Rumi’s Healing

Mikao Usui 臼井甕男 (1865 – 1926)

Image via Wikipedia

My friend, Kumari Mullin, is a Reiki Master (pronounced ray-kee).  Reiki was developed by Mikao Usui in 1922.  He was a Japanese Buddhist.  It is a healing modality that uses energy to correct deficiencies in patients.  I’m not going to go into all the details of this practice but I have seen the miraculous healings that have been achieved through Kumari’s work.

Kumari is also an animal communicator and has the ability to intuit an animal’s distress or needs and bring about their healing or well being.  I witnessed this healing with my adult daughter’s cat that had become seriously ill when he was between one and two years of age. 

My daughter, Mahan, and I lived together for several years and I saw firsthand the suffering by her cat, Rumi, and she both.  His first symptoms showed up as severe vomiting episodes and lethargy.  Then he started having seizures which would leave him dazed and refusing to eat.  Many trips to the vet and many thousands of dollars spent on tests, blood transfusions, etc. never gave us a definitive explanation as to what was causing his trouble.  Many times Mahan and I would prepare ourselves to let him go but somehow, miraculously, he would pull through and be seemingly well until the next incident.  He was put on a steroid which helped stabilize him but it never stopped his periods of decline.

During the time of his extreme illness, my daughter and I would feel tremendous stress and worry over Rumi’s wellbeing.  He was so sick and it tore at our hearts to see him going through so much but then he would bounce back and seemingly come back to health.

Mahan knew of Kumari’s work and so decided to give Reiki a try.  Kumari was able to work long distance over the phone so they set up a time for a session.  Mahan and I were very hopeful that Kumari would be able to pinpoint the trouble and get to the root of the problem that Rumi was experiencing.

When Mahan spoke to Kumari, she was intrigued by the messages that Kumari was conveying from Rumi.  Kumari told her that Rumi was very affected by Mahan’s reaction to his illness and that her fear was only hurting the both of them.  She needed to detach herself from the experience and not project that something dire was going to happen.  Rumi was accepting of his illness and appreciated all that was done on his behalf.  Kumari said Rumi was not ready to go.  She also found some physical blockages which she “moved” through Reiki to assist with his “life force energy”.

After Mahan had several more sessions over the phone with Kumari, Rumi has been overall stable except for the occasional mild seizure and some minor “down time”.  He is a very sleek and healthy cat who is very social and loving.  He’s been a wonderful companion to Mahan and we are very grateful to Kumari for the healing she facilitated.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

23 Comments

  1. When I worked as a hospice nurse, I also received training in the three levels of Reiki, but shortly after I retired and haven’t used it much. I do have a friend who is proficient. It is so powerful. You should see her cat, Pearl, when Marilyn is doing Reiki. The energy drives her up the wall…literally. My training was also in the Usui line.

    Like

    Reply
  2. I find it so interesting that this was included in your training–I’m glad it was acknowledged as a viable healing tool. I can imagine that a cat would be super sensitive to the energy flow. I think that’s why it works so well on them–they are really tuned into energy levels and respond well.

    It’s an amazing healing technique. I would love to learn it myself.

    Like

    Reply
  3. I was attuned and received my reiki level 1 almost two years ago. I had previously received several treatments at Wellspring (a Cancer Support centre that I am a member of). While I do not do much reiki on others, I love it. I also got my level 1 in Therapeutic Touch, which is another healing modality that is similar, but with differences. I do self-cleansing, as well as treatments on my children and pets. When my cat died at Christmas, I sat with him for many hours doing what I could for him in the middle of a snow storm. While I could not cure him, I did bring him a measure of peace before he died. For that I am thankful. Reiki is a powerful modality and I am blessed that it came into my life.

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks so much, Katherine, for sharing this with me. I’m happy to hear of your positive experience with reiki. I’m sure you helped a great deal with your cat’s passing–what a blessing.

      Like I said, I would love to learn this technique myself some day.

      Like

      Reply
  4. some people have amazing powers, she also seems to be one of them. it must have been a great experience.

    Like

    Reply
    • She really did do wonders for Rumi. He was so much better after her treatments. She works a great deal with horses and even large animals in zoos. And people too of course.

      Like

      Reply
  5. its such a delightful experience to come across such a person face to face and see him/her at action. i have not seen anyone yet.

    Like

    Reply
  6. Lovely story, Gayle. Thank you for sharing it. 🙂 You just made my day.

    I started studying Reiki eleven years ago when I was first diagnosed and given two years to live. It’s very powerful. I become a Reiki Master in the Usui tradition. Later I also studied and became a Master of the Karuna tradition. I learned other energetic healing modalities along the way. More than eleven years later, I am still here and have relatively good quality of life. Certainly the support of family and friends helps. Absolutely, the fine medical care, both expert and compassionate, are factors in my health status. I have no doubt though, that Reiki is part of the success of my treatments and my unexpected longevity. One of my doctors said, “It helps to put the body in homeostasis so that it can heal itself.”

    Blessings for a wonderful weekend.

