Quiet

In the quiet of the evening

When all is still and tranquil

I breathe in deep and sense my essence

Pure, everlasting acquiescence


The gentle silence of the night

Soothes me into peaceful harmony

No thoughts invade to bring discord

Turned within, I find serenity


Sitting motionless, relaxed and steady

I feel composed and undisturbed

The whole of the cosmos supports my state

Iโ€™m in alignment; a smile escapes


Joy transcends all here below

Energy tickles its way upward

Merging powers serve to greet me

My Oneness revealed; Iโ€™m blessed completely

Entry for Thursday’s Poet Rally 42: ย http://thursdaypoetsrallypoetry.blogspot.com/

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

58 Comments

  1. Lovely poem on relaxing the spirit. I wrote one on Meditomating too.
    http://booguloo.wordpress.com/2011/05/01/evening-shore/

    Like

    Reply
  2. I love it. Any time you can turn within and find peace, you are ahead of the game.

    http://timkeen40.wordpress.com

    Like

    Reply
  3. Gayle,
    Wonderful poem! Remembering to breathe for the sake of relaxing, calming and peace is an often forgotten art I believe. This poem is written in such a way that not only does it describe the experience but it helps the reader to get a feel for it as well. Nicely written.

    Peace,

    Stephen

    Like

    Reply
    • Thank you, Stephen. I’m happy to hear that it had that effect on you. I’m very grateful that I can feel this part of me–I don’t take it lightly.
      Peace,
      Gayle

      Like

      Reply
  4. jgavinallan

     /  May 1, 2011

    Very Zen like. I remember other posts. You express simple logic of the soul.

    Jaye

    Like

    Reply
  5. Beautiful poem about quiet. Perhaps “quiet” is actually a better word for alone. Have you ever tried to tell someone you are not lonely when you are alone; that they are two different things?

    Like

    Reply
    • Yes, maybe “quiet” is a better word for alone. And yes, I’ve tried to explain that to other people too–an apparent concept that some can’t wrap their brains around. I am rarely lonely when I’m alone. I’m mostly very content being alone.

      Like

      Reply
  6. Perfect! Just a a complete blessing. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Thanks for this.

    Like

    Reply
  7. you truly sound blessed. beautiful. i am making my way back to that place again. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    Reply
  8. Gayle

    The message of peaceful tranquility comes across so beautifully. The images shows the exact tone of the words. It is alway so peaceful to sit and meditae while looking at water.

    Beautiful,
    Isadora

    Like

    Reply
    • Hi Isadora, welcome home from your trip. Hope all is well.

      Thanks for the lovely compliment–I appreciate it.

      Look forward to perhaps reading something about your travels.

      Peace…
      Gayle

      Like

      Reply
  9. Wonderful poem, love the calm emotion in it, great write.

    Like

    Reply
  10. Beautiful words capturing the power of meditation. Think I need to try this more often (meditating, that is).

    Chloe xx

    Like

    Reply
  11. stunning,

    enjoy some peaceful some ..it helps.
    smiles.

    Like

    Reply
  12. I know the feeling and you put it so beautifully…

    Like

    Reply
  13. Julian Javier the Cyber Mushroom

     /  May 5, 2011

    nicely done! “Iโ€™m in alignment; a smile escapes” i love it! happy rally!

    Like

    Reply
  14. As peaceful as the thought which spawned these lines! ๐Ÿ™‚ Nice work.

    Like

    Reply
  15. A lovely peaceful poem Bodhirose. I wish I could feel such, instead of being plagued by an active mind and insomnia. Beautiful words, great sound.
    The Lonely Recluse.

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks so much, TLR. I wish you could feel such too. My peace is challenged too when my active mind keeps me awake. No fun.

      Gayle

      Like

      Reply
  16. What peace. This is the feeling I find at 4am in quiet meditation. Well out here. Great job.

    Like

    Reply
    • There’s no peace like that in the wee early hours of the morning–when so much is still…

      Thanks, Marlee.

      Like

      Reply
  17. what a blissful, calming poem… these words are worth meditating on. thanks for sharing. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    Reply
  18. I once dated a hypnotherapist who taught me self-hypnotic relaxation. This poem reminds me very much of how that is acheived. It also reminded me that I should do it more often. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

    Reply
  19. WoW! Talk about complete relaxation. Wish I could find that place.
    Nicely done.

    Like

    Reply
    • Maybe you could just read this poem over and over if you ever feel stressed out… I think I’ll try it myself!

      Thanks, Andy.

      Like

      Reply
  20. A serene and inspiring post … a goal for all of us as we turn inward for guidance, clarity and growth! Beautifully written xoxoxo

    Like

    Reply
  21. Very Nice !!
    Happy Raly
    JL&B

    Like

    Reply
  22. Blessed mood that is. You must be a meditator.

    Like

    Reply
  23. I am blessed, to read your words, and see the wonder within. Vivid image you paint with words, they drew me in and allowed me to follow the path you created. Thank you!

    Like

    Reply
    • Now I am blessed to receive such a kind comment. I’m very glad these words allowed you to follow the path! Thank you, John and you’re welcome.

      Like

      Reply
  24. reads much like a meditation or bending toward one…and easy gentle flow to your words…that matches the topic…

    Like

    Reply
  25. Indeed a blessed and peaceful read~

    Nice to meet you at D’verse~

    Like

    Reply
  26. In the middle of the madness of my workday, I find a slice of peace in your medatative poem. Lovely and calming.

