The Back Woods

Love Shack

Image by radianthorizon via Flickr

The woods were just steps from my own back door but

the foreboding they held could make my blood run cold.

A legend, a rumor, a spooky story was told

of the rickety shack that to this day stood.

SOMEONE HAD DIED THERE, A CHILD JUST LIKE ME.

All of us kids of the neighborhood had heard,

so we skirted its periphery while we played and explored.

The house was a small one and built out of wood

with four wide, wobbly steps that led up to the door.

The steps were now tilted and cracking with decay

and there was a large hole in the porch that had rotted away.

Some of the windows were shattered and busted

and those still intact were covered by years of thick dusting.

One day I was out there goofing around with my brother,

when he double-dog dared me to go touch the door.

He cajoled and enticed me with a promise of candy or such,

if I did the unthinkable and obeyed his request.

Well it took a lot of coaxing and prodding me on

but slowly I picked my way over those dilapidated steps.

And approaching my goal while shaking like a leaf,

I slowly reached out my hand with a great tremble and twitch,

when from somewhere behind me came a shrieking, bellowed shout–

“LOOK OUT FOR THE WITCH!!”

Well, with adrenaline surging, I was thrust into forward

and spun on my heels and flew over those stairs–

(right past that big oaf)

and sped all the way home–safe to the sofa.

Why did I listen to such a rotten brother as he, who was

always teasing and tormenting me?

I had wanted him to like me, to think I was brave

but finally I had learned my lesson that day:

YOU CAN NEVER TRUST THE DEPRAVED!

But in spite of our trepidation around that old house,

we kids had years of fun in those back woods of ours.

Making forts, climbing trees and just lounging about,

those days in the woods were a kid’s paradise.

And as we grew older, we learned the truth of that cottage,

it had just been abandoned–only deserted that’s all–

no mayhem had been committed there, never at all.

Entry for Thursday Poets’ Rally 42 :http://thursdaypoetsrallypoetry.blogspot.com/

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

54 Comments

  1. Pretty cool, reminded me of the many horror flics that took place in the backwoods, but not as scary and gory. Good write about old times!

    Like

    Reply
    • Those woods were the best–so much fun back there. Of course usually keeping well away from that “place”.

      Thanks, Paulo!

      Like

      Reply
  2. This was an enjoyable story. The relationship with brother and sister is so typiacl. They are always there to frighten us into knwoing we are girls. Throughout , I wanted to know more. GREAT one Gayle …
    Namaste,
    Isadora

    Like

    Reply
    • He was the most tortuous brother! Thank God he’s turned into a very loving, sweet brother.

      Thank you, Isadora!

      Like

      Reply
  3. Chills. What fun. I remember such adventures – city kid equivalents – as this. Nice childhood memories. Another fine post. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • Lots of fun. We kids were allowed to roam pretty freely in those days–had to be home for dinner though!

      Thank you, Jamie. xoxo

      Like

      Reply
  4. Grew up a single kid.. older siblings already gone.. But the woods held the same spirit of exploration and fun. Nice memories shared.

    Like

    Reply
    • I think all kids should grow up near woods to play in–it was the best fun! I’m glad you were able to have that experience, Michael.

      Like

      Reply
  5. Kids have tremedous imaginations…and those that carry those imaginations into adulthood make the best writers 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • I’m very grateful that I still have my fun memories and haven’t gotten too “old” to remember what it was like to be a kid. In fact, I think there’s a good part of me that’s still a kid!

      Thank you, Michael–how nice. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  6. a brilliant poem gayle. you created an environment of chill. beautifully crafted and narrated- enjoyed it to the core.

    Like

    Reply
    • I’m so happy you enjoyed this snippet of my childhood, Trisha. Thank you.

      Like

      Reply
      • it was very beautifully written, your brother was like my elder siblings- they loved scaring us (me and my younger brother) to death- they had a strong resemblance with home alone caulkin’s siblings. 🙂

        they used to scare us so much that we were afraid to go to the next room after sunset.

        almost all siblings are like that i assume.

        Like

        Reply
      • Both of my older brothers loved to tease us girls. The younger one was the worst. I saw that movie so I know what you’re talking about.

        I assume all siblings have similar experiences too–some worse than others…

        Like

        Reply
      • exactly. i wonder if there is any family in the world which has more than four children in it and they are “picture perfect” to each other before their adulthood 🙂 🙂

        Like

        Reply
      • Most families with that many children live with chaos and are far from “picture perfect”. Our family of eight lived with lots and lots of chaos–much to my dismay. 😦

        Like

        Reply
      • my older siblings are the only reason i dont want to go back to my childhood days, no way, or else it was really beautiful- excluding those four. 🙂 they were enough to soak anyone’s life’s joys dry.

