Kitchen Drawer

The kitchen drawer at my mother’s house
squeals in protest and needs a bit of prodding
before opening fully.  Sixty plus years of mustiness
greet my nose as I push aside the Better Homes and
Gardens cookbook that her mother had given to her as a young bride and now is barely being held together by its aged binding.
The pages that hold the lemon meringue pie, meatloaf and
the favorite appetizer recipes I learned to make
as a teenager are loose-leaf pages just stuck
in anywhere in the ancient but beloved book.
Here are hand-written family recipes neatly
stored in the front cover of the book,
so we always know where to find them.
I’m searching for the pair of scissors that have
been kept here as long as I can remember.

Where have they gone to I wonder,
as I shuffle through the odds and ends
and scraps of paper with important numbers and
names written on them–long ago forgotten–no longer
of any significance.  There are paper clips, rusting
and bent out of shape, tacks that still have sharp points
and pens that have long ago had their ink run dry and
pencils that are stubs with erasers worn down to flat, dark nubs.
Why haven’t they been thrown out?

Here’s an old school photo of one of us kids from back in elementary, folded and wrinkled such that there are lines across the child face.  Dust coats the bottom of the drawer, as I rifle through and dig deeper to find too many green and red rubber bands of assorted shapes and sizes, always saved, “just in case”.  Now breaking as I stretch them, long ago worn out–no longer having any snap.  Here’s a neatly clipped together stack of receipts dated from the 60s.

Several broken Crayola crayons have drawn on the bottom of the drawer over time–leaving squiggly muted lines–smudged.
A prescription bottle with remnants of some medicine needed to help fight an illness–was that from when three of us
had the mumps at the same time?
Lifetimes of all of us, still living in this one drawer–
a small slice of life–
everything contained within holding a story of how it came to be here.

But where are those scissors…?



Next Post
Leave a comment

30 Comments

  1. Great meemories, when I go to my grandma’s houseits the same. I used to have a better homes and garden cookbook, saved my. Life,lol!

    Like

    Reply
    • Thank you, Paulo. Isn’t it interesting how most households have one of these drawers? I still do have one of those old cookbooks too–I can’t remember where it came from. Thanks for sharing too!

      Like

      Reply
  2. In my house growing up it was called the junk drawer, but still in the kitchen. Thanks for sharing. It was good to remember those feelings you reflected.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Oh I love this. I’m up visiting my mom now. I’m going to have to do some snooping and get some inspiration like that. One of my favorite poem (that I wrote) is the same kind of thing, only it was her den where I’m sitting right now! Thanks, Gayle

    Like

    Reply
    • How cool that you wrote a similar poem about your mother’s den and you’re there at her house right now. Doesn’t everyone have a “junk” drawer like this somewhere in their home–usually the kitchen? So happy you enjoyed this–thank you, Victoria.

      Like

      Reply
  4. Gayle, this is absolutely lovely. We share such memories and you have brought them back beautifully for all of us. I even have that cookbook, though I don’t use it. Ha! Kudos to you for this. Made my evening. Thank you! I’ll be back to read it again.

    Like

    Reply
    • I would think most people can relate to these memories with a drawer like this in their home. My mother’s drawer has literally been there for over 60 years–she still lives in the same house where we were all brought up. I’m so happy you enjoyed this enough to want to come back and re-read!

      Now you’ve made my day! Thanks, Jamie. xoxo

      Like

      Reply
      • Hi, Gayle!

        Thanks for visiting us at Into the Bardo. Last night, Rob responded to your comment on his Stroke of Insight post.

        I had as much fun rereading this poem as I did the first time, Gayle. I call my drawer like that “my everything drawer.” I know. It’s kind of silly, but really that’s what it is.

        Best wishes for a wonderful Friday and weekend. I’m on the run with out-of-town company. Hooray! 🙂

        Big virtual hugs to you!
        Jamie

        Like

        Reply
      • I really enjoy the postings at Into the Bardo. I was off the computer all day Friday so just saw Rob’s response to me just now. Have you read that remarkable book, Jamie?

        Those drawers really do have a bit of “everything” in them don’t they–seemingly. Haha… cute name.

        Enjoy your company and weekend, Jamie! Great big hugs back to you!

