Cuckoo Clock

Cuckoo clock with shifting eyes 

Counts the minutes with deep, heavy sighs

Stuck upon the wall all day

His hands committed to work–no play

Watching life around him fly

He ticks each tock so we rely

If he should lag just for a minute

Intolerance will be his penance

Wishful thinking is all he can do

His two-week vacation’s long overdue

Cuckoo bird popping in and out

Makes him want to scream and shout

No one notices his increasing unease

He might as well be a block of cheese

Just take me out, just for a day

And let me smell a sweet bouquet

I’ll keep my word, I’ll keep the chime

If only I could work part-time

My entry for Monday Morning Writing Prompt:  Personification

http://liv2write2day.wordpress.com/2011/06/05/monday-morning-writing-prompt-personification/

 

 


Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

62 Comments

  1. Good advice. Work and no play is never a good thing.

    A clock has no mouth, but sometimes it becomes the loudest thing that we sometimes “listen” to.

    Like

    Reply
    • Poor thing.

      That’s true. Sometimes that’s all we’re tuned into–the clock and what time it is.

      Thanks, Apollorose.

      Like

      Reply
  2. jgavinallan

     /  June 5, 2011

    Gayle:

    My alarm clock works part-time lol…or that’s what my boss says…
    Lovely words and so full of emotion.
    I love this
    Jaye
    xoxo

    Like

    Reply
  3. What a fun idea–a cuckoo clock. Must be a tiring occupation. Thanks for linking, Gayle. Have a good week.

    Like

    Reply
  4. ALIVE aLwaYs

     /  June 5, 2011

    hehe, there’s no breaking free from those boundaries.
    It’s wonderful, no bird wishes to be captured but who would have thought it wishes to make a deal.
    Nice going!

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks so much. And thank you too for being the inspiration for this week’s prompt. It was really fun and your poem was just beautiful–very insightful.

      Like

      Reply
  5. Ironic, isn’t it ???

    We rely so much on time and yet, I think, like the clock we wish we could be free of it. Very cute and humorous description of how hard a clock works … !!!
    .
    Way to go , Gayle. ~~~~ : – )

    Like

    Reply
    • Yes, we so often wish we could be free of the constraints of time. So true, Izzy.

      I’m glad you enjoyed this today–thanks so much. xoxo

      Like

      Reply
  6. Hi Gayle, I don;t know your e-mail that’s why I’m writing here, I’d love to interview you for meet the poet on Wednesday at Jingle poetry, if you like the idea please send me an e-mail to brokensparkles@hotmail.com and we’ll take it from there. Happy days! Blaga

    Like

    Reply
  7. Tino

     /  June 6, 2011

    A part time cuckoo clock, now theres a novelty.

    A fun piece that I enjoyed and it got a big grin out of me as well 😉

    Like

    Reply
    • Haha–wouldn’t quite work out would it–part time-clock. I’m so glad you enjoyed this, Tino–thank you.

      Like

      Reply
  8. Cute with morning coffee.

    Like

    Reply
  9. This is so absolutely charming, Gayle. Very clever. Every bight. Thanks for evening smile.

    Jamie

    Like

    Reply
  10. if they had a soul i am sure they would have thought just like this. lovely.

    Like

    Reply
  11. love this one,

    your poem reminds me of

    cuckoo sound, which is lovely to hear.
    there are things in life that keep us young and puzzled for their special existence.
    Happy Rally.

    Like

    Reply
    • Thank you, Jingle! One of my mother’s best friends had a cuckoo clock and I was so enamored with that thing when I was a little girl. I was thrilled when that bird would pop out!

      Happy Rally! xoxo

      Like

      Reply
  12. Ha, I enjoyed ths. Reminded of my grandmothers big clock in Prague. Enjoyed much.

    http://henryclemmonspoet.blogspot.com/2011/06/just-man-recording-is-above.html

    Like

    Reply
  13. awww this is very cute lovely flow and good advice. I had a cuckoo clock from a trip I took to Switzerland and they are very charming but quite annoying lol

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks so much–I’m glad you like my cuckoo poem. I can imagine that it would get a bit tiresome listening to that “cuckooing” every day! Hehe…

      Like

      Reply
  14. What a great rendition in poetry of how we all feel about responsibility now and again. I loved this! Thanks for sharing it!

    Like

    Reply
  15. I once had a clock like this and I agree the cukoo worked very hard, in and out of his shelter every 15 minutes. It used to ge demented at 12 o clock. I was glad to sell it… it drove me mad.

    Like

    Reply
  16. Love the rhyme! Poor clock… Sadly, I can’t do anything for it – I don’t have one ;P

    Like

    Reply
  17. nice advice gayle.. here is my cute tune on nature

    Someone is Special

    Like

    Reply
  18. very amusing little poem.

    Like

    Reply
  19. A.B. Thomas

     /  June 18, 2011

    Sigh, if only….Fantastic write!

    Like

    Reply
  20. if only …man me too 🙂 very nice

    Like

    Reply
  21. A lovely little poem here. I loved the rhyme scheme, it’s just a shame you lost it on “minute” and “penance”. Very clever personification of an overworked, undervalued object. I really enjoyed it. Bought a smile to my eye.
    The Lonely Recluse.

    Like

    Reply
  22. *smile* Never even thought about a cuckoo in the cuckoo clock this way! Thanks for giving me a new perspective!