    In metta,
    Jamie

    Like

    Reply
  7. Oh, wow–now you’ve made my day, Jamie. I’m just thrilled to know that you have studied this powerful energy healing and have become a Reiki Master. Even more so, I’m very happy for you that you have managed your illness so successfully with many supportive therapies and people in your life. Also, that is one advanced-thinking doctor to have said those words to you.

    Then I wonder why some doctors tell people they only have so long to live–they are often wrong.

    Peace and blessings for you, Jamie…

    In metta,
    Gayle

    Like

    Reply
    • They are actually using at the Veterans’ Administration now. Don’t know if that’s about cheap therapy or if they do believe in its efficacy.

      Peace!

      Like

      Reply
  8. Awesome post … I am preparing to work through workshop offering all levels of Reiki … I intend to use it with each of my animals (humans will benefit as well) and add to my animal communication niche!

    Like

    Reply
    • I wish you much success, Becca. Knowing this therapy will be of great help to you I believe and your animal and human connections too! Wonderful.

      Like

      Reply
  9. It can be so difficult with some animals that just want to keep being with us.Our cat Tigger was blessed with very good health but it was our golden retriever that put us through the challenges you describe here. Always bouncing back from that edge and wanting to live.

    Like

    Reply
    • It’s very difficult. When Rumi was very young we prepared ourselves to say goodbye but he bounded back. That scenario played out a few times through the years but he wanted to stay until he couldn’t any longer. He was so strong. I still miss him.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      • This was so similar to what happened with our family dog.msome animals have such a spirit to be with us. I think both my daughters really value the contribution of our cat and dog even though it took us to the edge as in your experience. I’ll try a post or a poem at some point but really glad to link up with you and your Rumi.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
  10. I would love to have another cat but I don’t know if my daughter will ever want another animal. It really took its toll on her (and her boyfriend and I) and since I live in her home, I will certainly abide by her wishes. I would love to read anything you might want to share about life with your animals…thanks for your understanding words.

    Like

    Reply

Please share your thoughts...

Wightrabbit

Words and Pictures from The Isle of Wight

writing in north norfolk

Writer of children's literature, short stories and poetry

Lady Nyo's Weblog

A woman writer's blog with invitations to other writers

Poetry Breakfast

Beginning March 20th, 2016 Poetry Breakfast will once again serve a little poetic nourishment every morning. Start your day with our new expanded menu. Poems, of course, are our specialty. But we will also be serving a fuller menu that includes poetry related creative non-fiction such as letters to and from poets, essays on poetry, and anything else that might feed a poet and poetry lover’s soul.

Mithai Mumblezz

Thinks and again mumbles!!

findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing...

mindlovemisery

"We're all out there, somewhere, waiting to happen."

NavasolaNature

Nature needs Nurture

Whimsygizmo's Blog

poetic ponderings...parenting...procrastination...

Tao of Scrumble

A freeform way of life, love and everything

Sharp Little Pencil

Amy Barlow Liberatore... stories of lost years, wild times, mental variety, faith, and lots of jazz

silentlyheardonce

A Silent poet shouting to be heard

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

kanzen sakura

South meets East: Poetry and Musings - words of the seasons

Poems, stories, paintings and more by Sharmishtha Basu

(Agnijaat, Agnishatdal, Agnijashatadalama, Indie Adda)

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

jaywalking the moon

poetry by claudia schoenfeld

She's Writing

Poetry and Prose

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

everyday amazing

spreading good cheer, fun & love for life

Michael's Lair

Just Write WordPress.com site

Björn Rudbergs writings

Poetry and fiction by a physicist from the dark side

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

THE BeZINE

Be inspired...Be creative...Be peace...Be

bardessdmdenton - author- artist

Historical and Literary Fiction / Essays / Poetry / Reviews /Book Cover and Interior Illustrations / Pet Portraits and Other Commissioned Artwork ... "Life can't ever really defeat a writer who is in love with writing, for life itself is a writer's lover until death - fascinating, cruel, lavish, warm, cold, treacherous, constant." ~ Edna Ferber, 1885-1968, American novelist, short story writer and playwright

Soul Dipper

Spirit Builder by Design

Contemplative Moorings

The official blog of unofficial author Michael Marsters.

Ramblings From A Mum

This is my journey, my thoughts, my views, plain and simple and from my heart. Please travel with me and share, hopefully it will be an interesting trip.

bwthoughts

copyright 2013 - no reuse without permission ( see bwfiction.wordpress.com for fiction and fantasy )

"On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea"

All Is One With Our Creator

MyHeartBlog

Take Control of Your Health

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Wanjiku

poetic inspiration from life's simplicity

k8edid

Mumblings of a Middle Aged Madwoman

IN MY NEXT LIFE

if I go around more than once then ...

I Rhyme Without Reason

I live in words

Soul Speak

'You may say I'm a Dreamer, but I'm not the only one' ~ John Lennon

~ Dragon's Dreams ~

Carpe Noctem Quod Tempus Fugit!

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Lafemmeroar

laughing at the malfunction of the universe is better than crying about it

Lorna's Voice

Finding ways to make words sparkle

Olivia's In- Mind Whirls..

"It's all in my mind"

dVerse

Poets Pub

Leslie White

View artwork by Leslie White

jgavinallan

The best time to love...is when it is impossible///Stories of the heart-broken/shattered and sometimes mended

