Internal Rhythm

I put in a CD, and out comes a sound

of rock and roll or some soothing refrain

that can stir my emotions or calm me down.

I went on a trip throughout the Beatles’ evolution;

this included their soul-searching song, “Revolution”.

Listening to Pink Floyd or The Moody Blues,

blasts me out of my body to a different realm.

The music of Led Zeppelin as a teenager I heard,

reminds me of sex and getting stoned.

I like techno and alternative, hip-hop and blues, jazz

and reggae are just some of the forms that speak

to that internal rhythm I feel.

Sometimes I’ll play some mellow mantra chanting

and join in singing as it lifts my heart high,

with the sounds of the ancients bringing me home.

Music can be like therapy.

I have some cool compilations that my daughter’s

made for me–she sure knows her mother.

It’s been my religion at times and uplifted my soul,

so much higher than I ever thought it could go.

Music opens my awareness and lets me feel free

and takes me on a path of where I can BE.

Entry for Monday’s Poetry Potluck–a repost:  http://jinglepoetry.blogspot.com/

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

47 Comments

  1. Well done. I think you have spoken for us all here. Very wonderful… the muse muses on music. . . I like it.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Thanks, Jamie. Music has always been a passion of mine. The only problem these days is I find it hard to listen to music and concentrate on writing at the same time.

    I’m glad this spoke to you.

    Like

    Reply
  3. I really like this. I love the moody blues and yes to the Led Zeppelin. Isn’t it great when our kids respond to our music? I love that. I get such a kick out of it when I see my daughter jamming to King Crimson.

    Like

    Reply
    • I’m so glad you liked this Meg–thank you. It’s more like me jamming to her music. Somehow she comes up with some very cool music by artists more of her generation than mine. I love it!

      Like

      Reply
  4. Let it Be Gayle :)

    Like

    Reply
  5. Thanks for that, Tamasin :)

    Like

    Reply
  6. I am totally with you here, gayle. No doubt music heals… has the power to transform. Music is one kind of religion in my family.

    Like

    Reply
  7. music is the greatest therapy for almost every discomfort.

    Like

    Reply
  8. moondustwriter

     /  February 3, 2011

    Music has memories, ability to influence us , calm us …
    what a great look at memories and bringing them current

    Thanks for sharing with One Shot
    so nice to have you

    Like

    Reply
  9. a whole world of music in your poem…and i agree, music can be like therapy

    Like

    Reply
  10. Noreen

     /  February 6, 2011

    Just beautifully put Gayle xx

    Like

    Reply
  11. Fun, solid, electric eras-passed piece.

    Like

    Reply
  12. Such truth in this and you wrote it in such a fun way! I found myself nodding in recognition with your words (and the bands you listed!). :) Nice contribution to the potluck, Bodhi!

    Like

    Reply
  13. Your poem is a cool compilation itself… a really nice one!

    Like

    Reply
  14. That’s one thing I have yet to try- to get stoned.. hahaha
    So disciplined I have been!

    This ones done uniquely for the theme.. The 1st one I have read about music so far! Very profound!

    Hugs xoxox

    Like

    Reply
    • Well everyone around me was experimenting so… It was a short-lived experience.

      So glad you enjoyed how music has affected my life.

      Hugs… xoxo

      Like

      Reply
  15. Love this Rose… What a fine musical trip you took me on… :-)

    Like

    Reply
  16. Wonderful music in this poem! I too can relate to thejourney that our soul takes while listening to different kinds of music.

    Like

    Reply
  17. how can life be without music? nice one gayle! my potluck.. http://fiveloaf.wordpress.com/2010/02/13/a-chinese-love-story/

    Like

    Reply
  18. love the sound of this :)

    Like

    Reply
  19. A wonderful tribute to music and done in such a lyrical way. Great piece ~ Rose

    Like

    Reply
  20. profound, your words are rich.

    A++

    :)

    Like

    Reply

Please share your thoughts...

Wightrabbit's Blog

Words and Pictures from my Kaboodle on The Isle of Wight

writing in north norfolk

Writer of children's literature, short stories and poetry

Lady Nyo's Weblog

A woman writer's blog with invitations to other writers

Poetry Breakfast

Beginning March 20th, 2016 Poetry Breakfast will once again serve a little poetic nourishment every morning. Start your day with our new expanded menu. Poems, of course, are our specialty. But we will also be serving a fuller menu that includes poetry related creative non-fiction such as letters to and from poets, essays on poetry, and anything else that might feed a poet and poetry lover’s soul.

Mithai Mumblezz

Thinks and again mumbles!!

findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing...

mindlovemisery

"We're all out there, somewhere, waiting to happen."

NavasolaNature

Nature needs Nurture

Whimsygizmo's Blog

poetic ponderings...parenting...procrastination...

Tao of Scrumble

A freeform way of life, love and everything

Sharp Little Pencil

Amy Barlow Liberatore... stories of lost years, wild times, mental variety, faith, and lots of jazz

silentlyheardonce

A Silent poet shouting to be heard

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

kanzen sakura

South meets East: Poetry and Musings - words of the seasons

Poems, stories, paintings and more by Sharmishtha Basu

(Agnijaat, Agnishatdal, Agnijashatadalama, Indie Adda)

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

jaywalking the moon

poetry by claudia schoenfeld

She's Writing

Poetry and Prose

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

everyday amazing

spreading good cheer, fun & love for life

Michael's Lair

Just Write WordPress.com site

Björn Rudbergs writings

Poetry and fiction by a physicist from the dark side

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

THE BeZINE

Be inspired...Be creative...Be peace...Be

bardessdmdenton - author- artist

Historical and Literary Fiction / Essays / Poetry / Reviews /Book Cover and Interior Illustrations / Pet Portraits and Other Commissioned Artwork ... "Handle a book as a bee does a flower, extract its sweetness but do not damage it.” ~ John Muir, naturalist, author, 1838 - 1914

Soul Dipper

Spirit Builder by Design

Contemplative Moorings

The official blog of unofficial author Michael Marsters.

Ramblings From A Mum

This is my journey, my thoughts, my views, plain and simple and from my heart. Please travel with me and share, hopefully it will be an interesting trip.

bwthoughts

copyright 2013 - no reuse without permission ( see bwfiction.wordpress.com for fiction and fantasy )

"On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea"

All Is One With Our Creator

MyHeartBlog

Take Control of Your Health

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Wanjiku

poetic inspiration from life's simplicity

k8edid

Mumblings of a Middle Aged Madwoman

IN MY NEXT LIFE

if I go around more than once then ...

I Rhyme Without Reason

I live in words

Soul Speak

'You may say I'm a Dreamer, but I'm not the only one' ~ John Lennon

~ Dragon's Dreams ~

Carpe Noctem Quod Tempus Fugit!

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Lafemmeroar

laughing at the malfunction of the universe is better than crying about it

Lorna's Voice

Finding ways to make words sparkle

Olivia's In- Mind Whirls..

"It's all in my mind"

dVerse

Poets Pub

Leslie White

View artwork by Leslie White