        Like

        Reply
      • Yes, you really had it rough too. Who would want to go back to being tortured and tormented? It was mainly one brother who teased us so badly but thankfully he grew up to be our best friend. I’m so grateful we kids are all such good friends.

        Like

        Reply
      • as you know, my siblings did not changed, only got worse, thats the thing that really surprises me. really!

        Like

        Reply
      • Yes, in your case there was no change–except for the worse. That’s really too bad that they chose such a way to be in the world.

        Like

        Reply
  7. Rama Kaur

     /  April 2, 2011

    How fun to read your poetry! This one brought back great memories of running around so freely in my own neighborhood. There was a spooky old house there, too…I can surely imagine which of your brothers was the depraved brother!! I’m glad I didn’t have an older brother, although having two older sisters was no pic-nic either.
    Thank you so much for sharing all of this with me, I love it!

    Like

    Reply
    • Thank you, Rama Kaur–I’m so happy you paid me a visit. Funny that we both had woods with a spooky house in them. Yes, I’m sure you can imagine which brother that was–he’s still kind of depraved! Haha!

      Rama Singh and I had a nice day out together yesterday–I didn’t get home until around 1AM! I’m sure he’ll tell you about it. We had some good fun.

      I’m so glad you liked your visit here–come again sometime. xoxo

      Like

      Reply
  8. Julian Javier the Cyber Mushroom

     /  April 21, 2011

    feels like a movie! nice!

    Like

    Reply
  9. Ah! the chills and spills.. There was a big house in our neighborhood too. Supposed to be haunted. We did the same, kept away from it. Nearly would touch the gate, but an elder would tell us off from afar.. Nice memories of childhood, Gayle!

    My Post Is Here

    Like

    Reply
    • Those old abandoned houses really get children’s attention don’t they! We were so curious but were scared to death at the same time. I’m glad you liked this, Vinay and thanks for sharing your memories too.

      Like

      Reply
  10. so cool,

    I have 3 siblings in my family, heard lots of stuff from peers as well, very elegant highlight…

    bless you.

    Like

    Reply
  11. Wow, this fantastic! Absolutely stunning.

    Like

    Reply
  12. ah, brings me back to my childhood days, where we run free around the village. we have an abandoned pill-box where it was rumoured soldiers had died there, and adults like to frighten us kids with spooky stories.

    this poem has such vivid images. i enjoyed it. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • Yes, someone always likes to scare the kids with spooky stories–I guess because we were so gullible. 🙂

      So glad you enjoyed my poem. Thank you.

      Like

      Reply
  13. reminds me of a scary movie, the house does look haunted (chills)
    enjoy the rally!
    http://lynnaima.wordpress.com/2011/04/22/on-peace-and-wisdom-haiku-poem-ing-on/

    Like

    Reply
  14. that is so brave of you, to run! lol. I really enjoyed this one and remembered my childhood fear of the forest at the back of our house only to realize when I grow up that it’s only a few meters wide 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • Had to run! Hehe! Everything seems so much larger and more menacing when we’re children. And then when you grow up wonder what all the fuss was about. Ah, childhood! 🙂

      Thanks for sharing your memories too–I enjoyed them.

      Like

      Reply
  15. good ol’ memories.. nice one gayle..! my thursday post : http://fiveloaf.wordpress.com/2010/06/20/me-before-us/

    Like

    Reply
  16. Beautiful story telling! I’ve always been a fan of the chilly stuff 😀

    Like

    Reply
  17. what an exciting tale of old… mesmerizing and fun at the same time.

    http://pinklady-bing.blogspot.com/2011/04/getting-high-on-sobriety.html

    Like

    Reply
  18. So mesmerzing.. a beautiful story.. a first ~ sweet ~ pour for you to enjoy…

    Someone is Special

    Like

    Reply
  19. So glad you enjoyed this, SIS–thank you! xoxo

    Like

    Reply
  20. A brilliant poem Bodhirose. The atmosphere was expertly built up and the masterfully defused with the passage of time. Reminds me of prank my Dad pulled when he was younger, about scaring friends with his grave. Loved it.
    The Lonely Recluse.

    Like

    Reply
    • Truly a lovely thing to say, TLR–I appreciate your kindness and that you enjoyed my poem. Thanks so very much.

