Surfing

He loved to surf.  He felt as if the sea was his home.  Each break of day found him at the edge of the tide pools.

He lay on his board and with smooth strokes made his way out to the swells.  He sat up and looked up at the sun and felt its warm glow on his face.  All was good in his world.

His chance came–the wave built and he kept pace with it as its force grew.  He stood up and rode it with skill and grace–the deep sea held him high–its curl arced…

Flash Fiction of 100 one syllable words:  Here’s to you Rama!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

18 Comments

  1. love the thought of surfing, what fun to think about it.

    Like

    Reply
  2. jgavinallan

     /  July 11, 2011

    Gayle:
    I just read Rant…so this is very welcome. Lovely description, I see him in the water…all dripping wet and the sun glistening on his tight slim, muscular body…
    oh oh…let me stop
    hugs and hugs
    Jye
    xoxoxoxoxo

    Like

    Reply
    • Yeah, I’m done ranting–for now!

      Uh, oh–you let your mind’s visuals take over again. Hehe…

      Love and hugs,
      Gayle 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  3. jgavinallan

     /  July 11, 2011

    Gayle
    your poem made me so excited I forgot how to spell my name

    xoxoxo
    Jaye

    Like

    Reply
  4. A nice snapshot written for the pic.

    Like

    Reply
  5. i wonder if i will ever have the courage of surfing in ocean!

    Like

    Reply
    • On occasion my surfing brother would take me out on his surfboard with him (when we were teenagers) and get me going on it with him–I would stand up in front of him as he “steered” us. That didn’t happen enough for me to ever learn how to do it though. Now, I’m too old! 🙂

      Like

      Reply
      • you know how to swim? if i was a good swimmer i would sure have tried it (if i lived near ocean of course).

        i just loved to spend my time dipping myself in ocean on both the occasions, 🙂

        Like

        Reply
        • Oh, yes, I know how to swim–have been swimming since I was very young. With all this water around us here in Florida–everyone needs to know how to swim.

          We kids spent our summers swimming in the lakes nearby and at public pools–and the ocean of course. Some lakes were close enough to walk to from our house. My mother loved going to the beach–so usually it was she that took us all. 🙂

          The gulf side of our state is beautiful (The Gulf of Mexico) and is on our west side. The water there is very calm–not many waves like the Atlantic side and way more shells to find!

          Like

          Reply
  6. Bravo! Nicely done. You’re in such a good place for this and such a lovely place … though I don’t know if I could deal with the humidity.

    Gayle, thanks for our visits and comments on Bardo. Hugs!

    Like

    Reply
    • Thank you, Jamie. I told my brother I wrote a short surfing story in tribute to him. I can’t deal with the humidity! It feels like a sauna here today. The beaches are very pretty here though.

      You’re very welcome! 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  7. This is great. I am always fascinated by how surfers can get up on those narrow boards and manuevor on the water. I wish I could swim like you. I can do a doggie padddle in our pool and that exhausts me. I hope I never have to save myself. LOLOLOL

    Good Job, Gayle …

    Izzy

    Like

    Reply
    • It is amazing to watch those surfers–it takes a lot of strength and control.

      You made me chuckle–I hope you never have to use your skills at “lifeguard-ing” yourself!

      Thanks…

      Like

      Reply
  8. Androgoth

     /  September 19, 2011

    How interesting my friend a hundred
    word effort, and so nicely achieved 🙂

    Androgoth Xx

    Like

    Reply

Please share your thoughts...

Wightrabbit's Blog

Words and Pictures from my Kaboodle on The Isle of Wight

writing in north norfolk

Writer of children's literature, short stories and poetry

Lady Nyo's Weblog

A woman writer's blog with invitations to other writers

Poetry Breakfast

Beginning March 20th, 2016 Poetry Breakfast will once again serve a little poetic nourishment every morning. Start your day with our new expanded menu. Poems, of course, are our specialty. But we will also be serving a fuller menu that includes poetry related creative non-fiction such as letters to and from poets, essays on poetry, and anything else that might feed a poet and poetry lover’s soul.

Mithai Mumblezz

Thinks and again mumbles!!

findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing...

mindlovemisery

"We're all out there, somewhere, waiting to happen."

NavasolaNature

Nature needs Nurture

Whimsygizmo's Blog

poetic ponderings...parenting...procrastination...

Tao of Scrumble

A freeform way of life, love and everything

Sharp Little Pencil

Amy Barlow Liberatore... stories of lost years, wild times, mental variety, faith, and lots of jazz

silentlyheardonce

A Silent poet shouting to be heard

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

kanzen sakura

South meets East: Poetry and Musings - words of the seasons

Poems, stories, paintings and more by Sharmishtha Basu

(Agnijaat, Agnishatdal, Agnijashatadalama, Indie Adda)

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

jaywalking the moon

poetry by claudia schoenfeld

She's Writing

Poetry and Prose

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

everyday amazing

spreading good cheer, fun & love for life

Michael's Lair

Just Write WordPress.com site

Björn Rudbergs writings

Poetry and fiction by a physicist from the dark side

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

THE BeZINE

Be inspired...Be creative...Be peace...Be

bardessdmdenton - author- artist

Historical and Literary Fiction / Essays / Poetry / Reviews /Book Cover and Interior Illustrations / Pet Portraits and Other Commissioned Artwork ... "Handle a book as a bee does a flower, extract its sweetness but do not damage it.” ~ John Muir, naturalist, author, 1838 - 1914

Soul Dipper

Spirit Builder by Design

Contemplative Moorings

The official blog of unofficial author Michael Marsters.

Ramblings From A Mum

This is my journey, my thoughts, my views, plain and simple and from my heart. Please travel with me and share, hopefully it will be an interesting trip.

bwthoughts

copyright 2013 - no reuse without permission ( see bwfiction.wordpress.com for fiction and fantasy )

"On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea"

All Is One With Our Creator

MyHeartBlog

Take Control of Your Health

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Wanjiku

poetic inspiration from life's simplicity

k8edid

Mumblings of a Middle Aged Madwoman

IN MY NEXT LIFE

if I go around more than once then ...

I Rhyme Without Reason

I live in words

Soul Speak

'You may say I'm a Dreamer, but I'm not the only one' ~ John Lennon

~ Dragon's Dreams ~

Carpe Noctem Quod Tempus Fugit!

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Lafemmeroar

laughing at the malfunction of the universe is better than crying about it

Lorna's Voice

Finding ways to make words sparkle

Olivia's In- Mind Whirls..

"It's all in my mind"

dVerse

Poets Pub

Leslie White

View artwork by Leslie White

jgavinallan

The best time to love...is when it is impossible///Stories of the heart-broken/shattered and sometimes mended