        Gayle xoxo

        Like

        Reply
  5. P.S. – Love the photo –

    Like

    Reply
  6. Dear to my heart is my own Mother’s cookbook with her hand written recipes. Such a lovely poem that transcends time and creeps into others’ realities and homes. Yes. Where are those scissors?!?! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • We have recipes that my grandmother wrote out–those are a real treasure. She was an amazing cook and baker.

      So glad this touched you and your memories, Leslie. Thank you! 😉

      Like

      Reply
  7. No spring cleaning for memories 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  8. Incredible how you think your own drawers are unique..but then you write this and I wonder..when did you come to our hose and rifle through our drawers?!?!?! 🙂
    Great write 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  9. fabulous poem gayle, reminded me of my own drawers 🙂 when i was a teenager.

    Like

    Reply
  10. I really identified with this one..the drawer, the cookbook, the recipes, the memories.

    Good images of the drawer, the musty smell and the tattered book.

    Like

    Reply
  1. Outstanding Poet of National Poetry Month in 2011 Award Nominations | Promising Poets' Poetry Cafe

Please share your thoughts...

Wightrabbit's Blog

Words and Pictures from my Kaboodle on The Isle of Wight

writing in north norfolk

Writer of children's literature, short stories and poetry

Lady Nyo's Weblog

A woman writer's blog with invitations to other writers

Poetry Breakfast

Beginning March 20th, 2016 Poetry Breakfast will once again serve a little poetic nourishment every morning. Start your day with our new expanded menu. Poems, of course, are our specialty. But we will also be serving a fuller menu that includes poetry related creative non-fiction such as letters to and from poets, essays on poetry, and anything else that might feed a poet and poetry lover’s soul.

Mithai Mumblezz

Thinks and again mumbles!!

findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing...

mindlovemisery

"We're all out there, somewhere, waiting to happen."

NavasolaNature

Nature needs Nurture

Whimsygizmo's Blog

poetic ponderings...parenting...procrastination...

Tao of Scrumble

A freeform way of life, love and everything

Sharp Little Pencil

Amy Barlow Liberatore... stories of lost years, wild times, mental variety, faith, and lots of jazz

silentlyheardonce

A Silent poet shouting to be heard

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

kanzen sakura

South meets East: Poetry and Musings - words of the seasons

Poems, stories, paintings and more by Sharmishtha Basu

(Agnijaat, Agnishatdal, Agnijashatadalama, Indie Adda)

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

jaywalking the moon

poetry by claudia schoenfeld

She's Writing

Poetry and Prose

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

everyday amazing

spreading good cheer, fun & love for life

Michael's Lair

Just Write WordPress.com site

Björn Rudbergs writings

Poetry and fiction by a physicist from the dark side

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

THE BeZINE

Be inspired...Be creative...Be peace...Be

bardessdmdenton - author- artist

Historical and Literary Fiction / Essays / Poetry / Reviews /Book Cover and Interior Illustrations / Pet Portraits and Other Commissioned Artwork ... "Life can't ever really defeat a writer who is in love with writing, for life itself is a writer's lover until death - fascinating, cruel, lavish, warm, cold, treacherous, constant." ~ Edna Ferber, 1885-1968, American novelist, short story writer and playwright

Soul Dipper

Spirit Builder by Design

Contemplative Moorings

The official blog of unofficial author Michael Marsters.

Ramblings From A Mum

This is my journey, my thoughts, my views, plain and simple and from my heart. Please travel with me and share, hopefully it will be an interesting trip.

bwthoughts

copyright 2013 - no reuse without permission ( see bwfiction.wordpress.com for fiction and fantasy )

"On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea"

All Is One With Our Creator

MyHeartBlog

Take Control of Your Health

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Wanjiku

poetic inspiration from life's simplicity

k8edid

Mumblings of a Middle Aged Madwoman

IN MY NEXT LIFE

if I go around more than once then ...

I Rhyme Without Reason

I live in words

Soul Speak

'You may say I'm a Dreamer, but I'm not the only one' ~ John Lennon

~ Dragon's Dreams ~

Carpe Noctem Quod Tempus Fugit!

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Lafemmeroar

laughing at the malfunction of the universe is better than crying about it

Lorna's Voice

Finding ways to make words sparkle

Olivia's In- Mind Whirls..

"It's all in my mind"

dVerse

Poets Pub

Leslie White

View artwork by Leslie White

jgavinallan

The best time to love...is when it is impossible///Stories of the heart-broken/shattered and sometimes mended

