Self-Deception

The Empty Tree

Image by Martin Gommel via Flickr

Your appearance and your manner led me

to believe you were a principled  and virtuous man.

A man who held himself higher to a standard of tenets and views.

You went through the motions of devotion and precepts that I believed too.

But as time went by and you found yourself accomplished,

the true you emerged showing greed and narcissism.

The mask you hide behind is spirituality and an

intellect that plays deceitful and clever.

Your conceit and condescending behavior

was your downfall and now you have nothing.

Your delusion holds you fast in her grip;

you still believe you’re something you’re not.

You’re a shell of a ghost-white human

clinging tightly to illusions and fear.

 

Monday’s entry for Poetry Potluck; Lies, Deception and Misrepresentation; http://jinglepoetry.blogspot.com/

Previous Post
Leave a comment

72 Comments

  1. Some find it hard to let go an illusion because in their minds it has become reality. This reminds me of Dorian Gray.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Sad to say, I’ve known someone like this…hiding behind the mask of spirituality.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Wow! Great depth of feeling and sadly true … Up to us to be a bit cautious, I guess.

    Well done, Gayle.

    Like

    Reply
  4. ouch! double ouch!

    Like

    Reply
  5. bravo on the prompt! well done ~ becca

    Like

    Reply
  6. Sometimes some people think that the robe or the Word or the title is more than enough to cover them. Thanks for writing the truth! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • Yes, they think it’s enough–but if you look closely you’ll see something else…

      You’re welcome, Bendedspoon!

      Like

      Reply
  7. Wow..Straight to the point!

    Like

    Reply
  8. A story of deception well told…

    Like

    Reply
  9. Tough to find out.

    Like

    Reply
  10. How magnificent the way you captured that feeling of revelation when the mask has been removed. Great job!

    Like

    Reply
  11. well put gayle- i really like .. here’s mine.. http://fiveloaf.wordpress.com/2010/01/25/paper-scribbles/

    Like

    Reply
  12. brilliant portrayal of deception. a wonderfully weaved poem gayle.

    Like

    Reply
  13. love it, beautiful story on the theme.
    A++
    🙂

    Like

    Reply
  14. Wow! Intense accusations and analysis. The form is terrific.
    Hee’s mine:
    http://www.kimnelsonwrites.com/2010/05/19/dysfunction/

    Like

    Reply
  15. Very powerful and creepy, too.

    Like

    Reply
  16. These words are a dark and bitter mirror to look upon for the truth that they speak. I would like to believe that rather than showing ones true self, once they got money, that a good person became consumed and lost…maybe then I might convince myself that people aren’t just evil and myself just gullible. Sadly though I know a few people like this and I could not honestly tell you which came first the evil or the money. I just like to try to see the good in people even in spite of the darkness they exude. Great piece Gayle
    a lot to think about.Peace be with you.

    Like

    Reply
    • It is hard to think that there are people like this in the world, Stewart. But sadly I think most people have come in contact with them–hopefully unscathed! In my experience this person was deceitful and arrogant to begin with but it increased greatly as he became more successful with money. Bless you for wanting to see the best in people but some are not to be trusted. Some enjoy hurting and manipulating others.

      Thank you for your very thoughtful remark here. I so appreciate you sharing.

      Peace…

      Like

      Reply
  17. Bang on theme. Greedy people build a wall of deception around themselves to hide the hatred they feel. Very difficult to distinguish when emotionally involved with them.
    My posting this week is the first poem I uploaded to my blog, it was written just after the death of my father. Couldn’t seem to address the theme.
    http://planetcyberluz.com/2010/04/16/end-of-days/

    Like

    Reply
    • You are so right, Tigerbrite. It’s very difficult to distinguish the truth especially if you are very young and inexperienced with the ways of some very ugly ones.

      Thank you for sharing your thoughts here–I agree with you.

      Now let me go see what you have shared…

      Like

      Reply
  18. Good stuff! Unfortunately we all know or have known people like this…very full of themselves and floating like a helium filled balloon headed right for a big prick (thorn, I mean)…We seem to have
    confused the pursuit of happiness with the gloss of outer beauty or
    the lie of prestige and/or wealth. Good reminder, thank you.

    Like

    Reply
    • Thank you, Tolbert. If you place yourself above others–floating over their heads–you’re bound to be “pricked”! What goes up must come down…

      I appreciate you sharing your observations–I agree.

      Like

      Reply
  19. Looks & manners can be deceiving … and THAT is no illusion!

    Like

    Reply
  20. Having personally and intimately dealt with someone who had NPD (Narcissistic Personality Disorder) I can say you truly hit the nail on the head with this one! They are the ultimate deceivers…of both others and themselves. This was a powerful write. I’m sorry you had to experience such a…person.