      Maybe you could write a poem (or something) about your Dad’s prank–would love to read about that.

      Like

      Reply
      • Hmm thanks for the idea, it’d be pretty simple so very useful :). Basically my dad is named after his uncle who died just before my dad was born, so my dad has his name on a grave stone, he was staying at the church with a bunch of his friends and showed them the grave after telling them some spooky story. Proper scared them all supposedly :). Again thanks for the good idea.
        The Lonely Recluse.

        Like

        Reply
      • Maybe your Dad was telling them something along the lines of “rising from the dead”. Ha, that would be a good one! 🙂

        I’ll be waiting patiently for your story/poem.

        Like

        Reply
  21. A.B. Thomas

     /  April 23, 2011

    Fantastic write with a solid story, enjoyed the read!

    Like

    Reply
  22. Goosebumps!
    I live in the middle of nowhere and reading this i was thinking..”EEK”

    Like

    Reply
  23. Emily Jane

     /  April 24, 2011

    great imagery, lovely story. I definitely enjoyed this one

    Like

    Reply

Please share your thoughts...

Wightrabbit's Blog

Words and Pictures from my Kaboodle on The Isle of Wight

writing in north norfolk

Writer of children's literature, short stories and poetry

Lady Nyo's Weblog

A woman writer's blog with invitations to other writers

Poetry Breakfast

Beginning March 20th, 2016 Poetry Breakfast will once again serve a little poetic nourishment every morning. Start your day with our new expanded menu. Poems, of course, are our specialty. But we will also be serving a fuller menu that includes poetry related creative non-fiction such as letters to and from poets, essays on poetry, and anything else that might feed a poet and poetry lover’s soul.

Mithai Mumblezz

Thinks and again mumbles!!

findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing...

mindlovemisery

"We're all out there, somewhere, waiting to happen."

NavasolaNature

Nature needs Nurture

Whimsygizmo's Blog

poetic ponderings...parenting...procrastination...

Tao of Scrumble

A freeform way of life, love and everything

Sharp Little Pencil

Amy Barlow Liberatore... stories of lost years, wild times, mental variety, faith, and lots of jazz

silentlyheardonce

A Silent poet shouting to be heard

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

kanzen sakura

South meets East: Poetry and Musings - words of the seasons

Poems, stories, paintings and more by Sharmishtha Basu

(Agnijaat, Agnishatdal, Agnijashatadalama, Indie Adda)

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

jaywalking the moon

poetry by claudia schoenfeld

She's Writing

Poetry and Prose

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

everyday amazing

spreading good cheer, fun & love for life

Michael's Lair

Just Write WordPress.com site

Björn Rudbergs writings

Poetry and fiction by a physicist from the dark side

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

THE BeZINE

Be inspired...Be creative...Be peace...Be

bardessdmdenton - author- artist

Historical and Literary Fiction / Essays / Poetry / Reviews /Book Cover and Interior Illustrations / Pet Portraits and Other Commissioned Artwork ... "Life can't ever really defeat a writer who is in love with writing, for life itself is a writer's lover until death - fascinating, cruel, lavish, warm, cold, treacherous, constant." ~ Edna Ferber, 1885-1968, American novelist, short story writer and playwright

Soul Dipper

Spirit Builder by Design

Contemplative Moorings

The official blog of unofficial author Michael Marsters.

Ramblings From A Mum

This is my journey, my thoughts, my views, plain and simple and from my heart. Please travel with me and share, hopefully it will be an interesting trip.

bwthoughts

copyright 2013 - no reuse without permission ( see bwfiction.wordpress.com for fiction and fantasy )

"On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea"

All Is One With Our Creator

MyHeartBlog

Take Control of Your Health

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Wanjiku

poetic inspiration from life's simplicity

k8edid

Mumblings of a Middle Aged Madwoman

IN MY NEXT LIFE

if I go around more than once then ...

I Rhyme Without Reason

I live in words

Soul Speak

'You may say I'm a Dreamer, but I'm not the only one' ~ John Lennon

~ Dragon's Dreams ~

Carpe Noctem Quod Tempus Fugit!

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Lafemmeroar

laughing at the malfunction of the universe is better than crying about it

Lorna's Voice

Finding ways to make words sparkle

Olivia's In- Mind Whirls..

"It's all in my mind"

dVerse

Poets Pub

Leslie White

View artwork by Leslie White

jgavinallan

The best time to love...is when it is impossible///Stories of the heart-broken/shattered and sometimes mended

