Gator Boy

American Alligator, (Alligator mississippiensis)

Image via Wikipedia

Restless brother, nature lover

One day declares, “Let’s go find gators!”

 So to the largest lake we head, to hunt his favorite prey,

 He makes us sisters tag along with greatly, increasing dismay.

 Hiking through wetlands, brambles and brush,

He implores us to keep going and quit making a fuss.

Without breaking his stride, without slowing a bit,

He’s steadily seeking the biggest one yet.

Finally, finally he reaches the bank,

Where the most gators ever always are found.

With expert precision, his eyes scan the edges

All around Lake Jessup’s huge swampy perimeter.

The muckiness drags at our shoes,

As we move cautiously forward,

Then suddenly he stops and whispers loudly, “Look at that mother!”

Not 200 feet away, way too close for our comfort,

Lay a gigantic alligator that had just eaten supper–

His side was almost splitting from the animal in it.

Yes, he’s huge, we marveled, taking a step or two back.

Then my sister grabbed up her camera and captured a snap;

Now my brother has a memory to add to his others–

As we high-tailed it out of there, until the next adventure hollered.

Based on a true story.  My brother is “Gator Boy”!

Leave a comment

35 Comments

  1. I always wanted a brother. I think …

    This is wonderful. Nicely done.

    Poem on, dear Gayle.

    Like

    Reply
    • Yeah, you’d better give that some thought, Jamie. I have two older brothers–now, they are wonderful human beings–growing up with them was a whole other story!

      I’m glad you enjoyed this.

      Like

      Reply
  2. this one is hilarious and cute. they were really silly boys and girls. 😦

    Like

    Reply
    • My brother did this a couple of years ago while visiting home and took one of our sisters. He used to hunt snakes and all kinds of critters and bring them home when he was a boy. He still has the “hunter” in him and now likes to go find alligators! We have a huge lake here known for its large population of gators–that, of course, is where he likes to go. Scary!

      I’m glad this amused you. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
      • Its not one of the very best ideas. I have read and watched that alligators can be very dangerous.

        they scare me a lot. this is one creature i wont like anywhere near me. I will be able to toler a poisonous snake but not an alligator. there is something very cruel about them.

        Like

        Reply
      • Yes, alligators can be extremely vicious–I would not want to be chomped by a gator.

        Have you ever noticed that boys don’t always follow the best rational behavior…

        Like

        Reply
      • these are the only animal/living thing which scare me, candidly speaking they do. there is something in them.

        men are far more irrational there is no doubt about that. 🙂

        Like

        Reply
      • Alligators scare me too. Besides their enormous teeth that can chomp you in two–they pull their prey down into the water and drown them before having a snack. What a horrifying way to die!

        My brother is still very much a boy. You will not see me following him to that lake!

        Like

        Reply
      • thats a smart girl. i am glad that you wont follow him to that or any such dangerous lake.

        the very look of alligators make me uneasy, and just as you say, their ways of devouring their preys is really horrifying.

        Like

        Reply
      • No, he may try and get me to go but I won’t. My poor sister got wrangled into going with him. 😦

        Like

        Reply
      • you know what, i might have followed him. 🙂

        Like

        Reply
      • I have found other ways to spend time with my brother besides following him out into swamps looking for alligators.

        Why is it that I feel skeptical about you saying that you would have followed him… 🙂

        Like

        Reply
      • well, if you were feeling skeptical, then you are wrong, because chances are ninety nine percent that i would have followed him. 🙂

        Like

        Reply
      • I said that because you had said how frightened you are of alligators and won’t go anywhere near them. But perhaps your curiosity would allow you to follow him to see what they look like. I’ve seen many of them from a very safe distance–he likes to get up close and personal with them…

        Have a good time! 🙂

        Like

        Reply
      • i am daredevil type. i have done things which very rare sane people will do, but i dont like to test my luck too much these days.

        i think i have reached the verge of using my “luck”

        i have a hunch feeling that i might have ventured as far as my common sense would have allowed me.

        Like

        Reply
      • You just might be a very good companion for following my daredevil brother into the “wild blue yonder”! He would love to have you with him as he explores all kinds of adventures.

        I didn’t realize that you were such a daredevil type person. You should write something about those times–I would love to read something about your “wild” side. 🙂

        Like

        Reply
      • okay i will share that silly side of me. thanks for giving the food to my muse. i was running out of ideas a bit.

        high chances are i would have been following your brother merrily.

        Like

        Reply
      • Can’t wait to read about some of your wild escapades. 🙂

        Like

        Reply
      • i will write a few within a few days for sure. 🙂

        Like

        Reply
      • I really look forward to reading about them.

        Like

        Reply
      • they are not half as deadly as your brothers but as dangerous as his.