    Like

    Reply
    • That’s exactly what my person had–NPD, as well as perhaps being a sociopath–extreme.

      I’m sorry you had to experience such a person too. Thank you for sharing your observations and comments with me.

      Like

      Reply
  21. lovely but I can not help but feel sorrow for surely such things can not be of choice hence a Disorder ;s…. very well written, regards Spider…!

    Like

    Reply
    • I would agree–it must be a disorder. But from what I have discovered, it can be difficult to treat because the people that have it don’t see themselves as having a problem. You have to acknowledge it to treat it successfully.

      Like

      Reply
  22. Gayle, I hope all is well. Doesn’t seem you are posting or visiting as much as usual. Missing your sweet gentle cheer. Blessings …

    Like

    Reply
    • Jamie, I haven’t been as present lately that’s true. I had a sister here for two weeks–always takes away from blogging as much when someone’s visiting. All day yesterday I was at a workshop here in town with my two daughters, one’s husband and another friend. Didn’t feel so good last night and today(I do suffer from fibromyalgia)–I seem to be feeling better though now as the day has gone on. Thank you for missing me and your sweet concern. It really means a lot to me.

      In Metta…

      Like

      Reply
  23. A very clear and well structured poem. Its message is quite clear.

    Like

    Reply
  24. hedgewitch

     /  July 26, 2011

    Far too many let the world and their own heads come before the things that matter. Thanks for sharing with dVerse tonight.

    Like

    Reply
  25. Ha! You hit the nail on the head with this one!
    I have known a few like this…hiding behind the mask of spirituality, but like my wise mom always says “foolish pride comes before a fall”.

    Nice entry.

    I’m here:
    The Evening Wind

    Like

    Reply
    • Oh, your mother is a wise one–she’s so right.

      Thank you, Andy, for your visit and sharing your thoughts with me.

      Like

      Reply
  26. ugh…i have seen this man…clueless in his own divinity…well penned…you have it right on being hard to treat, this fits one of my patients well…

    Like

    Reply
    • It’s got such a grip on this one–whew, a bad case! I’ve always heard that the narcissist is tough to treat because they can’t see that they have a problem–they think everyone else is the problem. There’s nothing to do but leave them…

      Like

      Reply
  27. Better to always be who you are than to put on an act and be found out to be a deciever.
    I know we are many things to different people and we act accordingly. We are different at work, than at home and such. So, to some extent we each play many roles per day but, mostly its in honesty. Like a parent acts differenty to their children than with their adult friends etc. But this man seems as if he lived a double life and the double life was all fantasy of what he wished he was and not what he was in reality.
    What a shame to be decieved by someone like that, the let down must be so painful.
    Your prose is powerful and hits home right where its supposed to.

    Like

    Reply
    • I really appreciate you sharing your thoughts here. You’re right about people acting different ways with different people but we don’t change our entire selves to impress or deceive others.

      This person thinks he is a highly evolved person and that people just can’t understand him because the rest of us are not on his level. He truly is delusional and I have seen his karma catching up with him. He has hurt many people. Eventually you reap what you sow…

      Thank you for your kind compliment too.

      Like

      Reply
  28. I am happy to see you link up …nice to read this…very meaningful
    and powerful indeed.

    Like

    Reply
    • Very happy to have you visit and leave such a nice comment–thank you. It’s very late here–I’ll have to do my visit to you tomorrow.

      Like

      Reply
  29. Some people will wait for a long time to make their conquest, but in time the nature of the individual will out. As soon as one discerns it, one needs to cut them loose. Often they’re skillful in reeling their prey back in. Well considered.

    Like

    Reply
    • I am extremely grateful that I was not reeled back in!

      Thank you for sharing your thoughts with me–I appreciate that.

      Like

      Reply
  30. ALIVE aLwaYz

     /  July 27, 2011

    Damn this one is right on, so true, always surprised we are to compare those two people, the day it started and today, if they’re same it’s a bliss and I applaud.

    Like

    Reply
  31. Thanks for enjoying my expression here–getting out some feelings.

    Like

    Reply
  32. A sad state but true it is… well written.

    Like

    Reply
    • Yes…thank you.

      My grandmother owned a plant nursery named Wayside Gardens. Your name reminded me of my visits there when I was a child.

      Like

      Reply
  33. Tom Eliot

     /  July 28, 2011

    This is soothingly vitriolic – which i totally adored.

    Love the structure too.

    A satisfying growl at the self defeating nature of the blown up male ego….
    Not me you understand….. Im humble and not like the other guys…ahem!

    Great write

    Like

    Reply
    • Now that’s kind of an oxymoron isn’t it–soothingly vitriolic–but I love it!

      Lots of growling in that relationship…

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts with me here, Tom, and your nice compliment. So very glad to hear that you’re not like the other guys!

