NIGHTFALL

Nightfall arrives swiftly

Ianthine shades the horizon

Ghostly duskiness turns pitchy dark

Hypnotic visions permeate my mind

Trees take on silhouettes of claw-like specters

Fallen leaves blow about in tight whirlwinds

Alive come mysterious beings

Lingering here and there in the shadows

Lurking and flittering until the first dim light of dawn

An Acrostic: ย Nightfall

Thursday Poet’s Rally Week 38

http://thursdaypoetsrallypoetry.blogspot.com/

Previous Post
Leave a comment

53 Comments

  1. super beautiful…

    your words and your image are simply perfect.

    Glad to read something not Haiku or theme related….

    cheers.
    Happy Rally.
    ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks so much for your generous comment, Jingle.

      It is nice to get back to something that’s not a haiku! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Happy Rally! xoxo

      Like

      Reply
  2. Fearful imagination. The beginning word of each line takes the traveler and reader deeper into what isn’t but is. It’s as if seeing with the mind and not necessarily with the eyes.

    Like

    Reply
  3. love the images you propound here.. here’s my week 38 potluck.. http://fiveloaf.wordpress.com/2010/09/30/i-cant-hold-it/

    Like

    Reply
  4. love this Gayle, thank you

    Like

    Reply
  5. Such a good poem about a serene moment!

    Like

    Reply
  6. Fun poem. Fantastic imagery.

    Like

    Reply
  7. this is a masterpiece gayle, you can try poems on mysterious subjects like this one, you have a magical grip on them.

    loved this one, reminded me of my childhood days a lot.

    Like

    Reply
  8. lovely imagery…

    Like

    Reply
  9. Gayle, this is so beautiful. I’m right there in the deep purple night …

    Fab photo too …

    Happy Thursday!

    Like

    Reply
  10. Happy Thursday–Happy Rally!

    Thank you, Jamie–my first acrostic. The night holds all kinds of mysterious “things” doesn’t it… xoxo

    Like

    Reply
  11. Alive come mysterious beings.. were you referring to me?
    This one is both mystic and realistic too. I liked the purple image- that being my fave color!

    aaah- I read this is your 1st acrostic- very poignant.. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Thank you for including me in the image.. ๐Ÿ˜€

    Wishing you a beautiful weekend
    Love xoxoxox

    Just being thoughtful: http://oliviasmindlymatters.wordpress.com/2011/02/15/pigeonic-limerick/

    Like

    Reply
    • Hi Olivia,
      No, silly girl–I wasn’t referring to you! ๐Ÿ™‚

      I’m glad you liked this acrostic about the mysteries of the night. Did you see that little fairy sitting among the branches–you’re right–someone captured you in this photo! I like that purple night color too.

      I hope you have a relaxing and nice weekend too–thanks so much for coming by and leaving such a nice comment.

      Love and hugs… xo

      Like

      Reply
      • Hey Gayle,

        You are so sweet to have called me a fairy.. instead of those mysterious beings- that I am ๐Ÿ˜€

        I din’t have to tell you about the purple color- it’s all over my blog- lolss

        Stopping by and reading you is so relaxing that I feel I would be able to tell which words belong to you even blindly! I am guessing you figured out that’s only a figure of speech- I would have to READ those to tell- being blind won’t help.. ๐Ÿ˜›

        Thanks for that generous compliment! It’s only the freckles which miss or else I would look how I am- silly.. teeeheee

        I believe I’ve cracked enough PJs, I now disappear- anyways it’s noon and the sunlight would burn the vampires down- so off I go… croooooooon

        mwaah xx

        Like

        Reply
      • Haha! Oh, you’re not that mysterious to me. ๐Ÿ™‚

        I certainly could tell from your blog that you LOVE purple! That’s not a mystery…

        I’m happy you feel relaxed by my words, Olivia. Maybe what you meant to say is that if you heard my words, you would know they belonged to me.

        You have a nice playful personality which is sweet–thanks for coming by and sharing it with me. ๐Ÿ™‚

        TaTa!

        xoxo

        Like

        Reply
  12. Very poignant read! Moving one! Tunefully the words seemed to have been endlessly playing in the romance of your poem!Wonderful!thnx for sharing this..Love it!Rate and view some of mine too.thnx

    Like

    Reply
    • I’m so glad you enjoyed this. Your nice comments mean a lot to me. Thanks so very much–now let me go see what you have written…

      Like

      Reply
  13. Beautiful Acrostic.. . and beautiful night fall… Loved it.

    เฅ เคจเคฎเคƒ เคถเคฟเคตเคพเคฏ
    Om Namah Shivaya
    http://shadowdancingwithmind.blogspot.com/2011/01/whispers-wanderer.html
    Twitter @VerseEveryDay

    Like

    Reply
  14. This made me shiver and look behind me. The feel of a ghostly night. I could hear the leaves scutter over the ground.