        Like

        Reply
      • Ooooo, I’m very intrigued! 🙂

        Like

        Reply
      • dont get too intrigued. two are up in the blog. 🙂

        Like

        Reply
      • Will have to go read those so I can find out what kind of person you were that was so adventurous–it’ll be fun to see what you were up to when younger–maybe still are. 🙂

        Like

        Reply
      • i have made a pact with the tomboy inside me that she will lie low for a while. 🙂

        Like

        Reply
      • So no more adventurous escapades for awhile? 🙂

        Like

        Reply
      • If I ever move out of India I may wake the gypsy inside me again 🙂

        Like

        Reply
      • OK! 🙂

        Like

        Reply
      • so there are no chances at present. 🙂

        Like

        Reply
  3. this is so cool Bodhirose…they can run real fast as well…enjoy and thanks for sharing this true story(+) 🙂
    soulbro*xo—{–@

    Like

    Reply
    • Yes, they can go very fast for short distances. This one had just eaten and had a huge bulge on one of his sides–I don’t think he could hardly budge! My sister did get a photo–this gator was enormous. Yikes!

      Like

      Reply
      • Oh, Lordy be! I used to love this song and Molly Hatchet–I had forgotten about this “gator” song by them. Thanks for sharing, Soulbro!

        Are you going on the mountain tomorrow? I’m going to a wedding shower–I will not be on a mountain… No mountains to get on here anyway…

        Why did I say that…? xoxo

        Like

        Reply
  4. you are welcome…yes I am going on the other side of Petersburgh pass form where I was last weekend…have fun at the wedding shower today…enjoy always..do not worry about climbing the mountain, I always take you up in my arms on these places always…here is another song kind of teary but I Love it as this reminds me of what I just wrote you(+)
    Love,
    soulbro* 🙂 xoxo—-{–@

    Like

    Reply
    • Oh, that’s a sweet song–and it’s true if you should fall, you wouldn’t be alone. But I hate the idea that you could. I think that you are very careful though–right? xoxo

      Like

      Reply

Please share your thoughts...

Wightrabbit's Blog

Words and Pictures from my Kaboodle on The Isle of Wight

writing in north norfolk

Writer of children's literature, short stories and poetry

Lady Nyo's Weblog

A woman writer's blog with invitations to other writers

Poetry Breakfast

Beginning March 20th, 2016 Poetry Breakfast will once again serve a little poetic nourishment every morning. Start your day with our new expanded menu. Poems, of course, are our specialty. But we will also be serving a fuller menu that includes poetry related creative non-fiction such as letters to and from poets, essays on poetry, and anything else that might feed a poet and poetry lover’s soul.

Mithai Mumblezz

Thinks and again mumbles!!

findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing...

mindlovemisery

"We're all out there, somewhere, waiting to happen."

NavasolaNature

Nature needs Nurture

Whimsygizmo's Blog

poetic ponderings...parenting...procrastination...

Tao of Scrumble

A freeform way of life, love and everything

Sharp Little Pencil

Amy Barlow Liberatore... stories of lost years, wild times, mental variety, faith, and lots of jazz

silentlyheardonce

A Silent poet shouting to be heard

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

kanzen sakura

South meets East: Poetry and Musings - words of the seasons

Poems, stories, paintings and more by Sharmishtha Basu

(Agnijaat, Agnishatdal, Agnijashatadalama, Indie Adda)

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

jaywalking the moon

poetry by claudia schoenfeld

She's Writing

Poetry and Prose

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

everyday amazing

spreading good cheer, fun & love for life

Michael's Lair

Just Write WordPress.com site

Björn Rudbergs writings

Poetry and fiction by a physicist from the dark side

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

THE BeZINE

Be inspired...Be creative...Be peace...Be

bardessdmdenton - author- artist

Historical and Literary Fiction / Essays / Poetry / Reviews /Book Cover and Interior Illustrations / Pet Portraits and Other Commissioned Artwork ... "Life can't ever really defeat a writer who is in love with writing, for life itself is a writer's lover until death - fascinating, cruel, lavish, warm, cold, treacherous, constant." ~ Edna Ferber, 1885-1968, American novelist, short story writer and playwright

Soul Dipper

Spirit Builder by Design

Contemplative Moorings

The official blog of unofficial author Michael Marsters.

Ramblings From A Mum

This is my journey, my thoughts, my views, plain and simple and from my heart. Please travel with me and share, hopefully it will be an interesting trip.

bwthoughts

copyright 2013 - no reuse without permission ( see bwfiction.wordpress.com for fiction and fantasy )

"On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea"

All Is One With Our Creator

MyHeartBlog

Take Control of Your Health

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Wanjiku

poetic inspiration from life's simplicity

k8edid

Mumblings of a Middle Aged Madwoman

IN MY NEXT LIFE

if I go around more than once then ...

I Rhyme Without Reason

I live in words

Soul Speak

'You may say I'm a Dreamer, but I'm not the only one' ~ John Lennon

~ Dragon's Dreams ~

Carpe Noctem Quod Tempus Fugit!

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Lafemmeroar

laughing at the malfunction of the universe is better than crying about it

Lorna's Voice

Finding ways to make words sparkle

Olivia's In- Mind Whirls..

"It's all in my mind"

dVerse

Poets Pub

Leslie White

View artwork by Leslie White

jgavinallan

The best time to love...is when it is impossible///Stories of the heart-broken/shattered and sometimes mended