      Like

      Reply
  34. A paean to the folly of greed, of arrogance – and about being told off when it’s shown in all its tainted, blood-stained “glory.” This is shatteringly great, Bodhirose. Really tough to read, and the tougher the read, the more real it often is, to me, at least. Peace, Amy
    One to laugh on, Poets United prompt, Grass:
    http://sharplittlepencil.wordpress.com/2011/07/28/grass/

    Like

    Reply
    • If nothing else, if people can relate to what I’ve shared and know they aren’t alone in their struggles–well that would be great. Tough stuff happens to a lot of people out there–like, maybe, everyone!

      I’m drawn more to “real” reads too. I’m glad you liked this, Amy–thank you much.

      Like

      Reply
  35. such a dark powerful look into a dark personality

    Like

    Reply
  36. Just why does it sound so familiar?
    Gayle, quite beautifully you have expressed how it goes.. although something that is not so wonderful to say the least..

    The travel is so predictable and often obvious.. I wonder when will they try and break the pattern. Perhaps it’s time we stop taking it all!

    Many Hugs xoxoxoxoxox

    Like

    Reply
    • No, not so wonderful to be duped by a delusional person! I was very young and gullible–now my radar is out for these types. I keep far, far away!

      Thanks for coming by, Olivia.

      Hugs,
      Gayle xoxo

      Like

      Reply

Please share your thoughts...

Wightrabbit's Blog

Words and Pictures from my Kaboodle on The Isle of Wight

writing in north norfolk

Writer of children's literature, short stories and poetry

Lady Nyo's Weblog

A woman writer's blog with invitations to other writers

Poetry Breakfast

Beginning March 20th, 2016 Poetry Breakfast will once again serve a little poetic nourishment every morning. Start your day with our new expanded menu. Poems, of course, are our specialty. But we will also be serving a fuller menu that includes poetry related creative non-fiction such as letters to and from poets, essays on poetry, and anything else that might feed a poet and poetry lover’s soul.

Mithai Mumblezz

Thinks and again mumbles!!

findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing...

mindlovemisery

"We're all out there, somewhere, waiting to happen."

NavasolaNature

Nature needs Nurture

Whimsygizmo's Blog

poetic ponderings...parenting...procrastination...

Tao of Scrumble

A freeform way of life, love and everything

Sharp Little Pencil

Amy Barlow Liberatore... stories of lost years, wild times, mental variety, faith, and lots of jazz

silentlyheardonce

A Silent poet shouting to be heard

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

kanzen sakura

South meets East: Poetry and Musings - words of the seasons

Poems, stories, paintings and more by Sharmishtha Basu

(Agnijaat, Agnishatdal, Agnijashatadalama, Indie Adda)

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

jaywalking the moon

poetry by claudia schoenfeld

She's Writing

Poetry and Prose

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

everyday amazing

spreading good cheer, fun & love for life

Michael's Lair

Just Write WordPress.com site

Björn Rudbergs writings

Poetry and fiction by a physicist from the dark side

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

THE BeZINE

Be inspired...Be creative...Be peace...Be

bardessdmdenton - author- artist

Historical and Literary Fiction / Essays / Poetry / Reviews /Book Cover and Interior Illustrations / Pet Portraits and Other Commissioned Artwork ... "Life can't ever really defeat a writer who is in love with writing, for life itself is a writer's lover until death - fascinating, cruel, lavish, warm, cold, treacherous, constant." ~ Edna Ferber, 1885-1968, American novelist, short story writer and playwright

Soul Dipper

Spirit Builder by Design

Contemplative Moorings

The official blog of unofficial author Michael Marsters.

Ramblings From A Mum

This is my journey, my thoughts, my views, plain and simple and from my heart. Please travel with me and share, hopefully it will be an interesting trip.

bwthoughts

copyright 2013 - no reuse without permission ( see bwfiction.wordpress.com for fiction and fantasy )

"On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea"

All Is One With Our Creator

MyHeartBlog

Take Control of Your Health

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Wanjiku

poetic inspiration from life's simplicity

k8edid

Mumblings of a Middle Aged Madwoman

IN MY NEXT LIFE

if I go around more than once then ...

I Rhyme Without Reason

I live in words

Soul Speak

'You may say I'm a Dreamer, but I'm not the only one' ~ John Lennon

~ Dragon's Dreams ~

Carpe Noctem Quod Tempus Fugit!

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Lafemmeroar

laughing at the malfunction of the universe is better than crying about it

Lorna's Voice

Finding ways to make words sparkle

Olivia's In- Mind Whirls..

"It's all in my mind"

dVerse

Poets Pub

Leslie White

View artwork by Leslie White

jgavinallan

The best time to love...is when it is impossible///Stories of the heart-broken/shattered and sometimes mended