    Like

    Reply
  15. Great imagery here! You depicted falling asleep so beautifully… The picture matches the atmosphere of the poem very well… Great work!
    Thanks for stopping by at mine too ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

    Reply
  16. I love how you paint the night into something dark, mysterious, and overall beautifully. Here’s mine http://thelunaticsdiary.blogspot.com/2011/02/here-today-and-maybe-melted-tomorrow.html
    I also have a twitter, my username being MsMatsui. If you want, come follow me!

    Like

    Reply
    • Sometimes the nights feel that way, don’t they. I’m happy you liked this–thank you.

      And thank you for the Twitter invite too.

      Like

      Reply
  17. vivid imagery. loved the photo too. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    Reply
  18. belfastdavid

     /  February 20, 2011

    I am glad I read this first thing in the morning and not last thing at night ๐Ÿ™‚

    David

    Like

    Reply
  19. Great imagery, brilliant wordplay. I enjoyed it greatly.
    The Lonely Recluse.

    Like

    Reply
  20. night indeed is very mysterious….loved the image you portrayed with your words…

    Like

    Reply
  21. Hi Tweety. Yes, the night can feel very mysterious sometimes. I’m so glad you liked this–thank you.

    Like

    Reply
  22. Ah, a great work on the beauty of night itself. You did a bang up job here for certain, thanks so much for sharing!

    Like

    Reply
  1. Thursday Poets Rally Week 38 (Feb 17-23) | Jingle
  2. The Celebrate Poet of Spring in 2011 Awards Nomination Accouncement | Promising Poets' Parking Lot

Please share your thoughts...

Wightrabbit's Blog

Words and Pictures from my Kaboodle on The Isle of Wight

writing in north norfolk

Writer of children's literature, short stories and poetry

Lady Nyo's Weblog

A woman writer's blog with invitations to other writers

Poetry Breakfast

Beginning March 20th, 2016 Poetry Breakfast will once again serve a little poetic nourishment every morning. Start your day with our new expanded menu. Poems, of course, are our specialty. But we will also be serving a fuller menu that includes poetry related creative non-fiction such as letters to and from poets, essays on poetry, and anything else that might feed a poet and poetry loverโ€™s soul.

Mithai Mumblezz

Thinks and again mumbles!!

findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing...

mindlovemisery

"We're all out there, somewhere, waiting to happen."

NavasolaNature

Nature needs Nurture

Whimsygizmo's Blog

poetic ponderings...parenting...procrastination...

Tao of Scrumble

A freeform way of life, love and everything

Sharp Little Pencil

Amy Barlow Liberatore... stories of lost years, wild times, mental variety, faith, and lots of jazz

silentlyheardonce

A Silent poet shouting to be heard

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

kanzen sakura

South meets East: Poetry and Musings - words of the seasons

Poems, stories, paintings and more by Sharmishtha Basu

(Agnijaat, Agnishatdal, Agnijashatadalama, Indie Adda)

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

jaywalking the moon

poetry by claudia schoenfeld

She's Writing

Poetry and Prose

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

everyday amazing

spreading good cheer, fun & love for life

Michael's Lair

Just Write WordPress.com site

Bjรถrn Rudbergs writings

Poetry and fiction by a physicist from the dark side

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

THE BeZINE

Be inspired...Be creative...Be peace...Be

bardessdmdenton - author- artist

Historical and Literary Fiction / Essays / Poetry / Reviews /Book Cover and Interior Illustrations / Pet Portraits and Other Commissioned Artwork ... "Life can't ever really defeat a writer who is in love with writing, for life itself is a writer's lover until death - fascinating, cruel, lavish, warm, cold, treacherous, constant." ~ Edna Ferber, 1885-1968, American novelist, short story writer and playwright

Soul Dipper

Spirit Builder by Design

Contemplative Moorings

The official blog of unofficial author Michael Marsters.

Ramblings From A Mum

This is my journey, my thoughts, my views, plain and simple and from my heart. Please travel with me and share, hopefully it will be an interesting trip.

bwthoughts

copyright 2013 - no reuse without permission ( see bwfiction.wordpress.com for fiction and fantasy )

"On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea"

All Is One With Our Creator

MyHeartBlog

Take Control of Your Health

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Wanjiku

poetic inspiration from life's simplicity

k8edid

Mumblings of a Middle Aged Madwoman

IN MY NEXT LIFE

if I go around more than once then ...

I Rhyme Without Reason

I live in words

Soul Speak

'You may say I'm a Dreamer, but I'm not the only one' ~ John Lennon

~ Dragon's Dreams ~

Carpe Noctem Quod Tempus Fugit!

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Lafemmeroar

laughing at the malfunction of the universe is better than crying about it

Lorna's Voice

Finding ways to make words sparkle

Olivia's In- Mind Whirls..

"It's all in my mind"

dVerse

Poets Pub

Leslie White

View artwork by Leslie White

jgavinallan

The best time to love...is when it is impossible///Stories of the heart-broken/shattered and sometimes mended