    Like

    Reply
    • I wrote this for Victoria’s prompt of writing personification. This is what I came up with.

      It was a new perspective for me too! Thanks for coming by and enjoying.

      Like

      Reply
  23. Its true
    Lovely poem

    Like

    Reply
  24. I’d like for the cuckoo to work part-time, too! Nice job!

    Like

    Reply
  25. A really lovely and cute piece. 🙂
    I loathe clocks and the restraints they represent but I do love the older clocks and their rhythmic ticking. A constant companion of sorts through the movments of days.
    I like your stepping into the perspective of an everyday object, reminds one to be grateful for the tools in our life that work with no complaint. 🙂
    Thankyou for the smile. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • There’s something soothing about hearing that quiet ticking isn’t there?

      I’m happy you enjoyed this and had a smile–thank you. 🙂

      Gayle

      Like

      Reply
  26. Enjoyed your poem immensely, great fun 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  27. ZQ

     /  June 22, 2011

    I work part-time after retiring …after my “Chimes”… my tail feathers shot off ( and when you are made of wood), it doesn’t “tour” as it should. But, I am as “Cuckoo ” as lfe can can be. Is this 2012? Just kidding. That was wondwerful, that you were able to think about it. Bravo!

    Like

    Reply
    • Well your cute response here was very entertaining! Glad you enjoyed my personification of a cuckoo clock–thank you.

      Like

      Reply
  28. I felt very sorry for the poor cuckoo clock, but I’ll be optimistic and think that he got that vacation:)
    Enjoyed reading it tremendously.

    Like

    Reply
  29. Nice to meet you. I have read your cuckoo story and watched the videos that you posted. I’m glad you finally got your cuckoo clock–they are very cool!

    Like

    Reply
  30. Thanks for linking my poem to your site–I appreciate that. Sorry for the delay in my response to you–I’ve just come back from a week’s vacation.

    Like

    Reply
  1. Cuckoo Clock « Flickr Comments by FrizzText

Please share your thoughts...

Wightrabbit

Words and Pictures from The Isle of Wight

writing in north norfolk

Writer of children's literature, short stories and poetry

Lady Nyo's Weblog

A woman writer's blog with invitations to other writers

Poetry Breakfast

Beginning March 20th, 2016 Poetry Breakfast will once again serve a little poetic nourishment every morning. Start your day with our new expanded menu. Poems, of course, are our specialty. But we will also be serving a fuller menu that includes poetry related creative non-fiction such as letters to and from poets, essays on poetry, and anything else that might feed a poet and poetry lover’s soul.

Mithai Mumblezz

Thinks and again mumbles!!

findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing...

mindlovemisery

"We're all out there, somewhere, waiting to happen."

NavasolaNature

Nature needs Nurture

Whimsygizmo's Blog

poetic ponderings...parenting...procrastination...

Tao of Scrumble

A freeform way of life, love and everything

Tournesol dans un Jardin

Waka & Micro Poetry

Sharp Little Pencil

Amy Barlow Liberatore... stories of lost years, wild times, mental variety, faith, and lots of jazz

silentlyheardonce

A Silent poet shouting to be heard

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

kanzen sakura

South meets East: Poetry and Musings - words of the seasons

Poems, stories, paintings and more by Sharmishtha Basu

(Agnijaat, Agnishatdal, Agnijashatadalama, Indie Adda)

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

jaywalking the moon

poetry by claudia schoenfeld

She's Writing

Poetry and Prose

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

everyday amazing

spreading good cheer, fun & love for life

Michael's Lair

Just Write WordPress.com site

Björn Rudbergs writings

Poetry and fiction by a physicist from the dark side

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

THE BeZINE

Be inspired...Be creative...Be peace...Be

bardessdmdenton - author- artist

Historical and Literary Fiction / Essays / Poetry / Reviews /Book Cover and Interior Illustrations / Pet Portraits and Other Commissioned Artwork ... "Life can't ever really defeat a writer who is in love with writing, for life itself is a writer's lover until death - fascinating, cruel, lavish, warm, cold, treacherous, constant." ~ Edna Ferber, 1885-1968, American novelist, short story writer and playwright

Soul Dipper

Spirit Builder by Design

Contemplative Moorings

The official blog of unofficial author Michael Marsters.

Ramblings From A Mum

This is my journey, my thoughts, my views, plain and simple and from my heart. Please travel with me and share, hopefully it will be an interesting trip.

bwthoughts

copyright 2013 - no reuse without permission ( see bwfiction.wordpress.com for fiction and fantasy )

"On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea"

All Is One With Our Creator

MyHeartBlog

Take Control of Your Health

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Wanjiku

poetic inspiration from life's simplicity

k8edid

Mumblings of a Middle Aged Madwoman

IN MY NEXT LIFE

if I go around more than once then ...

I Rhyme Without Reason

I live in words

Soul Speak

'You may say I'm a Dreamer, but I'm not the only one' ~ John Lennon

~ Dragon's Dreams ~

Carpe Noctem Quod Tempus Fugit!

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Lafemmeroar

laughing at the malfunction of the universe is better than crying about it

Lorna's Voice

Finding ways to make words sparkle

Olivia's In- Mind Whirls..

"It's all in my mind"

dVerse

Poets Pub

Leslie White

View artwork by Leslie White

jgavinallan

The best time to love...is when it is impossible///Stories of the heart-broken/shattered and sometimes mended