    Although this reminds me of the chant of my yoga instructor in wording and cadence, it doesn’t employ poetic devices to convey images or stir feelings. Some lines infuse internal rhyme which adds a nice element.

    Because this is written in first person and the aura is defined in simple words and thoughts, it is difficult to critique. I wouldn’t want to complicate it or change the flow.

    I’m not a fan of double-spacing in poetry. I read all poetry out loud and double-spacing interrupts the flow of thought but in this case, the poem is meant to be read slowly. If it were mine, I would use single line spacing.

    S3L1 “Sitting motionless but relaxed and steady” The word but isn’t necessary here. The flow absorbs more of the softness if you say “Sitting motionless, relaxed and steady”

    Truly lovely. Thank you so much for the mini-vacation from work stress and for the opportunity to read and offer input on your work. I truly enjoyed it.

    Beth

    Like

    Reply
  27. I’m glad this could bring you a sense of peace and calm today, Beth. It’s my yoga and meditation background coming out here!

    It seems like this writing program on WordPress automatically double spaces–I’ll have to investigate on how to remedy that.

    I agree with you on the word ‘but’–it’s not necessary. I so appreciate you taking the time to critique my work–thank you very much.

    Gayle

    Like

    Reply
  28. As Beth says this poem is a slice of peace ๐Ÿ™‚ In my humble opinion I think you could take out “still and” from the line “When all is still and tranquil” and replace it with ‘tranquility’ to eliminate the redundancy without losing the beautiful rhythm, but that is merely my humble opinion. When I read it I immediately thought of yoga ๐Ÿ™‚ the poem ‘breathes’ beautifully.

    Like

    Reply
    • Thank you much for your humble opinion–I appreciate you taking the time and effort to comment on this. And I’m glad you found some peace in it as well.

      Gayle

      Like

      Reply

Please share your thoughts...

Wightrabbit

Words and Pictures from The Isle of Wight

writing in north norfolk

Writer of children's literature, short stories and poetry

Lady Nyo's Weblog

A woman writer's blog with invitations to other writers

Poetry Breakfast

Beginning March 20th, 2016 Poetry Breakfast will once again serve a little poetic nourishment every morning. Start your day with our new expanded menu. Poems, of course, are our specialty. But we will also be serving a fuller menu that includes poetry related creative non-fiction such as letters to and from poets, essays on poetry, and anything else that might feed a poet and poetry loverโ€™s soul.

Mithai Mumblezz

Thinks and again mumbles!!

findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing...

mindlovemisery

"We're all out there, somewhere, waiting to happen."

NavasolaNature

Nature needs Nurture

Whimsygizmo's Blog

poetic ponderings...parenting...procrastination...

Tao of Scrumble

A freeform way of life, love and everything

Sharp Little Pencil

Amy Barlow Liberatore... stories of lost years, wild times, mental variety, faith, and lots of jazz

silentlyheardonce

A Silent poet shouting to be heard

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

kanzen sakura

South meets East: Poetry and Musings - words of the seasons

Poems, stories, paintings and more by Sharmishtha Basu

(Agnijaat, Agnishatdal, Agnijashatadalama, Indie Adda)

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

jaywalking the moon

poetry by claudia schoenfeld

She's Writing

Poetry and Prose

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

everyday amazing

spreading good cheer, fun & love for life

Michael's Lair

Just Write WordPress.com site

Bjรถrn Rudbergs writings

Poetry and fiction by a physicist from the dark side

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

THE BeZINE

Be inspired...Be creative...Be peace...Be

bardessdmdenton - author- artist

Historical and Literary Fiction / Essays / Poetry / Reviews /Book Cover and Interior Illustrations / Pet Portraits and Other Commissioned Artwork ... "Life can't ever really defeat a writer who is in love with writing, for life itself is a writer's lover until death - fascinating, cruel, lavish, warm, cold, treacherous, constant." ~ Edna Ferber, 1885-1968, American novelist, short story writer and playwright

Soul Dipper

Spirit Builder by Design

Contemplative Moorings

The official blog of unofficial author Michael Marsters.

Ramblings From A Mum

This is my journey, my thoughts, my views, plain and simple and from my heart. Please travel with me and share, hopefully it will be an interesting trip.

bwthoughts

copyright 2013 - no reuse without permission ( see bwfiction.wordpress.com for fiction and fantasy )

"On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea"

All Is One With Our Creator

MyHeartBlog

Take Control of Your Health

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Wanjiku

poetic inspiration from life's simplicity

k8edid

Mumblings of a Middle Aged Madwoman

IN MY NEXT LIFE

if I go around more than once then ...

I Rhyme Without Reason

I live in words

Soul Speak

'You may say I'm a Dreamer, but I'm not the only one' ~ John Lennon

~ Dragon's Dreams ~

Carpe Noctem Quod Tempus Fugit!

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Lafemmeroar

laughing at the malfunction of the universe is better than crying about it

Lorna's Voice

Finding ways to make words sparkle

Olivia's In- Mind Whirls..

"It's all in my mind"

dVerse

Poets Pub

Leslie White

View artwork by Leslie White

jgavinallan

The best time to love...is when it is impossible///Stories of the heart-broken/shattered and sometimes mended

