Walking Away

At first all I felt was just a pinch or two

perhaps likened to an itch upon my foot.

Then a vague uncertainty arose as the sting grew worse.

Words were spoken to confuse me, demeaning my worth


 But he’s right, I’m wrong, it’s all meant for my benefit.


 I became expert at shoving those doubts aside,

and not wanting to notice them as the years rolled by.

But my insides knew something was drastically wrong,

an insidious pall was taking over my heart.


The atmosphere of our life grew pervasively ill.


 I started to decline; my head grew heavy;

my mind was being manipulated by a calculating crazy.

I grew worrisome and anxious–what was the truth?

My body knew the answer but my mind wouldn’t follow suit.


 Eventually I woke up–I faced it at last, the sober reality was that I had to get out.

You’ll never make it without me, was his shout as I walked out the door.

But the freedom and confidence I felt was no illusion,

There’s no one outside of me making my decisions.

Monday’s Poetry Potluck:  Doubts, Fear, Inhibitions and Hesitations;  http://jinglepoetry.blogspot.com/

Leave a comment

48 Comments

  1. You’ve managed to capture the struggle and feelings of a lot of failing relations. Good work.

    Like

    Reply
  2. You read my diary, huh?

    Like

    Reply
  3. inspirational x

    Like

    Reply
  4. You’re not alone.. I think we inadvertently pass the baton on to our kids.. etc.. etc.. etc..

    Like

    Reply
    • Oh, I know I’m not alone. I’ve become so cynical though about marriage and can hardly muster up much happiness when young couples I know head to the altar. I mutter under my breath, “give it a few years…”.

      Like

      Reply
  5. We’ve become emancipated and realized (maybe late) that we didn’t have to live in a miserable existance. After such a short courtship for most of us, divorce or separation is inevitable. I’m happy it only took 33 years for it to sink in for me..

    Like

    Reply
    • I was just so young–it took almost 25 for me. Luckily our two daughters were adults and doing well for themselves at the time.

      Only 33, huh? Think of the many who just stay together in spite of the misery–like my parents…

      Like

      Reply
  6. Such a difficult thing. So many women allow this. Just finished reading “The Help” in which one of the characters goes through this. Bravo to all who are able to get out, be free.

    Like

    Reply
    • True. I walked away with nothing and I still felt liberated and never thought of going back. I count that strength in me to do that a huge blessing. If you’ve given it your best try, then move on so at least you both have a chance at happiness again.

      Like

      Reply
  7. what an empowering piece! i have seen friends who came to this decision… long years of suffering… and when they finally came to their senses and walked out, they never looked back again. simply brilliant!

    Like

    Reply
    • Yes, I hope others will feel encouraged and empowered if they read this. It’s not worth it to stay in a sick relationship, especially if the sick one doesn’t think he’s sick! Glad you liked this, Bing.

      Like

      Reply
  8. Both mind and body must make up their minds to cut away. There’s physical abuse and then there’s emotional abuse, either or both, some are afraid to go for whatever reason(s). I’m not in their shoe(s), but I’m a product of feet that wore those shoes.

    Like

    Reply
    • Believe me emotional abuse is physical too! That’s what I meant by the body “knowing” but the intellect wouldn’t/couldn’t follow.

      I’m glad you’re not in those shoes, Apollorose–may your feet never wear them.

      Like

      Reply
  9. it was a shame that he could not realize your worth! All abusive people behave in the same way, thats why some can recognize them instantly and run away from them the moment they become confirmed that they are.

    some people hope that love will change them, which seldom does but mostly does not.

    Like

    Reply
    • Yes, he couldn’t see my worth–but I couldn’t see it either for a while. The relationship could never happen now–but then I was too young and inexperienced to see clearly.

      I keep a very healthy distance from people like this these days.

      Like

      Reply
      • sometimes these people make you think that you are “unworthy”, i have met some people like that, and its really tough to shake them off – they love to impose themselves and their views on others.

        they are toxic.

        Like

        Reply
      • The very saddest thing about all this is that he is still doing this to people. Even our daughters are distancing themselves from him–and other people are too. I believe it really is a mental illness.

        Like

        Reply
      • it usually is a psychological problem. he will be looking for one victim after the other. its but natural.

        Like

        Reply
      • You are exactly right.

        Like

        Reply
  10. What a great struggle to freedom! The journey we embark upon to find our true value takes many forms. Your description here is so vivid and emotion. I truly enjoyed it. Thank you!

    Like

    Reply
    • Yes, it really was a huge struggle. I’ve learned that everyone has obstacles in life that can be overcome with strength and fortitude.

      I’m glad you enjoyed this, Marlee–thanks so very much.

      Like

      Reply
  11. superb job..

    A++

    have fun today, bless you.

    Like

    Reply
  12. Powerful capture of the influence another can have on our being… and the hesitations that our gut tells us need be. To know thyself!

    Like

    Reply
    • I never want to allow that to happen again! Whew! I’m on guard now and listening to my inner self with more attention.

      Like

      Reply
  13. I admire your courage to walk away. People who are full of hurts can only give hurts unless they make the effort to love. Huggs 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • Thank you very much. That’s a very sad and powerless place to come from isn’t it–full of hurts.

