couldn’t pass up that cute picture for the prompt. I’m really glad that you liked it. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  16. Wonderful! I love the “real-life” feel of this story! Well done!

    Here is my attempt:

    http://paulatohlinecalhoun1951.wordpress.com/2011/07/23/walking-each-other-home/

    Like

    Reply
  17. A story with a happy end. Lovely! Brilliant execution of the image challenge! Thank you for appreciating a post at my blog!

    Like

    Reply
    • Well thank you, Blaga.

      Wasn’t that woman amazing though–I was really impressed with her–it was nice of you to showcase her on your blog.

      Like

      Reply
  18. this is super cute 🙂
    esp loved the name misha.

    Like

    Reply
    • Thank you, Trisha. I used that name in tribute to your beloved dog, Misha. I hope you didn’t mind. It’s a beautiful name.

      Like

      Reply
  19. A.B. Thomas

     /  July 24, 2011

    Fantastic story!

    Like

    Reply
  20. This is a wonderful story! My kiddos love the names of the characters
    — me too 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  21. This is so adorable. I could see many a grandparent reading this to their grandchild.

    I am so happy that Padmini found his family. The story makes you want to go find them for him. It is very engaging and does more than pull you into the story; it tugs at your heartstrings. I loved it.

    YES … do write more about children stories. You have a touch.

    Namaste,
    Izzy xoxox

    P.S. The names are so appropriate for the characters.

    Like

    Reply
    • What lovely compliments, Izzy–thank you so much. I could not have Padmini wandering around lost–children’s stories have to end happily!

      I did some research on Asian/Indian names.

      Namaste and hugs,
      Gayle

      Like

      Reply
  22. What a dear story, Gayle. You held my interest and sympathy all the way through. Good job …. Big smiles ….

    Like

    Reply
  23. Sweet! I’m a sucker for a happy ending 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  24. Pushpee

     /  July 29, 2011

    Lovely! lovely!! loved it :))

    Like

    Reply
  25. incredible…you have huge potentials, keep it up.

    hope to see you join week 7 prompt again.

    🙂

    Like

    Reply
  26. Thank you for the participation award! It was my pleasure. xoxo

    Like

    Reply
  1. Short Story Slam Week 6 Participation Awards | Bluebell Ocean Waves

Please share your thoughts...

Wightrabbit

Words and Pictures from The Isle of Wight

writing in north norfolk

Writer of children's literature, short stories and poetry

Lady Nyo's Weblog

A woman writer's blog with invitations to other writers

Poetry Breakfast

Beginning March 20th, 2016 Poetry Breakfast will once again serve a little poetic nourishment every morning. Start your day with our new expanded menu. Poems, of course, are our specialty. But we will also be serving a fuller menu that includes poetry related creative non-fiction such as letters to and from poets, essays on poetry, and anything else that might feed a poet and poetry lover’s soul.

Mithai Mumblezz

Thinks and again mumbles!!

findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing...

mindlovemisery

"We're all out there, somewhere, waiting to happen."

NavasolaNature

Nature needs Nurture

Whimsygizmo's Blog

poetic ponderings...parenting...procrastination...

Tao of Scrumble

A freeform way of life, love and everything

Sharp Little Pencil

Amy Barlow Liberatore... stories of lost years, wild times, mental variety, faith, and lots of jazz

silentlyheardonce

A Silent poet shouting to be heard

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

kanzen sakura

South meets East: Poetry and Musings - words of the seasons

Poems, stories, paintings and more by Sharmishtha Basu

(Agnijaat, Agnishatdal, Agnijashatadalama, Indie Adda)

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

jaywalking the moon

poetry by claudia schoenfeld

She's Writing

Poetry and Prose

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

everyday amazing

spreading good cheer, fun & love for life

Michael's Lair

Just Write WordPress.com site

Björn Rudbergs writings

Poetry and fiction by a physicist from the dark side

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

THE BeZINE

Be inspired...Be creative...Be peace...Be

bardessdmdenton - author- artist

Historical and Literary Fiction / Essays / Poetry / Reviews /Book Cover and Interior Illustrations / Pet Portraits and Other Commissioned Artwork ... "Life can't ever really defeat a writer who is in love with writing, for life itself is a writer's lover until death - fascinating, cruel, lavish, warm, cold, treacherous, constant." ~ Edna Ferber, 1885-1968, American novelist, short story writer and playwright

Soul Dipper

Spirit Builder by Design

Contemplative Moorings

The official blog of unofficial author Michael Marsters.

Ramblings From A Mum

This is my journey, my thoughts, my views, plain and simple and from my heart. Please travel with me and share, hopefully it will be an interesting trip.

bwthoughts

copyright 2013 - no reuse without permission ( see bwfiction.wordpress.com for fiction and fantasy )

"On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea"

All Is One With Our Creator

MyHeartBlog

Take Control of Your Health

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Wanjiku

poetic inspiration from life's simplicity

k8edid

Mumblings of a Middle Aged Madwoman

IN MY NEXT LIFE

if I go around more than once then ...

I Rhyme Without Reason

I live in words

Soul Speak

'You may say I'm a Dreamer, but I'm not the only one' ~ John Lennon

~ Dragon's Dreams ~

Carpe Noctem Quod Tempus Fugit!

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Lafemmeroar

laughing at the malfunction of the universe is better than crying about it

Lorna's Voice

Finding ways to make words sparkle

Olivia's In- Mind Whirls..

"It's all in my mind"

dVerse

Poets Pub

Leslie White

View artwork by Leslie White

jgavinallan

The best time to love...is when it is impossible///Stories of the heart-broken/shattered and sometimes mended

