Isabella

Dearest Isabella,

I want you to know that you will always be in my heart.  I cherish the time that I spent with you.  Doing all the things a mother does for her little, dear one–feeding you, bathing and dressing you, comforting you and loving you–even though I wasn’t your mother.  You were in my care for a short while–several months when I was your “Auntie Nanny Gayle”.

It was such a treasured time for me even though our family was in the midst of upheaval and strain but you were not a part of that in my eyes–and heart.  You were just an innocent, sweet infant needing love and care and comfort.  I was so blessed to be chosen to do that for you–if only for a few short months.

I became your nanny when you were only three months old.  You were just an angel of a tiny girl–so very precious and new to this world.  My mothering instincts kicked right in–as if they had ever gone anywhere–you needed me–and I believe I needed you too.  To bring that selfless love that had been buried within me to the surface once again.

I remember one night when you were fussy and couldn’t quite settle down to sleep.  It really wasn’t like you–you never cried very much.   I gathered you up and brought you into my room and played some soft, sweet chanting music.  I hummed and chanted while I cradled you close and you calmed right down and relaxed.  It always was a gift to me to provide comfort for you.

You were a joy, never a bother–no never.  I took pleasure and felt fulfilled in giving you the care and love that you needed.

And then there came the time when you returned to your mother and I can’t help wondering about you.  Are you safe and happy?  Are you being protected and loved as every baby should?

I love you Isabella; you’re always in my heart.

 

Love and peace,

Auntie Nanny Gayle

 

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. how lovely, thank you Gayle x

    Like

    Reply
  2. Oh, Gayle. This is so sad. A wonderful thing for you to do, especially when you know you have to give the child up.

    A lovely letter. A very lovely letter. And we know wherever she is, she feels the spirit of it.

    Like

    Reply
    • Yes, it’s sad but it’s also a celebration of the time I spent with that little girl. I hope she will always feel the love that I hold for her and that it will add to her life.

      Thanks for your message for me, Jamie.

      Like

      Reply
  3. she was lucky to have you in her life. So full of love and tenderness. I hope she gets blessed by your love again and again.

    Like

    Reply
  4. I too pray the same, every child needs someone like you in his/her life.

    Like

    Reply
  5. not half as much as you are. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  6. I was checking mail today and saw the pictures of finnigan the squirrel with his mother doggie. 🙂

    they are amazing, are not they?

    that is mother’s heart.

    Like

    Reply
  7. yes that little doggie knows what a mother is- she sure does 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  8. those pix are so lovely and sweet.

    Like

    Reply

Please share your thoughts...

Wightrabbit's Blog

Words and Pictures from my Kaboodle on The Isle of Wight

writing in north norfolk

Writer of children's literature, short stories and poetry

Lady Nyo's Weblog

A woman writer's blog with invitations to other writers

Poetry Breakfast

Beginning March 20th, 2016 Poetry Breakfast will once again serve a little poetic nourishment every morning. Start your day with our new expanded menu. Poems, of course, are our specialty. But we will also be serving a fuller menu that includes poetry related creative non-fiction such as letters to and from poets, essays on poetry, and anything else that might feed a poet and poetry lover’s soul.

Mithai Mumblezz

Thinks and again mumbles!!

findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing...

mindlovemisery

"We're all out there, somewhere, waiting to happen."

NavasolaNature

Nature needs Nurture

Whimsygizmo's Blog

poetic ponderings...parenting...procrastination...

Tao of Scrumble

A freeform way of life, love and everything

Sharp Little Pencil

Amy Barlow Liberatore... stories of lost years, wild times, mental variety, faith, and lots of jazz

silentlyheardonce

A Silent poet shouting to be heard

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

kanzen sakura

South meets East: Poetry and Musings - words of the seasons

Poems, stories, paintings and more by Sharmishtha Basu

(Agnijaat, Agnishatdal, Agnijashatadalama, Indie Adda)

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

jaywalking the moon

poetry by claudia schoenfeld

She's Writing

Poetry and Prose

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

everyday amazing

spreading good cheer, fun & love for life

Michael's Lair

Just Write WordPress.com site

Björn Rudbergs writings

Poetry and fiction by a physicist from the dark side

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

THE BeZINE

Be inspired...Be creative...Be peace...Be

bardessdmdenton - author- artist

Historical and Literary Fiction / Essays / Poetry / Reviews /Book Cover and Interior Illustrations / Pet Portraits and Other Commissioned Artwork ... "Handle a book as a bee does a flower, extract its sweetness but do not damage it.” ~ John Muir, naturalist, author, 1838 - 1914

Soul Dipper

Spirit Builder by Design

Contemplative Moorings

The official blog of unofficial author Michael Marsters.

Ramblings From A Mum

This is my journey, my thoughts, my views, plain and simple and from my heart. Please travel with me and share, hopefully it will be an interesting trip.

bwthoughts

copyright 2013 - no reuse without permission ( see bwfiction.wordpress.com for fiction and fantasy )

"On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea"

All Is One With Our Creator

MyHeartBlog

Take Control of Your Health

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Wanjiku

poetic inspiration from life's simplicity

k8edid

Mumblings of a Middle Aged Madwoman

IN MY NEXT LIFE

if I go around more than once then ...

I Rhyme Without Reason

I live in words

Soul Speak

'You may say I'm a Dreamer, but I'm not the only one' ~ John Lennon

~ Dragon's Dreams ~

Carpe Noctem Quod Tempus Fugit!

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Lafemmeroar

laughing at the malfunction of the universe is better than crying about it

Lorna's Voice

Finding ways to make words sparkle

Olivia's In- Mind Whirls..

"It's all in my mind"

dVerse

Poets Pub

Leslie White

View artwork by Leslie White

jgavinallan

The best time to love...is when it is impossible///Stories of the heart-broken/shattered and sometimes mended