      And thanks for those hugs! 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  14. Wonderfully told, your flow was perfectly grabbing. You also express that moment in relationship so well, I walked out with you! Lovely write ~ Rose

    Like

    Reply
  15. A.B. Thomas

     /  May 2, 2011

    A strong write!

    Like

    Reply
  16. amazing,,,,,,,,I thought I commented, check your spam box.

    A++

    Like

    Reply
  17. Jessica

     /  May 3, 2011

    I love the way that told a story, and your strength to walk away! Nice layout too.

    http://jessicasjapes.wordpress.com/2011/05/01/darkly-imagined/

    Like

    Reply
  18. great poem..very descriptive and written with feeling…I can associate with it very much though probably not in the way you describe 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  19. Tell me it’s fiction and not happening right now!

    Eventually I woke up–I faced it at last, the sober reality was that I had to get out.
    You’ll never make it without me, was his shout as I walked out the door.
    But the freedom and confidence I felt was no illusion,
    There’s no one outside of me making my decisions.

    Sadly, I have been there more than once. I know this very well- There’s no one outside of me making my decisions..

    Want that just one more time to happen, just this once. I promise would never ever let anyone else take charge!

    Your words uplifted my spirits Rose sweets!
    Many Hugs xoxox

    Like

    Reply
    • Not fiction but not happening right now either. Happened when I left my long-time marriage many years ago now. Most people can relate to being in an unhappy relationship. Best to move on and not be tortured!

      I’m happy this uplifted your spirit, Olivia.

      Hugs… xoxo

      Like

      Reply
  20. very nice… sometimes you have to face the fact it is time to let go.

    my potluck post was here
    http://blackswanpoetry.wordpress.com/2011/05/01/poem-flexed/

    Like

    Reply
    • Yes, you do. Hopefully sooner than later!

      I love your potluck poem, Swanrose–very passionate and confident.

      Like

      Reply

Please share your thoughts...

Wightrabbit

Words and Pictures from The Isle of Wight

writing in north norfolk

Writer of children's literature, short stories and poetry

Lady Nyo's Weblog

A woman writer's blog with invitations to other writers

Poetry Breakfast

Beginning March 20th, 2016 Poetry Breakfast will once again serve a little poetic nourishment every morning. Start your day with our new expanded menu. Poems, of course, are our specialty. But we will also be serving a fuller menu that includes poetry related creative non-fiction such as letters to and from poets, essays on poetry, and anything else that might feed a poet and poetry lover’s soul.

Mithai Mumblezz

Thinks and again mumbles!!

findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing...

mindlovemisery

"We're all out there, somewhere, waiting to happen."

NavasolaNature

Nature needs Nurture

Whimsygizmo's Blog

poetic ponderings...parenting...procrastination...

Tao of Scrumble

A freeform way of life, love and everything

Sharp Little Pencil

Amy Barlow Liberatore... stories of lost years, wild times, mental variety, faith, and lots of jazz

silentlyheardonce

A Silent poet shouting to be heard

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

kanzen sakura

South meets East: Poetry and Musings - words of the seasons

Poems, stories, paintings and more by Sharmishtha Basu

(Agnijaat, Agnishatdal, Agnijashatadalama, Indie Adda)

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

jaywalking the moon

poetry by claudia schoenfeld

She's Writing

Poetry and Prose

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

everyday amazing

spreading good cheer, fun & love for life

Michael's Lair

Just Write WordPress.com site

Björn Rudbergs writings

Poetry and fiction by a physicist from the dark side

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

THE BeZINE

Be inspired...Be creative...Be peace...Be

bardessdmdenton - author- artist

Historical and Literary Fiction / Essays / Poetry / Reviews /Book Cover and Interior Illustrations / Pet Portraits and Other Commissioned Artwork ... "Life can't ever really defeat a writer who is in love with writing, for life itself is a writer's lover until death - fascinating, cruel, lavish, warm, cold, treacherous, constant." ~ Edna Ferber, 1885-1968, American novelist, short story writer and playwright

Soul Dipper

Spirit Builder by Design

Contemplative Moorings

The official blog of unofficial author Michael Marsters.

Ramblings From A Mum

This is my journey, my thoughts, my views, plain and simple and from my heart. Please travel with me and share, hopefully it will be an interesting trip.

bwthoughts

copyright 2013 - no reuse without permission ( see bwfiction.wordpress.com for fiction and fantasy )

"On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea"

All Is One With Our Creator

MyHeartBlog

Take Control of Your Health

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Wanjiku

poetic inspiration from life's simplicity

k8edid

Mumblings of a Middle Aged Madwoman

IN MY NEXT LIFE

if I go around more than once then ...

I Rhyme Without Reason

I live in words

Soul Speak

'You may say I'm a Dreamer, but I'm not the only one' ~ John Lennon

~ Dragon's Dreams ~

Carpe Noctem Quod Tempus Fugit!

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Lafemmeroar

laughing at the malfunction of the universe is better than crying about it

Lorna's Voice

Finding ways to make words sparkle

Olivia's In- Mind Whirls..

"It's all in my mind"

dVerse

Poets Pub

Leslie White

View artwork by Leslie White

jgavinallan

The best time to love...is when it is impossible///Stories of the heart-broken/shattered and sometimes mended

